Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

storm cinema!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭WonderWoman!

18.50 today not bad in my books

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

2Bv¬2B wrote: »
    It is enforced, i'm sorry to hear if that wasn't the case on the night. 99.9 times / 10 it is, and a manager is always around should there be a problem.

Might be worth reminding staff. I don't think many, but I could be wrong, would cause a drama by going out and complaining so that they would be moved :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭2Bv¬2B

dayshah wrote: »
    So why not cut the price of off-peak tickets, and get more people in the door, some of whom will buy popcorn and drinks? €7.60 for off-peak is fairly ridiculous in my opinion.

I do think it was very bad form that the VAT reduction wasn't passed on. That just gives a signal that Storm is a rip-off, regardless of what costs they face.

If i was personally responsible for setting the prices I would gladly answer that. Unfortunately that's not the case.

Sully wrote: »
    Might be worth reminding staff. I don't think many, but I could be wrong, would cause a drama by going out and complaining so that they would be moved :)

The norm is, once a worker see's you have a premier seat, you are escorted to that seat there and then.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

The norm is, once a worker see's you have a premier seat, you are escorted to that seat there and then.

Very rarely happens IMO. I get premier a fair bit and was escorted when first introduced but rarely now. Despite knowing everyone was in the wrong seats, we were asked to move and not into our originally booked seats!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭WonderWoman!

forgive my french but wtf is a premier seat?

Very rarely happens IMO. I get premier a fair bit and was escorted when first introduced but rarely now. Despite knowing everyone was in the wrong seats, we were asked to move and not into our originally booked seats!

Again sorry if it has discouraged you from using the service.

forgive my french but wtf is a premier seat?

Very back row you can book your seats. More leg room. Seats are kinda the same, but ya cant push them back like you can on every other seat.

Well as someone who works there 30+ hours a week it is the case, and again sorry if it has discouraged you from using the service.

No need to get snotty, I am just saying!!

I guess I go on nights where it isn't the norm. :)

The service has proven to be very popular with Bridesmaids, Harry Potter and The Guard. I'm not mad about where they are located but I do find them more comfortable.

I think there in a great location and handy for the legroom. Not sure if there more comfortable or not. Nice to know, in theory anyway, you have seats guaranteed.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

And why change the sizes of the popcorn down and not the prices? And don't give me the "wrong size the whole time" argument either, it was "wrong" for many years if thats the case, and a company would cop that alot quicker!

Still no answer on this?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

nkay1985 wrote: »
    Still no answer on this?

What kind of answer can be given? prices go up from suppliers or less people are buying the product = simple economics, price goes up per unit.
    I don't know who is replying for you here but they're just doing a general courtesy, Sully I think you overstepped by accusing them of being snotty when I think they are being overly fair answering as much concerns as possible, and when 1 answer isn't to your liking it is considered snotty.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

mayordenis wrote: »
    What kind of answer can be given? prices go up from suppliers or less people are buying the product = simple economics, price goes up per unit.

The sequence of events is: product was a certain size and a certain price. Product's price increased. Soon after, product's size decreased.

We're in a recession so I can't imagine the price from their suppliers went up. Less people will almost certainly be buying the product so that's fair enough. Without either of the two changes, they were making a massive margin. With less people buying it, maybe they're justified to increase their price. Maybe. To then go and decrease the size shortly after is just taking the p*ss.

Either way, the answer they can give is the truth. Whatever did happen, just say what the reasoning behind it was. If it's not something you're not uncomfortable with your paying customers knowing, why would you hide it?

The person is happy enough to post and defend the cinema. The other side of that is that you have to engage with them when there's something negative to be said too.

I really like Storm and use it a lot but I don't like being taken advantage of. I can't think of any other luxury business or service I use whose price has gone up in the past two years or so. I use the term luxury to differentiate from the likes of light and heat. Why should Storm be allowed to charge more twice (effectively) and not be questioned on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

mayordenis wrote: »

You might want to brush up on your simple economics. If less people are willing to buy the product they should drop the price to encourage more people to buy popcorn.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

As much as I appreciate someone coming on here defending storm I don't think this popcorn situation should be brushed off. Last time I checked storm has been doing very well attendance wise. The lads who are part of the cinema club here will will tell you that sometimes we can't all get a seat together as the screening is so busy.

I know Storm see very little of that revenue so even ignoring that we can make the fairly obvious statement that the higher the attendance the more popcorn is sold. Now, we have already said on thread that popcorn is very cheap to buy (my guess is for every €1000 sold it costs the cinema about €70/80 to make) and is a very popular product.

I can even undertand raising the price of the popcorn or making the serving smaller but doing both is taking the piss a little bit given the kind of money that is made on it in the first place.

