Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Match Thread: St. Pat's -v- Elfsborg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Big Ears wrote: »
    Wonder if RTÉ will get on the bandwagon now ?

Obviously:mad:

Stekelly wrote: »
    They cut that out sharpish when they conceeded mind.:)

Twice:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭carlop

Great result for Pats, hopefully they get a decent draw in the next round now and progress onto the group stages.

Yeah well done Pats. RTE are a disgrace, I wanted to check the score while the match was on, so I figured they'd have it on the website. Nothing, only an article previewing the match written this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

After three 1-0 home defeats already this season, I honestly didn't think they'd pull it off after going 1 down. Fair play lads - terrific character shown in both legs.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭jaykay74

carlop wrote: »
    Yeah well done Pats. RTE are a disgrace, I wanted to check the score while the match was on, so I figured they'd have it on the website. Nothing, only an article previewing the match written this morning

I tried the same. absolute rubbish but I wasn't shocked obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

SantryRed wrote: »
    Obviously:mad:

LOL. Would you rather nobody showed it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,592 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Well done Pats

Does anyone have a list of possible teams Pats can get in the draw?

I'd say it'll depend on who they get in the draw.

djpbarry wrote: »
    After three 1-0 home defeats already this season, I honestly didn't think they'd pull it off after going 1 down. Fair play lads - terrific character shown in both legs.

You're a Pats fan right?

If so, I order you to go back down to a pub outside of Richmond Park and celebrate.

If that was Shels, no way would I be going home tonight:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

The game should have been covered tonight. Had it been Liverpool or some other mighty giant in the european games they would have. BBC scotland covered QOTS game during the week.

Fair ****s to pats and I have no love for them what so ever.

Of course the mornings papers will be filled with the Champions League draws for the Irish teams still involved such as Utd, Celtic,Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea et al.

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    LOL. Would you rather nobody showed it?

I'd rather if they showed all EL team's games in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Well done to all involved. A cracking result (particularly after conceding) - with a bit of luck in the draw they could have quite a few more European games to worry about.

You're a Pats fan right?

If so, I order you to go back down to a pub outside of Richmond Park and celebrate.

If that was Shels, no way would I be going home tonight:pac:
    Wasn't at the game - I is in London.

Fair enough. Shoulda came home;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Gav.

We played in the 1st round before.
    And don't forget about Derry. They played PSG in the first round too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

KevIRL wrote: »
    Well done Pats

Does anyone have a list of possible teams Pats can get in the draw?
    Wikipedia has the full list of qualified teams. As for who their possible opponents are, I don't think that it'll be narrowed down until the draw.
    Wikipedia wrote:
    Seeding structure

Seeding is determined by their UEFA Coefficient rating. The 80 teams are then split into 8 groups of 10 teams, 5 seeded teams and 5 unseeded teams. The draw for these is also based on their coefficient ranking with one exception: no country can have multiple teams in any group. These teams will play 2 legs, home and away, scheduled for 18 September and 2 October. The remaining 40 teams will be divided into eight sections of five, with the first of five group-stage Matchdays on 23 October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    And don't forget about Derry. They played PSG in the first round too...

And Bohs played Kaiserslautern in the 1st round.

According to other sites.

It's these five they'll be put in a pot with.

AC Milan.
    Besiktas.
    Spartak Moscow.
    Hertha Berlin.
    Partizan Belgrade.

Anyways, Milan will defo be in their sub pot because Pats are lowest ranked and Milan are highest.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

AC Milan.
    Besiktas.
    Spartak Moscow.
    Hertha Berlin.
    Partizan Belgrade.

Anyways, Milan will defo be in their sub pot because Pats are lowest ranked and Milan are highest.
    Jesus, that is a tough one. Can't really see a way past any of those sides for Pats.

Spartak Moscow and Partizan Belgrade could both be taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,982 ✭✭✭Big Ears

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Jesus, that is a tough one. Can't really see a way past any of those sides for Pats.

