Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Best 15 players in your life time.

• 02-09-2008 12:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭

open to football and hurling, what is the best 15 players you have seen during your lifetime. obviouly being from Kerry, im going to concentrate on football, but ill think about a hurling team and work on it!!

only rule is, you cannot pick players that only played before you were born.

i started going to kerry games in 94 so here is my team.

EDIT - this is impossible to pick to be honest and its hard to be impartial here!!!

John O Leary (could be anybody to be honest!)

ryan mcmenamin _ darran fay _ mike Mc carthy

thomas o shea _ Seamus Moynihan _ Philip Jordan

Darragh O Shea Anthoy Tohill

Michael Donnelan _ Padraig Joyce _ Trevor Giles
    Colm Cooper _ Peter Canavan _ Maurice Fitzgerald

im not sure about -

Leary
    Ricey
    Jordan
    Tohill
    Giles,

but i dont think anybody could argue with the other 10!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Christ, will be some arguments on this.. will put 15 up later, need time to dwell on this one..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭sslazio11

Christ, this a tall order, and the amount of debate will be insane. I started going to Kerry games in 1986, but it's post 1990 that I'd be thinking of, so here's my effort:

John O'Leary

Niall Cahalane Darren Fay Michael McCarthy

Seamus Moynihan Kieran McGeeney Keith Barr

Darragh O Se Anthony Tohill

Michael Donnelan Padraic Joyce Brian Mcguigan

Colm Cooper Peter Canavan Mickey Linden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

1)John O Leary
    2)Paidi O Se
    3)Darren Fay
    4)Mark O Se
    5)Kieran Mc Geeney
    6)Seamus Moynihan
    7)Keith Barr
    8)Jack O Shea
    9)Bryan Mullins
    10)Pat Spillane
    11)Ciaran Duff
    12)Maurice Fitz
    13)Barney Rock
    14)Eoin Liston
    15)Peter Canavan

Still have one gap to fill, I will have to come back to that one. So far I have 7 Kerrymen 4 Dubs and 1 Tyrone man and 1 Armagh man, I even found room for a Meathman. My selection is mostly from players I watched as a boy as I was in awe of those guys, especially the Dublin Kerry teams of the day and the rivalry between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Started going to Donegal games in 85, I'll try not to be biased!

1)John O Leary
    2)Niall Cahalane
    3)Matt Gallagher (if only he'd played there all his career)
    4)K. McKeever (best man marker I ever seen)
    5)Sean Og DePaor
    6)Martin Gavigan (biased)
    7)Tomas O'Se (probably out of position but he has to be there somewhere)
    8)Jack O Shea
    9)Brian Mullins
    10)Pat Spillane
    11)Ciaran McDonald
    12)Maurice Fitz
    13)James McCartan
    14)T. Boyle (unmarkable when fit)
    15)Mickey Linden

Slight Donegal and Ulster bias, but they where all fantastic players in any era!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭phase-3

Im 18 so in my life time..:)

Hurling btw!
    1) Donal Og Cusack / Davy Fitz
    2) Ollie Canning
    3) D. O Sullivan
    4) Brian Murphy
    5) E. Corcaran
    6)Ken McGrath
    7) Tony Browne
    8) Cha
    9) Tom Kenny
    10) Damien Hayes (on his day he is brilliant!)
    11) was Dan Shanahan
    12) Eoin Kelly Wat
    13) John Mullane
    14)Eoin Kelly Tipp
    15) Joe Canning/ Eddie Brennan

You might not agree with me but i think they were and are still the best players I have seen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,903 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

phase-3 wrote: »
    Im 18 so in my life time..:)

Hurling btw!
    1) Donal Og Cusack / Davy Fitz
    2) Ollie Canning
    3) D. O Sullivan
    4) Brian Murphy
    5) E. Corcaran
    6)Ken McGrath
    7) Tony Browne
    8) Cha
    9) Tom Kenny
    10) Damien Hayes (on his day he is brilliant!)
    11) was Dan Shanahan
    12) Eoin Kelly Wat
    13) John Mullane
    14)Eoin Kelly Tipp
    15) Joe Canning/ Eddie Brennan

You might not agree with me but i think they were and are still the best players I have seen!

:eek: No Shefflin?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭mousey007

how can you not have shefflin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Jugs82

25 Yr Old

1. Damien Fitzhenry (Brendan Cummins a close 2nd)

2. Martin Hanamy
    3. Brian Lohan
    4. Willie O'Connor

5. Brian Whelahan
    6. Seanie McMahon
    7. Tommy Walsh

8. Tommy Dunne
    9. Johnny Pilkington

10. Martin Storey
    11. Henry Shefflin
    12. Johnny Dooley

13. Eoin Kelly - Tipp
    14. DJ Carey
    15. Joe Deane

Thats my lot :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Damo.Smith

Hanamy is good but not great

Seanies32 wrote: »
    4)K. McKeever (best man marker I ever seen)

was writing down team here on piece paper, had above wrote down word for word:D going 1993- 2008

o leary

marc o shea
    darren fay
    k. mckeever

mcgeeney
    moynihan
    r. mcmenamin

darragh o se
    whelan

donnellan
    joyce
    s. o neill

s. mc donnell/gooch
    canavan
    m. linden

few slightly out of position

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Football - 23

Peter Burke

Ryan McMenamin
    Darren Fay
    Marc O Sé

Seamus Moynihan
    James Nallen
    Declan Meehan

Darragh O Sé
    Séan Cavanagh

Padraic Joyce
    Ciaran McDonald
    Peter Canavan

Gooch
    Stevie McDonell
    Maurice Fitz

Close calls: Kenny Mortimor, John McDermott, Declan O'Keefe, Ja Fallon, Dessie Dolan, Mattie Forde, Benny Coulter, Anthony Lynch, Glen Ryan, Kieran McGeeney, Anthony Tohill, Séan Marty Lockhart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Born in 1969, earliest memories is of Eddie Kehir and the great player he was.

Ger Cunningham
    Michael Kavanagh-Brian Lohan-John Horgan
    Pete Finnerty-Ger Coughlin-Brian Whelehan
    Tom Cashman-Frank Cummins
    Ben O'Connor-Henry Shefflin-Joe Cooney
    DJ Carey-Jimmy Barry-Murphy-Eddie Kehir

Football
    John O'Leary
    Niall Cahalane-Mick Lyons-Robbie Kelleher
    Martin O'Connell-Kieran McGeeney-Keith Barr
    Jack O'Shea-Brian Mullins
    Michael Donellan-Ogie Moran-Pat Spillane
    Mikey Sheehy-Eoin Liston-Peter Canavan

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭zuluboy

Might be slightly biased but..

Declan O' Keefe
    Paidi John O'Keefe Marc
    Tomas Moynihan Ger Lynch
    Darragh Jacko
    Spillane Cooper Maurice
    Sheehy Donaghy Matt Connor

zuluboy wrote: »

Declan O' Keefe
    Paidi John O'Keefe Marc
    Tomas Moynihan Ger Lynch
    Darragh Jacko
    Spillane Cooper Maurice

slightly biased:eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭zuluboy

yeah I agonised a long time over Matt Connor/John egan

zuluboy wrote: »

Declan O' Keefe
    Paidi John O'Keefe Marc
    Tomas Moynihan Ger Lynch
    Darragh Jacko
    Spillane Cooper Maurice

:D Unfortunately I never got to see him playing. He had his accident a year or 2 before my time. Colm O'Rourke would deserve an honorable mention though his Sunday Game stint goes against him! :eek:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

My memory goes back to about 1983.

Football.

John O' Leary

Sean Marty Lockhart
    Darren Fay
    Seamus Moynihan

Tomas O'Se
    Kieran McGeeney
    Sean Og De Paor

Jack O'Shea
    Anthony Tohill

Maurice Fitzgerald
    Peter Canavan
    Pat Spillane

Mikey Sheehy
    Padraig Joyce
    Bernard Flynn

Hurling

Brendan Cummins
    Sylvie Linnane Brian Lohan JJ Delaney
    Pete Finnerty Tony Keady Tommy Walsh
    Joe Cooney Brian Whelehan
    Ben O'Connor Henry Shefflin DJ Carey
    Eanna Ryan JBM Joe Canning

Just picked off the top of my head really, I'm sure I've forgotten somebody.
    I know Canning is only starting out but he really is one of the best hurlers I've ever seen and to think he could even get better yet as he's only 19. It's possible that in ten years or so people will be talking about him as one of the greats. Hopefully he'll have an All-Ireland medal or two to show for it though. I'm surprised alot of people are leaving out Joe Cooney, one of the most skilful hurlers of my lifetime.

I didn't see enough of Matt Connor so left him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

First final I watched on the box was 78, still remember the sublime chip by Sheehy :D

Martin Furlong, Paudie O'Se, John O'Keefe, Dermot Flanagan
    Tom Spillane, Kieran McGeeney, Seamus Moynihan
    Jack O'Shea, Willie Joe Padden
    Michael Donnellan, Colm Cooper, Maurice Fitzgerald
    Matt Connor, Peter Canavan, Mike Sheehy

The positions are all over the place since the players are there becuase they were special and they did or do something special, especially the forwards.

Will always remember Willie Joe (two All Stars) for appearing back on the pitch in in 85 covered in blood and bandages. As The Sawdoctors used to say "will we beat Mayo, not if they have Willie Joe". He had habit of playing good halves and not so good halves but he was a nice guy and always tried his best for the cause.

Honourable mentions include...
    Ciaran McDonald, James Nallen, Michael Meehan, Pat, Mick & Tom Spillane, "Horse" Kennelly, Eoin Bomber Liston, Dara O'Se, Ger Power, Padraig Joyce, Bernard Brogan, Jimmy Keaveney, Dermot Early, Anthony Twohill, Sean Marty Lockhart, Colm O' (Whine) Rourke, Stephen O'Neill, Steven McDonnell and Matty Forde.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Jugs82

Hanamy is good but not great

Hard to find a better, more consistent Corner back over the past 15-16 years though IMO

Im not much of a football fan but been an Offaly man, seeing Matt Connor mentioned is great!

From what ive seen on video and heard from those old enough to remember was that he was a true great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

19 and a bit biased towards Mayo. From 96 or so-Present

Declan O'Keefe

Darren Fay
    Kevin Cahill
    Kenny Mortimer

James Nallen
    Seamus Moynihan
    Sean Og De Paor

Dara O'Se
    Sean Cavanagh

Trevor Giles
    Maurice Fitzgerald
    Ciaran McDonald

Padraig Joyce
    Peter Canavan
    Colm Cooper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

surprised to see Harry Keegan hasnt got a mention yet

You're probably on your own there. Seriously though, I don't really remember him. Enlighten me. Was he a full back by any chance?

Roscommon have undoubtedly had a few players who would warrant consideration but people mightn't remember them as easily because Roscommon haven't featured in many finals or even semis.

Tony McManus was a classy player, as was Dermot Early. Derek Duggan was an outstanding talent who would have got on any team in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Damn you all, I had 15 in my head and then read this. :eek:

Now I'm arguing with myself.

By the way, I like Seanies' selection. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Smartly Dressed

I'm going to struggle with this. I might have some names down just for the sake of filling out the positions.

GK: Cluxton

FB: Karl Lacey (:o)
    FB: Francie Bellew
    FB:

HB: Kieran McGeeney
    HB: Darragh Ó'Sé
    HB:

MF: Ciaran McDonald (Had to stick him somewhere)
    MF: Sean Cavanagh

HF: Oisin McConville
    HF: Padraig Joyce
    HF: Peter Canavan

FF: Colm Cooper
    FF: Stephen O'Neill
    FF: Eoin Mulligan

Feck it, I can't get anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

aidan24326 wrote: »
    You're probably on your own there. Seriously though, I don't really remember him. Enlighten me. Was he a full back by any chance?

Roscommon have undoubtedly had a few players who would warrant consideration but people mightn't remember them as easily because Roscommon haven't featured in many finals or even semis.

Tony McManus was a classy player, as was Dermot Early. Derek Duggan was an outstanding talent who would have got on any team in the country.

Tony McManus was the finest forward in Connaught 85-90, he struck fear inyo defenders I still haven't seen repeated.

Duggan had the raw talent, but by 22/23 years old he hadn't the dedication.

I was born 1971 so .....

1 Cluxton

2 Mark O'Shea 3 Mick Lyons 4 Paudi O Se

5 S Moynihan 6 K McGeeney 7 S og De Paor

8 A Tohill 9 S Cavanagh

10 D Browne 11 T Giles 12 Bernard Flynn

13 T McManus (jnr) 14 P Canavan 15 C Cooper

Mick Lyons was very very close to my team, probably should have been in, but having seen Matt Gallagher play full back for 2/3 years, he was wasted at corner back for most of his career. Fantastic reader of a game!

Couldn't think of Flynn, Beggy kept coming into my head! Not half the player. It's funny how more of the Meath players from that era have stood the test of time more than the Cork ones!

Anyway my honorable mentions would be Tony Scullion, John Joe Doherty, Conor Deegan, Brian McGilligan, Martin McHugh, Greg Blaney, Paddy Bradley, Brian Dooher (most improved award), Sean Cavanagh, Ja Fallon, Padraig Joyce, Joe Bergin, Larry Tompkins, Keith Barr, Paul Curran, Tommy Carr

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

I was just wondering if any of ye who would have seen him play would remember/ rate Eugene nudie Hughes of Monaghan from the 80's? I've heard my elders eulogising about hum for years but never saw the man play.I'm 19 so here's mine1 Reilly, (cavan) 2) Andy mallon, (armagh) 3) Darren Fay 4) Ryan Mc Menaman5) Tomas o se 6) Gary Mc Quaid (monaghan, Biased but who cares) 7) Philip Jordan 8) Sean Cavanagh 9) Daire O Se 10) Paul finlay 11) colm cooper 12) stephen o neill 13) Stevie mc donald 14) Donaghy 15) Peter Canavan Have finlay in there as the best left footed free taker in the country imo. Everyone there on merit (including Mc Quaid.) Would have had Cooper in on the full forward line but places were few so he got shunted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

jethro081 wrote: »
    I was just wondering if any of ye who would have seen him play would remember/ rate Eugene nudie Hughes of Monaghan from the 80's? I've heard my elders eulogising about hum for years but never saw the man play.
    I remember him and the elders know what they are eulogising about alright. He was a great player even though he tormented us on a couple of ocassions. ;)

I was just wondering if any of ye who would have seen him play would remember/ rate Eugene nudie Hughes of Monaghan from the 80's? I've heard my elders eulogising about hum for years but never saw the man play.

Would put nudie hughes in the top 15 of crafty players, never seen a man who could win so many frees by grabbing the defenders arm and pulling the defender down on top of him and the ref giving a free in to "nudie".. ref implying defender brought him down.. old fashioned or what

I was just wondering if any of ye who would have seen him play would remember/ rate Eugene nudie Hughes of Monaghan from the 80's?

I remeber him alright. He was Monaghan's best player at that time, when they won Ulster in '86.

Wouldn't quite have him on my best 15 as there were better players, but he was good all the same.

Galway's Val Daly was an excellent player too, and someone who would get alot more mention had he been playing for Galway at a more successful time. He was a bit unlucky that his peak years coincided with what was a poor enough time for Galway football.

You could say similiar about the likes of Frank McGuigan and Eugene McKenna. And there's no doubt Declan Browne could have been an absolute legend had he been with a stronger team. It's a pity we didn't get to see him gracing the big occasion a bit more. When he did finally get to play in Croke Park against Donegal a few years ago he was absolutely unreal, born for that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

And there's no doubt Declan Browne could have been an absolute legend had he been with a stronger team. It's a pity we didn't get to see him gracing the big occasion a bit more. When he did finally get to play in Croke Park against Donegal a few years ago he was absolutely unreal, born for that stage.

Remember he almost single handedly defeated wexford in the Tommy Murphy Cup final a few years back and i think there were something like 10 or 11 of this years wexford team playing that day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Brian Corcoran for me. A true legend, dual player.

That point he got against Limerick in the Gaelic grounds from his knees was incredible.

About the only thing I've seen com close to that was John Fenton's goal from about 4 miles out when he whipped on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Remember he almost single handedly defeated wexford in the Tommy Murphy Cup final a few years back and i think there were something like 10 or 11 of this years wexford team playing that day

Seven started if my memory serves me correctly.

Declan Browne was a great player though, it was great to see him receive some silverware in Croke Park that day.

Right here goes, Hurling and my first live game was in '87

1. Brendan Cummins

2. Brian Whelehan 3. Brian Lohan 4. Ollie Canning

5. Tommy Walsh 6. Ken McGrath 7. Brian Corcoran

8. Tommy Dunne 9. Joe Cooney

10. Jamsie o 'Connor 11. Henry Shefflin 12. Nicky English

13. Eoin Kelly(Tipp) 14. D.J Carey 15. Pat Fox

Seven started if my memory serves me correctly.

Declan Browne was a great player though, it was great to see him receive some silverware in Croke Park that day.

Oh right no it was just something i read in a local rag here where they were trying to figure out how both teams had gone on to very varying fortunes and they had said 11, it must have been 11 on the panel or something. I wasnt payin much attention it been football and all ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

Mite as well join in

1) John O'Leary

2)Robbie O'Malley
    3)Mick Lyons
    4)Stephen O'Brien

5)Seamus Moynihan
    6)Glen Ryan
    7)Martin O'Connell

8)Jack O'Shea
    9)Brian Mullins

10)Barney Rock
    11)Kieran McDonald
    12)Pat Spillane

13)Mikey Sheehy
    14)Tony Boyle
    15)Maurice Fitzgerald

Honourable mentions to Darren, Fay, Trevor Giles, Brian McGuigan, Declan Kerrigan, Stevie McDonnell, Paul Curran and Matt Connor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

Right here goes, Hurling and my first live game was in '87

1. Brendan Cummins

2. Brian Whelehan 3. Brian Lohan 4. Ollie Canning

5. Tommy Walsh 6. Ken McGrath 7. Brian Corcoran

8. Tommy Dunne 9. Joe Cooney

10. Jamsie o 'Connor 11. Henry Shefflin 12. Nicky English

13. Eoin Kelly(Tipp) 14. D.J Carey 15. Pat Fox

In fairness it's hard to argue with that. The only real change I'd make is Fenton for Tommy Dunne.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭disland

1. John O'Leary

2. Tomas O'Shea
    3. Darren Fay
    4. Francie Bellew

5. Seamus Moynihan
    6. Kieran McGeeney
    7. Graham Geraghty

8. Darragh O'Shea
    9. Jack O'Shea

10. Paul Galvin
    11. Maurice Fitzgerald
    12. Stephen O'Neill

13. Gooch
    14. Tommy Dowd
    15. Matt Connor

hawker wrote: »
    In fairness it's hard to argue with that. The only real change I'd make is Fenton for Tommy Dunne.

Yeah i know where your coming from but tbh ii didnt really see enough of fenton to include him and as a Tipp man Tommy's performances throughout 2001 in particular really stick in the memory, i would have seen him play regularly with his club aswell and he was just such a natural 'stick man' it was a joy to watch him in full flight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Yeah i know where your coming from but tbh ii didnt really see enough of fenton to include him and as a Tipp man Tommy's performances throughout 2001 in particular really stick in the memory, i would have seen him play regularly with his club aswell and he was just such a natural 'stick man' it was a joy to watch him in full flight

Tommy was good,especially in 2001 but i'd have to go for Leahy or Johnny Dooley well ahead of him.

And there's no doubt Declan Browne could have been an absolute legend had he been with a stronger team. It's a pity we didn't get to see him gracing the big occasion a bit more. When he did finally get to play in Croke Park against Donegal a few years ago he was absolutely unreal, born for that stage.

Ye, he was class that day alright, none of our lads could handle him at all, that was the double header with armaghv dubs was'nt it..

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭EOB32

1. Paul Hearty
    2. Ryan McMenamin
    3. Francie Bellew
    4. S.M. Lockhart
    5. Tomás Ó Sé
    6. Kieran McGeeney
    7. Phillip Jordan
    8. Seán Cavanagh
    9. Darragh Ó Sé
    10. Brian Dooher
    11. Ciaran McDonald
    12. Michael Donnellan
    13. Colm Cooper
    14. Kieran Donnaghy
    15. Peter Canavan

Tried to go for a balanced team. I'd fancy my lads to beat anyone!
    As for Hurling..

1. Davy Fitzgerald
    2. Michael Kavanagh
    3. Brian Lohan
    4. Ollie Canning
    5. JJ. Delaney
    6. Seán McMahon
    7. Seán Óg Ó hAilpín
    8. Ken McGrath (out of position but he'l do a job!)
    9. Colin Lynch
    10. Dan Shanahan
    11. Henry Sheflin
    12. Tommy Walsh
    13. Eoin Kelly (Tipp)
    14. Brian Corcoran
    15. Joe Deane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,976 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

John O'Leary

Harry Keegan
    John O'Keefe
    Mark O'Shea

Paudie O'Shea
    Kieran McGeeney
    Martin O'Connell

Darragh O'Shea
    Jack O'Shea

Kieran Duff
    Maurice Fitzgerald
    Pat Spillane

Colm Cooper
    Peter Canavan
    Matt Connor

Jeez that was tough, and if you gave me another chance I could change about five or six. The amount of players left out, like Eoin 'the Bomber' Liston, Seamus Moynihan, Darren Fay, Ger Power, Seanie Walsh, Brian Mullins, Billy Morgan, Charlie Nelligan, Paddy Cullen, Mick Lyons, Dermot Earley snr., Padraig Joyce, Declan Meehan and so many more. I have to play Mark O'Shea so I put him where he has played this year a lot as I couldn't leave out any of the lads on the other side and they could only play one side. Same with Maurice Fitzgerald, I think he is the best footballer I have seen in my lifetime, and he could play in any forwad position.

Only got to see him near the end of his career. I think he played corner back, midfield and corner forward at different stages! Very crafty player as shiibata said. Eugene Sherry and Eamon McEnaeney where good players on the 85 team League/Ulster winning team. Gave Kerry a big fright over 2 games.

I was in Croker when they beat Armagh to win the League. Donegal beat Cork in the AI Vocational schools before it.
    smashey wrote: »
    I remember him and the elders know what they are eulogising about alright. He was a great player even though he tormented us on a couple of ocassions. ;)

I think he was on the 85 team that hammered us in Castleblayney, my first away championship game!
    We, well Martin McHugh had beaten a decent Down team and we'd high hopes! On a brighter note I think our minors won that day and went onto win Ulster that year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Surprised nobody has mentioned Tony Keady at CB for the hurling.

Was immense. And would have been even more had he not been shafted in one of the worst treatments of a player in the history of the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Shortymac

Hi may as well give ya my tuppence worth, I am a seventies baby so my choice is based on players from the mid eighties ( from when I can remember games from) till the present...

GK :-
    Stephen Cluxton ( Brought the role of goalkeeper to a new level)

BACKLINE :-
    R.McMenamin
    Gerry Mc Carville (was known as the prince of Full backs in the eighties)
    Fay Devlin (Builder by trade and was built like a brick S**** house)

HALF BACK :-
    Gary Mc Quaid
    Seamus Moynihan
    Francie Bellew (What a shoulder, need I say more)

MID FIELD :-
    Sean Cavanagh
    Jack O Shea

HALF FORWARD :-
    Greg Blayney (A relaxed, stylish player)
    Frank Mc Guigan
    Nudie Hughes ( A crafty trickster with a sweet left foot)

FORWARD LINE
    Mickey linden
    Eoin Liston
    James Mc Cartan

I have not based my pick on honours won, but purely on the enjoyment I got from watching them play. Its amazing the names and images of forwards came to me easier than for the backs..

Crikey I have fifteen more coming into my head, will be sleeping on this one...icon6.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,976 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I don't remember Nudie playing midfield, but he was a very good forward during the mid eighties for Monaghan. They had a lot of very good players that time, they had some games with Meath as well, Sherry was a rock and so was Gerry McCarville, Cathal Murray, then you had Hugo Clerkin and Eamon McEneaney and Ray McCarron. There the ones I remember.

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Only got to see him near the end of his career. I think he played corner back, midfield and corner forward at different stages! Very crafty player as shiibata said. Eugene Sherry and Eamon McEnaeney where good players on the 85 team League/Ulster winning team. Gave Kerry a big fright over 2 games.

I was in Croker when they beat Armagh to win the League. Donegal beat Cork in the AI Vocational schools before it.

I think he was on the 85 team that hammered us in Castleblayney, my first away championship game!
    We, well Martin McHugh had beaten a decent Down team and we'd high hopes! On a brighter note I think our minors won that day and went onto win Ulster that year.

Christ, was at croker that day too, ye didnt by any chance go up on a bus from castlefin.

was in monaghan too at the thrashing, the donegal minors then lost to cork in all ireland semis.. but if i recall monaghan drew with kerry in the senior game with i think eammon mcenaneny putting a 50 over the bar to level it after being told it was the last kick of the game. he deserves a mention in 15 itself for that kick.

shiibata wrote: »
    Christ, was at croker that day too, ye didnt by any chance go up on a bus from castlefin.

was in monaghan too at the thrashing, the donegal minors then lost to cork in all ireland semis.. but if i recall monaghan drew with kerry in the senior game with i think eammon mcenaneny putting a 50 over the bar to level it after being told it was the last kick of the game. he deserves a mention in 15 itself for that kick.

Nah, was Donegal town. Was just looking at the teams in 84 & 85. Only Manus Boyle and JJ Doherty went on to win Senior medals. A few got runs in the seniors but didn't make it. I suppose a lot would have emigrated.

Think Barry Cunningham might have had a penalty saved in 85, went over the bar. Heads seem to drop after that. The U-21's in 87 where some team too. We'd some underage talent in the 80's, the U-21's winning in 82 probably played a big part in that.

Monaghan where very close that day, Mayo drew with Dublin that year too, John Finn got his jaw broken from an "accidental elbow"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

I wasnt around either, but watched a few tapes of the 1979-1980 era, definetly the best corner back of his era, along with a few other brilliant individuals on that team like Pat Lindsay, Gerry Connellan etc...

(not being bias, but that roscommon team of the late 70s doesnt get the praise it deserves, I feel they were a close 2nd to kerry for those years)