Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Champions League Group Stage Draw

• 27-08-2008 9:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭

Thursday @ 5pm. Discussion here.

As a United fan, its great to see that we could get a group of

United
    Bayern Munich
    Juventus
    Marseille.

Would love that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

You couldn't. Juventus will be second seeded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

I see Schalke lost. My apologies.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭delija_sever029

Archimedes wrote: »
    Thursday @ 5pm. Discussion here.

As a United fan, its great to see that we could get a group of

United
    Bayern Munich
    Juventus
    Marseille.

Would love that.

As United fan i would wish we get easiest possible group,not hardest....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

There's me waiting until after the Liverpool match to post this thread. :D

If Liverpool win...
    [B]Pot 1                                  Pot 2[/B]                          
    [B]------------------------ ---           ------------------------ --- [/B]
    Chelsea                  Eng           Bayern München           Ger 
    Liverpool                Eng           PSV Eindhoven            Ned 
    Barcelona                Esp           Villarreal               Esp 
    Arsenal                  Eng           AS Roma                  Ita 
    Manchester United        Eng           FC Porto                 Por 
    Olympique Lyon           Fra           Werder Bremen            Ger 
    Internazionale           Ita           Sporting Lisbon          Por 
    Real Madrid              Esp           Juventus                 Ita 

[B]Pot 3                                  Pot 4[/B]
    [B]------------------------ ---           ------------------------ --- [/B]
    Marseille                Fra           Shakhtar Donetsk         Ukr 
    Zenit St. Petersburg     Rus           Fiorentina               Ita 
    Steaua Bucharest         Rom           Atlético Madrid          Esp 
    Panathinaikos            Gre           Dinamo Kiev              Ukr 
    Bordeaux                 Fra           CFR Cluj                 Rom 
    Celtic                   Sco           AaB Aalborg              Den 
    FC Basel                 Sui           BATE Borisov             Bls 
    Fenerbahçe               Tur           Anorthosis Famagusta     Cyp

If Liverpool don't win... Standard Liege go into Pot 4, Shakhtar into Pot 3, Marseille into Pot 2, Bayern into Pot 1.

Draw at 5pm tomorrow on Sky Sport News, Setanta and Eurosport.

Tommorow? I think you are wrong,its on friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

The following would do nicely...

Manchester United
    Sporting Lisbon
    Basel
    AaB Aalborg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

With Fiorentina and Athletico seeded 4th there's the potential for some real groups of death

Tommorow? I think you are wrong,its on friday
    Tomorrow. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,521 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Bubs101 wrote: »
    With Fiorentina and Athletico seeded 4th there's the potential for some real groups of death

And even then Dinamo Kiev wouldnt be a nice place to travel to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

I think it will be a very exciting CL ... lots of 2nd & 3rd & 4th teams are very very good (villarreal,Atletico,Fiorentina..etc ) IMHO it will a remarkable CL season. One of the strongest CL's I have ever seen...

Big banana skins in pot 4 in the form of Atletico/ Fiorentina.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

For the neutral I'd love to see a group of

Arsenal
    Bayern Munich
    Zenit
    Athletico.

Would be a great group for football.

eirebhoy wrote: »
    Tomorrow. :)

Ok,didnt know,it was usually on friday:)

For Celtic I'd be hoping for

Real Madrid
    Sporting Lisbon
    Aalborg

eirebhoy wrote: »
    For Celtic I'd be hoping for

Real Madrid

Really? They are by far favourites for La Liga this season, and have expanded their squad so they can finally challenge for Europe properly...

Although, I'd love to see something like;

Manchester Utd
    Bayern Munich
    Fenerbahce
    Atletico Madrid

Fenerbahce have only strengthened their side quite alot with the acquisition of Guiza from Mallorca.

eZe^ wrote: »
    Really? They are by far favourites for La Liga this season, and have expanded their squad so they can finally challenge for Europe properly...
    I just wanna draw Madrid for the glamour factor. Celtic have played most of the rest in recent years. Plus if the draw was too easy Celtic would fck it up. :)

Fenerbahce have only strengthened their side quite alot with the acquisition of Guiza from Mallorca.

They suck....

Yes, judge them just on the qualifiers... Im sure you think Liverpool suck too ya?

If Fenerbahce get a nice enough group, they will cause upsets, just you watch.

Yes, judge them just on the qualifiers... Im sure you think Liverpool suck too ya?

If Fenerbahce get a nice enough group, they will cause upsets, just you watch.

I hope i am wrong,Rangers sucked against Red Star also last year,they kept playing same all the season,at the end that brought them good result,fenerbahce looked awesome last year,thats why i expected more from them in these 2 legs,they didnt show anything good,hope that was only in this qualifications

And Liverpool always suck to me;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I want a tough group. As tough as possible. Realistically, theres no reason why we can't beat any of the 3rd and 4th seeds, and tough draws get you to winning the CL. Easy draws always see you go out at the semis. United last year had pretty much the hardest possible draw they could get at every point yet came through. The same happened in 99.

