Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do when you see non community airsofters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

not off track

we need resources to point at and use if and when we come skirmishers that haven't put any thought into what they are doing

personally i use the same rules i used with speeding if you are seen by someone who cares you deserve to get in trouble but i would never inform on someone for driving fast although i would point out to them the inherent dangers and repercussions

these resources will need to include but not be limited to:
    an iaa leaflet or similar in every box sold in Ireland stating an official and sensible approach to airsofting

even the non affiliates should have these to hand out with airsoft gear

a club in every county or at least lots of clubs that could organise trips maintaince saftey briefings etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Pardon me for stating the bloody obvious, but Airsoft guns are not toys.

They may be legally treated as toys in the US, but here they are replica firearms.

They look like firearms, they feel like firearms, GBBs can even sound a bit like firearms, and any police officer in any country will treat them as firearms until proven otherwise. What else do you expect them to do FFS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Tigger wrote: »
    not off track

we need resources to point at and use if and when we come skirmishers that haven't put any thought into what they are doing

personally i use the same rules i used with speeding if you are seen by someone who cares you deserve to get in trouble but i would never inform on someone for driving fast although i would point out to them the inherent dangers and repercussions

these resources will need to include but not be limited to:
    an iaa leaflet or similar in every box sold in Ireland stating an official and sensible approach to airsofting

even the non affiliates should have these to hand out with airsoft gear

a club in every county or at least lots of clubs that could organise trips maintaince saftey briefings etc

PLease send the cheque to cover the costs to the usual address.

Oh, wait, what? You didnt intend to pay for it yourself?

All IAA affiliates have been issued with a printable flyer covering the basics of what to do and not to do with airsoft kit which is meant to be made available in the stores and with every purchase. On which, to my knowledge, it clearly states not to brandish them in public. Something that is said repeatedly by the IAA.

From the IAA players code of conduct

"e) IAA members should at all times be aware and sensitive of the nature of their sport and the effect it may have on civilians. Where the use of Airsoft devices etc will cause distress to civilians all reasonable efforts should be made to limit, mitigate or avoid such."

If you have a suggestion to make do not rely on us reading boards. We have stated - ad nauseum - that we are no longer conducting any official business through the boards.ie website.

Send us an email, as always, to info@irishairsoft.ie - it's an email, it costs you nothing and will get your point noticed faster than banging on about it on a forum we may or may not be reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Why should the IAA have to spell it out for people, do you want a big giant list of DO's and DONT's?

DO skirmish at recognised sites
    DONT play airsoft in your local car park
    DONT shoot pets
    DONT do this
    DONT do that

The IAA are not here to tell people exactly what to and not to do with airsoft.
    Any manner of use or storage which causes alarm to any member of the public, intentional or otherwise, can be classes as assault and prosecuted as such.

There you go, that is a blanket statement which covers everything from carrying one in your pocket down the street to having a game in the local park. I doubt anyone who actually showed an interest and read the above thought to themselves "Oh, that's grand, I'll just go to the local park and have a game with my mates, that's not gonna cause alarm to any members of the public", the type of people who do so just take it upon themselves to do it and dont consider the consequences or the possible effects to the unknowing public.

Anyway, rant over, my own personal opinion on how to deal with such situations;

If you see a group of kids playing and feel it is safe to approach them and have a quiet word, then do so.
    If you see a group of teenagers/adults who you might feel intimidated in approaching (i.e. they may react badly to your quiet word and quite possibly turn on you), then feel free to give the local gardai a call and explain to them what airsoft is etc... and that they should intervene because it may cause other members of the public alarm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

That's a useless cliché and nothing like drink driving. They are toy guns after all and some people may simply not realise the risks. Again education should be the priority.

I'm going to jump inon this comment (sorry it's on page 3 and we're on page 4).

The "cliche" as you put is entirely accurate. Drink driving is "harmless" until you hit something or somebody else. The odds of that happening are reasonably good (or bad even?). That's why it's illegal.

Running around with airsoft devices in public view has reasonably good odds of bringing very unwanted attentioned down on yourself. It'll be armed most likely given the rise in gangland shootings and the like. It may or not be ERU, but the response will be armed. That toy gun will then become desperately important as to whether or not you are alive or dead within the next few seconds depending on how sensibly or stupidly you behave. Yes, they're toys but they are also replicas and are as such difficult to distinguish from the real thing in a stressful encounter.

