Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Misheard Lyrics

• 02-09-2008 10:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,095 ✭✭✭

Over the years, I am sure we have all misheard words of songs.

Here are a few of my beauties:

Status Quo's only No. 1 "Down Down" from the mid-'70s. The chorus goes "Down Down Deeper and Down". For many years, I thought they were singing "Down Down LEADER OF DOWN". Sad, I know!

A recent misheard lyric was the title of a current tune by Primal Scream - "Can't Go Back". I must have heard it five times before I discovered that it was not "PAPER BAG"! Even now, I still think it sounds like that.

Not so surprising is "The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite" by R.E.M. You know that jumbled up chorus line which actually says "Call me when you try to wake her up. Call me when you try to wake her".
    I thought Michael was singing something like "CALL ME TA WAKE-A" or maybe "CALL ME TAM BAKER".

I think I might have thought Adam (with his Ants) said "RANDY Highwayman" rather than "Dandy Highwayman" in "Stand and Deliver"!

I know there are many others I misheard but I just can't recall at the moment.
    Please don't cheat by looking at dedicated websites! It's your own memories that are important here.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Not so surprising is "The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite" by R.E.M. You know that jumbled up chorus line which actually says "Call me when you try to wake her up. Call me when you try to wake her".
    I thought Michael was singing something like "CALL ME TA WAKE-A" or maybe "CALL ME TAM BAKER".

Damn...I kept hearing "Call me Jamaica".

In One Step Closer (Linkin Park) - I heard "all these dots they make no sense" rather than "all these thoughts, they make no sense"...Of course dots aren't going to make any sense.

Have others but can't think of them right now.

🤪

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

That Counting Crows cover of Big Yellow Taxi with yer wan Vanessa Carlton..

Lyrics are ''Paved paradise, and put up a parking lot''... But i swear to christ all i hear is.. ''Paved paradise, and put up a fucking lot''

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭anti-venom

Somebody once said that they misheard Bob Dylan singing,

"The ants are my friends, they're blowing in the wind, the ants are blowing in the wind..." :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

Years ago I think the Specials had a song called "Mirror in the bathroom". One of my friends thought the words were 'met her in the bathroom':D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7574541.stm

http://www.kissthisguy.com/
    Robert Palmer
    Addicted To Love
    Might as well face it, you're a d*ck with a glove.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭anti-venom

Years ago I think the Specials had a song called "Mirror in the bathroom". One of my friends thought the words were 'met her in the bathroom':D

Great song.....but it was by The English Beat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Sandi Thom - "I wish I was a prawn cracker with flowers in my hair"

Yup, first time I heard that song on the radio I actually thought she was saying "prawn cracker" (If she had, it would have made the song infinitely cooler imo :cool:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭ZakAttak

On the album 'Experience' by The Prodigy one of the early tracks on it has a sound sample of someone saying the line 'Make me wanna shake!', it really sounds like they're saying 'Make me wanna sh1t!'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭damonjewel

When I was young I always thought Bob Marley was saying German instead of Jammin

"I hope you like Germans too"

For a five year old I thought it was super weird

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

"Beelzebub has a devil for a sideboard" - Queen Bohemian Rapsody.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Lots of Pearl Jam songs:

Glorified G
    Black
    Even Flow
    And the mother of them all, Yellow Ledbetter!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

anti-venom wrote: »
    +1 Was listening to this tune this morning for the first time in about a year. Great song.

I know someone who misheard a Desmond Dekker lyric in Israelites. He sings:
    "Wake up in the morning, slaving for bread, sir."
    He heard:
    "Wake up in the morning, baked beans for breakfast."

:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

anti-venom wrote: »

Or just 'The Beat' for us non-Americans.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

The TaTu song, the one where they're in the rain in a prison/school, I thought it was 'running through my hair, running through my hair", rather than "running through my head".

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭The Swordsman

Daddio wrote: »
    +1 Was listening to this tune this morning for the first time in about a year. Great song.

I know someone who misheard a Desmond Dekker lyric in Israelites. He sings:
    "Wake up in the morning, slaving for bread, sir."
    He heard:
    "Wake up in the morning, baked beans for breakfast."

:D:D:D

Surely you mean the Desmond Dekker song 'My Ears are alight':confused:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxELSzay2lc

Actually, the funniest one I ever heard was recounted to me by a work colleague a few years back. This is policitally incorrect, so apologies if anyone is offended.

My colleague was in a night club when a slow set came on and 'The Wind Beneath my wings' was being played.

A (drunken) guy beside him started singing loudly along with the song and when it came to the lines:
    'I can fly higher than an eagle'
    the guy sang 'I can jump higher than a negro'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

I overheard my sister singing the Pet Shop Boys to herself one day:

"What have I, what have I, what have I done to the circus"

I wouldn't mind but even the title of the song is "What have I done to deserve this"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

'Paved paradise, and put up a fucking lot''
    "Paid paradise to put up some fcuking lights"?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

It took me a long time to figure out what he was sayin in Kooks - Naive when he sings "I know she knows I'm not fond of askin" I thought it was "I know she knows I'm from the rockston" What the hell is the rockston? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

As a child and for many years after I thought Bruce Springsteen was singing 'everybody's got a hungy horse'

mortified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 bad2theboneB

Kings Of Leon`s - King Of The Rodeo
    I was convinced he was saying "Two talking rolo`s" but apparently he`s saying "Good time to roll on", i was devastated when i found out the truth!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

Karen_* wrote: »
    As a child and for many years after I thought Bruce Springsteen was singing 'everybody's got a hungy horse'

But that is what he is singing. Isn't it?

My one:

"Four hundred children and a crop in the field"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

"Whats that coming over the hill? Is it a lobster? Is it a lobster?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 edelgkgeraghty

This is a funny thread!

I used to sing away to Bon Jovi's Living on a prayer and at a certain point where he sings:
    Weve got to hold on ready or not
    You live for the fight when its all that youve got.

I used to sing:
    Weve got to hold on ready or not
    You live for that fight with the whore that youve got

Awfull i know, but i though thats what he used to sing... imagine my embarrasment when someone actually pointed out to me what he was singin! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    "Whats that coming over the hill? Is it a lobster? Is it a lobster?"

God I hope not!!!!

Feck ya anyway for having me snorting with laughter in the office!!

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

Metallica - Sad But true

when he sings the sad but true part i thought he was saying sappa troll!!!

it wasnt until my sister pointed that out and i'd been singing it the other way for flippin years!

also the parking lot song i also thought she said put up a ****ing lot

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

hussey wrote: »
    Robert Palmer
    Addicted To Love
    Might as well face it, you're a d*ck with a glove.

This made my day. I mishear a load of lyrics but I can't remember any right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Steak

I used to think the lyrics to Metallicas 'Of Wolf And Man' were:

'sheep shit, nose to the wind, sheep shit feeling I've been'

instead of:

'shape shift, nose to the wind, shape shift, feeling I've been'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭darling.x

This is such a great thread.

My one isn't to do with misheard lyrics, although there has been many, i just can't think of any now. Its a music dvd by metallica. Everytime i see it I read 'stunning *****' instead of 'cunning stunts'.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

lmao, @ the Lobster coming over the hill and Beelzebub's sideboard.

Those songs must have sounded a million times less interesting once you figured out what they actually were...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,194 ✭✭✭jos28

Still don't know the correct lyrics to this but I always sang along to the Stranglers;
    Golden Brown, textured like sun,
    lay me down with my machine gun !