Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

storm cinema!

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭libra02

You obviously misunderstood what I was saying.

This argument "Nobody is forcing you you buy it"...can applied to absolutely everything, but what's the point in saying it? The only time i hear it being said is when they know that they're ripping off people and have no other defence.

My main problem with storm last week, and other weeks, is that you're paying over the odds to watch a film in a freezing cold cinema. The reducing the size of the popcorn but keeping the price is scandalous...but you're still trying to defend it somehow.

Cinema is never freezing cold when I am there. I do know Cinema 5 air con was broken a while back as when we went to Harry Potter opening night the staff apologised for it being off and that it would be warm in there but they did have the fire exit door open to leave in air.

So it was one time. If you feel cold the rest of the time it may just be you so bring an extra top.

I will also say in a cinema you are never going to get a temp to suit everyone which is why I wear a hoodie or sweater so if I am warm I can take it off.

Again cinema tickets in Storm are one of the cheapest in the country and I feel €9.80 is fine so a top notch film. I lived in UK and US & belive me the prices there are way more than Irealnd and so are the popcorn.

As everyone is saying this is how the cinema's get the € to pay the bills. FACT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

libra02 wrote: »
    You seem to have a big issue with Storm. If you hate them that much why not travel to Dungarven to the cinema.
    Also the simple FACT is Waterford cannnot support a second cinema and eventually one would go out of business and the remaining cinema would have the full market again.

If Dungarvan (which isn't any bigger than Tramore) can support a cinema, I don't see why Waterford can't have two. I think someone could open up a niche cinema (a bit like Garter lane) and then maybe move into more mainstream.

How many screens has Dungarvan?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Aren't they still trying to open that cinema out by the six cross roads, past Ballybeg?

Thought it sounded like a silly location to begin with, but havent heard anything about it lately.

Aren't they still trying to open that cinema out by the six cross roads, past Ballybeg?

Thought it sounded like a silly location to begin with, but havent heard anything about it lately.

I agree. Seriously, I think the old cinema is the best location. It need only have 5 screens, it doesn't need all the screens Storm has. And Storm are stuck with their massive rent, a new place wouldn't. I only watch one film at a time, so I don't see the advantage of 11 screens.

I think its a bit like when the Tweedy group went. Everyone was complaining for ages about the Tweedy group being a rip-off, and eventually things just gave way.

We don't have to buy our popcorn in storm, and I don't. But if that's what's making Storm viable it will close in time (as less and less people buy popcorn) and will be replaced with a new cinema who's owners don't have to pay a ridiculous rent/mortgage.

dayshah wrote: »
    If Dungarvan (which isn't any bigger than Tramore) can support a cinema, I don't see why Waterford can't have two. I think someone could open up a niche cinema (a bit like Garter lane) and then maybe move into more mainstream.

Dungarvan does not just service the town itself but also Lismore and West Waterford so it is sustained. Not sure how many it has I think 4 maybe. Easier for people to go to Dungarven then to come into Waterford

Again research has been done into this and they all have conlcuded Waterford City does not need a 2nd cinema and both would not be able to operate. Garter Lane does show more indie films which mainstream cinema cannnot cater for and that is grand but another large cinema just is not sustainable.

Anyway at end of day prices probably would be a huge difference as cost for them are going up as they are for average person so they can only reduce prices by so much.

I really dispair of people here, we had an awful cinema which was complained about etc and then when we do get a top class cinema they are still complaining. It is no wonder shop are relucant to come to the city.

I agree. Seriously, I think the old cinema is the best location. It need only have 5 screens, it doesn't need all the screens Storm has. And Storm are stuck with their massive rent, a new place wouldn't. I only watch one film at a time, so I don't see the advantage of 11 screens.

I think its a bit like when the Tweedy group went. Everyone was complaining for ages about the Tweedy group being a rip-off, and eventually things just gave way.