So, it's "harmless" but the odds of something bad happening are reasonably high. That isn't scaremongering, it's common sense. Just like drink-driving being bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭MacAonghusa

OzCam wrote: »
    Pardon me for stating the bloody obvious, but Airsoft guns are not toys.
    They may be legally treated as toys in the US, but here they are replica firearms.
    They look like firearms, they feel like firearms, GBBs can even sound a bit like firearms, and any police officer in any country will treat them as firearms until proven otherwise. What else do you expect them to do FFS?

Fair point but I think calling them replica firearms rather than toys would raise more serious concerns considering the case in the UK this week.

"Replica" firearms can be converted to shoot real bullets. Obviously AEG's cannot but why categorise them the same as potentially lethal weapons?

i.e. what you're essentially saying to someone unfamiliar with aegs is that these are not toys but are potentially lethal weapons. Good way to put the public's mind at ease :/

Lemming wrote: »
    I'm going to jump inon this comment (sorry it's on page 3 and we're on page 4).
    The "cliche" as you put is entirely accurate.

It's not. It's inaccurate.

PLease send the cheque to cover the costs to the usual address.

Oh, wait, what? You didnt intend to pay for it yourself?

no need to be sarcastic

All IAA affiliates have been issued with a printable flyer covering the basics of what to do and not to do with airsoft kit which is meant to be made available in the stores and with every purchase.

i have purchased from all affilliated irish shops
    not once have i been asked to prove my age or been advised in any way as to wher not to bring my aegs
    now i am not complaining i'm following on from gandalfs point and saying that if they did there would be no excuse (btw the reason i keep refering to airsoft stuff as toys is that is what a lot of people regard thm as and use the same amount of caution and respect) this is important for both our image (our refers to the enlightened airsoft community not to the iaa) and to the saftey of the sport

the nearest i have to a saftey and sensebillity guide are my engerish leaflets stating google must be worn at all time and showing pictures of stick men shooting cats and japanees police with red X's through them

On which, to my knowledge, it clearly states not to brandish them in public. Something that is said repeatedly by the IAA.

From the IAA players code of conduct

"e) IAA members should at all times be aware and sensitive of the nature of their sport and the effect it may have on civilians. Where the use of Airsoft devices etc will cause distress to civilians all reasonable efforts should be made to limit, mitigate or avoid such."

If you have a suggestion to make do not rely on us reading boards. We have stated - ad nauseum - that we are no longer conducting any official business through the boards.ie website.

Send us an email, as always, to info@irishairsoft.ie - it's an email, it costs you nothing and will get your point noticed faster than banging on about it on a forum we may or may not be reading.

your not may or may not be reading? you are reading you are posting and it wasn't directed at the iaa it was a discussion between like minded airsofters
    i think that the retailers could add the cost of an a5 sheet to the p&p costs it won't be very much

and the iaa players code of conduct will only be read by those who are already converted to good practise in airsoft

the iaa's own "what is airsoft" link does not clearly state that the devices should be only used in official areas
    it should
    if you need me to mail that to you i will

i have
    there you go

Forwarded message
    Date: 2008/8/28
    Subject: please state clearly on the website that airsoft should be only on approved sites
    To: info@irishairsoft.ie

dear all
    please state clearly on the website that airsoft should be only on approved sites
    regards
    tigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

gandalf wrote: »
    Sorry but ignorance is really not a valid defence. You are out on public land with something that looks exactly like an assault weapon, what did you expect to happen?

Thats like getting caught drink driving and claiming you didn't know it was illegal.
    Ahaha, you're comparing drink driving with carrying a toy gun.

It's not. It's inaccurate.

Why? Please do me the courtesy of elaborating since I explained why I believed it accurate was to you.

As far as the general public are concerned, guns don't exist in Ireland. If someone sees a bunch of lads in a field pointing guns at each other, in all probablity, they're not going to run in fear, they're going to think "look at these fucking ejits playing witht toy guns. Are they not a bit old for that?".

