Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hill 16, am I alone in thinking we badly need a wider selection of songs?

• 18-08-2008 5:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭

Like it was all well and good walking up the ramps into the Cusack a few weeks ago to listen to Westmeath airheads chant - go home you boys in blue...... - but idiots aside, like those who went home, does anyone think we really could do with a bit more selection in our songs, considering I know of only one that is ever sang at GAA matches.

It gets very tedious throughout a match imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

As a Westmeath fan (thanks to the culchie father) yes a few new songs are needed, not that I can't be talking about how un-vocal Westmeath supporters are but that isn't the question.

I'm waiting for the days "You'll Never Walk Alone" is sung from the Hill.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Nah ye just need a better team! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

yayamark wrote: »
    Nah ye just need a better team! :D
    No just a man who knows how to manage a team :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 dub_and_proud

some of the old dubliners songs should be sung

Yes they should but half the "fans" don't know them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

The Hill needs less scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Kernel wrote: »

and less southsiders, much less southsiders....
    hunter164 wrote: »
    Yes they should but half the "fans" don't know them.

true true.....

I am so fed up with the typical commmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmonnn...........
    Shut up already.....

We need Dubliners...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭finbarrk

It's like the soccer years ago when there were great songs sang at the Ireland matches especially in the 80's, there is no one singing them now and the hill is prob gone like that.
    Too many young assholes in there.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,530 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Yeah I wanted to blame the southsiders too but alas the hill never had a singing tradition. Other yhan the usual "C'mon on ya....". People were too busy fighting or avoiding the bottles thrown by the Animal gang. But holy moly what's with the southside influence, especially in hurling. It ain't sitting god with this ex-Craobhman.

Anyway I was thinking that The Ol' Triangle would be a cracker of a terrace chant. Even people from places like Rathfarnham would know it.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,993 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Jay D wrote: »
    to listen to Westmeath airheads chant - go home you boys in blue...... - .
    They don't get a chance to be there too often so let them at it!
    hunter164 wrote: »
    No just a man who knows how to manage a team :D
    Three or four Leinster titles in a row - most counties would die for that!
    Kernel wrote: »

• Registered Users Posts: 4,218 ✭✭✭A-Train

+ 2

++

we need a new song to chant!!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,993 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Anyone get the new jersey yet?

elbfcp2rm9n8bd0nk9r9.jpg

Anyone get the new jersey yet?

elbfcp2rm9n8bd0nk9r9.jpg

I'm heading into town tomorrow at lunch to pick one up myself.

humberklog wrote: »
    But holy moly what's with the southside influence, especially in hurling. It ain't sitting god with this ex-Craobhman.
    Don't I know it sure every manager underage and up is a Southsider from by the looks of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

Lol at the jersey.
    Yes I'm heading out to get it as we speak!

I think the Ol' Triangle is not too bad?
    But apart from that I reckon a few years back you had a lot more of Croker singing with the Hill, Hogan or Cusack but nowadays people are so quiet? What's the craic with that?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

What happened to the Rare Auld Times? Used to get a regular outing on the Hill. Agreed about the "too many scumbags on the Hill" comment. Seems to get worse every year.

tbh I don't think there is a problem with scum bags on the hill, like don't get me wrong there are some, maybe a little awkward standing near so just move away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Emerald Lass

I'd sing anything quicker than that bloody 'hill 16....nah nah nah......hill 16.....nah nah nah'

ad i'm not paraphrasing here! they are the actual lyrics - hnah nah nah??? no no no?

I'd sing anything quicker than that bloody 'hill 16....nah nah nah......hill 16.....nah nah nah'

ad i'm not paraphrasing here! they are the actual lyrics - hnah nah nah??? no no no?

yes yes yes?? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭podge018

it was Hill 16 la la la for years, must be changed since I stopped going.

Used to be loads of songs back in the mid-90s:

If I had the wings of a sparrow, if I had the arse of a cow......

Boom boom boom, let me hear ye say Jayo

Ring-a-ring a rosie, as the light declines..........

We are the D, the D.U.B.S, we are the Dubs and we are the best.

Molly Malone

Come on you boys in blue..

Charlie, Charlie, Charlie Charlie!