I like storm, I don't eat popcorn so the issue doesn't really effect me. Yes, the price to see a film is too high and while at one time i used to go to the cinema once a week now I hold off and only go see films that I really want to see. But, that isn't storms fault. It's the industry is at fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭libra02

ziedth wrote: »
    As much as I appreciate someone coming on here defending storm I don't think this popcorn situation should be brushed off. Last time I checked storm has been doing very well attendance wise. The lads who are part of the cinema club here will will tell you that sometimes we can't all get a seat together as the screening is so busy.

I know Storm see very little of that revenue so even ignoring that we can make the fairly obvious statement that the higher the attendance the more popcorn is sold. Now, we have already said on thread that popcorn is very cheap to buy (my guess is for every €1000 sold it costs the cinema about €70/80 to make) and is a very popular product.

I can even undertand raising the price of the popcorn or making the serving smaller but doing both is taking the piss a little bit given the kind of money that is made on it in the first place.

I like storm, I don't eat popcorn so the issue doesn't really effect me. Yes, the price to see a film is too high and while at one time i used to go to the cinema once a week now I hold off and only go see films that I really want to see. But, that isn't storms fault. It's the industry is at fault.

I agree the whole industry is at fault. Ticket prices have been increasing for the past few years everyplace and with the introduction of 3D even more so.

I will say again about people complaining about prices of popcorn, drinks etc if you are that annoyed about the price simply do not buy them. Storm is not forcing you too. Also no one is forcing you to go see films in 3D again it is a choice. There are also showings in 2D so go see them.
    Look at the last Harry Potter movie the 2D shoings were sold out while the 3D showings were not as popular.

In reply to the person giving out about premium seating. I go to the cinema regularly and I say 9/10 times anyone who has a premium ticket is shown to their seats. There might be the odd ocasion where there might not be a person there but 99% times I have seen people being shown to their seats or people being moved if they in wrong seats, have bought standard tickets. I go at different times of day afternoon, evening, night and the practice is same. Nobody I know has ever encountered a problem either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

This "nobody is forcing you to" line is absolute rubbish. Storm are taking the piss because there's no competition around, simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

ziedth wrote: »
    Last time I checked storm has been doing very well attendance wise.

I suppose that's at peak times, but I wonder about off peak? With people on holidays/unemployed, and with the crap weather I think they could clean up on afternoon screenings if they cut the price below €6. The busy people will still want to go in the evening.

Because food prices are so ridiculous I'd never buy my stuff there, even though its more convenient than getting it elsewhere. If the prices weren't a total rip-off I probably would be willing to buy them.

Its true that I don't have to buy the stuff, so I don't, and Storm is losing out on my bootlegging peanut M&M's into the cinema. But that argument really makes me more pissed off with Storm, as I have no choice over my pension being raided to subsidise the cinema, given they didn't pass on the VAT reduction.

This "nobody is forcing you to" line is absolute rubbish. Storm are taking the piss because there's no competition around, simple as that.

Not totally rubbish. Right in an ideal perfect world prices would be "fair and reasonable" ( I put that in inverted comma as one person definition of fair is different from another). However if people are willing to buy food at that price they will continue to charge that price. If people stopped buying them well they might drop prices.

However as it has been pointed out so many times. Storm is paying huge rent on the bulidinng, never mind say the huge cost of insurance, wages of staff, never mind say the cost of buying in films.

So as little € is made on films they have to make up the difference some way. And believe me if Storm all of a sudden stopped buying in certain movies and left the cinema go into disrepair like the old one the board here would be flooded with people complaing, giving out stink and all of a sudden declaring they would be willing to pay a bit of a higher price for a great cinema.

Cannot win in this town with people.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

It's a valid answer.

No one is forcing you to go to Storm, and even if you go nobody is forcing you to buy the food.

I think things are after getting a bit heated here now. I'm sure 2B can only defend so much. At the end of the day he's not the one setting the prices is he?

Theres no point posting and saying "Still no answer on this?" about VAT and popcorn because there's not going to be one (as much as I would want one myself too), as there isn't one to give.

The prices are going up in every cinema, it's just that living in Waterford City we only have Storm to focus on and go to. If everyone stopped buying the popcorn, they'd see people are pissed off enough to not buy it. But if you stop buying the food in there altogether, then the people working behind the counter start losing their hours and wages.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, complain all you want about it but the second you start berating one of the employees about wanting answers for the price of X Y Z, you start looking like an eejit. They don't set the prices, most of the time they even agree with you about the prices. If you wanna complain send an email through the website or customer care or something. Giving out to someone who just works there day to day will get you nowhere.

If it's a valid answer for a cinema then it becomes a valid answer for everyone.

Don't like paying the 55 quid for the caredoc? Nobody is forcing you to go.

