Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

hayabusa for the guards

• 04-09-2008 6:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭

Are the guards testing hayabusa's ?
    I remember hearing a while back that the gardai were testing hayabusa's for a specialist unit of motor traffic corp. Is this true, has/have any been spotted !?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Are the guards testing hayabusa's ?
    I remember hearing a while back that the gardai were testing hayabusa's for a specialist unit of motor traffic corp. Is this true, has/have any been spotted !?
    Not a hope unless its a PR stunt, if they did plenty of the bike force would be wearing wooden over coats over a short period. The Pan European is well trusted throughout the world as an excellent Police force bike and I doubt if they would change from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Limerick Bandit

Would you give them a ferrari as a squad car? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Ronan3345

I doubt anyone's sayin they would swap the pan-euro's for hayabusa's. just for a special unit or something.
    I'd say it's just a rumour though. I remember hearing the Gaurds were getting BMW M5's for special units. Have never seen any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

They can hardly afford to run the stuff they have. Someone is yanking your chain...

'cptr

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭nc13

Ronan3345 wrote: »
    I doubt anyone's sayin they would swap the pan-euro's for hayabusa's. just for a special unit or something.
    I'd say it's just a rumour though. I remember hearing the Gaurds were getting BMW M5's for special units. Have never seen any of them.

The were also to get 500cc scooters. They are using BMW's as undercover cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭paulieeye

No ferraris but they got this lambo!

dscd0484.jpg

view bikes there too:
    http://www.ukemergency.co.uk/police/police27.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭art

Not a hope unless its a PR stunt, if they did plenty of the bike force would be wearing wooden over coats over a short period. The Pan European is well trusted throughout the world as an excellent Police force bike and I doubt if they would change from them.

UK cops switched from Pans to Beemers after one of their riders died in an accident which was put down solely to irregularities in the new Pan's handling. So I wouldn't be surprised if we were switching away from Pans too when new bikes are being bought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭art

paulieeye wrote: »
    No ferraris but they got this lambo!
    view bikes there too:
    http://www.ukemergency.co.uk/police/police27.htm

Guess which two bike cops arrived in last Monday morning...???

dscd0434.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭paulieeye

lol!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,533 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

ohpbusa.jpg

1103427317.jpg

1023655.jpg

That last image looks a little camp though! More village people than Hayabusa!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

Not to mention looking like a photoshop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Only about half the bikes in the force are still Pan euros, alot of the newer cop bikes are the new FJR 1300s, alot sportier than the pan euro's and ALOT quicker so watch out next time you try to pull a very fast one pretending like you dont see the blues and twos in the mirror;););)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

Well since the Gardai have Yamaha FJR 1300's, getting a 1300cc suzuki cant be financially out of reach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,533 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Well since the Gardai have Yamaha FJR 1300's, getting a 1300cc suzuki cant be financially out of reach.
    Ahh, but paying for those replacement rear tyres every 3,000kms would soon change their minds. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭pirate reject

Id imagine paying the insurance after they write off a few of them might change their minds. The real issue is whether they could be trained to use them correctly, unlike their car bound compatriots who after a couple of hours skid school tear off in ignorance thinking that they are suddenly Lewis Hamilton.

As for changing, I know a lot of the UK squads have gone back to their old Pans after handing back the new ones due to the handling problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭agent_smith

I know for a fact that the biker division of the gardai go through a very intensive and rigorous training course. The gardai probably the best trained and advanced riders on the road. Something to be proud of I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

They are incredibly well trained, ROSPA etc,

That on top of spending most of their working day on a bike gives them mountains of experience/time on a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

The smell of bacon in this thread;);)
    They are well trained to sit in bus lanes and behind bus shelters with a radar gun alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Limerick Bandit

The smell of bacon in this thread;);)
    They are well trained to sit in bus lanes and behind bus shelters with a radar gun alright.

Do you drive a bike?
    Have you ever drove with these lads?
    The smell of bacon is probably coming from your breakfast role!
    you seem like someone who has been caught for speeding a few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭slapper

Do you drive a bike?
    Have you ever drove with these lads?
    The smell of bacon is probably coming from your breakfast role!
    you seem like someone who has been caught for speeding a few times.
    ya i'll agree alot of the lads a spot on and very approachable
    and i'd encourage gardai to come on to these forums and give input there is a few on a few other forums and have clear up a few issues that need to be when asked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

If I had a hat I'd take it off to the Bike Gardai. Every experience I've had with them has been great unlike some of their colleagues of the bike-less kind.

I'd love to see them on the Hayabusa, although as far as I know they have a "no pursuit" policy so I don't know when they'd actually use them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭agent_smith

The reason you are prob smelling bacon OP is because many bikers have had very pleasant experience with biker gardai.
    The biker garda have had a number of community relationship building exercises in the last few years... the bike safe (where you are taken out on an assessment driving 'lesson' with a garda), the slow speed manoevering courses that used to be run at joe duffys etc...
    I believe these have been extremely positive exercises and benefit both the public and biker gardai themselves.
    It is a pity that the 'car' division do not have similar exercises. It would do a lot to help generate community policing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭carsQhere

They very seldom pull bikers for using the bus lane unless you're acting the eejit. They get proper training, and lots of it. They are good pilots, no question. Shame there just aren't enough of them to nail all the blind mobile phone using lane jumping u-turning breakfast roll eating muppets out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭Fazer6

carsQhere wrote: »
    breakfast roll eating muppets out there.
    wats wrong with eating a breakfast roll while driving
    isnt that why open faced helmets where invented :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

slapper wrote: »
    wats wrong with eating a breakfast roll while driving
    isnt that why open faced helmets where invented :D

Ever try it in a full face helmet ?

Thats fun !! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,647 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Ive seen the bike corp using BMW bikes a few times around Dublin city centre.

KTRIC wrote: »
    Ever try it in a full face helmet ?

Thats fun !! :D
    ya chips from mc donaldls :D whilst on the moped a few years back and i was dinking from the cup as well:pac::pac::pac: