Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boffer.co.uk Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

And they'll reply with:

"Am I boffered?"

catherinertate.jpg

jvc wrote: »
    You might want to check that again. I dont think sterling is that low!
    Don't question Google, my brotha'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭jvc

basquille wrote: »

When you said with shipping and all I took it as including shipping. Crossed wires.

Ah, I see. My fault actually!

I gave the item price (without shipping).. though mentioned it included shipping!

basquille wrote: »
    Ah, I see. My fault actually!

I gave the item price (without shipping).. though mentioned it included shipping!

Il forgive you this time since its down to you that I found this site.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

yeah it def wasn't for me. I read some people thought it might be a vhs - dvd converter which would have been pretty decent. ohwell

The VCRs are sold out now. (so they say anyway;)). There should be another offer tonight so and hopefully it will be an improvement.

Edit: from one of the staff on the boffer forum "ok quick heads up on tonites offer it might be branded Reebok."

The staff over at the Boffer forum have hinted tonight's item will be branded 'Reebok'. and they have a quantity of 580 of them.

Some more interesting news over at Boffer that one of the staff posted..
    Todays offer will be posted at 11.59. On the freebie front we have a mega freebie one of our suppliers wants to test a new product and tp help promote it they have given us a huge amount to give away. in fact we can safely say every registred member can get one. the only clue i can give you is we will be running it within the next 3 days. excuse the spelling im using my phone to postand a bit tipsy
    Could be good!

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

ooh, thanks for the heads up! I likes freebies! :)

I wasn't as lucky with the MMC card, as I was with the Nike watch (which wasn't free, but damn cheap).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

cool site, how much did the nike watch sell for

The mega freebie sounds good alright. One of the posters on the forum thinks tonights offer might be a "Reebok Fitness Gym Pack". Thats not confirmed yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

irish-stew wrote: »
    cool site, how much did the nike watch sell for

20 quid - sterling

Reebok Water Bottle And Professional Speed Rope Set - €6.25 delivered!

REEBOK001.jpg
    Many things in this world come with hidden surprises, like money filled with chocolate, donuts with blue berry jam in the middle and perhaps that nice looking woman you pulled at the bar who actually turns out to actually be a pre op transvestite.

Now I am not hinting that any Reebok research and development staff has had any similar experiences but something must have happened to give them this idea, and I don’t think it was jam in a donut. But then think of it this way what they have done is actually a good idea.

Why just sell a Reebok Branded sports water bottle when you can save on space and packaging and put something inside it. The clever people at Reebok have just done that, but don’t worry though you won’t be finding any male genitalia in this water bottle. They have stuffed a very handy speed rope inside, yes it can be used for some cool Indiana Jones stunts but I think the original purpose was for skipping.
    Q) skipping what`s that then? A) have a look here.

So now not only can you skip, but you can keep yourself cool and wet, proper Rocky style (can you hear that theme tune?).

But let’s not continue talking about Rocky because then Sylvester Stallone will be remembered and then possibly his mother and that will just bring us back to transvestites again so it’s a very slippery slope.

So to summaries, this sweet little package contains one Reebok water bottle and a Reebok professional speed rope for all the skipping you could ever wish..

NO THANK YOU!

EDIT: Their product descriptions always give me a laugh! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

same here, especilay now that i have seen the price in €'s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Mossy

A rope in a bottle! I'd be disappointed with that even if they were giving it away for free.

So far the free stuff has been more impressive than most of the stuff they're selling.

Details of tonights Boffer.

Aren't Silvercrest the same brand that's sold in Lidl? Anyways, 2 x Mini Stereo Systems for about €23.80 delivered? Not bad value.. probably not great quality all the same.

And a freebie tomorrow night!
    stereobattle.jpg

Twin pack – Yes Two x Silver Crest Mini Stereo Systems for £15.99

Right now your probably asking the question, What in the name of Emile Berliner would I want with 2 Mini Stereo Systems even if they are branded as Silvercrest and sold in a major supermarket for £29.99?

We agree that it’s a justifiable question. Unless you have some sort of fetish involving compact discs, your need for Stereo’s probably tops out at one (Possibly two, but it’s quite likely you own two or three already). So we agree you have raised a legitimate and valid point.

