Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PUAs in Dublin

167891012»

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

NickNolte wrote: »
    My problem with all this PUA stuff is that it makes the primary (and incorrect) assumption that women hate men and that men have to act cavalier as a result.

I think you'll find you are doing the assuming.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

K-9 wrote: »
    I think you'll find you are doing the assuming.

Nah, sorry.

My problem with all this PUA stuff is that it makes the primary (and incorrect) assumption that women hate men and that men have to act cavalier as a result. It's very unhealthy. If adopted wholesale as the norm, it will make for a very unhealthy society full of complete arseholes.

Grand, can you elaborate, or is it a pre conceived notion you have?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭sillysasauge

It's mad how people who are against this on this thread keep assuming stuff about the community without actually taking time to properly look into it, Everyone keeps explaining it including me and have given links to videos one of the top "puas" to back it up and no one comments on my posts, lols.

Ask me questions and i'll give an honest answer about my experiences with all this stuff. I wouldn't be embarrassed to tell even my mum about what I have learned to be honest.

K-9 wrote: »
    can you elaborate

Elaborate on what? I've made a statement, take it or leave it. I'm not trying to *prove* it to anyone. And yes, it's a learned opinion albeit from a reasonably small amount of reasearch into this bizarre and creepy little subculture.

So they think women hate men.

How so from your research and enlightened opinion?

My problem with all this PUA stuff is that it makes the primary (and incorrect) assumption that women hate men and that men have to act cavalier as a result. It's very unhealthy. If adopted wholesale as the norm, it will make for a very unhealthy society full of complete arseholes.

How did you come to that conclusion?:confused: Please do tell me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It's mad how people who are against this on this thread keep assuming stuff about the community without actually taking time to properly look into it, Everyone keeps explaining it including me and have given links to videos one of the top "puas" to back it up and no one comments on my posts, lols.
    +1 Like I say, deeply perceived notions, right or wrong, healthy or unhealthy are damn hard to shift.

As for NickNolte's post, OK now I'm coming from an admittedly fairly uninformed angle on this PUA stuff, but that bit I didn't get. From what's available free on the first page of google anyway. Hell for all I know they're boiling comely maidens alive at seminars.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

I havent watched any videos as my computer has no sound and I cant lip read yet.

Klaz, I dont need any personal details to form an opinion on it. I can understand why men may attend such things but why didnt you do a self confidence course? Why did you go for PUA? Im sure what attracted you to it first was the promise that eventually youd get some if you followed these guidelines.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Puddleduck wrote: »
    Im sure what attracted you to it first was the promise that eventually youd get some if you followed these guidelines.
    whats wrong with that though? There's a big range between getting a quick shag and meeting someone to have a long term relationship with, but you still need to meet both types. If someone doesn't make the most of himself(or herself), they either won't get to meet and have romantic sexual relationship, or they'll be so stoked with the first one they meet by chance they'll be convinced they're the only one for them. They could miss out on a better person for them. People usually just go alog with that "method" and look at the divorce rates in countries where its easy. 50% +

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Puddleduck wrote: »
    Klaz, I dont need any personal details to form an opinion on it.

I think you did since you seemed to have so many problems understanding what this topic was about.
    I can understand why men may attend such things but why didnt you do a self confidence course? Why did you go for PUA? Im sure what attracted you to it first was the promise that eventually youd get some if you followed these guidelines.

I did buy a number of "self-confidence" tapes and TBH they either didn't work for me, or they were rubbish. Probably because i didn't apply myself well enough to them at the time. In any case, the Speed Seduction course worked wonders.

I was attracted to it because it would teach me to meet girls. Simple. Nevermind about sex, but to have a succession of successful dates? wooooooo! That would have been awesome at that time in my life :D I didn't find the majority of girls in my locality particularly attractive, and the ones I did find attractive were considered the "elite". So if i wanted to get the good looking girls, I needed to move away from the loner and compete with the Gaelic Footballers, or the rich kids.. Does that make sense?

You're making an incorrect assumption right there. The PUA scene assumes that women like men, like sex, and love to flirt with men. That women have the freedom of choice, and we are there to help them in that choice. haha.. All perfectly healthy. ...

