Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travelling Alone

• 02-09-2008 9:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭

I am just looking for advice about travelling to Australia alone. I have just qualified and have always thought about going to Australia. The only problem is that I'd have to go alone. Had anyone done this and what were their experiences? I don't know if it would make a difference but I am female.

Cheers:)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Elaine08 wrote: »
    I am just looking for advice about travelling to Australia alone. I have just qualified and have always thought about going to Australia. The only problem is that I'd have to go alone. Had anyone done this and what were their experiences? I don't know if it would make a difference but I am female.

in 2007 50% of Irish visitors to Australia were travelling alone (link) so you are not the only one, and is very common.

It can be scary at first, but it is quite easy in the end, I have been here 3 years and I have meet many travellers who travel alone, or travelled in groups and then split (which is what I did).

If you are a outgoing person then it is very easy to get talking and socialise with people, stay in dorms in a hostel and get talking to people, everyone who travels are usually very friendly to each other, and make an effort to be friendly to other travellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I've done it. I'm here on my own right now.

It's not easy.It's very difficult initially, as you know nobody.

I arrived, and had an apartment pretty much straight away, but my job didn't start for about 6 weeks after I got here. I have to say that was pretty hellish, as it's not very easy to just get out there and meet people.

But, having said that, I'm here not over 6 months and I love it. I'd recommend it. But bear in mind that you may want to go home after for a few weeks. You have to battle through that phase and just stick it out.

Feel free to PM if you need any more specific information.

If you're going to be near Brisbane, we can ressurect the Brisbane beers. There's boardsies in most other parts, too, who I'm sure would be happy to welcome you to their city.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

We need to have another Beers :D

Eh Tallagh how did things go with the sisters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 4bugny

Hi I'm flying into Brisbane in a few weeks so would be interested in a boards beers :D

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Ozeire

Elaine

I first went to Oz with 4 others and to tell you the truth I didn't get to see the real Oz until we had split up. Its all to easy to get use to just having each other to hang out with and you miss out on so many great people you don't meet .

Not sure where you’re going but even through here you can meet new people. Its just to get one or 2 people that you can trust at first. I found out that i ended up trusting some of the new people i meet in Oz more than the 4 I had traveled with.

In the hostel just say hi to people and join in with all the hostel activates. Remember all the others in the hostel are in the same boat as your self.

I remember the first time I stood foot in Melbourne on my own. It was both scary and so amazing. Here I was in a big city the other side of the world from home. I didn’t know anyone or any place. Hit the bar and a few drinks later talking to people as if I knew them all my life. You just need to be street wise. Don’t trust to easy but give people a chance

You’ll find that you’ll meet people through other people and so on and so on. Just be yourself and you’ll be fine. I was and to tell you the truth I wasn’t the most out going .

And of course we’re all here if you need any help.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 dachubba

Hi Elaine, making the jump myself, hoping to go round june next year. i have my reservations about travelling alone too. thinkin of headin to thailand plus a few places before heading to Oz. it was nice to see that fact about 50% irish to Oz are alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

tallaght01 wrote: »
    I arrived, and had an apartment pretty much straight away, but my job didn't start for about 6 weeks after I got here. I have to say that was pretty hellish, as it's not very easy to just get out there and meet people.

I don't want to come across as critising you as Australia has obviously worked out for you, but I would say to the OP that getting an apartment as soon as you arrive in Oz will probably make it more difficult to make friends.

The only advice I would give you is that at least for the first while is to stay in hostels. You will meet many people some traveling alone, some in groups, and some in couples. However each and every one of them is going to Australia to meet new people and make new friends. So I found everyone very open and friendly.

After that well then its the same as making friends in Ireland you have to see what is going on around the area, and be active. The more you are out and about doing things the more people you will meet.

Good luck. Oh and keep in touch with the people on this forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Abrean

Hi, I too am hoping to travel to australia on my own next April, I was a bit worried as a woman travelling on my own but its been great to hear that so many others have done it and are planning to do it. Hope to see some of you there!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I did it too.
    Traveled to NZ in Oct '06 alone. Don't regret it. If you're anyway chatty you'll meet loads of great weird and wonderful random people. Some will become friends others you'll ignore :D

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Ozeire

I know this might sound like a bit parental but if traveling on your own just be street wise. Don’t always trust every person you come across first thing off. Check them out. I know you’re old enough to look after your self but do take care.

Where possible try and travel with at least one other person. Too often you hear of a person going missing and think if only that had someone else with them or knew where they were going.

Always good to check in with someone .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

4bugny wrote: »
    Hi I'm flying into Brisbane in a few weeks so would be interested in a boards beers :D

There's a brisbane beers thread on here somewhere that we should ressurrect.
    We need to have another Beers :D

Eh Tallagh how did things go with the sisters?

That's a topic of conversation for the bris-beers :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭jimmypitt

tallaght01 wrote: »
    I've done it. I'm here on my own right now.

It's not easy.It's very difficult initially, as you know nobody.

