Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tyre wear woes! Limerick Solution required.

• 20-08-2008 10:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭

Just had my Jan 08 159 car back from Dealer, and they changed the two front tyres at €320 a piece under warranty. The front left tyre was bald on the inside at 4.5k miles, and surely illegal long before that.

The car is still pulling to the left (after being tracked by the dealer), and is pretty much the same pull to the left since I bought the car. From what I can make out from an Alfa forum this is a known problem (the 159 loaner I had also had a pull to the left) Some have fixed the pull by getting the car tracked outside Alfa’s specs.

I wont be able to go back to the garage to get two new tyres every 4k miles. They’ve said there’s a small amount of damage most likely from hitting a pot hole, but not enough to require work to be one. Now I’m reading this as, they will be using this as an excuse if my tyres wear just as badly in another 3-4k miles.

So, I want to get my car fully tracked, balanced, and the works. Who in Limerick would be good to go to? I’ve booked a day off tomorrow as I want to get this done straight away (just thinking – I hope someone will be able to book me in!)

I hope to ask a guy in the garage to take my car for a drive first and ask him if he thinks he feels a pull and if he can fix it.

Just to clarify I'm looking for a specialist tracking/balancing company if such exists!

Sorry for the mini-life story!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

I normally use Victory Tyres and find them excellent.

See this thread also.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

smcgiff wrote: »
    Just had my Jan 08 159 car back from Dealer, and they changed the two front tyres at €320 a piece under warranty. The front left tyre was bald on the inside at 4.5k miles, and surely illegal long before that.

The car is still pulling to the left (after being tracked by the dealer), and is pretty much the same pull to the left since I bought the car. From what I can make out from an Alfa forum this is a known problem (the 159 loaner I had also had a pull to the left) Some have fixed the pull by getting the car tracked outside Alfa’s specs.

I wont be able to go back to the garage to get two new tyres every 4k miles. They’ve said there’s a small amount of damage most likely from hitting a pot hole, but not enough to require work to be one. Now I’m reading this as, they will be using this as an excuse if my tyres wear just as badly in another 3-4k miles.

So, I want to get my car fully tracked, balanced, and the works. Who in Limerick would be good to go to? I’ve booked a day off tomorrow as I want to get this done straight away (just thinking – I hope someone will be able to book me in!)

I hope to ask a guy in the garage to take my car for a drive first and ask him if he thinks he feels a pull and if he can fix it.

Sorry for the mini-life story!

I usually go to champion tyres in costello's yard (now moved to garryowen). They should be able to check tracking and balance no problem. Reasonable prices, experienced guys, and i've always found them grand to deal with.

Just so you're under no illusions, it's an old-school scruffy-looking kind of establishment, which might be offputting for some new car owners. That said, I've never had any problems with their work.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

When I was in Limerick I used parkway tyres, down the side Kiely electrical. Found them reasonable on price, did a good job and a sound bunch.

But I just have to ask what bloody size/type of tyre are you getting for 320 a tyre? Eagle F1's dont even cost me that much, all be it for a 16" rim but still I would get two and still have change out of 320.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

kayos wrote: »
    But I just have to ask what bloody size/type of tyre are you getting for 320 a tyre? Eagle F1's dont even cost me that much, all be it for a 16" rim but still I would get two and still have change out of 320.

The work was done by a main stealer

• Registered Users Posts: 51,244 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

h3000 wrote: »
    I normally use Victory Tyres and find them excellent.

See this thread also.

Another vote for Victory Tyres.

I always get my tracking done there, honest and sound bunch of lads. Explain the story to them and see what they recommend.

I bought a used car a few years ago and found the tryes needed balancing as there was a terrible vibration in the steering wheel. I brought the car to Victory and they put it up on the hoist. They pointed out that both tyres were severely worn on the inside and very dangerous to drive, they said that a car should not have been sold with tyres like that. They said go back to the dealer with them, Victory refused to take any money from me for the visit or time they spent.

So I went back to the dealer and showed them the condition of the tyres and they sent the car to a nearby tyre centre where they have an account(was hoping they would send it to Victory), the tyres were replaced, wheels balanced and tracking sorted.

I went back into Victory afterwards, thanked them and gave them a few quid for the good gesture they showed despite knowing they would be loosing my business to another tyre centre.

Definately will be going back to them again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

19” Continentals – I know the cost because I priced them and €320 was a good price. :(

Thanks for the info – any more suggestions welcome. So far it looks like Victory tyres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Another vote for Victory bought my first set of tyres off them in the late 70's when they were located in broad street

give paul a buzz on 061-410083 to make sure the tracking thingabob yoke is free when you call.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,244 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Yes if your getting the tracking done you will need to book it in advance.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

smcgiff wrote: »
    The front left tyre was bald on the inside at 4.5k miles,

I wont be able to go back to the garage to get two new tyres every 4k miles. They’ve said there’s a small amount of damage most likely from hitting a pot hole, but not enough to require work to be one.

Is it only the front left that is wearing or is the right hand side tyre just as bad?

Did the dealer explain what was damaged?