We don't have to buy our popcorn in storm, and I don't. But if that's what's making Storm viable it will close in time (as less and less people buy popcorn) and will be replaced with a new cinema who's owners don't have to pay a ridiculous rent/mortgage.

Problem is old cinema is a awful location - parking wise anyway. Secondly nowdays you need more than 5 screens with movies being released in 3D and 2D. So what will happen is less films will be shown as they won't have capicity or else you might only get a 3D version of film being shown.

With the amount of films being released Storm's 8 screens are perfect and all films generally get a good long showing.

Another problem is if Storm did go the developers /land owners would be holding the trump card. Knowing the city needs a cinema they would be able to screw the cinema out of alot of rent etc. Believe me people would be baying for blood if whatever cinema operator would not open a much needed cinema here and crying to the local paper / radio saying they are willing to pay a bit extra for a great cinema.

Just be blooming happy we have a clean, modern cinema with nice staff and that shows all the movies we want to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭2Bv¬2B

IMO if that ever gets open, it will take a very long time

Dungarven has 4 digital screens, it's a nice small cinema, been there a few times before Storm got 3D.

Again cinema tickets in Storm are one of the cheapest in the country and I feel €9.80 is fine so a top notch film. I lived in UK and US & belive me the prices there are way more than Irealnd and so are the popcorn.

I did a check last night, different chains are cheaper than others on certain tickets. For example, we do student tickets at the weekend, hardly any cinema do that therefore in other cinemas students are subject to adult price. I believe we have the cheapest family ticket (open to be corrected i'm not 100% on it)

I agree. Seriously, I think the old cinema is the best location. It need only have 5 screens, it doesn't need all the screens Storm has.

Not a chance ! on average there are about 3-5 new films released every week, we usually get between 2-3 depending on the films. Between 2D and 3D films we could be showing 20 different films in the one day.

Old cinema for parking?..... I have to disagree, at the night time you have Tesco car park and Millers marsh, next to Storm, way more space compared to the old cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Lol and they call me hysterical.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

You are ripped off more in a club / pub in this country then you are in any cinema.

But this is the exact analogy I was drawing. Going to the pub on a night out is a luxury. With us being in a recession and people having far less money to spend, basically every pub in town has reduced prices. They understand that people want more for their money at the moment because they don't have much of it to go around. I think that was a fair response by the industry.

Counter that with Storm who have twice reduced the value people are getting for their money. I say again that it's the only luxury service that I can think of that has done this. Correct me if I'm wrong.

They have a monopoly so they can do that. Pubs have loads of competition so their hand ws forced. Pele are talking about simple economics. This is simple economics, unfortunately. Corner the market, increase the price.

Problem is old cinema is a awful location - parking wise anyway. Secondly nowdays you need more than 5 screens with movies being released in 3D and 2D. So what will happen is less films will be shown as they won't have capicity or else you might only get a 3D version of film being shown.

With the amount of films being released Storm's 8 screens are perfect and all films generally get a good long showing.

Well I'm going to buy up the old cinema. Its just going to have two screens, and it will only show action movies. There will be one screen on each floor. There will be no seating, and people will be encouraged to bring paintguns/airsoft. So you can feel like you are taking part in the film. You can bring your own popcorn too.

Entry will be €6, and I'll make my money selling the paintball pellets.

I'll make loads of money, and it will kick Storm's ass :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭blaa85

They should start sellin beer in Storm. I'd feel a lot better payin €5 for a beer then a coke. Great in Galway cinema. I was up for a piss or a bottle every now and then though. Should have just went in the empties.

Wouldn't it be great to have a pub show a film on once a month or something. Imagine they showed the Evil Dead trilogy in Grimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,171 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Currently based in the UK. My local cinemas charge in and around £5 depending on what time of the day you go, offer meal deals (ticket and a main course in the adjoining restaurants) for £10 and on Tuesdays every film is £3.

While there are currency and cost of living differences at play here, Ireland still needs to come down in price significantly. Wages, energy, insurance, rates all make doing business very expensive.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Lol and they call me hysterical.

whats that in reply to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

mayordenis wrote: »
    whats that in reply to?

