Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trinity Hall (2008/2009)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Use the microwave. Ironing is so 16th century maaaaaan. Yeah, before electricity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Good idea man. I like your style. :pac:
    I think I might bring up the ironing board just incase.

Are you funking kidding? Fold those damn tshirts in two seconds, that's how you get 'em crisp. But I'm not telling you how, or I'll have nothing to do at parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

we gots laundry to do ourselves!not cool

hopefully the clothes wont come out all crinkled

/facepalm

Baza210 wrote: »
    Are you funking kidding? Fold those damn tshirts in two seconds, that's how you get 'em crisp. But I'm not telling you how, or I'll have nothing to do at parties.

Theres nothing like a good session of extreme ironing in my opinion to relieve the stress.

ill pay u to iron my clothes

ironing does nothing for me EXCEPT get me stressed

Guys, look, just sleep in your clothes. That will get the creases out.

quirkster wrote: »
    ill pay u to iron my clothes

ironing does nothing for me EXCEPT get me stressed

We have a deal.

I think 30 cent per item of clothing is a fair enough offer.

done.
    we'll shake on it tomorrow
    house 88.
    you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

Hang up your clothes in the bathroom when you're having a shower and they'll come out noncreased.

Apparently.

(Also: ironing is great for stress-relief. Nothing more satisfying than a freshly ironed shirt. I'll make a great wife some day.)

Folding towels is so much better than ironing. I assume.

Hang up your clothes in the bathroom when you're having a shower and they'll come out noncreased.

Apparently.

ya but damp..
    any ideas were we can hang towels?i dont think we can hang em out windows.

also is tehre a window in the toilets?

done.
    we'll shake on it tomorrow
    house 88.
    you?

Im in house 83 myself. You'll spot me lurking around the place tomorrow im sure. Ill be the one with the funky vans and the badly dyed hair. :pac:

Do you really care so much about your clothing to the extent of ironing them?

Pretty much. :pac:

my vans will be funkier fo' sho

and ya i have this ****ed up phobia of my clothes getting stained or really crinkled.

shouldnt have told you guys considering the usual pranks that will be played in the coming months but oh well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 mustbeadreamer

Do we need to bring anything specific to check in tomorrow? I have a feeling I'm forgetting something...

and ya i have this ****ed up phobia of my clothes getting stained or really crinkled.

shouldnt have told you guys considering the usual pranks that will be played in the coming months but oh well

I smell a vans off a brewing.

Do we need to bring anything specific to check in tomorrow? I have a feeling I'm forgetting something...

Good question, I dont actually know. I shall be bringing up my passport and black ID just to prove its myself.
    Sure Ill need them for going out anyway.

I smell a vans off a brewing.

haha its gona happen!drunk or sober itll happen!

ive a feeling im forgetting some thing too.

realised at ten oclock this evening that i didnt have a quilt...so ya that was handy to remember

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 mustbeadreamer

Good question, I dont actually know. I shall be bringing up my passport and black ID just to prove its myself.
    Sure Ill need them for going out anyway.

Yeah, I have my garda ID. And the room offer form with the number on it. So I'm thinking that should be enough!

haha its gona happen!drunk or sober itll happen!

ive a feeling im forgetting some thing too.

realised at ten oclock this evening that i didnt have a quilt...so ya that was handy to remember

Anybody bringing up a tv? I doubt Ill have much time to be watching tv during freshers week but It would save me coming up in the car again.

i was considering it but said **** that we can all chip in for one. bringing my ps2 tho!

Yeah, I have my garda ID. And the room offer form with the number on it. So I'm thinking that should be enough!

Oh I must bring up that acceptance letter too. Thanks for reminding me.
    Im sure that will be enough.

Buying a TV between a group of people could get messy. Who gets it at the end of the year?
    Im going to bring up my guitar and a few books to keep me occupied If I get bored.
    I wonder would a drum kit fit in the bedroom. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 legallyblonde43

You got that off videojug didnt you....;)

Buying a TV between a group of people could get messy. Who gets it at the end of the year?
    Im going to bring up my guitar and a few books to keep me occupied If I get bored.
    I wonder would a drum kit fit in the bedroom. :confused:

im not sure whether to bring my electric or acoustic??
    im bringin a few nat. geo's...my ex gf (good friends now) PISSED HERSELF LAUGHING at that...i think its kinda cool:D

im not sure whether to bring my electric or acoustic??
    im bringin a few nat. geo's...my ex gf (good friends now) PISSED HERSELF LAUGHING at that...i think its kinda cool:D

Oh bring your acoustic. We can have an auld jam in the music room. :cool:
    If they have an amp in the music room Ill bring up the les paul, but theres no way Im lugging my marshall about the place.