But here’s a question: Q) What are we supposed to do with thousands of these things? If two seems useless and extreme, what about two thousand, Twenty thousand and every one taking up crucial warehouse space that could be occupied by more exhilarating electronic offerings. We know we don’t want them. But you people are a bit peculiar, so maybe you might!!

What are you supposed to do with two Mini Stereos? Not our problem really. Use them as dog chews, peddle them on eBay (if you are reading this on eBay it's because this seller cut and pasted our description without our permission. Do you really want to do business with someone like that?).

Because if we had any good ideas for what to do with a Trillion Stereos , we wouldn’t be selling them at a time for £15.99 for 2.

Condition: Brand New- Bankrupt stock
    Warranty: 90 days.

MRP: For 1 Mini Stereo £29.99

Colour : White

Maximum Order Quantity: 4 x twin packs ( that’s eight Stereos in total)

Stock will be live at 11.59pm

Specification:

* Mini Stereo System with Integrated CD Player and Radio.
    * Alarm Clock function
    * CD Player is suitable for playing CD, CD-R & CD-RW
    * Analogue UKW (FM) and MW radio with digital frequency display
    * Time and alarm time, walk up to an alarm sound, radio or cd
    * Remote control
    * Music Output 2 x 1.2watts
    * Aux input for connecting MP3 players and other audio devices
    * power adaptor
    * Wall mountable

In The box:
    * 2 x Silver Crest Model CT 701 Mini Stereo Systems
    * 2 x Remote Controls
    * 2 x Manuals
    * 4 x Speaker Stands
    * 2 x Power Adapters.

Very Important notice: The next boffer Freebie will be available on Monday 25th August at 11.59PM. The freebie is only available to registered members. If you are not registered do it now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Stokolan

Bought it so will let ya know what there like. They'll be handy for the workshop in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Onikage

"Also at 11.59pm tonight we will be unleashing our latest boffer freebie. This freebie is only available to registered member so register now by clicking on the link below.

https://www.boffer.co.uk/register.php

If you have any friends who you think may be interested in the latest boffer remember to forward them this email.

The Boffer Team.

Please note we have unlimited stock of this freebie."

Unlimited stocks? What is it, an e-book?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Onikage wrote: »
    "Also at 11.59pm tonight we will be unleashing our latest boffer freebie. This freebie is only available to registered member so register now by clicking on the link below.

https://www.boffer.co.uk/register.php

If you have any friends who you think may be interested in the latest boffer remember to forward them this email.

The Boffer Team.

Please note we have unlimited stock of this freebie."

Unlimited stocks? What is it, an e-book?
    Or coupons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭boardsie08

Stokolan wrote: »
    Bought it so will let ya know what there like. They'll be handy for the workshop in work.

How much was postage to Ireland for the 2 Silvercrest CD players?

boardsie08 wrote: »
    How much was postage to Ireland for the 2 Silvercrest CD players?
    £2.99.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Its probably software.

I got the 2 Gig mp3 players today. They seem grand and i think they look better in the flesh than in the picture. Will test out the size of the memory later.

jvc wrote: »
    I got the 2 Gig mp3 players today. They seem grand and i think they look better in the flesh than in the picture. Will test out the size of the memory later.
    Do let us know.. cos I haven't recieved mine yet.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Mine arrived today as well. I agree, they look a bit better than they did in the pic, although the bulge on the back where the battery goes is quite ugly. The two pre-installed tracks are pretty tragic, I vaguely remember them from the 80s. That said, for the price they were I can't really complain. Total memory on them appears to be 1.9GB.

What are the read / write speeds like on it?

I dunno, stop asking me complicated techy questions!

Just did a quick test, copying files to the stick averaged speeds around 400-450KB/sec. Copying from it averaged around the 850-920KB/sec range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

R/W Speeds are pretty bad to be honest
    They seem to be usb1.1
    Weren`t they advertised as USB2.0?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Shulgin wrote: »
    R/W Speeds are pretty bad to be honest
    They seem to be usb1.1
    Weren`t they advertised as USB2.0?
    Just because they are usb2.0 doesn't mean that they won't have rubbish read write speeds.

