Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE's BOXING PUNDITS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,825 ✭✭✭✭walshb

im with mikel here

while michael carruth injected plenty of humour into the discussions and is a likeable guy for the most part from what ive seen on tv , his performance on the panel was just about on the right side of self obsession, no opportunity was missed to make refference to barcelona 92 and no detail was too small to mention in relation to that time , at one stage he was talking about how he didnt watch the video of the guy he was going to be facing in the final or how he wore red shorts in the final , was a bit like that sketch they used to do on a comedy show some yrs ago of beatles producer george martin , someone would ask george martin how his ill mother was , martin would reply by saying , i think my best production was on abbey road rather than sgt peppers

you didnt hear sonia o sullivan ( a far more successfull sports person than carruth ) once mention her exploits

I noticed that too, but come on, he did win a GOLD, so let's allow a little praise.

I don't think he was OTT with the self praise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

you didnt hear sonia o sullivan ( a far more successfull sports person than carruth ) once mention her exploits

If Ireland had a middle distance male or female runner who had a realistic chance of winning a gold in a middle distance race they would have asked Sonia all the same questions they ASKED Carruth (how did you feel before the race?, how did you prepare?, what was it like winning the silver?, what was your tactics?, did you feel the pressure from home etc........).

This debate is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭gordon_gekko

If Ireland had a middle distance male or female runner who had a realistic chance of winning a gold in a middle distance race they would have asked Sonia all the same questions they ASKED Carruth (how did you feel before the race?, how did you prepare?, what was it like winning the silver?, what was your tactics?, did you feel the pressure from home etc........).

This debate is ridiculous.

thats beside the point , the point is sonia knowing her charechter would not be so enthusiastic about discussing her own passed achievments

Sonia is a legend, but she is more remembered for being a flop rather than a star, plus she went on far too long and in the end she embarrassed herself in races

It's completely the point. Re-read my post and break down where I'm wrong.

My point still stands. If Ireland had a middle distance male or female runner who had a realistic chance of winning a gold in a middle distance race they would have asked Sonia all the same questions they ASKED Carruth (how did you feel before the race?, how did you prepare?, what was it like winning the silver?, what was your tactics?, did you feel the pressure from home etc........).

It stands to reasons that RTE was going to ask him questions that related to Barcelona. And they did. And he answered the questions in a down to earth, pride filled way.

edit:Walshb, your 1 sentence summary of Sonia O'Sullivans prolific career is off the mark. But thats for another forum.

I always found Irish people a little strange when it came to success. We cry out for winners and when we get them, we begrudge them. Perfect example is in the rugby. We're not happy beating teams, we then go on to criticise the win, instead of celebrating victory.
    Seems this is the case a little here!

And before anyone mentions Dunne, that's a completely different story. I just don't rate him. I never
    ever begrudged him anything.

It's completely the point. Re-read my post and break down where I'm wrong.

My point still stands. If Ireland had a middle distance male or female runner who had a realistic chance of winning a gold in a middle distance race they would have asked Sonia all the same questions they ASKED Carruth (how did you feel before the race?, how did you prepare?, what was it like winning the silver?, what was your tactics?, did you feel the pressure from home etc........).

It stands to reasons that RTE was going to ask him questions that related to Barcelona. And they did. And he answered the questions in a down to earth, pride filled way.

edit:Walshb, your 1 sentence summary of Sonia O'Sullivans prolific career is off the mark. But thats for another forum.

Off the mark?

Is she not a legend?

Did she not embarrass herself late in her career by insisting
    on racing when she knew and we knew she was well past it?

walshb wrote: »
    Off the mark?

Is she not a legend?

Did she not embarrass herself late in her career by insisting
    on racing when she knew and we knew she was well past it?

Here's what you said. It was initially a positive statement followed by an over emphasis and an over exagerration of negatives
    Sonia is a legend, but she is more remembered for being a flop rather than a star, plus she went on far too long and in the end she embarrassed herself in races

I don't believe that people who follow sport remember Sonia O'Sullivan as a flop. They remember her as being one of the greatest sports people this country has ever produced who had plenty more good days than bad.

I was gonna list all that she's won and explain the context of it all (coming back from the disappointment of Atlanta and winning 2 world golds, 2 european golds and an olympic silver).

However if you think her career will be remembered as a flop, it certainly won't be by anyone that has even an average knowlege of Irish sport and its history. In fact as time goes on, I think what she achieved will look even greater.

Anyway back on topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭Big Ears

What must also be noted is Carruth tried to talk about Seoul as much as je could when talking about his time in the Olympics, he certainly didn't want to be talking about 'when I won gold' but was forced into it by questions asked to him.