Oh there was a good national geographic programme on this morning about terradactyls. I think it was called sky monsters.

you have a les paul:eek::eek::eek:
    sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet

my epiphone acoustic is pretty sweet too:P

you have a les paul:eek::eek::eek:
    sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet

my epiphone acoustic is pretty sweet too:P

Its only an epiphone but It sounds good. Im gonna plug my solo. :D

And I didnt know how long that other guy had been playing. Bless him.
    What model is the epiphone?

haha u made bits of him anyway!

man i have not one clue.
    i taught myself in first year and wrote my own songs and **** and was quite good by ty but i kinda stopped jamming from 5th year to now so the tips of me fingers need to be hardened again!hope to get back into now big time in college

Aye, I had to give it up myself during the leaving cert. It got in the way of studying. :(
    The calluses shouldnt take to long to reappear on the tips of your finger If youve had them before. And you could always switch to a lighter gauge string If it still hurts.
    You'll have plenty of time in college anyhow. What sort of stuff do you play?

classic rock would have been my genre to listen to, but my own stuff would be fairly mellow/indie rock kinda.
    you?

Used to be classic rock but now its more britpop. Oasis, stone roses, the verve.
    Anyhow Im off to the leaba, early start tomorrow. C ya around. :pac:

You got that off videojug didnt you....;)

Perhaps.. :D

I'm bringing my electric guitar, but not an amp.. thought I'd see what the sitch was like before making any incredibly-dischordant noise at loud volumes. I prefer playing my guitar without an amp anyway, since I'm terribly bad. Still enjoying learning to play though.

I also have two Vortex Mini Howlers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Crania

Just want to wish everyone the best of luck with Halls tomorrow. I can't wait to move in!

Aww man it's half past midnight and I have to get up at 6.15 this morning....arghhh! Less than 6 hours away, ouch.

Anyway I know a lot of people have long journeys ahead of them tomorrow so safe driving everybody.

Woohoo, Halls here we come!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

Whoo! Finally finished packing. :) But it's twenty to three and I need to be up at 7. :( Should probably go to bed soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

I'm supposed to be up at six, and yet I'm here, watching Never Mind the Buzzcocks.

I'm so cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

The spelling...it hurts mine eyes.

People. Please. If you are actually as borderline-illiterate as you all appear to be, Firefox comes with a built-in spell-check facility. Use it. You wouldn't write like a 13-year-old Offalite leaving Bebo comments to her cousin/brother in an essay, so please don't do it here. Or I'll ban you.*

Secondly: ah, this thread brings me back. Handy tip: your car will probably be parked nowhere near your apartment building. But WAIT! There will be shopping trolleys scattered around Halls tomorrow. YES, they fit into the lift! Grab them, even if you draw blood doing so. They will save you from serious back injuries from your trying to haul every single possession you ever owned up 4 flights of stairs [Freshers, man...]. Thank me at the end of Fresher's week.

*by nicking ApeXaviour's laptop.

Pet wrote: »

People. Please. If you are actually as borderline-illiterate as you all appear to be, Firefox comes with a built-in spell-check facility. Use it. You wouldn't write like a 13-year-old Offalite leaving Bebo comments to her cousin/brother in an essay, so please don't do it here. Or I'll ban you.*

Secondly: ah, this thread brings me back. Handy tip: your car will probably be parked nowhere near your apartment building. But WAIT! There will be shopping trolleys scattered around Halls tomorrow. YES, they fit into the lift! Grab them, even if you draw blood doing so. They will save you from serious back injuries from your trying to haul every single possession you ever owned up 4 flights of stairs [Freshers, man...]. Thank me at the end of Fresher's week.

*by nicking ApeXaviour's laptop.

(USER WAS BANNED FOR THIS POST)
    Verdict: : Incorrect use of word 'Or' to start a sentence, excessive employment of hyphens.

anyone up for getting 'Halls' tattoos today??

i have wayyyyyyyy too many bags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Pet wrote: »

No need to back seat mod. :rolleyes:

And be nice to the Freshers. You've all managed not to go blind despite my appalling use of grammer and spelling over the years.

(This said making an effort is polite and text speak is absolutely appalling)

I'm the only person in Halls desperate enough to use the Net on my phone, haha..
    I'm in "The Annex", ie the only house without a lift. 6th floor, 11 flights, 82 steps grumble grumble no internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Crania

Woohoo, I got my internet working last night! Thank God there is a guy in my apartment who does Computer Science because there wasn't a hope I would've been able to do it myself. Quite the complicated process!

Yeah, I feel Baza's pain as I, coincidentally, am also in the Annex. Whoa, it was pretty hard(that's an understatement!) to get all my luggage up all those stairs, but I'm not on the top floor thankfully.

Yeah, Halls is as brilliant as I thought it would be! The Halls weekend thing was some craic. There's just so many people though, I've met so much people and swiftly forget their names, I usually remember their faces and where they're from but I'm terrible with names.

I think I might get a push-scooter for going in to college.. only problem is they're pretty damn expensive for an adult sized one - €90 for the cheapest one in Skate City in Temple Bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

And they look ridiculous. Might as well get rollerblades. Or a bike. Bikes are great.

I don't care what it looks like; roller blades are more expensive; bikes are too damn dangerous. All I care about now is price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

Walking is the cheapest (and clearly best) option. :)