But you see they aren`t usb2.0 , The little sheet of paper with the spec reads "USB 1.1 read 500kb,write 400kb."

Meh.. beggars can't be choosers.

They'll do the job!

Shulgin wrote: »
    But you see they aren`t usb2.0 , The little sheet of paper with the spec reads "USB 1.1 read 500kb,write 400kb."

It does indeed, while the Boffer website says this
    Connectivity: USB 2.0 high-speed transmission

Yeah, just visited the forum post on it back on the Boffer site and one of the last comments:
    Got mine today, Pity its only USB1.1 and not USB2.0 as advertised .
    Ah well.. mine hasn't arrived yet. Bit odd - anyone still waiting?

It takes longer for the pigeons to fly to Sligo than it does to Dublin :)

Mine only arrived today, and about a week for stuff from the UK seems to be the norm so I'd imagine they'll arrive in the next day or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭red_fox

Speeds are slow, but that was expected, I ran a test with 'crystal disk mark'. I also tested a 2GB SD I had near me for comparison

2GB Boffer iDisk MP3:
    Sequential Read : 0.962 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 0.579 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 0.935 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 0.654 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB : 0.406 MB/s
    Random Write 4KB : 0.032 MB/s

2GB SD (Sandisk):
    Sequential Read : 8.011 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 2.226 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 7.969 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 1.502 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB : 3.844 MB/s
    Random Write 4KB : 0.034 MB/s

Test Size : 100 MB

anyone elses Boffer not updating tonight?

It's 23:52 and I'm still getting the twin CD player offer.. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭magicEye

I get the same at 11.56....

Anyone any ideas what the freebie is tonight???

Cheers,

Magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

A big fat load of nothing :) Free delivery on any order this week.

This is what I can see. WTF???
    BOFFER FREEBIE - THE USB FORNICATION OPTIMISER

Here at boffer we love our customers. The only complaint we have is we don’t have enough of them. We would be delighted if there were more of you. We have tried all of the usual methods to get even more “loyal customers”. Sell stuff cheap, ask our current customers to recommend a friend. Although the results have been good they haven’t been extraordinary.

Since kidnapping people and forcing them to buy stuff off us is a bit extreme. We have decided that you guys will have to help us by manufacturing new customers. You… yes you… need to have more children!!! Since cloning is a grey area we are going to have to do it the old fashioned way.

With this in mind we have teamed up with The Shenzhen Cattle Breeding Company to launch by way of a freebie ( that’s right at no cost to you) a Brand new product. If you guys like it and approve it. (Remember to post a review) .We will begin marketing it on our sister site bigpockets.

We bring you THE USB FORNICATION OPTIMISER.

Q) What does it do?

It helps reduce the time it takes to conceive your baby. Nearly all couplewho conceive do so as a result of having intercourse during the six days leading up to an including ovulation.

The USB Fornication Optimizer is the first and only technology based solely on hormone monitoring that provides you with personalized daily fertility for pregnancy planning.

The USB Fornication Optimizer:

1. Displays your most fertile days unmistakably.
    2. Identifies your personal level of fertility every day.
    3. Tells you which days to test.

The USB Fornication Optimizer Test Sticks are an essential part of the The USB Fornication Optimizer. You will be supplied with 30 free of charge however you will be able to buy additional sticks for a modest sum from our sister site.

The process starts off like most such tests. You pee on the stick. Take the end of the said stick and put it in the into the USB Fornication optimizer. When the light goes blue on the optimizer. Plug it into the USB port on your PC. The inbuilt software displays a graph of the best days to try and conceive. Couldn’t be easier really……. So get spawning.

