Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

News: Google Chrome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

FruitLover wrote: »
    GMail is beta in name only. It works great. You can't tell me that 'beta' isn't an appropriate moniker for a browser that's only been out as a test version for two days (and allegedly released premature even at that).

Wrong, it's still "beta" so they can disclaim any responsibility for bugfixes, security holes etc. It's a coverup for lazy coders. If they were honest, they'd have released it from Beta by now.
    KamiKazi wrote: »
    Why are you so worried about a mere browser?

Shouldn't you be out making more tinfoil hats or UFO spotting or whatever the f*ck it is that you do to satisfy your paranoia?

Paranoia is the irrational belief in something that hasn't happened, or that there is no evidence for.

People have been locked up by repressive security regimes because of Google (and Yahoo come to that). That's not paranoia.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Slutmonkey could you please use the 'other' thread for the conspiricy bit and leave this thread to just Chrome and how it performs?

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055371706

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

eVeNtInE wrote: »
    Balls. After a restart, it's still not showing any YT videos.

And clicking the arrow beside a post to go to the unread posts brings me to an error page every time.

Maybe it's a Vista issue... doubt it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭art

sink wrote: »
    Almost everything google has ever released since search is still a beta. Gmail, Google talk, Google docs. Products which made it out of beta are google earth and google maps.

What about Picassa? Google Desktop? Sketchup? Add them to Google Maps and Google Earth and it seems like "almost everything" is a pretty baseless exaggeration really.

I'd suggest that Picassa was a fully-working product before Google bought it and Google Earth is still classed as beta.

byte

Yeah, will try that and report back.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

That's what porn mode was invented for.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Pray to God you didn't happen to stray onto any incest sites. Your mother will never look at you the same.

Or GILF. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,182 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Or GILF. :eek:

:eek::eek::eek: had to google that.... Another term to learn....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Anyone using Chrome tried LogMeIn yet?

Still a bit to do me thinks.

-

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Anyone using Chrome tried LogMeIn yet?

Still a bit to do me thinks.

-

Well yes and no I guess. LogMeIn only supports IE and Firefow afaik. It doesn't support Safari so probably doesn't support Chrome. While as a browser it has a long way to go it's not up to Goggle to get it working with LogMeIn :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Forsaken1

It has fast page loading which is good but I still am not convinced...

It does however, load and format tables row by row whereas other browsers load the full table and format before displaying...
    Good for grid type websites...

byte

After a reinstall, I still can't view videos on Chrome. Another problem I noticed was when listing an item on eBay, the WYSIWYG editor is not available, leaving me with back to basics HTML editing.

So far, pretty useless.

Latest Version:

Build 1798

I think they may have nailed the skin option too

-

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Latest Version:

Build 1798

I think they may have nailed the skin option too

-

What do you mean? I haven't got the update yet

Open Chrome & click on the "Spanner" icon (top right)

Click on "About Google Chrome" (you will see what I meant).

-

I still have build 1583

You should probably update it so.

There should be a button there to update to latest, if you wish?

-

You should probably update it so.

Almighty, have you updated?

I have, but can no longer use the black skin :mad:

-

Nope I don't have the update button

Almighty, have you updated?

I have, but can no longer use the black skin :mad:

-
    Just updated there but I haven't restarted yet. I better be able to use the black skin.

Nope I don't have the update button

Maybe it's your illegitimate post count that won't allow the "Update" button to display? :D

-

Balls, black skin is gone for me too.

Just updated there but I haven't restarted yet. I better be able to use the black skin.

I miss that skin already :(

I'm working on it though.....

-

I was aware of the need to replace the dll file after every update but it looks like they have changed the playing field a bit.

The theme dll files appears to have no function now.

If you delete it from Chrome it makes no odds to the program.

It must be lurking somewhere else or it may have been compiled into one of the exe files :confused:

-

I have it sorted Almighty, my black skin is back ;)

Look at the directory structure in Explorer, the update has created extra folders so there is now two "Theme" folders.

Put the black dll into the second one for now.

Maybe we can delete the first set of folders?

-

:% doesn't crash it anymore

I have it sorted Almighty, my black skin is back ;)

Look at the directory structure in Explorer, the update has created extra folders so there is now two "Theme" folders.

Put the black dll into the second one for now.

Maybe we can delete the first set of folders?

-

Lovely jubbely. Here have a butt load of thanks for that.

It seems to create a new folder for each update. Probably so it's easy to roll back if something screws up.

Yep!,

It's OK to delete the redundant folder.

My version prior to the update was 0.2.149.27 & that was still contained within the directory structure.

The update added in the 0.2.149.29 which contains the second themes folder.

I deleted the Orig folder 0.2.149.27 & all is fine.

-

Here's one for next Paddy's Day :p

imageck7.jpg

-

Look Ma! No Icons.......

boardschromelh7.jpg

-

Works a treat.

chromeportableusbgn7.png

Available HERE

-

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭WalkOn

hmmm doesn't seem to work for me I see the page title and nothing else for all web pages??

WalkOn wrote: »
    hmmm doesn't seem to work for me I see the page title and nothing else for all web pages??

Strange, it's working fine this end :confused:

-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Interesting....even though it's open source, they restrict download by country. I'm in the ol' axis of evil with work at the moment and I've been denied download since launch, so I went to dl.google.com and got this:
    Google Pack
    Google Pack is not currently available in your country

feck off ye eejits.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Khannie wrote: »
    Interesting....even though it's open source, they restrict download by country. I'm in the ol' axis of evil with work at the moment and I've been denied download since launch, so I went to dl.google.com and got this:

feck off ye eejits.

Want me to put up the install file on a sever for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

feck off ye eejits.

http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/55419/ChromeSetup.exe

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

feck off ye eejits.

Want me to put up the install file on a sever for you?

gadgetblackli5.jpg

-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 se51

Just my quick thing about Chrome here. Installed it on my work machine, didn't find it particularly exciting or anything. On the contrary - after a reboot my graphic driver went bananas. Had to do a system restore to make my system work.

So. Didn't like, not gonna use it.

BTW: Current Chrome build uses an earlier version of WebKit with a well-known vulnerability. As of this writing, Chrome isn't fixed to use a newer WebKit.

It's pretty bad with java

Navigate to the following Website:

http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/ea.jsp

Click on the first orange button (Labeled JRE 6 Update 10 RC)

Under the "Windows Platfrom" choose the second option (Online Installation JRE file)

Allow the file to run.

Enjoy!

-