But, having said that, I'm here not over 6 months and I love it. I'd recommend it. But bear in mind that you may want to go home after for a few weeks. You have to battle through that phase and just stick it out.

Feel free to PM if you need any more specific information.

If you're going to be near Brisbane, we can ressurect the Brisbane beers. There's boardsies in most other parts, too, who I'm sure would be happy to welcome you to their city.

Fair play to you for giving such an honest answer! I imagine that is how it would be(plenty of highs and lows and the start being particularly tough). It drives me crazy when people paint a picture of everything is wonderful and i am having the time of my life type picture. I am contemplating going travelling on my own but unfortunately i don't think i have the balls. Tis annoying because i really want to head off.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭Elaine08

Thanks a million for all the comments. I think I will go early next year to australia. I have it in my system and I don't think I'll ever settle until I go. It was nice to hear what everyone else had to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭jimmypitt

Thanks a million for all the comments. I think I will go early next year to australia. I have it in my system and I don't think I'll ever settle until I go. It was nice to hear what everyone else had to say.

Best of luck and i hope it goes well for ya :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Best of luck!

Feel free to drop back here with any questions who have.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Davexirl

I'm going to go in January on my own aswell. None of my mates want to go so I'm gonna go on my own. I'm a bit nervous about it but also very excited, the thoughts of being able to do what I want, meeting so many new people and just feeling free. So many people have told me how they went in a group over and they split up and ended up travelling on their own and had a much better time. Everyday now i'm thinking about going, it just wont leave my head. I have 5000 saved. I plan to go with 7-8 grand. My only dilemma is where do I fly into? I've narrowed it down to either Perth or Melbourne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Davexirl wrote: »
    I'm going to go in January on my own aswell. None of my mates want to go so I'm gonna go on my own. I'm a bit nervous about it but also very excited, the thoughts of being able to do what I want, meeting so many new people and just feeling free. So many people have told me how they went in a group over and they split up and ended up travelling on their own and had a much better time. Everyday now i'm thinking about going, it just wont leave my head. I have 5000 saved. I plan to go with 7-8 grand. My only dilemma is where do I fly into? I've narrowed it down to either Perth or Melbourne.

Melbourne ftw!

thanks watna. i'll be back asking more question about hostels etc when i have decided where to fly into to. in the meantime i'll be watching these boards to get everyones opinions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

as regards travelling on your own , ive done it , not in australia , went there with other people , i travelled on my own in south america , while i wasnt that long there , it wasnt for me to be honest , while you do make more of an effort to get to know the places and the culture , it does get lonely , while you meet and chat to people all the time , its usually only for a brief period and there is no real depth to the friendship , not to sound crude but they are baschically one night stand friendships , you have the craic etc but then you never see them again after that night , you then have to do the same thing again the next night
    i suppose though it could be different for someone on a working holiday who might be planning to stay in the likes of sydney for a few mths , you would me likely to meet the same people on a regular basis and the chances of making friends would be much higher , from personal experience its difficult though if you moving around all the time

Hi Irish Bob,

I undrstand what you are saying. It would be hard to do the same thing every night. I am in two minds about going but just reading these boards there seem to be more people that enjoyed it than the people who didn't. What's the worse that can happen. I go and don't like it soI come home rather than wondering what if?

• Registered Users Posts: 2 irishowen

hi people. just joined boards and want to meet some new people. i moved over here 2 months ago to work n am finding it hard enogh to make a group of friends- moved into a house straight of the plane n unfortunately not mad about the people i live with. came over here by myself so that doesnt help matters.

so beers 19th sept?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭KhanTheMan

I would go for it. When i did it it was really terrifying setting out on my own. I didnt even know where i was going. It wasnt long before i made lots of friends and got to like my nomadic lifestyle. What i'll say to you is go for it. Sure if the "Ban everything" green brigade get their way you wont get the chance in the future. Go for it now. You wont regret it, and if you do you can always just come home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

irishowen wrote: »
    hi people. just joined boards and want to meet some new people. i moved over here 2 months ago to work n am finding it hard enogh to make a group of friends- moved into a house straight of the plane n unfortunately not mad about the people i live with. came over here by myself so that doesnt help matters.

so beers 19th sept?

Firstly, welcome to boards.

Secondly, you haven't said what part of Australia you're living in.

Thirdly, please don't hijack this thread. There are a number of other threads about beers. Please post in one of those or start a new thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

The best thing about travelling alone is you can stay for as little or as long as you like in a place and do and see as much as you like, and what your pocket will allow. I also found that I met more people when I was on my own and I had some wild and crazy adventures that never would have happened if I stayed with my friends in Sydney :(.

The worst parts? As Irish Bob put it... one night stand friendships. I did find the odd time that I longed to be with a group of my friends having the craic but I consoled myself by saying ah feck it, I can do that when I'm at home, how often will I get to be here. The longing soon went once I was on the road again to a new place. Best 4 years of my life :cool: and I still keep in touch with some people I have met along the way.