Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

17 and in UCD

• 04-09-2008 3:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭

Self explanatory.Is it possible to get into events (eg Fresher's Ball) with just my student card?Seems like a lot of the society stuff is alcohol orientated.First years gonna be fun.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

I was 17 for most of first year too. Have to say, after about 11 o clock, your on your own. I could never get a decent fake id and had to basically just head home when everyone was going clubbing, or else head to a house party.

It's worth giving the night clubs a lash though, even if you dont get in. As Dr Pepper said, "Whats the worst that can happen?":D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Theres a lot of new posters on the board lately (for obviosu reasons), just a heads up that talking about where to get fake IDs is against the rules 'round here.

OP, I turned 18 a month after my first year exams, I had all my first year as a minor.

You will be allowed into the student bar but must surrender your student card. You get it back on the way out and the door man sees if your sober.
    I managed to get myself bared from the student bar for a year, that wasnt a lot of fun so dont do it :)

Many society events will be in night clubs in town. I think the law is that you are not allowed on a licensed premises after 9.30 or something like that.

There will be no problem drinking at any of the society events on campus like wine receptions.

Dublin is fairly strict on ID compared to the country. I used a fake ID (Id had one long before coming to UCD).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

You can't get into these events if you're only 17. You can't even get into the bar after about 9 without id.

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Tea-a-Maria

Oops,sorry,didn't realise about the ID thing.9:30!?Are serious!?That's terrible!What annoys me is that a lot of first years are still 17,yet they still insist on freshers events being over 18's only?That doesn't make any sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭flynnc8

I was the same most of first year I was only 17, was grand on campus ie. The Pav and society wine receptions...

Hitting town was awful. ID?? ID?? ID?? its always worth a try though... Some nights the bouncers will let ya in just on your student ID and other nights there is no hope...

All the bouncers in Town ie. Redz, Q-bar, XXI's and Boomers where pretty clued up on Trinity Student ID's... There's a strip that goes across the card under your pic, if it ends at the pic your under 18 and if it goes the whole way across your card your over 18...

Not sure about UCD but check it out they might have something similar...

flynnc8 wrote: »
    I was the same most of first year I was only 17, was grand on campus ie. The Pav and society wine receptions...

Hitting town was awful. ID?? ID?? ID?? its always worth a try though... Some nights the bouncers will let ya in just on your student ID and other nights there is no hope...

All the bouncers in Town ie. Redz, Q-bar, XXI's and Boomers where pretty clued up on Trinity Student ID's... There's a strip that goes across the card under your pic, if it ends at the pic your under 18 and if it goes the whole way across your card your over 18...

Not sure about UCD but check it out they might have something similar...
    If you are over 18 there is no DOB on the card, if you are under 18 there is. That way if you turn 18 during the year you dont need a new student card

Oops,sorry,didn't realise about the ID thing.9:30!?Are serious!?That's terrible!What annoys me is that a lot of first years are still 17,yet they still insist on freshers events being over 18's only?That doesn't make any sense.
    Ofcourse it does. In Ireland we have a culture that has established a link between booze and socialising. We cant have a social event without booze. Why on earth for example do first holy communions end up in a pub?!

there are enough ppl over 18 to make these events successful so they go ahead. Its not fair I know, but how many people do you honestly think would come to a primary school style sports day (though obviously much cooler with bungy jumping and bouncing castles).
    Thats basically what CommDay was every year I was there. Nobody bothers. Id say less that 50 people in total over thecourse of an entier day. But everyone goes to the night club event that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭33% God

My girlfriend is 17 and will be for two months. She's borrowing a friend's Latvian passport.
    She better learn to speak some Latvian :p:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Every time you personally abuse someone on the internet, God kills a kitten.

-Raphael

Me thinks you shall soon be banned!

timmywex wrote: »
    Me thinks you shall soon be banned!
    Its a second account of an existing boards member...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

I think 17 is too young to go to college. I was 19 when I started (I started school at 5 and did TY) and I thought many people were immature. Now that problem has only gotten worse.

Besides, being 17 means you can't enjoy college life to the fullest. You can go to college events, but not out with your friends if they're adults.

It's a bit late to be telling me that now!I had no intention of doing TY when all my friends were skipping it.As for maturity,a number does not dictate that.I feel I'm as prepared(or unprepared:P) for college as anyone else here.

I think 17 is too young to go to college. I was 19 when I started (I started school at 5 and did TY) and I thought many people were immature. Now that problem has only gotten worse.
    You should try to be more condescending :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

Its not the end of the world to be honest. The student bar are strict sometimes but the vast majority of the time (ie before 9....remember your lectures finish at 6 latest so you may be going into the bar earlier than you would outside UCD) you can get in no problem.