Personally I think everyone bar Dowling has done a great job.
    Taylor is very monotone though which can be quite irritating.

Dowling is still the most fluent and articulate of the lot!

True, he's also the most patronising and disrespectful of the others knowledge.

Big Ears wrote: »

Yes, in a group he does come across that way. I noticed that. One to one, he is definitely the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

What must also be noted is Carruth tried to talk about Seoul as much as je could when talking about his time in the Olympics, he certainly didn't want to be talking about 'when I won gold' but was forced into it by questions asked to him.

Personally I think everyone bar Dowling has done a great job.
    Taylor is very monotone though which can be quite irritating.
    Yes, in a group he does come across that way. I noticed that. One to one, he is definitely the best

LADS I think it is very simple , He is to used of been the voice and face of Irish boxing (RTE's face that is ), A role he has enjoyed for years and where his opinion mattered even it was the only one we heard , and he just cannot share the spotlight well, This also why he comes good on his own , the spotlight is back where he believes it beyonds .

Just my two cents. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭omerin

rte don't do much right, but they do sport well. impressed with all the olympic panels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Where was Katie today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

and also the most unlikeable....he has a very condecending know it all attitude and I would imagine the other pundits were much more enjoyable to the people who arent boxing fans per-se

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

dowling comes across more like a former priest than a former boxer

still think he,s the best of the panelists though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Sprouts

Excellent coverage, Carruth was his down to earth self, good to listen to, sort of Ob1kenobe character towards our fighters, been there done that, great to see his pride for the five lads there. Bernard for me impressed the most, knows the game so well and his patriotism is evident in everything he says. Andy Lee was pretty good too, comes across as a proper gent and a nice guy, had some interesting things to say about sparring with Egan. Hats off to RTE I must say, they should ditch Dowling now I think, bitter and partonising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Sprouts wrote: »
    Excellent coverage, Carruth was his down to earth self, good to listen to, sort of Ob1kenobe character towards our fighters, been there done that, great to see his pride for the five lads there. Bernard for me impressed the most, knows the game so well and his patriotism is evident in everything he says. Andy Lee was pretty good too, comes across as a proper gent and a nice guy, had some interesting things to say about sparring with Egan. Hats off to RTE I must say, they should ditch Dowling now I think, bitter and partonising.

+1.

IMHO RTE did a superb job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

RTE had been criticized for using so much of their budget on the games, I think it's fair to say money well spent.

I enjoyed the line up of Carruth Lee and Dunne. They should offer Michael a full time position and get Dunne and Lee in there when they are available.

Great job RTE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,534 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    LADS I think it is very simple , He is to used of been the voice and face of Irish boxing (RTE's face that is ), A role he has enjoyed for years and where his opinion mattered even it was the only one we heard , and he just cannot share the spotlight well, This also why he comes good on his own , the spotlight is back where he believes it beyonds .

Just my two cents. :D

I'd say that's it allright. Although, yesterday he seemed more respectful of the other panelists' views. Perhaps he reads this forum ;) or someone in RTE had a word in his ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

Did anyone see when RTE did a quick "highlights" package of Egan's fight yesterday morning? The lads in the studio had taken their mikes off and you could see Dowling, Carruth, and Lee all sitting nervously on the edge of their seats. Dunne was the only one standing and looked like he was getting read for a fight himself!

They showed some more footage from the fight, in particular the right jab that hit Egan's gloves in the 3rd round that the Chinese fella got a point for. A quick switch back to the studio and there's Dunne still standing, swinging his arms, and pointing at the camera in a right state. He couldn't be heard but you could see him mouthing the words - "he didn't even touch him there!!". Great stuff.

T-K-O wrote: »
    RTE had been criticized for using so much of their budget on the games, I think it's fair to say money well spent.

I enjoyed the line up of Carruth Lee and Dunne. They should offer Michael a full time position and get Dunne and Lee in there when they are available.

Great job RTE!

Don't forget the great job John Duddy did a little while ago, him and Lee are probably the best of the lot and I'd love to see them too analysing fights together. Of course Maloney would probably eventually ask them what would happen if they were to fight each other :P.

There seems to be a rule with professional boxing on RTÉ though, it's Mick Dowling + 1/2 others. Whatever pair of 2/3 there is Dowling is one of them.

Don't forget the great job John Duddy did a little while ago, him and Lee are probably the best of the lot and I'd love to see them too analysing fights together. Of course Maloney would probably eventually ask them what would happen if they were to fight each other :P.

There seems to be a rule with professional boxing on RTÉ though, it's Mick Dowling + 1/2 others. Whatever pair of 2/3 there is Dowling is one of them.

I didn't see Duddy on RTE but I like the guy, he comes across well in interviews.

