Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Gun Now for the accessories/Cleaning Any Advice

Options
  • 28-08-2008 4:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭

Hi All,

Just waiting for my license for a Larona O/U Shotgun for Trap, Im new to this and want to know the good and bad accessories you have bought what to get and what not to.

Accessories - Ear Protection, Eye Protection, Recoil Pads etc
    Cleaning - Best products etc

Just want to know what to but as I have to clean my gun so im sure there are some bad stuff out there and stuff to watch out for, so if you have any recommendation please reply

Thank!

Comments

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Believe it or not, the best ear plugs are the cheap disposable foam ones that you roll up and insert in your ear canal.

However they can be uncomfortable when wearing them for long periods such as at a clay shoot. The custom moulded ones with the air tube are great (about €110) - I wear them plus Peltor muffs over them. If I could get a third set in, I would - the more the merrier.

You can get glasses from €25 up to €600 - Hidefs which are all the rage now are about €350 from www.clayshooters.ie

In terms of cleaning - DON'T use WD40 or 3 in 1 oil - get any of the proper gun oils, a cleaning rod with wire brush, mop and patches. Make a point of cleaning your gun after every outing and it'll last you for years. Go easy on the oil, there's no need for gallons into the action - it just clogs up over time.
    Finally, stand your gun upside down in the gunsafe to keep any excess oil from dribbling down into the inside of the stock.