Similarly, the Centre Club is lax enough and the Pav in Trinity never ask questions.

It will be a bit of a pain in the ass but it shouldn't ruin your first year in college and you may find that if you're in a group of college students you won't get asked for ID sometimes. There are ways around everything!

Also Chocolate Sauce, I was 17 when I started and quite frankly I was fairly mature for my age so I wouldn't worry about your maturity level OP. If you've been through secondary school you're as prepared as anyone else for college.

Have a great time! I had a brilliant four years!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

If you are over 18 there is no DOB on the card, if you are under 18 there is. That way if you turn 18 during the year you dont need a new student card

You can rub that date off you know.I was talking to a lad last night who done it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Yes, but on an over-18 student card there's a rectangle where the date is. So if you just rub the date off, it's very obvious you've taken it off.

TheVan wrote: »

Also Chocolate Sauce, I was 17 when I started and quite frankly I was fairly mature for my age so I wouldn't worry about your maturity level OP. If you've been through secondary school you're as prepared as anyone else for college.

Everyone says they're mature then they are/were 17, including me. Sorry for being cynical, but at that age I was a child, so I'm sure you'll understand why I think the same of most 17 year olds.

That's not to judge anyone; children can be interesting, insightful and mature.

Everyone says they're mature then they are/were 17, including me. Sorry for being cynical, but at that age I was a child, so I'm sure you'll understand why I think the same of most 17 year olds.

Maturity comes from experience, not from age.
    The OP has been through the same experiences of school etc that someone who started school 2 years later will have gone through. There is no reason why he/she couldn't be as mature as someone who is coming in at 19

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

What an ironically series of immature posts from chocolatesauce.

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

Ah, to be an old grandad like myself (*cough* 19) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

I tried using my student card loads of times back in 1st year to get into places and no where would take it as proof of id. Back up, yes, but not as id.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I started college just after I turned 18, and I really regret not taking a year out at that stage. Then again, it differs from person to person really.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

Raphael wrote: »
    Yes, but on an over-18 student card there's a rectangle where the date is. So if you just rub the date off, it's very obvious you've taken it off.
    You would think that but the way done ,it did look like it

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Roxy.Randrome

hey OP, I'm in the same predicament. I've nearly been harrassing my orientation guide all week over it! lol. Maybe we should set up a support group for 17yr old students or something? lol (joke) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 356 ✭✭the evil lime

Ya know there are a whole bunch of society events not based around alcohol, right?

The big socs hold pissups, yeah. The smaller ones have coffee mornings. Anyone can go along to those and you can make a heap of friends that way.

I was eighteen coming to UCD, but I don't drink, so I had no real interest in all the big drinking nights out. I just went to a heap of coffee mornings, taught with the Outreach soc, went to a couple of ELS workshops and played games with GameSoc in first year. Had a grand time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

just concentrate on gaff parties, way better than the mostly appauling "club" events and no one checks ID :) also this year will give you valuable practice in the art of afternoon drinking, learning this skill early will stand you in good stead for the rest of your college career and beyond.

33% God wrote: »
    Maturity comes from experience, not from age.
    The OP has been through the same experiences of school etc that someone who started school 2 years later will have gone through. There is no reason why he/she couldn't be as mature as someone who is coming in at 19

True, especially when dealing with some 19 year olds.

However, no matter how much experience a person has, maturity is also determined by neurological development. This happens independently of environment. Girls usually develop a year or so ahead of boys, and it isn't until the early to mid 20's that this development is more or less complete.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭kev_s88

im 19, almost 20 coming into 1st year.and to be honest im looking forward more to the quiet, non-alcohol related society nights out.no matter how much i love my drink, nothing beats a nice quiet meet up with possible friends :D

I'm a girl just to let ye all know.:DI'm not even a huge drinker,I was just annoyed at the prospect of being left out of a lot of events.But now it seems that I won't be too badly off,between on-campus parties and non alcohol based society stuff.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Roxy.Randrome

I'm a girl just to let ye all know.:DI'm not even a huge drinker,I was just annoyed at the prospect of being left out of a lot of events.But now it seems that I won't be too badly off,between on-campus parties and non alcohol based society stuff.:)

I'm a girl aswell and I have to say I agree with you totally. It's hard not to feel like you're going to be missing out when all we've been informed about this past week has been alcohol fuelled club nights out which invariably have an I.D. requirement (not that I'm knocking club nights out or anything, just making a point) :D