Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vet Nursing

Options
  • 27-08-2008 11:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone can help me please?

I was hoping to apply to UCD next year to study Vet Nursing and I spoke to the Course Administrator at the college and she told me that because I would be applying as a mature student I need to have at least 1 years experience of working with animals before I can apply.

I have not been able to secure a position at a vet surgery yet, although I have been told by one vet surgery that I am first on the list if a position comes up.

I was wondering if anyone knows what else would qualify as experience and also does it have to be full time or is part time work OK?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :confused:

P.S. As you can probably tell, I am very new to this so sorry if I have done anything wrong!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Économiste Monétaire

Maybe an animal refuge centre? The RSPCA? A pet shop? Technically all of those are 'working with animals'. Just a thought...

Ask the course director exactly what s/he means by 'working with animals', is it solely work experience with a vet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Zion Star

Thanks UCD_Econ

The administrator said that working with a rescue center would count but I have tried to get work in a rescue center too but I found that they have staff already and don't want to take someone else on even though I told them that I would work for free.

Also, the petshops that I spoke to seem to be run by husband/wife and they don't need anyone else to work for them.