As for arseholes, I think there's no shortage of them of either sex on an average night out in any town/city in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭damo

Nick,

You just proved right there with that quote that you dont have a clue about PUA (hate that term). I hate it when people who are pretty clueless about something try to make strong arguments for or against it. Like when people see some little clip on the news about some issue in the middle east and then argue it to the death in the pub as if its their own highly informed opinion.

I've seen personal friends gain great things from this pua stuff, great social lives and sex lives where before they had none, do a little research before you become so opposed to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭stevelknievel

Nicknolte, I have to say that is ridiculous assumption to make. Why would they start a course about how you can get women by convincing you that women hate men and don't want to be with you? It's the complete opposite. The core is that every single woman likes sex and likes to have sex. Most of them like to have it with a man and you could be him. To Puddleduck and all the other doubters, some people are fortunate to have the social intuition and confidence automatically. Some people are fortunate enough to know they don't, but know where they are going wong and can work on it themselves. Some on the other hand haven't got a clue how to act or what they're doing wrong. And everybody knows the guy. You see him on nights out at the edge of a group being ignored by the majority, or in the corner of the club clutching his drink as if to prove he had a right to be there. If they need help, what's wrong with them getting it. Yes it's about getting the girl, but girls like confident, successful, happy people. So the entire scene is about becoming more confident, more successful and happier with yourself. Please tell me what's wrong with that.

To end, I'm going to quote Judas Priest. I think it's quite apt:

You don't know what it's like
    You don't have a clue
    If you did you'd find yourselves
    Doing the same thing too

Hahaha. Oh God. 'PUA'. 'Pick Up Artist'. What a load of pathetic nonsense. Hahahahaha. Oh boy. Listen folks - enjoy it. I'll stop being judgemental. Hahahahaha.

Nice1, great reply defending all the assumptions you made there!! Thanks for replying to all our posts explaining what it's all about.

Only messing, you come across as very ignorant though:D

you come across as very ignorant though:D

Sorry, you're right. I'll need to educate myself futher. Maybe I'll watch a video.

Nice1 Yeah, that's a start, we are getting somewhere ;)

Ive seen that before, and If you watch just over a minute into the video i'd like you to do me a favor and tell me the reasons that group of lads gave for joining the community.

Im counting on you not to ignore my post this time:D

Ah it's all in the video sure, I don't need to reiterate it. Looks like a proper laugh.

Please do though as you are being very vague and just making yourself look like a naughty ignorant person!:p

What problems do you have with a group of people who got bullied at school and are low on self esteem trying to better themselves?

None. But why make women the primary focus of your self-help? Why not better yourself by improving yourself, learning to respect yourself and then maybe you can have proper respect for a woman rather than just objectifying them like the idiot in that video is teaching them to do?

Just a suggestion. Then again what do I know. I'm ignorant.

None. But why make women the primary focus of your self-help? Why not better yourself by improving yourself, learning to respect yourself and then maybe you can have proper respect for a woman rather than just objectifying them like the idiot in that video is teaching them to do?

Just a suggestion. Then again what do I know. I'm ignorant.

But that is what we have explaining for the last 5 pages, that is where the community is moving towards now. Self Improvement, making yourself more attractive as a person in all areas. The attractive qualities the guy I read up on helps you improve are

1 Confidence
    2 Leadership
    3 Pre selection (basically hanging out with women as platonic friends so other women will see you are comforatble around them and not a mad thing :D)
    4 Ambition
    5 Social intelligence
    6 possessing skills and experiences that set you apart from other people, e.g taking part in a hobby, going traveling etc
    Since I read up on this I have started a martial arts, go to the gym regularly, take an evening course and am learning spanish.

Seriously I know a lot of this stuff can seem weird if you're basing it on a fella wearing a bit hat and goggles, lols. But the majority is pretty much dating advise and making yourself more attractive.

btw I'm just presuming you where ignorant based on you're posts seeing as you are not replying to us or asking us any questions when we try to explain ourselves, your probably sound in real life :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭johnathan woss

Am I the only man that is simply saddened the more I find out about the nature of women ?