Condition: Remanufactured ByThe Shenzhen Cattle Breeding Company
    System requirements:

1. For PC Users: Windows 98, 2000, ME, XP and Vista
    2. For MAC users: Mac OS 9 to OS 10

Package Includes:
    The USB Fornication Optimizer.
    30 Testing sticks.
    USB extension Cable
    User Manual

Disclaimer: This product was originally produced for cattle the manufacturer assures us, that with their modifications it will now work on humans. We can take no responsibility whatsoever if it doesn’t. Your statutory rights are not affected.
    Important Note: Please ensure you read your order confirmation email once you have ordered this product.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

You get rickrolled as well! :mad:
    We have decided to upgrade your order for a free USB Fornication Optimizer for something much better have a look
    here

If you cannot click the link please copy and paste the following url into a browser

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOESanX3Op4

Kind Regards

The Boffer Team

A USB Fornicator? :confused:

Qué?
    BOFFERED.jpg

Here at boffer we love our customers. The only complaint we have is we don’t have enough of them. We would be delighted if there were more of you. We have tried all of the usual methods to get even more “loyal customers”. Sell stuff cheap, ask our current customers to recommend a friend. Although the results have been good they haven’t been extraordinary.

Since kidnapping people and forcing them to buy stuff off us is a bit extreme. We have decided that you guys will have to help us by manufacturing new customers. You… yes you… need to have more children!!! Since cloning is a grey area we are going to have to do it the old fashioned way.

With this in mind we have teamed up with The Shenzhen Cattle Breeding Company to launch by way of a freebie ( that’s right at no cost to you) a Brand new product. If you guys like it and approve it. (Remember to post a review) .We will begin marketing it on our sister site bigpockets.

We bring you THE USB FORNICATION OPTIMISER.

Q) What does it do?

It helps reduce the time it takes to conceive your baby. Nearly all couplewho conceive do so as a result of having intercourse during the six days leading up to an including ovulation.

The USB Fornication Optimizer is the first and only technology based solely on hormone monitoring that provides you with personalized daily fertility for pregnancy planning.

The USB Fornication Optimizer:

1. Displays your most fertile days unmistakably.
    2. Identifies your personal level of fertility every day.
    3. Tells you which days to test.

The USB Fornication Optimizer Test Sticks are an essential part of the The USB Fornication Optimizer. You will be supplied with 30 free of charge however you will be able to buy additional sticks for a modest sum from our sister site.

The process starts off like most such tests. You pee on the stick. Take the end of the said stick and put it in the into the USB Fornication optimizer. When the light goes blue on the optimizer. Plug it into the USB port on your PC. The inbuilt software displays a graph of the best days to try and conceive. Couldn’t be easier really……. So get spawning.

Condition: Remanufactured ByThe Shenzhen Cattle Breeding Company
    System requirements:

1. For PC Users: Windows 98, 2000, ME, XP and Vista
    2. For MAC users: Mac OS 9 to OS 10

Package Includes:
    The USB Fornication Optimizer.
    30 Testing sticks.
    USB extension Cable
    User Manual
    The pink teddy is giving me sexy eyes... I wouldn't mind "fornicating her USB"... if you get my drift...

.. you do right?

Oh.. and as Quackles mentioned.. code for free delivery this week too! :)

Well I just got a freebie.. admittedly in my haste to get the damn thing I didn't even bother to read what it was first..

I'm now the proud owner of a USB USB Fornication Optimizer Test StickFornication Optimizer Test Stick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭davehey79

"FREEBOFFER" does that mean we dont get the USB thingamajig but get free shipping later in the week

Lads..

A freebie and free delivery? What are ye complaining about? :confused:

Did ye expect a free PS3 or something? Cos I got the last of them.... sorry!

PS - davehey79. yeah, USB fornicator is a fancy way of saying "you're getting screwed over... USB!" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,331 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

There's no USB thingy, the confirmation mail leads to this vid

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOESanX3Op4

Basically a roundabout way of giving people freedelivery when the enter the code FREEBOFFER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

For shame.

What...

.... eh....

... Hmmm...

... where's my USB fornication? My lawyers will be on the case first thing in the morning - we're gonna crack this thing WIDE open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

So there definitly is no USB thingy because in my hast I ordered one, thinking it was some sort of USB wireless thingy for the computer. Can I cancel my order?

Dman001 wrote: »
    So there definitly is no USB thingy because in my hast I ordered one, thinking it was some sort of USB wireless thingy for the computer. Can I cancel my order?

There is nothing to cancel. :D