Someone quoted mitch and there was shouting all over the shop..

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭Kitty_Ears

Have to say I've always liked storm, pricey if you're out of work or a student but thats the price you pay for quality I guess.
    The place is always clean and they have a good range of films.
    Always found the staff in there to be really friendly too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭WonderWoman!

Lads are we turning into the Eddie Hobbs society ?:p

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭Kitty_Ears

We're all just a bunch of whinge bags :L

Its not whinging to think that cinema prices (for whatever reason) have gone too high. Its complaining. There's a difference.

This talk about whinging, and we don't have to buy the stuff is part of the reason we are in the current mess.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭smaoifs

The price of Storm is why we went to Dungarvan SGC last night to see Planet of the Apes. €7.70 each compared to €9.80 each in Storm. Seats are so much more comfortable then Storm's, like sitting back in an armchair and the SGC's website is advertising that they have passed on the VAT reduction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭WonderWoman!

Wish I lived in DunG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭fitzeyboy.

Dungarvan does not just service the town itself but also Lismore and West Waterford so it is sustained. Not sure how many it has I think 4 maybe. Easier for people to go to Dungarven then to come into Waterford

Again research has been done into this and they all have conlcuded Waterford City does not need a 2nd cinema and both would not be able to operate. Garter Lane does show more indie films which mainstream cinema cannnot cater for and that is grand but another large cinema just is not sustainable.

Anyway at end of day prices probably would be a huge difference as cost for them are going up as they are for average person so they can only reduce prices by so much.

I really dispair of people here, we had an awful cinema which was complained about etc and then when we do get a top class cinema they are still complaining. It is no wonder shop are relucant to come to the city.

Waterford also Covers East Waterford, Tramore, Plenty of south Tipp, South Kilkenny, New Ross and a large chunk of South Wexford. Hmm I don't have any figures but I would guess that is a far larger population than west Waterford?

fitzeyboy. wrote: »
    Waterford also Covers East Waterford, Tramore, Plenty of south Tipp, South Kilkenny, New Ross and a large chunk of South Wexford. Hmm I don't have any figures but I would guess that is a far larger population than west Waterford?

New Ross has it own cinema, you get people from Ballyhale, Mooncoin etc that would problem come into Waterford for the cinema but after that Kilkenny is closer, Tippearary again has cinema's so there are not in Storm catchment area.

Waterford just does not have the numbers for a second cinema and no matter what way you look at it eventually the city would end up with one and prices would not be much different as they are today.

Again with people in this city we complain when we do not have a top class cinema and as soon as we get one the moaning starts. I find Strom better value than alot of cinema's and a better night's entertainment than forking out money to be ripped off in clubs / pubs in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭jayboi

Again with people in this city we complain when we do not have a top class cinema and as soon as we get one the moaning starts. I find Strom better value than alot of cinema's and a better night's entertainment than forking out money to be ripped off in clubs / pubs in town.

What the fcuk are people taking about this moaning crap!!
    Its not moaning to be angry when someone delibratly decreases the sizes of their product offering and at the same time increses their prices??
    We're hardly going to be happy about it are we? Jesus come on.

jayboi wrote: »
    What the fcuk are people taking about this moaning crap!!
    Its not moaning to be angry when someone delibratly decreases the sizes of their product offering and at the same time increses their prices??
    We're hardly going to be happy about it are we? Jesus come on.

Prices have not gone up as far as I was aware though I know there is an ongoing argument about the sizes of food and drink.

Personally I always was really surprised at the size of a small drink / popcorn there as it always seemed very generous to me compared to other cinema's I have been too. Alot of people said that. Right so Storm decided to bring their stuff in line with other cinemas. Is it right, not really I suppose as people were so used to getting the larger size. There may be some truth to them saying the wrong size was used all along.
    Now if head office had any sense they would keep size and maybe add 20c-30c on to price, if they needed to and that way overall everyone would be alot happier. Business's rarely think that way though.
    However as the point has been made over and over again if you want a cinema to stay open they have to make € and it is from food they made this €. This is what keeps Storm in business, people employed and us getting the films we want to see.

Though there is a bashing of Storm on outside of the food and drink and that is why people are giving out about posters moaning. People moaning about how cinema temp is not to their prefered liking etc, giving out about having to walk to their own premium seats on the very rare ocassion someone is not there to escort them etc.

That is moaning for the sake of it and nit-piking.:mad:

However as the point has been made over and over again if you want a cinema to stay open they have to make € and it is from food they made this €. This is what keeps Storm in business, people employed and us getting the films we want to see.

Well, other cinemas can charge a lower price and survive. What makes Storm so special that they have to charge higher prices?

You seriously have to ask that question !!!

Here are just a few

Higher Rent
    Storm smaller chain of cinema, simple economics the larger the number of cinema in a chain means they can have lower ticket prices etc
    Storm may have more staff employed
    Rates vary from city to city so maybe other chains could secure better rates etc.

These are just a few. Nobody said Storm was special so no need to be smart but in reality the costs for running a cinema are astronomical so prices can only drop so far.

If you owned any cinema and were in the business of making a PROFIT I am sure you would not be charging peanuts to get in and purchase treats.
    Easy to say you would when you are not sitting in the CEO chair answering to shareholders etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭Santan

well one thing I do know of is Waterford city council has increased its rate charges by over 10% annually for the past 5 years with little or no room for movement for the companies to try to work out a payment schedule, I have been told from other people with business in Kilkenny and Wexford that they have either had a reduction in rate charges or have had it frozen, im sure it’s a case by case basis in these counties but it is progress in the right direction, whereas my dealing with the Waterford city was after meeting and trying to work out if I could just have an extra 2 months to clear my bill, was a summons in the post the next week, and I do know of other people who have had the same response. So this is at least one reason that Storm may be more expensive than other cinemas around

Santan wrote: »
    well one thing I do know of is Waterford city council has increased its rate charges by over 10% annually for the past 5 years with little or no room for movement for the companies to try to work out a payment schedule, I have been told from other people with business in Kilkenny and Wexford that they have either had a reduction in rate charges or have had it frozen, im sure it’s a case by case basis in these counties but it is progress in the right direction, whereas my dealing with the Waterford city was after meeting and trying to work out if I could just have an extra 2 months to clear my bill, was a summons in the post the next week, and I do know of other people who have had the same response. So this is at least one reason that Storm may be more expensive than other cinemas around

I heard this too about the rates in the city going up and also if I remember right and my info may be wrong but the rent Storm is paying is huge and I think as they were anchor tenant they are probbaly paying the highest rent down there and knowing this city it has been increased since the first opened.

Insurance costs also are increasing for commercial premises never mind say public libablity insurance and Storm now have added cost of having to have security guards down there wheras before there was never one.

You seriously have to ask that question !!!

Here are just a few

Higher Rent
    Storm smaller chain of cinema, simple economics the larger the number of cinema in a chain means they can have lower ticket prices etc
    Storm may have more staff employed
    Rates vary from city to city so maybe other chains could secure better rates etc.

These are just a few. Nobody said Storm was special so no need to be smart but in reality the costs for running a cinema are astronomical so prices can only drop so far.

If you owned any cinema and were in the business of making a PROFIT I am sure you would not be charging peanuts to get in and purchase treats.
    Easy to say you would when you are not sitting in the CEO chair answering to shareholders etc.

Tough titties. I hope a new cinema come along that will have lower costs, that will put Storm out of business. It will end up as a monopoly, but by your logic the lower costs will mean lower prices.

Other places have cheaper cinemas, I don't see why Waterford should have the privilege of paying over the odds.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

And then when a new cinema comes in and beats Storm, they'll have a monopoly and their prices will go up and the cycle will repeat.