Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1mb broadband is great

• 23-08-2008 3:51am
    Company Representative Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭

please tell me......isn't 1mb broadband great (please tell me all the things you cant achieve with 1mb brodband)

• Company Representative Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Magnet: Rory

i have to say im sick of this, so many people happy as larry with 1mbps, its rubbish...how could you be happy............let start a revolution....go beyone 1mbps

• Registered Users Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Pete67

I'm happy with my 20mbps :D

• Registered Users Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

1Mbps is OK if latency and packet loss is very low. Unless you doing big downloads or sharing it. 7Mbps + with high packet loss and high latency is actually worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Eh, by any chance are you working for the eircom PR unit which specialises in areas with long lines?

Isn't dial-up brilliant? You get to hear all those lovely gurgles and crackles as the modem makes a connection.

(Joke)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

compared to what eircom calls a dial up service, it is mighty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭hbr

Rorser wrote: »
    please tell me......isn't 1mb broadband great (please tell me all the things you cant achieve with 1mb brodband)

I can think of a lot of things that I couldn't do with 1mb 'broadband'.
    I couldn't view this 276kB page. If I had started downloading it
    on the day I was born, I would still be waiting for the page to
    load :)

Unless you really meant 1Mb ?

@hbr lots of people don't know M= 1,000,000 and m = 1/1,000th or even that "u" (mu Greek letter) is = micro = 1/1,000,000th

Including Computer manufacturers (Memory uses powers of two and it started in late 1970s with "1k" Memory chips. 1 bit x 10 address wires = 1024 bits. Things went downhill since. Normally Disk storage and communications speeds are NOT powers of 2, so count in 1,000s like proper SI units, not in 1024s). Also k and K tend to both be used to mean 1,000 hence confusion.

1,000 = Kilo
    1024 = Kibi
    1,000,000 = Mega = M
    1024 x 1024 = Mibi = Mi

Except people just use Kilo and Mega for both and you "guess" from context :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭ProjectC

well im currently with imagine since say one on there 1mb connection

iv bin ugraded to 2 mb and now just recently 3mb

there is no difference watsoever on the majoraty of websites.

boards.ie doesnt load anyfaster than on a 3mb vs 1mb

HOWEVER if im downlaoding of a torrent viewing webpages and downloading a youtube video then YES 1mb did get slow!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭ronrar

im running ****ty eircom 1mb, i was going to switch to upc then i found out there phone service isnt available here yet, im just going to wait till its available and switch to 10mb, i hope they do it quickly, they wouldnt give me an sort of estimate, :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭hbr

watty wrote: »
    Except people just use Kilo and Mega for both and you "guess" from context :(

Which reminds me, I haven't heard you on 144MHz (not mHz) for a while :)

rotator died on the 4.5m beam in Limerick. It's pointed at Devon, so could be worse. Dublin I only have a discone.

I'll have the Dual band FM on Scan Mon Morning as I cross the country.

ronrar wrote: »
    im running ****ty eircom 1mb
    I find Perlico's to be worse. Pings are roughly the same as Eircom's 7.6 meg package. I was testing them with my cousin just there, pinging rte.ie on Perlico came back with an average of 38ms while Eircom 1 meg was 19ms.

Before someone says to change, the account isn't in my name so I can't!

• Registered Users Posts: 43,889 ✭✭✭✭Basq

28.8K is all I need.......

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭amby666

im running ****ty eircom 1mb, i was going to switch to upc then i found out there phone service isnt available here yet, im just going to wait till its available and switch to 10mb, i hope they do it quickly, they wouldnt give me an sort of estimate, :(

I'm about to do something similar for a friend of mine, but not taking UPC phone (line rental, expensive calls).

My route is:
    Install UPC broadband.
    Create account with Blueface.
    Port phone number from Eircom to Blueface.
    After porting, cancel Eircom line.

I've been using this setup for 3 years now and am very happy.
    The Blueface set up also allows free calls to Blueface (or other voip) users, can be used on a laptop when I'm away, and from a mobile with wi-fi.

Lot of information/help on this approach on the Voip forum.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

1MB broadband is better then 512K which is better then 56K which is better then 33K which is better then 28K etc etc :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭barnicles

Q. What can't you do with 1MB broadband?
    A. Download HD movie in 10 seconds:D

woot 500 posts

You can't do it with 100Mbps BB either.

You'd need about 8000Mbps BB to download an HD movie in 10s... But I know how you can download it instantly.

Buy it in Tesco

watty wrote: »
    You can't do it with 100Mbps BB either.

You'd need about 8000Mbps BB to download an HD movie in 10s... But I know how you can download it instantly.

Buy it in Tesco

It makes me wonder, most people are fine with 1 Mb or 3 Mb so the 10+ options, are they really just for pirates to download software and movies? ;) If you don't do either of those a 10 or 20 meg connection probably isn't much benefit to you is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Karsini wrote: »
    It makes me wonder, most people are fine with 1 Mb or 3 Mb so the 10+ options, are they really just for pirates to download software and movies? ;) If you don't do either of those a 10 or 20 meg connection probably isn't much benefit to you is it?
    Ah now .. stop that talk! Some people download games (Steam is a legitimate example) and others buy videos / music to download online. Others like to Stream movie trailers, connect to their home media PC or CCTV camera remotely etc.

It's not just for "pirates". Grr .. I hate when people say that (even if in jest) .. our country is slow enough for broadband as it is!

would you be able to use RTE streaming on a 1mb line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭ronrar

would you be able to use RTE streaming on a 1mb line?

yes............................

does streaming work better at higher speeds or is it the same basic services at any speed over a set threshold?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

does streaming work better at higher speeds or is it the same basic services at any speed over a set threshold?
    streaming works better at higher speeds, less/no pausing, especially with decent quality streams( i.e. not youtube overcompressed stuff )

This thread is completely subjective, gaming is grand on a 1MB connection( maybe something like Battlefield 2 on a 64player server might be crap ) as long as the pings are low, but it depends entirely what you want to do with it, also 1mb upload is slower so is a pain in the butt for uploading photos etc.

I use steam a lot and with 1mb it would take ages to get some of the TF updates, also patches for games are regularly 250megs+, meaning 40 minutes to download a patch instead of 13 minutes with a 3mb or 6 and a half mins with a 6mb connection

For surfing and gaming 1mb is fine

what about world of warcraft...i heard it wasnt very good on 1mb.... I could be wrong, anyone know any details?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

what about world of warcraft...i heard it wasnt very good on 1mb.... I could be wrong, anyone know any details?
    well i dont play it so cant comment, but the minimum requirements for it state 56k modem as the minimum so id guess 1Mb BB would be fine for it( might be the odd bit of lag though )

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

1MB is perfect for WoW. I've had 5 lads in my gaff in a big raid at the same time, no problems, no lag.

what about world of warcraft...i heard it wasnt very

good on 1mb.... I could be wrong, anyone know any details?

Slaanesh wrote: »
    1MB is perfect for WoW. I've had 5 lads in my gaff in a big raid at the same time, no problems, no lag.

good feedback, thanks very much.