Imagine how Drogheda fans would feel if Pats were to beat Spartak Moscow :D
    Realistically though it looks an incredibly difficult task, with as pointed out above Spartak and Partizan the sides you want to draw, and when they are the sides you want to draw it shows how difficult it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

bohsman wrote: »
    And Bohs played Kaiserslautern in the 1st round.

Djorkeaff (sp?) looked different class that day. Great player to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Wow they won? Fair play.

Stekelly wrote: »
    Djorkeaff (sp?) looked different class that day. Great player to watch.

Yea, he was something else alright, even then if not for the 20 minute collapse after Molloys red card, an offside call in Germany and a super save from their keeper we were very close to going through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭Publin

Great result for St. Pats and the eLOI. Delighted for them.

Also fantastic news for me and my fellow Bohs fans. In addition to our 10 point lead :cool:, Pats have will have the distraction of Europe and Setanta and the backlog of fixtures that goes with that. Cork are in crisis and also have Setanta, as do Derry if you'd still count them as contenders. Also, the co-efficient can only be improved by that result, helping us for when we're in the CL qualifiers next year. Might as well give us the league trophy right now.

Well done St. Pats though, brilliant result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Publin wrote: »
    Also fantastic news for me and my fellow Bohs fans. In addition to our 10 point lead :cool:, Pats have will have the distraction of Europe and Setanta and the backlog of fixtures that goes with that. Cork are in crisis and also have Setanta, as do Derry if you'd still count them as contenders. Also, the co-efficient can only be improved by that result, helping us for when we're in the CL qualifiers next year.
    If you still exist next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭Publin

CiaranC wrote: »
    If you still exist next year.
    We have an asset worth in excess of €50m. Explain how you think we wouldn't be in existence next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

AC Milan.
    Besiktas.
    Spartak Moscow.
    Hertha Berlin.
    Partizan Belgrade.

No confirmation from Uefa that they will do the pots that way but the Bert Kassies site http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/ suggests there is a pattern that is followed, and should result in that pot.

Milan would be amazing., Besiktas would be a great away trip for the Pats faithful (they are friendly enough, some of the best fans I've seen in their ground, they sing for 90 minutes)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I'd rather beat Pats than Bohs, but happy for them tonight. I was on the 68 bus going by the ground at half nine not knowing the scoreline, but the roar helped..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

we shat on them for 3 halfs of 4 halfed tie.

1st half away they took control got 2 goals one gifted to them by the ref other gifted to them by our defence. 2nd half over there was possible the best performance i have ever seen by a Pats side...until tonight.

1st half tonight we "standard lieged" them had all the ball and all the chances but no goals to show for it, 2nd half they came at us and pinned us back for about 15 minutes and got a lucky break and took their chance. i assumed that was that we didnt take our chances and they took their one.

Last 30 minutes tonight ...words cant describe how ****ing good we were we ****ing raped them and 2-1 flattered them.

We earned our right to be in the next round and please god put your St Pats pajamas on and give us AC Milan please.

Can only get AC, Spartak Moscow, Beskitas, Hertha berlin or partizan Belgrade.

We have a coeff of 2.1ish AC have 120.

We are the lowest ranked team ever to play in UEFA 1st round.

Oh when the saints!

kdjac

dfx- wrote: »
    I'd rather beat Pats than Bohs, but happy for them tonight. I was on the 68 bus going by the ground at half nine not knowing the scoreline, but the roar helped..

Hope you get your wish for the rest of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

When the Pats match finished, I said to my mate "I bet KdjaCL will return tonight, after this momentus victory" The mate smiled and just said "Who the fcuk is KdjaCL? How do you even pronounce that?"

Probably should have said it to someone who posts on boards.

Anyway, congrats to Pats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Well done to Pats. Absolutely fantastic result for the club and Irish football.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhC4nHA3GLg

Our goals thanks to pats meedja team.

our goal from the away leg, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3XGTuzqxvyQ

hoofball etc:

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,592 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2009.html

Ireland 30th in the provisional rankins for next year. Belarus have a good chance of overtaking us, as BATE have 6 more games in the CL at least left. Although if Pats could pick up a draw or even a win Ireland could rise higher

Cant see BATE getting too much out of the group stages, even then I think top 32 was the target for the year really so result either way.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Great result for Pats, great result for Irish soccer. Well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

Well done Pat's. Great result, didn't see the goals but i heard they were the better team by far.