Why? Please do me the courtesy of elaborating since I explained why I believed it accurate was to you.

i posted this earlier

to drive you need a license to get a license you have to show a knowledge of the rules of the road

this is why I'm pro-licensing of players to collect and skirmish because then it'll be clear

at the moment if shop sell someone a toy tells them its a toy and they go and play with that toy in an inappropriate manner then how are they meant to know

there is a lot less "common sense" around then one would think

Ass Face wrote: »
    As far as the general public are concerned, guns don't exist in Ireland. If someone sees a bunch of lads in a field pointing guns at each other, in all probablity, they're not going to run in fear, they're going to think "look at these fucking ejits playing witht toy guns. Are they not a bit old for that?".

Riiiiiiiiiiight. I'm sorry, but I'd like to hear less of your answer (sorry but it's a very naieve comment) and more from MacAonghusa

its like when people hear a gun shot they think its a car backfiring even tho modern cars just dont

(my bike flames and fires tho )

See that's where you're wrong, as far as the general public is concerned, guns are very regularly used in crime (as reported in the media), and that is all they ever hear about them, so if they see a group of young men/adults running around with what appear to be guns, they are going to think they are up to no good.

Riiiiiiiiiiight. I'm sorry, but I'd like to hear less of your answer (sorry but it's a very naieve comment) and more from MacAonghusa
    When was the last time you saw a real gun in Irealand being waved around in public the way people who airsoft in public do, just out of interest?

i posted this earlier

to drive you need a license to get a license you have to show a knowledge of the rules of the road

this is why I'm pro-licensing of players to collect and skirmish because then it'll be clear

at the moment if shop sell someone a toy tells them its a toy and they go and play with that toy in an inappropriate manner then how are they meant to know

there is a lot less "common sense" around then one would think

To drive a car you do not need a license. You're supposed to have one, and not having one is very very bad. If one steps outside the anal-semantics of driving vs. airsoft and takes a look at the cause & effect of drink driving and skirmishing in full view of the public, they're quite similar.

Both to be avoided like the plague due to the attentions of law enforcement. Both have the potential not to harm anyone if you "get away with it" (note this is NOT an endorsement), yet both have the high probability potential for devestating outcomes.

kdouglas wrote: »
    See that's where you're wrong, as far as the general public is concerned, guns are very regularly used in crime (as reported in the media), and that is all they ever hear about them, so if they see a group of young men/adults running around with what appear to be guns, they are going to think they are up to no good.

prevention is better than cure
    lets take it s read that its a better idea to play on official sites than anywhere else and that there is a undetermined risk to ones liberty and the sport that should be avoided

now what do we do when we come accross such an activity

and nbtw its nice to have differing povs in a thread good tho cover all angles

When was the last time you saw a real gun in Irealand being waved around in public the way people who airsoft in public do, just out of interest?

Personally? Never. Thankfully.

When was the last time I read about an attempted shooting in the national newspapers? Probably sometime last week ...

To drive a car you do not need a license. You're supposed to have one, and not having one is very very bad. If one steps outside the anal-semantics of driving vs. airsoft and takes a look at the cause & effect of drink driving and skirmishing in full view of the public, they're quite similar.

Both to be avoided like the plague due to the attentions of law enforcement. Both have the potential not to harm anyone if you "get away with it" (note this is NOT an endorsement), yet both have the high probability potential for devestating outcomes.

ok but my point is that there in no one that thinks it is legal to drive drunk

many people think its legal to play with airsoft equipment in quiet yet public places

ignorance may not be an excuse but it is a cause
    edecation prevents ignorance and if everr portal in ireland intyo airsoft stated the postion we are discussing here then there would be less risk of cause and effect re illigitamate airsofting to take place

Personally? Never. Thankfully.

When was the last time I read about an attempted shooting in the national newspapers? Probably sometime last week ...
    I bet the way who ever was last shot in what ever gang lands killing took place was pretty similar in appearance to your regular airsoft skirmish.

ok but my point is that there in no one that thinks it is legal to drive drunk

many people think its legal to play with airsoft equipment in quiet yet public places

You'd be alarmed at how interchangeable airsoft and drink driving in that above quote. I know of, and have encountered, people who think it is perfectly acceptable to drink and drive. Most notably in rural areas of Ireland (and a couple in urban areas). The general theme is "ah shurre it'll be grandddd".

Then Farmer paddy goes and plows into Farmer Mickey's 17 year old son Johnny on his way back from the pub. Just like Mark and Dessie run around a street in Dublin shooting each other when Garda Brennan calls them on it and dessie turns around and instinctively raises his springer. We all know what happens next because Garda Brennan hasn't been left any choice in the interest of public & personal safety.

