Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VW Polo - no power steering

• 03-09-2008 5:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭

Just bought 97 VW polo for €1000 but it doesnt have power steering,,,its in a lovely condition though with new tyres, gearbox,just passed NCT. Would it be worth trading in for one with power steering, trying to park is a fecker, or will I get used to not having the power there, would one of the same year with power steering cost much more...thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

why did you buy it if you feel you need power steering? I doubt you'll be able to "swap" for one with power steering. i'd say you'll get used to it, but it is a bit of a pain alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

You wont get a 97 one with power steering.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

why did you buy it if you feel you need power steering? I doubt you'll be able to "swap" for one with power steering. i'd say you'll get used to it, but it is a bit of a pain alright.
    I wasnt the acutal one buying, twas the OH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭biggus

Make sure the front tyres are pumped up to the correct presssure or maybe above whats recommended

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    You wont get a 97 one with power steering.

You will in the 1.4!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,456 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It is possible to retro-fit power settering by fitting a steering rack and pump from a model with power steering, but it'd be more economical to sell on the one you bought and seek out an Ibiza or Polo with power steering. AFAIK it was optional on the 1.0

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I had one for a time, the only thing that made it bad was everyone saying "oh, no power steering it'll be very hard to drive" and that kinda craic.
    Give it a week and you'll be used to it, won't know the difference. Put a bit of muscles in the arms anyway lol:P

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭BoardsRanger

biggus wrote: »
    Make sure the front tyres are pumped up to the correct presssure or maybe above whats recommended
    i had a 98 seat ibiza, polo's sister car, and the steering was very heavy whilst turning or parking at slow speeds. it did help however inflateing the tyres to a slighlty higher pressure than recommended.

be very careful with tyre pressures, too much and the car will feel hard on bumps and will lose grip easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

colm_mcm wrote: »
    be very careful with tyre pressures, too much and the car will feel hard on bumps and will lose grip easily.

++++++++++++++++ 1

especially if it doesn't have ABS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭VH

be very careful with tyre pressures, too much and the car will lose grip easily.
    have a read of this - they claim that tyres should be inflated to max - and theyre the police!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Ay, and over/under inflating will also wear out your tires unevenly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I was driving a 97 Escort with a knackered power steering pump for a few weeks.... Now that was heavy steering. My biceps were bulging but I got used to it after a few days, and the ladies do like the big arms :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Get it fixed! Shouldn't cost too much, get it diagnosed first!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,332 ✭✭✭blackbox

Darragh29 wrote: »

Get what fixed?

Get what diagnosed?

Did you post your reply to the wrong thread?:o

Imagine the scenario

Redpunto: Have a few issues with the other half's car, there's no power steering, it's down on power, and the central locking doesn't work

Mechanic: It's a Polo 1.0 base. it's not supposed to have any equipment that's generally accepted to be essential

Redpunto: Oh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

I drive a couple of cars without power steering, and it's much easier to turn the wheel if the car's moving. If you are reversing out of a space, for example, have the car moving slowly as you turn the wheel. It'll be much easier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

blackbox wrote: »
    Get what fixed?

Get what diagnosed?

Did you post your reply to the wrong thread?:o

It's only a power steering prob. Get it diagnosed first! I got my mate with the same problem sorted out last week for 20 Euro. Granted, I didn't charge him labour, just a burst pipe from the power steering pump to the steering rack imput port, but easily resolved. Get it professionally diagnosed first, that shouldn't cost too much...

... I think something is being missed here if i'm correct. The car doesn't actually have power steering in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Hehe, ssSShhh! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

OP ...get a bigger steering wheel :D

Hal1 wrote: »
    Hehe, ssSShhh! ;)

LOL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭VH

peasant wrote: »
    OP ...get a bigger steering wheel :D
    or take off the steering wheel and just use a vise grips - like a real man would:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Hal1 wrote: »
    Hehe, ssSShhh! ;)

LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 68,922 ✭✭✭✭L1011

ianobrien wrote: »
    I drive a couple of cars without power steering, and it's much easier to turn the wheel if the car's moving. If you are reversing out of a space, for example, have the car moving slowly as you turn the wheel. It'll be much easier!

You're also not mashing the tyres as much - this is why its easier to turn the wheel but its also better for the tyres in the long term.

As goes going to get it fixed - :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

I'll diagnose the problem for €50!
    "Here's your problem right here... you see that what I'm pointing to?"
    "No..."
    "That's cause there's nothing there! That's where the powersteering pump would reside if the car had power steering!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

Redpunto wrote: »
    Just bought 97 VW polo for €1000 but it doesnt have power steering,,,its in a lovely condition though with new tyres, gearbox,just passed NCT. Would it be worth trading in for one with power steering, trying to park is a fecker, or will I get used to not having the power there, would one of the same year with power steering cost much more...thanks

lift the handbrake and get 'er in ??

if not , its a good workout, better then a gym anyways !

Biro wrote: »
    I'll diagnose the problem for €50!
    "Here's your problem right here... you see that what I'm pointing to?"
    "No..."
    "That's cause there's nothing there! That's where the powersteering pump would reside if the car had power steering!"

PMSL!:D

I think we should stop until Darragh comes back to defend himself

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭Mr.David

VH wrote: »
    have a read of this - they claim that tyres should be inflated to max - and theyre the police!

That guy in the article is talking out of his A hole! Over inflating tyres most certainly DOES reduce contact patch and distort the shape (despite the belt in the tyre). It also wears tyres more quickly, harshens the ride and makes you more susceptible to a puncture. Critically though, TRACTION is reduced and on the limit handling can become unpredictable due to the lack of sidewall compliance.

I have data from the 'Ring for analysing tyre pressure vs. lateral distortion, contact patch area etc and hence can state that this is 100% true. Some redneck idiot copper driving hick SUVs on two wheels is not to be trusted!!

It is advisable to keep your tyres to the recommended (or over by 10%) pressures. Better to (slightly) over inflate than under inflate. But not to the max level quoted on the sidewall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

For Christ sake, it's not a truck you're driving. :rolleyes: