Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Justice: Two taxis caught by traffic cops on quays

• 20-08-2008 11:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭

I was on the bus home, up the Dublin quays heading westward just before Guinness brewery. You know there's 2 locations where the bus lane becomes left turn only lanes?
    Buses 98% of the time will do the right thing, and filter into the proper lane beforehand or at the designated junction box.

Plenty of times, absolute taxi w**kers will just plough straight through the left hand turn only lane and go straight. In effect they're taking an illegal turn because they were meant to turn left. I've nearly been hit twice by these a*sholes.

Anyways, 6pm tonight, the bus passes by a traffic biker cop who was lying in wait before Guinnesses. He had caught and pulled in two taxis.

It was a beautiful sight... I was delighted.

I hope this is a good week long initiative at least, knock a few penalty points of these dangerous and selfish drivers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

The System Work:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

I was on the bus home, up the Dublin quays heading westward just before Guinness brewery. You know there's 2 locations where the bus lane becomes left turn only lanes?
    Buses 98% of the time will do the right thing, and filter into the proper lane beforehand or at the designated junction box.

Plenty of times, absolute taxi w**kers will just plough straight through the left hand turn only lane and go straight. In effect they're taking an illegal turn because they were meant to turn left. I've nearly been hit twice by these a*sholes.

Anyways, 6pm tonight, the bus passes by a traffic biker cop who was lying in wait before Guinnesses. He had caught and pulled in two taxis.

I hope this is a good week long initiative at least, knock a few penalty points of these dangerous and selfish drivers.

I know the spot exactly, and its very common wit the taxi drivers doing it. Taxi drivers just see a left hand lane and assume they can use it like a bus lane. idiots.

Also seen the gardai stopping taxis travelling straight through towards christchurch and junction of dame and georges st in the left lane which is left turn only.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

You are fairly easy to delight! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

You are fairly easy to delight! :)

I was only missing some popcorn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Well i hope when ever you need a taxi, you'll think back to this thread and choose not to use a SPSV service, and walk.

Just because there is a big yellow sticker ontop of my car is no diffrent to yours.

BTW there are loads of ordinary private cars that do equally as stupid things, but i dont go and post on boards.ie.

Wishbone Ash is right you must be easy to delight, if you take great enjoyment in that.

I'm not taking away from the fact that what the two drivers in question did was illegal.

Next time a taxi driver looks at you the wrong way of comes too close to your car call :1890606090

• Registered Users Posts: 73,456 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

To be fair VB, this particular spot is always abused by some taxi drivers, CrepingDeath is well able to speak for himself, but I think you're being a touch too sensitive here!
    I haven't seen any generalisations made about taxi drivers made by the OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,238 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Volvoboy wrote: »
    Just because there is a big yellow sticker ontop of my car is no diffrent to yours.

Does that big yellow sticker not designate you as a professional driver? Who, as a professional, should know and obey the ROTR to the letter?

Sorry VB, it's nothing personal :o

• Registered Users Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Frank the Manc

from years of driving around dublin i can honestly say that if i get cut up by a car 80% of the time it will be a taxi, some, not all but some, drive around the streets like they literally built them and own the tacmac that they laid with their bare hands. they do whta they like and it is nice to see that they are being treated the very same as ordinary motorists.

yeah there are stupid ordinary drivers out there but by and large the most selfish driving i have witnessed, in the city anways, has been by taxidrivers.
    its not like they get lost and dont know the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭Publin

BTW there are loads of ordinary private cars that do equally as stupid things, but i dont go and post on boards.ie.

Agree with the first sentence, everyone driving a car be it a taxi driver or not, should be abiding by the rules of the road. It's also very true that there are plenty of private car owners who do equally (and far more) stupid things. However, taxi drivers are supposed to be professional drivers, they rely on driving for their livelihood.

Another poster mentioned seeing taxi drivers go up the left hand lane on Dame Street leading up to the junction of George's Street and Dame Street. That kind of this annoys me (regardless of who does it). Often just the filter arrow to go left comes on and some clown will be sitting there waiting to go straight ahead with people getting frustrated because the eejit in front is in the wrong lane and they can't turn left 'cos they're blocking the lane.

I must admit, it does particularly annoy me to see taxi drivers do it, as it is clearly deliberate. They all know damn well from experience that the lane is left turn only. If I see someone in a car with a foreign reg. or a non-Dublin licence plate stuck in the wrong lane here, I'll have some smypathy as they may not know the lanes, but taxi drivers have no excuse.

Also, just to warn/discourage people from doing it... if you're coming down George's Street, you cannot turn right onto Dame Street (unless you're driving a taxi/bus etc). I've seen the Gardai targeting this place a LOT recently and pulling in a big line of cars just outside CitiBar in the bus lane there and presumably giving out fines/penalty points.

I wasn't complaining about the car... I've no problem with Toyota, Ford etc.
    The theme of the thread was justice and the drivers were caught in the act.

While I didn't generalise, I would propose that any drivers operating varied day/night shifts are going to mess up their sleep pattern and be less alert.
    Plane crashes have been attributed to human error due to pilots messing up their carcadian rhythm (jet lag)

And if I see a traffic cop catching the ignorant "average" drivers who drive up the N4 bus lane before Palmerstown I'll post about that too.

Yeah, you're being a bit sensitive. I do have a grudge against taxi drivers but only the ones I see acting the maggot at the expense of other motorists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Does that big yellow sticker not designate you as a professional driver? Who, as a professional, should know and obey the ROTR to the letter?

Sorry VB, it's nothing personal :o

Just because taxi drivers drive alot, it doesn't make them professional drivers, hell .. if you **** alot does it make you a professional wanker :) ?

• Registered Users Posts: 45,919 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

craichoe wrote: »
    Just because taxi drivers drive alot, it doesn't make them professional drivers, hell .. if you **** alot does it make you a professional wanker :) ?
    But the drive professionally. At what point does a person driving for their profession become a professional driver?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

If you drive for a living, you are a professional driver.

I don't know anyone who **** for a living, but I'm sure such people exist in the Porn Industry...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,238 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Uncalled for Craichoe.

Are you seriously telling me that you don't consider taxi drivers to be professional drivers? How about truck drivers? Pilots?

Uncalled for Craichoe.

Are you seriously telling me that you don't consider taxi drivers to be professional drivers? How about truck drivers? Pilots?

The term professional driver implies they drive well.
    I believe that's the objection Craichoe is making, which I agree with.
    They may be drivers by profession, but not professional drivers.

Gardai & emergency services take advanced driving lessons.
    Truck drivers have specific HGV driving tests.

I'd rate bus drivers as professional drivers, not taxi drivers.

What do they have to do above and beyond the standard driving test ?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,311 ✭✭✭markpb

Publin wrote: »
    I must admit, it does particularly annoy me to see taxi drivers do it, as it is clearly deliberate. They all know damn well from experience that the lane is left turn only. If I see someone in a car with a foreign reg. or a non-Dublin licence plate stuck in the wrong lane here, I'll have some smypathy as they may not know the lanes, but taxi drivers have no excuse.

This is the crux of the matter. A normal person may have been caught out, might not have seen the road markings, etc. There a fairly good chance the taxi driver knows right well it's illegal but chooses to do it anyway. The same thing happens on a daily basis at Westmoreland St onto O'Connell Bridge and I've never, ever seen a private car force a DB to stop while they barge into the right lane.
    Next time a taxi driver looks at you the wrong way of comes too close to your car call :1890606090

And nothing will happen. Enforcing the ROTR is a function of the Gardai, not the Taxi Regulator.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,503 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Are you seriously telling me that you don't consider taxi drivers to be professional drivers?

Well some of them should start acting like they're professional drivers because there are times when I seriously wonder what some of them are playing at!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Uncalled for Craichoe.

He is using a different understanding of the word. Both are valid.

Yours: "engaging in as a profession or means of livelihood"
    His: "characteristic of or befitting a profession"

I'd have to say that I've seen, and been in some taxis who's performance fell short of 'professional standards'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

MODEDIT:

no point in posting a music video here ...deleted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

You're dead right, it doesn't. But the majority of you see their yellow plate as being something similar to flashing blue lights which give you the right to do whatever you want on the road.

OP, I also know the turn you're talking about and see this happening on a daily basis. I actually saw a taxi hit another car doing this one evening, gob****e. What it does is force the driver in the lane for going straight over the bridge into the lane to their right to avoid the taxi tool which then causes traffic in the right most lane to take evasive action.