Sorry, busy day here.
    Trigger gave a good explanation why the comparison is flawed. To drive you nead a licence and an understanding of the rules of the road. Not to mention that fact that gardai are on the roads checking peoples breath plus the fact that every day there are ads on TV not to drink and drive in addition to signs on the side of the road.
    Compare that to playing with toy/replica guns. Big difference.

I bet the way who ever was last shot in what ever gang lands killing took place was pretty similar in appearance to your regular airsoft skirmish.

Personally speaking, I find "betting" on ones life to be rather f*cking stupid. No thanks.

Sorry, busy day here.
    Trigger gave a good explanation why the comparison is flawed. To drive you nead a licence and an understanding of the rules of the road. Not to mention that fact that gardai are on the roads checking peoples breath plus the fact that every day there are ads on TV not to drink and drive in addition to signs on the side of the road.
    Compare that to playing with toy/replica guns. Big difference.

And as I've since elaborated to Tigger, the semantics are indeed different. The net result is incredibly similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Ok just to addess the toy gun dismissal that some people are trotting out here.

All of the friends that I have shown my AEG's or GBB's to have universally said "Are they actually legal". They most certainly do not look like toys and from a short distance they certainly do look like the real thing.

There is a very good reason why sites have save zones and ask you to demag your AEG and clear the barrel before removing face protection. Its because these are actually not toys. Toys are for children, AEG's and GBB's are not for children and should only be sold to over 18's.
    If someone sees a bunch of lads in a field pointing guns at each other, in all probablity, they're not going to run in fear, they're going to think "look at these ****ing ejits playing witht toy guns. Are they not a bit old for that?".

I actually doubt very much that is what they would say, there is a very good chance they will ring the Guards.

Personally speaking, I find "betting" on ones life to be rather f*cking stupid. No thanks.
    You take risks that could end your life every day. You walk down the road, there's a risk you could be hit by a car that spins out of control. There's a risk you could be hit by lightning. You could be stabbed by some random pill head. The point is, so long as you're not doing something stupid like airsofting in a bank, then the risk you're going to be shot by the Gardaí or anyone else for that matter, for airsofting in public is pretty low.

People who rob banks with real guns dont even get shot by Gardaí most of the time.

If I were airsofting in a secluded public place, and one of you came and told me to stop, you'd be told to fuck right off.

You take risks that could end your life every day. You walk down the road, there's a risk you could be hit by a car that spins out of control. There's a risk you could be hit by lightning. You could be stabbed by some random pill head. The point is, so long as you're not doing something stupid like airsofting in a bank, then the risk you're going to be shot by the Gardaí or anyone else for that matter, for airsofting in public is pretty low.

People who rob banks with real guns dont even get shot by Gardaí most of the time.

Oh well .. why didn't you say so? It's all going to be alllllright. Lets all go and have a skirmish on O'Connell St. AssFace said it's perfectly safe to do so. Common sense is clearly alive and well these days.

So why aren't you out in the streets skirmishing then since "ah shurrrre it'll be grand" and there'll clearly be no consequences. The Gardai will just look on, laugh to themselves and say "Ah shurrrre, the rascals are grand".

Yeah. Sure. How are them rose-tinted glasses looking? Must get myself a pair ... they sound deadly.

Ok just to addess the toy gun dismissal that some people are trotting out here.

All of the friends that I have shown my AEG's or GBB's to have universally said "Are they actually legal". They most certainly do not look like toys and from a short distance they certainly do look like the real thing.

There is a very good reason why sites have save zones and ask you to demag your AEG and clear the barrel before removing face protection. Its because these are actually not toys. Toys are for children, AEG's and GBB's are not for children and should only be sold to over 18's.
    tyhat is why i keep calling them toys
    because i think that they are sold to under18s (and you can be responsaible under 18 look at lethal)
    i think they are also being sold willy nilly to anyone with 100 euro and that there are many "underground " players

i also feel that this is a bad thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Lets all go and have a skirmish on O'Connell St. AssFace said it's perfectly safe to do so.

How are them rose-tinted glasses looking? Must get myself a pair ... they sound deadly.

I'm in if you bring all your toys
    mark up for a pair of these glasses

sorry off thread
    bold fingers you'll get me in trouble again

Sigh... Ass Face, here's a scenario especially for you.