I think Dowling will always be there as he will always be available that is why the should sign Mick C up.

thinks somebody (probably one of the mods) should make a point of communicating our congradulations to RTE on a job well done by sending a link of this thread and then highlight the points raised about dowling.... On a seperate issue, with the goodwill behind boxing i wonder will this have any impact on RTE'splanned schedule for the pro coverage next year????

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Well what do people think for the team of boxing pundits RTE have for the Olympics .

I have being very impressed with Dunne, OK he may be a small bit biased , maybe that's a bit harsh.... maybe loyal and optimistic would be a better way of putting it when it comes to Irish lads, However his overall performance has been outstanding IMO. And he is showing up Dowling in a way. Dowling has got on my tits throughout this games, I have found him condescending to the new and younger pundits.( especially to kate ).He as being caught on one occasion making a stupid face as a reaction to something the others have said.
    Carruth seems to come across as trying to be the voice of reason , And bring us down to earth and talk about the facts . He has done OK ( if he could just stop mentioning his old fights or stories :D )
    Finally Kate Taylor , she again is doing a very good job , One thing , now it could be showing respect but it come across as slightly been intimidated by Dowling when his on the panel with her. I say this because when its just herself and Dunne , she seems to handle herself and her views with more confidence and assured.

Ps not going to mention MAGEES EAR-BLEEDING COMMENTARY :D:D:

Couldnt disagree more.

Firstly, Dunne is a loud mouthed little ****. He is a s**** boxer who is just hyped up way too much. He cant box to save his life. The first decent guy he fought he got possibly one of the best hidings of all times which was pretty hilarious tbh.

Secondly, Dowling was the only man talking sense on the panel. He was the only one there warning of the dangers of the chinese guy in the final. The rest of them thought we had gold in the bag already!

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Couldnt disagree more.

Firstly, Dunne is a loud mouthed little ****. He is a s**** boxer who is just hyped up way too much. He cant box to save his life. The first decent guy he fought he got possibly one of the best hidings of all times which was pretty hilarious tbh.

Secondly, Dowling was the only man talking sense on the panel. He was the only one there warning of the dangers of the chinese guy in the final. The rest of them thought we had gold in the bag already!
    Carruth too was warning of the dangers. They were just confident that's all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭03mcgs0

Lads did you notice Dowling was very quite after the Egan fight, it’s like one of the backroom team told him that there were others on the panel! As someone already pointed out it must be hard for Dowling considering he was practically the face of boxing on RTE, both with the amateurs and pro.

I wont why done RTE use Carruth for the pro’s, he’s very funny and from the reaction that he received on this thread he’s very popular.

I must admit RTE really put on a top showing for the boxing, one that I’m proud of but the only thing is that I’m getting boxing withdrawal symptoms! When is the next pro fight going to be on?? Or more appropriately when is the next Brian Peter’s show on, I know there hasn’t been one announced but somebody must have a bit of inside info, not naming names but BigEars must know something! Will certainly look forward to the next upcoming shows involving the Irish.

ill give u 2 words why Carruth doesnt feature on pro box..................brian peters

03mcgs0 wrote: »
    Lads did you notice Dowling was very quite after the Egan fight, it’s like one of the backroom team told him that there were others on the panel! As someone already pointed out it must be hard for Dowling considering he was practically the face of boxing on RTE, both with the amateurs and pro.

I wont why done RTE use Carruth for the pro’s, he’s very funny and from the reaction that he received on this thread he’s very popular.

I must admit RTE really put on a top showing for the boxing, one that I’m proud of but the only thing is that I’m getting boxing withdrawal symptoms! When is the next pro fight going to be on?? Or more appropriately when is the next Brian Peter’s show on, I know there hasn’t been one announced but somebody must have a bit of inside info, not naming names but BigEars must know something! Will certainly look forward to the next upcoming shows involving the Irish.

There are 2 non televised bills on in September(http://www.boxrec.com/schedule.php?country=IE&division=&title=&tv=&SUBMIT=Go)
    Peters had also said he was planning a card for September but that seems a little late now and will probably be pushed back till October. It's planned to have Lee fighting here in October so that could well be Peters' next card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

alanceltic wrote: »
    ill give u 2 words why Carruth doesnt feature on pro box..................brian peters

Armchair follower here lads; I know Peters was Carruth's promoter for a time, but can anyone tell me what happened there? The usual old-fashioned boxing falling-out over €€€?

Well T-K-O what are they all saying over at fightbeat about the Irish Team??

Nothing but bitching and moaning about the scoring and Olympic boxing in general. As you know if one of their own had been a success they would shout it from the roof top.

Booked NYC for the Calzaghe fight!!