Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

stag in westport

• 07-09-2008 12:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭

we are heading to westport soon for a stag going to be staying friday and saturday night.can anyone recommend good pubs to watch the football and racing on saturday afternoon (near a bookies ,gonna be plenty of punters in the gang) and what nightclubs there are in the town.
    Centrally located hotel? i was thinking if we book rooms thru a booking website the hotel wont know its a gang of lads on a stag and we should beable to stay in the same hotel(there will be about 40 going)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

yabadabado wrote: »
    we are heading to westport soon for a stag going to be staying friday and saturday night.can anyone recommend good pubs to watch the football and racing on saturday afternoon (near a bookies ,gonna be plenty of punters in the gang) and what nightclubs there are in the town.
    Centrally located hotel? i was thinking if we book rooms thru a booking website the hotel wont know its a gang of lads on a stag and we should beable to stay in the same hotel(there will be about 40 going)

Mill Times Hotel (about 30 seconds walk away from the absolute centre of town), Hotel Westport (5 minute walk), Westport Plaza/Castlecourt Hotel, about 3 minutes, from the center of town, where there's all the same stuff on the street(bridge street) - On this street, there's two bookies, endless amounts of pubs, a late night bar, and everything you need really.

As for nightclubs, just beside the westport plaza/castlecourt, there's the C2 Nightclub. lovely spa opening up there now as well.

hope you have a good night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

cheers thanks for the reply and if anyone else can add more info it will be appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭lg123

re the pubs, best bets are:

heneghans
    the west
    the Jester
    cosy joes, (personally hate the place but it seems popular, late license too)

if you are a scumbag you should try walshes beside blue thunder on mill street.

lg123 wrote: »
    No, if you're a scumbag, try the pinwoods(a forest just outside westport).

I don't know one scumbag who regularly goes to a pub in westport anymore. :pac:. And walshes certainly isn't a knacker hotspot. but either way I wouldn't recommend it for a stag night.

And, whilst I dont have a problem with the place myself, quite a few people I know don't like going to Blue thunder's fast food for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

If any of your stag party collapse on the streets of Westport after factfinding in the places listed, the Tidy Towns Committee would appreciate if you try to lie parallel with the kerb, hands by your side, head straight heels together. You will look tidier that way until the Town Council can take you away in the morning, and thus avoid the town losing marks in this competition.

Penalty for breach: being deported to Castlebar for the rest of your stay in Mayo.

Having just won the national competition for the third time they seek your cooperation in going for 4 in a row in 2009.

nuac wrote: »
    If any of your stag party collapse on the streets of Westport after factfinding in the places listed, the Tidy Towns Committee would appreciate if you try to lie parallel with the kerb, hands by your side, head straight heels together. You will look tidier that way until the Town Council can take you away in the morning, and thus avoid the town losing marks in this competition.

Penalty for breach: being deported to Castlebar for the rest of your stay in Mayo.

Having just won the national competition for the third time they seek your cooperation in going for 4 in a row in 2009.
    Indeed. Also, don't walk in any public areas as you might just leave a bit of a rubber stain, and we wouldn't want that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Des Hynes

lg123 wrote: »
    re the pubs, best bets are:

heneghans
    the west
    the Jester
    cosy joes, (personally hate the place but it seems popular, late license too)

Walshes is youur best bet for a punt and a bit of craic.

Keyboard warrior calling it a kip is a bit unfair

Are you barred?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

cheers for all the replys .we are headin down tomorrow morning(thought it was 2 weeks time) so thanks again