Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New build

• 01-09-2008 11:58am
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hey
    What do ye think of my new build lads?I put it together last nite on elara.ie.Its gonna be used mostly for gaming,let me know what ye think,thanks.

Nine Hundred/Ultimate Gamer Case- no PSU - 3x120mm and 1x200mm fan ,perforated front bezel,2xfront loaded HDD cages,takes mATX and ATX motherboards 1 €73.00 €73.00

ECE1396355 PSU/TruePower Quattro 850W 80PLUS Certified PSU with Active Power Factor Correction ( PFC ) , 100v-240v ,Supports EPS12V v2.91 and ATX12V systems 1 €130.00 €130.00

ECE1460493 Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.50GHz LGA775 FSB1333 6Mb Retail Boxed 1 €207.00 €207.00

MMEW520054 DVD+-R/RW/DL AD-5200A-01 BEIGE +20X8X12X -20X6X12X BULK IDE 1 €19.00 €19.00

MMEB994509 ENGTX260/HTDP/896M/A GTX260 896MB DDR3 PCI-E DVI-IX2 HDTV 1 €246.00 €246.00

ECE1258267 HD Caviar SE/160GB SATA II 7200rpm 8MB 1 €36.00 €36.00

ECE1327472 Memory/HyperX 2GB 1066MHz DDR2 CL5 5-5-5-15 DIMM Kit of 2 NVIDIA SLI-Ready 2 €37.00 €74.00

ECE1517068 Windows Vista Home Prem SP1 English Intl DVD 1 €138.00 €138.00

MMEJ150512 22IN LCD WIDE 1680X1050 D22W11 1 5MS SPKRS BLACK 1 €148.00 €148.00

MME2223508 LABTEC STANDARD KBRD PLUS PS/2 1 €5.00 €5.00

MMEB994401 MAXIMUS II FORMULA S775 P45 ATX SND+2XGLN+U2+1394 FSB1600 SATA2R IN 1 €182.00 €182.00

Delivery: €9.00
    Total Excl. VAT: €1,267.00
    VAT @ 21%: €266.07
    Total Incl. VAT*: €1,533.07

cant wait for it to come :D.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Hey
    What do ye think of my new build lads?I put it together last nite on elara.ie.Its gonna be used mostly for gaming,let me know what ye think,thanks.

Nine Hundred/Ultimate Gamer Case- no PSU - 3x120mm and 1x200mm fan ,perforated front bezel,2xfront loaded HDD cages,takes mATX and ATX motherboards 1 €73.00 €73.00

ECE1396355 PSU/TruePower Quattro 850W 80PLUS Certified PSU with Active Power Factor Correction ( PFC ) , 100v-240v ,Supports EPS12V v2.91 and ATX12V systems 1 €130.00 €130.00

ECE1460493 Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.50GHz LGA775 FSB1333 6Mb Retail Boxed 1 €207.00 €207.00

MMEW520054 DVD+-R/RW/DL AD-5200A-01 BEIGE +20X8X12X -20X6X12X BULK IDE 1 €19.00 €19.00

MMEB994509 ENGTX260/HTDP/896M/A GTX260 896MB DDR3 PCI-E DVI-IX2 HDTV 1 €246.00 €246.00

ECE1258267 HD Caviar SE/160GB SATA II 7200rpm 8MB 1 €36.00 €36.00

ECE1327472 Memory/HyperX 2GB 1066MHz DDR2 CL5 5-5-5-15 DIMM Kit of 2 NVIDIA SLI-Ready 2 €37.00 €74.00

ECE1517068 Windows Vista Home Prem SP1 English Intl DVD 1 €138.00 €138.00

MMEJ150512 22IN LCD WIDE 1680X1050 D22W11 1 5MS SPKRS BLACK 1 €148.00 €148.00

MME2223508 LABTEC STANDARD KBRD PLUS PS/2 1 €5.00 €5.00

MMEB994401 MAXIMUS II FORMULA S775 P45 ATX SND+2XGLN+U2+1394 FSB1600 SATA2R IN 1 €182.00 €182.00

Delivery: €9.00
    Total Excl. VAT: €1,267.00
    VAT @ 21%: €266.07
    Total Incl. VAT*: €1,533.07

cant wait for it to come :D.

Why the strangely small hard disk?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

Spear wrote: »
    Why the strangely small hard disk?

Good point!

I only noticed the 850W psu which is well overkill to run that system. 500W-600W would do the job just as well, but at least a 850W should last another build or two looking to the future.

Spec over all is grand: it should be able to play any game going very very well. You should have no performance issues to say the least!:D

Has the monitor gotten good reviews?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

era I always upgrade if need be ya know,is the graphics card a good one? thanks for the replies btw :).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Its very nice, but you could get much more power for the money you are spending.

From Dabs.ie ( Elara are crazy expensive )

k8c6ss82iczfpsz2reta.jpg

That pc will kill every game, it has insane power.

The HD4870x2 is more than twice as the 260 Gtx, the cpu has 12mb of cache and can be overclock to near 4ghz on even stock fan.Its as good a gaming pc as you can buy really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

I'd change to a bigger hard drive with at least 16MB cache, but preferably 32MB. Like these
    Nice psu, has 2x6pin and 2x8pin sli connectors

Edit: Squall's is much better

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

but will this build kill every game as well?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Hell yeah.

:D.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

sweet pc man.

Im building one myself with similar specs.

Same case/Psu
    Same processor
    instead of the gtx260, I will have the gtx280.
    4gb ram
    Asus S775 motherboard
    250gb hdd and 500gb hdd (for recording)

Pretty straight forward simple comp.

Waiting for them to come!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

Yes, it will kill very game as well, but you're missing the point the pc listed with the HD470 is a superior pc in every way, ram/cpu/gfx/hdd and for the same prie

To have TWO hd470's is just LOL would just obliterate even crysis at the highest settings :D

well got it today,my brother built it for me (thanks john :)) and the ****ers sent out vista 32bit instead of 64bit,will that make any difference to my gaming?

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    sweet pc man.

Im building one myself with similar specs.

Same case/Psu
    Same processor
    instead of the gtx260, I will have the gtx280.
    4gb ram
    Asus S775 motherboard
    250gb hdd and 500gb hdd (for recording)

Pretty straight forward simple comp.

Waiting for them to come!

sweet :) where did you order from?

also I ordered 4gigs of ram,which I got,and its showing up as having 4 gigs but seeing as its 32bit vista should'nt it be showing up as a lot less?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

also I ordered 4gigs of ram,which I got,and its showing up as having 4 gigs but seeing as its 32bit vista should'nt it be showing up as a lot less?

Nope. that was fixed in SP1, it'll show all the ram but it still can't use more than ~3.2Gb because of the 32bit limit

will it affect my gaming in anyway?like will it only let me play certain games?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

will it affect my gaming in anyway?like will it only let me play certain games?

Other than restricting your memory and the obvious blocking of any 64bit clients, like most Valve games, you can still run the 32bit versions of anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

Wow that was nice and fast they sent it out pretty nifty :D

I know ya,I was at the dentist and when I came back it had arrived and there was my bro putting it together for me :).