I'd take

United
    Bayern
    Zenit
    Atletico

Not least because Fergie signs players after seeing them play against us, and I'd like Aguero to be against us.

If I wanted an easy draw, I'd go with

United
    Lisbon
    Bordeax
    Anorthosis Famagusta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

emmmm Roma?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Roma with Barca. Arsenal or Liverpool with Chelsea. I'd happily have taken Arsenal or Liverpool, we hockied them both last season, Liverpool twice. Roma were the same. Barca were the 2nd best team in the tourney by some distance imo, and a much tougher semi final draw than Chelsea.

you hockied us in that one nil win at Anfield where you scored from a set piece? and we had most of the possession? and that was your only chance in the match?

Liverpool and Arsenal are far better teams than roma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭oobydooby

Save it for the 13th there boys...

Some real quality in all the pots there. Don't really mind who we get (Liverpool fan) as we made such a mess of last year's "easy" grouping. Looking forward to seeing some of these teams which I know little about. Realistically though the top seeds should make up the last 16. Hope Celtic draw an English team.

oobydooby wrote: »
    Hope Celtic draw an English team.
    They all should beat Celtic on their home turf and I think Chelsea, Arsenal and Man Utd would also dominate the game at Celtic park. I think Celtic could do Liverpool at Celtic park but I'd still rather not draw an English team.

i really hope we get Celtic, i think if we reach any sort of form, we'd wipe the floor with ye home and away. too hard working and too well organised when we're on form in Europe for yous, atmosphere wouldnt bother us up there either, sure its only copied our own! ;)

us reaching any form doesnt look likely at the minute though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

It woud be nice to have soft run in the group stages while the others are facing hard games which will/could effect league performances, so love to see these groups.

MAN UTD
    PSV EINDHOVEN
    FC BASEL
    AaB AALBORG

LIVERPOOL
    BAYERN
    MARSIELLE
    FIORENTINA

CHELSEA
    JUVENTUS
    MARSEILLE
    ATLETICO MADRID

ARSENAL
    VILLAREAL
    ZENIT St PETERSBURG
    DINAMO KIEV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

As long as Chelsea and Juve avoid each other I'll be happy enough. Never been in the situation where my two teams have played each other and I don't particularly want to be

Is it draw on eurosport at 5?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Mr Alan wrote: »
    you hockied us in that one nil win at Anfield where you scored from a set piece? and we had most of the possession? and that was your only chance in the match?

Liverpool and Arsenal are far better teams than roma.

That was the season before, Al. Last season Utd won one nil with a jammy Tevez goal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

monkey9 wrote: »
    That was the season before, Al. Last season Utd won one nil with a jammy Tevez goal!

wasnt that a set piece too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Oh the awards are being handed out Gold Stars all round.

GK of the year is Petr Cech (booo-urns)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Which thread is better? Should we have a vote? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

just start already!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Someone give the live updates on whats happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Just started. I'll update as they are drawn.

Group A

Chelsea
    Roma
    Bordeaux
    Cluj

Group B

Inter Milan
    Werder Breman
    Anorthosis
    Panathinaikos

Group C

Barcelona
    Sporting Lisbon
    FC Basel
    Shaktar Denesk

Group D

Liverpool
    PSV Eindhoven
    Marseille
    A.Madrid

Group E

Manchester United
    Villarreal
    Celtic
    Aalborg

Group F

Lyon
    Bayern Munich
    Steaua Bucharest
    Fiorintina

Group G

Arsenal
    Porto
    Fenerbahce
    D.Kiev

Group H

Real Madrid
    Juventus
    Zenit
    Bate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

why do certain teams only have 3 possible groups to go into? This makes no sense

Is this Tevez?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

why do certain teams only have 3 possible groups to go into? This makes no sense

Cunty protection

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Ferdinand to win defender surely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

And club defender of the year is.........terry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

zAbbo wrote: »
    Cunty protection

but Lyon were only able to go into 4 out of 6 available groups and there are no other French teams. They are making this up as they go along

Terry...oh come on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

John Terry. What the feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

ABSOLUTE COK JOHN TERRY MY HOLE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Was always going to be Terry to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

John Terry? Sympathy vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

lol they do realise United were the best team in the CL last year don't they? why are they giving all of the awards to Chelski?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Terry! Duble-u tee efff!!!!
    Slip up by UEFA surely :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

So sitting on the pitch bawling your eyes out like a girl wins you a sympathy vote for Defender of the year.

They probably agreed to give him some trophey to make him stop crying....