I hope you get a cracker of a tie in the next round (Milan..). Very good news for EL to see a team do so well in Europe..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

Congrats Pats. Hope you can go further still. Would love you to draw a barstooler team and beat 'em.

Am I the only one who doesn't want to see Pats draw Milan? Call me an eternal optimist if you must, but I 'd much rather see them drawn against a side they actually have a chance of beating and making it into the group stages (I've seen the list of seeded teams in Pats' group and none of them look particularly appealing!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Holy sh!t, what a night last night at Richmond Park. That was absolutely brilliant and the great thing was Pat's absolutely deserved it! Much the better team. Elfsborg had Teddy Lucic at the back who used to play for Leeds in the Premiership and also Anders Svensson who was at Southampton.
    Pat's in the first half were terrific, particulary Keith Fahey, who ran the midfield. Apparently, there were scouts there watching him with a couple of Championship sides chasing him. I reckon this'll be his last season in Ireland for a while.
    In the second half, Pat's performance dipped slightly as Elfsborg got back into it and their goal was such a blow. We were under a bit of pressure for the next few minuted after that, but for me, the turning point was Alan Kirby's introduction. He troubled their defence and got behind them a lot and we started to push them back!
    Jason Gavin's goal was euphoric. The place was rocking! When Quigley went through one on one with the keeper, i think everyone was expecting an offside flag or something because it seemed so easy. He rounded the keeper and tapped in. What an atmosphere!
    Great night for Pat's and a great night for the league in general. Jaysus, imagine if we got Milan!!!

Am I the only one who doesn't want to see Pats draw Milan? Call me an eternal optimist if you must, but I 'd much rather see them drawn against a side they actually have a chance of beating and making it into the group stages (I've seen the list of seeded teams in Pats' group and none of them look particularly appealing!)

It all depends. I don't want a middle ground pairing where we meet a side who are probably better than us but who aren't that big. I either want someone who we can realistically beat and reach the group stages which would be unbelievable or just go and get Milan (and beat them instead).
    I'm really looking forward to todays draw. It's on at 12, i think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Fair play to SPA. Must have been a special night. If it was anything like our progress Vs Djurgardens a few years ago, it certainly was.

Tough call really, do you want a winnable tie, or a money maker? Both Shels and ourselves fell in between a few years ago, when they got Lille, and we got Slavia Prague. Neither that attractive and neither too winnable either.

Who are the possible teams SPA can draw?

gimmick wrote: »

Who are the possible teams SPA can draw?

Group 1:
    Seeded
    AC Milan (ITA)
    Beşiktaş JK (TUR)
    FC Spartak Moskva (RUS)
    Hertha BSC Berlin (GER)
    FK Partizan (SRB)

Unseeded
    FC Zürich (SUI)
    FCU Politehnica Timisoara (ROU)
    FC Baník Ostrava (CZE)
    FC Metalist Kharkiv (UKR)
    Saint Patrick's Athletic FC (IRL)

AC Milan please.

kdjac

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

What time is the draw? Will it be on SSN?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

why milan?

surely partizan would be the best bet there. theyd have a great chance of doing them and getting into the group stages, where they might come up against milan then instead, as well as the other 3 games theyll have

Helix wrote: »
    why milan?

surely partizan would be the best bet there. theyd have a great chance of doing them and getting into the group stages, where they might come up against milan then instead, as well as the other 3 games theyll have

We a Q2 qualifier, all those teams will beat us. Who would i rather to lose to....

Also cheap flights to Milan :D

Draw is on Eurosport at12.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

honestly reckon yis could do partizan, theyre no better than elfsborg

surely partizan would be the best bet there.
    Definitely. Here's hoping...

honestly reckon yis could do partizan, theyre no better than elfsborg

Yeah i reckon that's the best bet, but the away leg would be extremely tough. I either want them (a realistic chance of progressing) or Milan (the glamour)!