Gardai receive a call about a person having seen some young men in the local woods with what appeared to be guns.

Gardai dispatch an armed response unit, be they ERU or armed detectives.

Garda Brennan, who has a wife and two kids at home, is one of these.

He approaches the area where the young men were seen last, he is calling out his presence and making it known he is a Garda.

Little Johnny is one of the lads who is out in the woods playing with a couple of his friends, Little Johnny's hearing isn't so good, but he gets by.

Little Johnny thinks he sees movement in the corner of his eye.

Little Johnny turns around, with airsoft gun in hand and aims it at where he saw the movement.

Garda Brennan is standing there and sees a young man pointing what he believes to be a gun at him.

Garda Brennan reacts instinctively to the perceived threat on his life, and fires a shot.

Little Johnny is dead.

Garda Brennan is still alive and well, but is emotionally scarred for the rest of his life at the thoughts of having killed an innocent young man.

Two people's lives ruined right there, not to mention the effect on their families.

Now, do you still think it's perfectly safe to skirmish on public land?

Oh well .. why didn't you say so? It's all going to be alllllright. Lets all go and have a skirmish on O'Connell St. AssFace said it's perfectly safe to do so. Common sense is clearly alive and well these days.

So why aren't you out in the streets skirmishing then since "ah shurrrre it'll be grand" and there'll clearly be no consequences. The Gardai will just look on, laugh to themselves and say "Ah shurrrre, the rascals are grand".

Yeah. Sure. How are them rose-tinted glasses looking? Must get myself a pair ... they sound deadly.
    Who said anything about O'Connell street? I'm talking about places that would actually be good to skirmish, like up the Dublin Mountains or in a large park or something.
    kdouglas wrote: »
    Now, do you still think it's perfectly safe to skirmish on public land?
    You forgot the bit where the gardaí were able to tell that the people in the woods were a group of young fellas with airsoft guns due to the sound of the electric motors, people yelling hit and the distinct lack of gunfire. Yes, I still think it is safe to skirmish in secluded public areas and I still believe the risk of being shot is minimal.

And as I've since elaborated to Tigger, the semantics are indeed different. The net result is incredibly similar.

To be honest I think it's a major stretch to compare both situations. The net results are miles apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

Dublin Mountains or in a large park or something.

problems is all those places are where others also like to go walking, with the press throwing out what it does at the moemtn people could almost think that these people are training terrorists :rolleyes: and before anyone shouts it down, just think about how 95% of the population think

Puding wrote: »
    problems is all those places are where others also like to go walking, with the press throwing out what it does at the moemtn people could almost think that these people are training terrorists :rolleyes: and before anyone shouts it down, just think about how 95% of the population think
    Well, you know what? I'd be willing to take the risk of being mistaken for Al Qaeda in the Dublin Mountains.

whydave wrote: »
    I'm in if you bring all your toys
    mark up for a pair of these glasses

sorry off thread
    bold fingers you'll get me in trouble again

Ah, that made me laugh. Bold fingers!! Bad Fingers!! No biscuits for you :p

Who said anything about O'Connell street? I'm talking about places that would actually be good to skirmish, like up the Dublin Mountains or in a large park or something.

Does it matter where? Public view is public view.
    You forgot the bit where the gardaí were able to tell that the people in the woods were a group of young fellas with airsoft guns due to the sound of the electric motors, people yelling hit and the distinct lack of gunfire. Yes, I still think it is safe to skirmish in secluded public areas and I still believe the risk of being shot is minimal.

You are of course making wild assumptions. Not to mention grossly overlooking the stress on whomever is called out to investigate. They are being placed in a very high-stress situation. Cold-after-the-fact-logic does not win in such situations.
    To be honest I think it's a major stretch to compare both situations. The net results are miles apart.

What's miles apart between a dead person and a dead person? Or "getting away with it" and nobody being harmed or the attentions of the Gardai coming to light? There is none.

But we'll have to agree to disagree with each other.

Well, you know what? I'd be willing to take the risk of being mistaken for Al Qaeda in the Dublin Mountains.

Well then you are exactly the type of person that will get this pastime banned for the rest of us.