There's many places taxi drivers do this throughout Dublin. Another favourite for them is coming down Lower Dominick Street towards the Ilac Centre. There's a gap in the medium for traffic to turn right up Dominick Street but for traffic heading towards the Ilac there's about 3 no entry signs and no right turn signs. Do you think this deters taxi drivers ? Of course not.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Taxi drivers tend to do these things only when they are looking for a fare. When they have someone on board they are the most considerate drivers. Waiting two minutes for a "safe" gap to appear in the traffic. Slowing down for green lights in case they might turn red. Stopping to let a stream of pedestrians cross where there is no pedestrian crossing. All the time they are stopped the meter ticks up, up, up.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭gerardk55

Couldn't agree more Terrontress.

I do alot of driving around the city and definitely some of the antics of taxi drivers is crazy.

The latest thing I have seen that has irked me is the guys that pull into the half-space at the back of the taxi rank just below O Connell bridge, that leaves the rear third of their car blocking a half the lane!:mad:

The term professional driver implies they drive well.
    I believe that's the objection Craichoe is making, which I agree with.
    They may be drivers by profession, but not professional drivers.

Gardai & emergency services take advanced driving lessons.
    Truck drivers have specific HGV driving tests.

I'd rate bus drivers as professional drivers, not taxi drivers.

What do they have to do above and beyond the standard driving test ?

Indeed .. they do no more or less training or testing than anyone else on the road with a full license.

Taxi man
    White van man
    Bus Driver
    Yummy mummy SUV drivers
    Boy racers

They're all tarring a group with the same brush, its not all specifically true but people generalise on what they see.

The term professional to me would indicate that they are qualified above the norm for the task they perform.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

Taxi man
    White van man
    Bus Driver
    Yummy mummy SUV drivers
    Boy racers

You forgot:

Mayo man
    Hat Driver
    Nun

On the subject of taxi-drivers, it always seems to me that there are two types: the "professional" guy/girl in it for the long haul, who is patient, considerate and calm, and the guy who just needs the work right now, who is being driven rapidly insane because he can't hack it.

The first kind will chat amiably with passengers. The second will mutter, curse, bang on the steering wheel and dash, cut up other drivers, break lights, beep their horn, and eventually go berserk with a shotgun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I'm still patiently awaiting the day I see justice being done to the countless taxis who use the contra-flow bus lane on Leeson St.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭melbourne

Indeed .. they do no more or less training or testing than anyone else on the road with a full license.

Taxi man
    White van man
    Bus Driver
    Yummy mummy SUV drivers
    Boy racers

They're all tarring a group with the same brush, its not all specifically true but people generalise on what they see.

The term professional to me would indicate that they are qualified above the norm for the task they perform.
    user_online.gif

Only taxi men and bus drivers are providing a service to the public, therefore they should behave professionally. From my experience bus drivers are usually fairly sharp and very courteous, however the same could not be said for taxi's. Where do we start, pulling in whenever and where ever then want with little or no warning, indicators and lane disipline are an optional extra not to mention illigal u-turns. I'd rather walk home than get a taxi. Does no one remember the days when they held the city to ransom with their cartel. However the tables have turned by the looks of the taxi ranks flooded with cabs at the weekends. Anyway back to the point, its great to hear of people who really deserve to get done being pulled by the traffic Garda.

Honey-ec wrote: »
    I'm still patiently awaiting the day I see justice being done to the countless taxis who use the contra-flow bus lane on Leeson St.

Some spike strips across the lane should do it.
    Or some of those automatic barriers in the middle of the road :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

Or some of those automatic barriers in the middle of the road :)

I love these clips...

melbourne wrote: »
    Only taxi men and bus drivers are providing a service to the public, therefore they should behave professionally. From my experience bus drivers are usually fairly sharp and very courteous, however the same could not be said for taxi's. Where do we start, pulling in whenever and where ever then want with little or no warning, indicators and lane disipline are an optional extra not to mention illigal u-turns. I'd rather walk home than get a taxi. Does no one remember the days when they held the city to ransom with their cartel. However the tables have turned by the looks of the taxi ranks flooded with cabs at the weekends. Anyway back to the point, its great to hear of people who really deserve to get done being pulled by the traffic Garda.

Yes, this is what i mean by getting tarred with the same brush. Its not like every man or woman gets Asshole stamped on their forehead when they become a taxi driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Zube wrote: »

Oh how I LOLed!!!