Don't like paying over the odds for tablets and medicines? Nobody is forcing you to buy them.

It reminds me of people who say things like...stop giving out about that trivial thing...don't you know there are people out there with cancer!??

If a competitor arrived in Waterford you can be sure Storm would buck up their ideas. As it is now, if we want to go to the cinema we are forced to go to storm. If we want to enjoy confections while we're there, we are forced to eat their food because thye don't allow us to bring in our own.

If it's a valid answer for a cinema then it becomes a valid answer for everyone.

Don't like paying over the odds for tablets and medicines? Nobody is forcing you to buy them.

It reminds me of people who say things like...stop giving out about that trivial thing...don't you know there are people out there with cancer!??

If a competitor arrived in Waterford you can be sure Storm would buck up their ideas. As it is now, if we want to go to the cinema we are forced to go to storm. If we want to enjoy confections while we're there, we are forced to eat their food because thye don't allow us to bring in our own.

Way to get hysterical.

First of all you cannot compare cinema and popcorn to doctor / medicine.

I may give out about the cost of a GP visit but I pay it as it is necessary to my well being.

You are gettin way too overheated and it is not necessary or right to bring cancer into a simple discusion on Storm cinema.

You seem to have a big issue with Storm. If you hate them that much why not travel to Dungarven to the cinema.
    Also the simple FACT is Waterford cannnot support a second cinema and eventually one would go out of business and the remaining cinema would have the full market again.

As I said if you hate Storm that strongly stick by your views and boycott it. Do not go.

Oh for christ sake that has to be the biggest overreaction I've ever seen.

ITS FINGER FOOD IN A CINEMA!!!!

You give out about pay for a caredoc or medicine because they are a NECESSITY.

YOU DONT NEED POPCORN TO LIVE.

A proper comparison is being in a bar and complaining about the price of a jack and coke. You don't have to buy it.

I want to go to a club. So I pay in. But I want to bring my own drink with me. Can I? No. Theres drink there on offer but its more expensive than if I just paid for it in Tesco. Do I buy it anyway? Sometimes. Am I forced to? NO!

lol...I aint getting hysterical.

But I have to laugh...if the best defence you have for storm is "If you don't like it, don't go" then you know that you have problems.

I'm sorry but if your argument is that paying for cinema food and paying for medicine/caredoc are the exact same thing then you don't have an argument.

Next you'll be telling me complaining about the cost of a bottle of Bulmers and the cost of a bottle of Calpol are the same thing.

lol...I aint getting hysterical.

But I have to laugh...if the best defence you have for storm is "If you don't like it, don't go" then you know that you have problems.

Well you are certainly coming across as hysterical.

People here have been telling you FACTS about Storm and the way it operates and simple economics. However it comes down to simple FACT if you do not like a thing well live without it.

I have an issue with Ryanair so I do not use them. My choice and I live with it but I certainly do not get hystercial over it operations and anyone esle who uses it.

Going to the cinema is technically a luxury / treat so you do not need it to live. Movies come out on DVD quickly these days. So I prefer to spend my time more focused on the prices of essentials like Gas / ESB / doctors rbeing expensive than popcorn in the cinema. Priorities you know.

You obviously misunderstood what I was saying.

This argument "Nobody is forcing you you buy it"...can applied to absolutely everything, but what's the point in saying it? The only time i hear it being said is when they know that they're ripping off people and have no other defence.

My main problem with storm last week, and other weeks, is that you're paying over the odds to watch a film in a freezing cold cinema. The reducing the size of the popcorn but keeping the price is scandalous...but you're still trying to defend it somehow.

Anything that he has an answer for or can give an explanation for he's already given. Anything he doesn't have an answer for could only be answered by someone in a head office or in a formal complaint.

After that point if you're still not happy then the only other reponse is pretty much "If you don't like it don't go."

Oh for christ sake that has to be the biggest overreaction I've ever seen.

ITS FINGER FOOD IN A CINEMA!!!!

You give out about pay for a caredoc or medicine because they are a NECESSITY.

YOU DONT NEED POPCORN TO LIVE.

A proper comparison is being in a bar and complaining about the price of a jack and coke. You don't have to buy it.

I want to go to a club. So I pay in. But I want to bring my own drink with me. Can I? No. Theres drink there on offer but its more expensive than if I just paid for it in Tesco. Do I buy it anyway? Sometimes. Am I forced to? NO!

Well said.

You are ripped off more in a club / pub in this country then you are in any cinema.

People seem to want top notch luxury facilities but pay nothing for them.
    Storm is a company who, unlike State companies who are run at a loss, are there to make a profit.

I am sure the poster who love to work for free in Storm so the cinema goers can have low price popcorn.