Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Berbatov to whoever thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

It would be funny if at the end Berbatov stay in Tottenham:D

Haha would be hilarious :D
    United panic and sign Heskey instead:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

If Utd did actually carry out a medical without Berbatov's permission, I'd imagine the FA would come down on them like a ton of bricks? i.e. maybe a ten point deduction and a million pound fine? Does anyone know of any previous examples?
    Cashly Cole was tapped up by Chelski..........only got a fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    Cashly Cole was tapped up by Chelski..........only got a fine

Good point, but wasnt there talk of a possible points deduction at one stage?

Also if they had conducted a medical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

If Utd did actually carry out a medical without Berbatov's permission, I'd imagine the FA would come down on them like a ton of bricks? i.e. maybe a ten point deduction and a million pound fine? Does anyone know of any previous examples?
    It'd be hard to carry out a medical without the player's permission.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If Utd did actually carry out a medical without Berbatov's permission

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

RE*AC*TOR wrote: »
    owned.

RE*AC*TOR wrote: »

I'm sure Ferguson could manage it

I obviously meant without Spurs premission

As someone else pointed out : I was owned

Good point, but wasnt there talk of a possible points deduction at one stage?

Also if they had conducted a medical?
    Doubt if conducting a medical makes any difference, if we meet at all with the player it's all the same, think there may be some legal way out of it by having the lawyers sign something before all this happens, not sure. We'll not get a points deduction anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

From BBC:
    2104: This won't surprise you in the least, but I'm getting wind of an enormous bust-up over the signing of Tottenham's Bulgarian striker Dimitar Berbatov. It probably revolves around Manchester United taking him though a medical, even though Spurs haven't allowed United to speak to him yet. This one is about to get brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Still no news :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

I find it hard to believe that Spurs have no idea where Berbatov was today. What if he was in London when they accepted the bid from City. At what stage would they tell him to head up to Manchester to complete the deal?

If Utd picked up Bebatov and conducted a medical, while knowing they did not have permission to speakto him, which would ineffect have prevented City from conducting a medical and possibly damaging that transfer after Spurs had agreed he could talk to only City, I could well see Spurs going insane - possibly even going to the courts.

Given reports that the deal broke down over the weekend because Spurs wouldn't agree to drop the tapping-up charge as part of the deal I can see this one going explosive, no matter where Berbatov ends up.

I thought Hughes comment along the lines of I would like to have had a chance to see to Berbatov was interesting.

I don't think you can say that there isnt a least a possibility of a points deduction over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭niallk

Berbatov doesn't have to speak to Cityjust because they had a bid accepted. He doesn't have to talk to anyone. I wonder how his date with Fergie is going...
    Probably in SAF's office now polishing off a nice bottle of wine before moving on to the strawberries and cream...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

If the truth of this matter is Utd carried out a medical without Spurs permission there is no way in hell they would only get away with a fine. I think over the years ferguson has got away with murder with regard to tapping up (yes yes i know they all do it) but this time he has gone to far if reports are to believed.

If Utd picked up Bebatov and conducted a medical, while knowing they did not have permission to speakto him, which would ineffect have prevented City from conducting a medical and possibly damaging that transfer after Spurs had agreed he could talk to only City, I could well see Spurs going insane - possibly even going to the courts.

Given reports that the deal broke down over the weekend because Spurs wouldn't agree to drop the tapping-up charge as part of the deal I can see this one going explosive, no matter where Berbatov ends up.

I thought Hughes comment along the lines of I would like to have had a chance to see to Berbatov was interesting.

I don't think you can say that there isnt a least a possibility of a points deduction over this.
    We'll not get a points deduction for this, the punishment doesn't fit the crime, it would be far too heavy handed to give a club a points deduction for tapping up and if the FA did do give us a deduction we'd appeal and be off to the CAS in a flash because we'd have a precedent i.e. Chelsea tapping up Ashley Cole and only getting a fine.

That said just as another poster said just because citeh had a bid accepted it doesn't mean Berby has to talk to him, he came to us of his own free will, Fergie wasn't holding a gun to his head while our physios and doctors carried out the medical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Ah lads do you seriously believe that Utd would be that stupid to get him to do a medical without having SPurs permission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

SSN just aired footage of Berbatov at Old Trafford!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭swalsh

footage of him with saf at old trafford on SSN now

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Moon

Well Berb is in Old Trafford now!! So it's looking likely that he's going to be a Utd player in the next 2 hours!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

That should be that then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

deise59 wrote: »
    That should be that then

Looks like it all right.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I bet the only think Man City did today was cost Utd a few million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Villain wrote: »
    I bet the only think Man City did today was cost Utd a few million

It's grand we'll get it back when picking up the treble....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,446 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

United's behaviour today is a disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭delija_sever029

1 hour left for todays circus:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

1 hour left for todays circus:D

I think it's 2 hours, you're just in the wrong timezone ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

tribulus wrote: »

It's really 3 or 4 hrs as a lot of deals only surface an hour or so after he close of the window. Sure look at Benjani last Jan.

Tauren wrote: »
    Wait for the facts please. As someone just said it's highly unlikely they talked to Berba without permission.

Just been on a spurs forum website where they are saying levy has made a statement saying Spurs have not agreed a deal with Utd but have agreed a deal to sell him to City. If this is true what the hell is berba doing at old trafford?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

niallk wrote: »
    Wait for the facts please. As someone just said it's highly unlikely they talked to Berba without permission.

yes, because united would never tap up a player. We all know how much ferguson despieses that kind of thing.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Better stick that pot of coffee on, could be an exciting few hours

(or not)

City to sign at least 1 big name, and Berb to stay at Spurs.!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Fergie on sky shaking hands with berba.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Reports are coming in that Pele is coming out of retirement to play for United for a reported salary of 35 viagra pills per week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

yes, because united would never tap up a player. We all know how much ferguson despieses that kind of thing.:pac:

I can't believe people actually think Fergie would pick him up in the airport and do a medical without Spurs permission?:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Moon

Official photographer and website people arrived at old trafford!!!

Originally Posted by Tauren View Post

BS Tauren, we base all our thoughts on rumours and gossip, we have absolutely no idea what goes on behind the scenes. Fergie is not an idiot, you hardly think he had berba do a medical without spurs permission.

Stop listening to SSN and Hearsay, before calling the club a disgrace, its a disgrace that you believe all the conjecture over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Just heard that about the photographer and the website people...

It has to be over now...please tell me its over and I can sleep happily!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

I'd be waiting for Spurs to come out and say something first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Reports are coming in that Pele is coming out of retirement to play for United for a reported salary of 35 viagra pills per week.
    Hahahha

Seriously, this is 16 pages of utter rubbish! United haven't signed anyone yet! Arrggghhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

How will he do at Man U?

Hasnt exactly been World class at Spurs.27 goals in 70 games isnt £30m stuff imo.

Fergie = Super Legend!! Doing what has to be done! That is all!!!

If he abducted Berba then we should have to pay a fine (absolutely no way we should be docked points since Chelsea got away with it with Cashley - so no way you could justify it) but u have to hand it to him, he got his man, again!! :P

However, I actually think Spurs gave us permission and havent commented on it. Fergie is no idiot, Id be amazed if he was bold faced stealing Berbatov!

**Gets fire extinguisher for inevitable flames!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭delija_sever029

tribulus wrote: »

hehe ok,it seems its coming to an end anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Does anyone have anything remotely concrete?

It doesn't matter if Berbatoss wants to go to Utd, unless Spurs agree, he's got a choice of City or Spurs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

If he abducted Berba then we should have to pay a fine (absolutely no way we should be docked points since Chelsea got away with it with Cashley - so no way you could justify it) but u have to hand it to him, he got his man, again!!

discussing terms, giving the player a medical and meeting in full glare of the worlds media at Old Trafford is a ****ing disgrace Neil IF they don't have Spurs permission this by far the most arrogant glaring example of "tapping up" in the history of PL football. I would expect a huge points deduction, a million or two fine wouldnt even nearly cut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

does anyone actually know any of the above to be true, though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Its 102 games,46 goals!

Compare that to Rooney in the same time 100 games 41 goals!

Fairly similar!

He is in old trafford , Sky have shown him.

At the end of they day the bid was probably accepted in Monaco this weekend, Spurs have made no offical statement on yes or no about the bid being accepted, its all gossip and rumour about Berba all day. As for city they are just creating unecessary hype about nothing, they wont even sign Robinho bunch fools.

Mr. X wrote: »
    BS Tauren, we base all our thoughts on rumours and gossip, we have absolutely no idea what goes on behind the scenes. Fergie is not an idiot, you hardly think he had berba do a medical without spurs permission.

Stop listening to SSN and Hearsay
    , before calling the club a disgrace, its a disgrace that you believe all the conjecture over this.
    Who listens to Hearsay anymore:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

niallk wrote: »
    Who listens to Hearsay anymore:confused:

Girls Aloud ftw.

Well if it's the case that ferguson tapped him up and Spurs say something to that effect United are up **** creek either way.