Yes I'm sure this stuff works, but the truth simply doesn't have the charm and magic of what we believed when we were young and naive does it ? :pac:

The only thing I would add is everyone has an opinion on any subject you care to mention, but if someone doesn't want to engage with you, then after trying once or twice, let it go. Nicknolte has his, is either unwilling, unable or just simply thinks its guff which is cool, so leave him to it. He cant convince you and you can't convince him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

As a woman, I find the PUA community very interesting. I can see where it helps men to build confidence, and what they teach does seem to work on quite a lot of women. But for me, the overall premise and exploration of human pyschology and interaction is the most interesting, which is why I really enjoy watching the tutorials and shows.

Am I the only man that is simply saddened the more I find out about the nature of women ?

Yes I'm sure this stuff works, but the truth simply doesn't have the charm and magic of what we believed when we were young and naive does it ? :pac:

Not sure what you mean. Some women disappoint me, some pleasently surprise me.
    As a woman, I find the PUA community very interesting. I can see where it helps men to build confidence, and what they teach does seem to work on quite a lot of women. But for me, the overall premise and exploration of human pyschology and interaction is the most interesting, which is why I really enjoy watching the tutorials and shows.

Indeed. Some of the stuff that I think would never work can. Mad.

Maybe you are. The more i learn about women the more interested, fascinated, intrigued etc I am. They are amazing creatures with so many different shades/layers of personality. Every woman is truly different, and its a joy to find out about them. The older I get the more I want to be with them... :D

[I've been lucky. Through the Speed Seduction material, I've learned to avoid nutters or psychos. I've never really had a bad experience with being with a woman, beyond being cheated on once. ]

The Truth? What is the truth? One mans truth is another mans lie. The simple fact is that the truth is fluid. After living in China, I've seen that the "truth" is very deceptive depending on who's educating you. And that is pointed at western culture as much as it is at Chinese...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Seems like the author of PUA's is on his way to Dublin. Tis for Trinity students but often there are ways around these things :p
    The Phil
    Neil Strauss, author of The Game and legendary lothario
    Dear Members.
    Next Tuesday at 1pm, Neil Strauss (who also goes by the pen names of Style and Chris Powels) will be speaking at The Phil. Strauss is an author, journalist and ghost writer, known for his best-selling book The Game: Penetrating the Secret Society of Pickup Artists. He also regularly writes for the New York Times and is a contributing editor at Rolling Stone Magazine.
    In his acclaimed book, The Game, Strauss tells the tale of his two year transformation from AFC "average frustrated chump" into legendary pickup artist Style. The book made a month-long appearance in the New York Times bestsellers list and reached number 1 position on Amazon.com immediately after its release in the US.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Oh my christ why does this bloody thread never die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

RATM wrote: »
    Seems like the author of PUA's is on his way to Dublin. Tis for Trinity students but often there are ways around these things :p
    Ooh, might actually go along to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Dumbledore

The three keys to each door to the bedroom are as follows

1. The leader of men - A woman loves status, look at Wayne Rooney, hardly Cristiano Ronaldo(well, lookswise anyway) and he has a very hot girlfriend. He is one of countless examples. It is always the sports stars etc. who get the
    hottest girls in school, because women love to be seen with somebody who has value and respect from other people. It also helps that famous people are usually rich.

2. Pre-selected by women - Men who have been with attractive girls before, have a validity to female prospects. If a woman sees that her target is with other attractive women, she will feel there must be a reason for this and that this man is a legitimate catch. Also jealousy comes into effect here, a woman loves to get an attractive man in front of all her friends.

3. Protector of his loved ones - Possibly the hardest to convey through words alone, this is an attribute that is vital for a woman. The female brain wants to find a mate that will look after her and their children and protect them from harm. It can be seen in all forms of nature. This is the reason women like men with huge muscles and athletic physique, or guys with specialist skills like kickboxers. It is a subconcious thing, whenever I ask a bird why she loves big guns, pecs and sixpacks she can never explain why exactly.

I work around those three rules and whenever I have been able to convey them to a hot chick, it seriously works!

But let us also remember
    Especially do not feign affection.
    Neither be cynical about love,
    for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment,
    it is as perennial as the grass.
    Desiderata