Its behaviour like this that will get airsoft banned. I can only summarise that you are young in years and experience.

these are actually not toys

My first two guns (springers) were bought in a supermarket. They were sold along with other toys ... to children. When does a toy become not a toy? When you add a battery? When the energy is greater?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭penguin-o7

"Yes, I still think it is safe to skirmish in secluded public areas"

TBH i havent read every single post in this thread so far.
    But the fact that its a PUBLIC area should obvously imply that you shouldnt skirmish there.

its like rally drivers on public roads would you feel safe with a rally driver or a wannabe going around. The majourity of people would say NO. its the same with airsoft. Public areas roads/parks/buildings are for the General public and when airsoftering you put the general public in possible harms way. and we all know that sports with certain risks arent allowed in public places and spaces . unless evey person up and down the country played/took part.

What's miles apart between a dead person and a dead person? Or "getting away with it" and nobody being harmed or the attentions of the Gardai coming to light? There is none.

How many people die each year from drink driving?
    How many people die each year playing airsoft?

250 drivers are arrested for drink driving each week btw, 40% of road collisions are drink related, almost 30% of road deaths are alcohol related

It's a silly comparison for so many reasons.

My first two guns (springers) were bought in a supermarket. They were sold along with other toys ... to children. When does a toy become not a toy? When you add a battery? When the energy is greater?

When it looks exactly the same as the real thing, when it has the ability to bruise an eyeball or remove teeth from an unprotected face. When they have notification from the manufacturers for sale to over 18's as all the AEG's and GBB's I own did.

Does it matter where? Public view is public view.
    If you skirmish on O'Connel street you're creating a disturbance because people not involved in the Skirmish are going to be hit. If you're up in the woods in the mountains, you can say with almost 100% certainty that nobody else will be hit other than those involved in the game. Nobody is bothered. That's the difference.

How many people die each year from drink driving?
    How many people die each year playing airsoft?

can we stop this drink driving and sirsoft crap?

drink will not be banned beacuse someone dies due to drink driving even thought there 100s and 100s of idouts that think its alright to drink drive

airsoft more than likely could be banned if just one person was to be shot in an incident like the examples given

penguin-o7 wrote: »
    its like rally drivers on public roads
    No it's not.

If you skirmish on O'Connel street you're creating a disturbance because people not involved in the Skirmish are going to be hit. If you're up in the woods in the mountains, you can say with almost 100% certainty that nobody else will be hit other than those involved in the game. Nobody is bothered.

we are the minority are sport is not important , if one person comes across you and makes a noise about it and get in contact with td's and garda no one will care about airsoft, we have to be perfect in what we do, will say this again we have to be whiter than white

If you skirmish on O'Connel street you're creating a disturbance because people not involved in the Skirmish are going to be hit. If you're up in the woods in the mountains, you can say with almost 100% certainty that nobody else will be hit other than those involved in the game. Nobody is bothered. That's the difference.

My god you cannot say 100% that no one will be bothered. It takes ONE PERSON to be "bothered" or more than likely scared to death by you skirmishing in a public place and reporting it to cause the damage.

Again partaking in activity like this will get it banned for all the players that skirmish legally at a recognised site, will get it banned for all those collectors who just collect AEG's and GBB's. If you are aware of the difficulties that it will cause it is selfish and reckless to say the least.

No it's not.

people stop comparing us to other things, we are airsoft, are situation is uniquie in a lot of ways,

Puding wrote: »
    we are the minority are sport is not important , if one person comes across you and makes a noise about it and get in contact with td's and garda no one will care about airsoft, we have to be perfect in what we do, will say this again we have to be whiter than white
    This is the one argument I would agree with against airsofting in public, but the arugment that it's extremely likely that you'll be shot by armed Gardaí is absolute bullshit.

In any case, I'd still think it's ok to skirmish in a pretty secluded public place like in a woodland, park or up the mountains.

When it looks exactly the same as the real thing, when it has the ability to bruise an eyeball or remove teeth from an unprotected face. When they have notification from the manufacturers for sale to over 18's as all the AEG's and GBB's I own did.

The guns I bought look realistic (tho. are plastic) and can certainly bruise an eyeball yet are sold to kids in supermarkets. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭penguin-o7

No it's not.

i mean in terms of risks.
    dont suppose you read the rest of the post.

If a sport puts the public at somekind of risk, its usually played or excuted in controlled areas or specific areas.

have you noticed how racing is MAINLY done in stadiums/racing tracks and mainly not done on public roads. thats just one example