Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Learning Piano...

• 07-09-2008 6:13pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok, I decided to take the plunge and learn piano. I also decided that I couldnt possibly do it alone so from the start I've started lessons once a week for an hour (private tutor).

I'm really enjoying it but its hard to measure how fast I'm going (I dont even know why thats important to me, but it is!).

So I have two questions:

1. What would be your advice to a complete beginner?

2. I've been learning for 3 weeks and I'm happy with how I have progressed as is my teacher. I can play the scales in C, G and A and also in chords, with both hands and both directions so I feel like I've made some progress. (I've also bought a nice Yamaha to practise on too!). But how long is it before a beginner starts to play anything more complex then Mary Had A Little Lamb or Chopsticks?

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Ah but you are not an average beginner, with your years of muscle memory and dexterity from pc keyboards and your maths ability.

I would say pick a piece that you long to be able to play,
    something that moves you or has meaning or memory for you that way you will have passion to do the practice you require.

Always have 2 or 3 pieces that you are learning on the go so that you can change from one to the other
    rather then getting utterly frustrated with slogging away at just the one.

The Beatles are a lot harder then you think.

Always warm up with scales.

Always end with something you have mastered and enjoy playing.

Sit fecking properly, it's a good habit esp when you get to the stage were you are playing / practising for an hour,
    good posture means you are ( once you get used to it)
    actually pretty relaxed and are breathing evenly so you can forget about your body.

The complete piano/keyboards player books are shít imho as they are dumbed down versions of the tunes in them.

By the lil red music theory book, you'll bomb through it and it will unlock the code which is staves, notes and squiggles.

You could be easily playing the maple leaf rag by the new year.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Thanks, that seems like good advice, I'll be taking it! :)

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

You're welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭CPT. SURF

I am starting my first piano lesson ever tonight. I always loved the sound and said I'd give it a lash as the winter is fast approaching and it will be dark when I get home from work. I am going in with no expectations, sure if I learn anything it will be more than I know now. Can't wait, I am even a little bit nervous! like a kid or something

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I have 4 weeks under my belt now and its going along very well, I'm very happy with my progress, as is my teacher which is making practising easier as I'm keen to improve more!
    I have a video of me playing Clocks by Coldplay which I will upload. I got bored silly of scales and learnt it from a video on youtube! :)
    Thats a good resource to add a little spice to your practising :)

Let us know how you are getting on too, Cpt! keep at it, I was a bit frustrated up to week 3 when things kind of clicked for me and it felt great when it started to come together. Everyone progresses at their own rate (right now I'm stuck on getting timing right with my wayward left hand) but I never knew why piano teacher were always insistent on daily practise in films and TV.... now I understand! 15 minutes every day is much better then 30 minutes every second day!

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Spider_Baby

Hi DeVore and CPT.

I'm starting lessons next week too, so it's good to hear how you are progressing after only 3 or 4 lessons! :)

Are there any tips you have already for an absolute beginner like me?
    Any books that were recommended to you by your teacher?
    I'll keep you both posted on any worthwhile tips I get from my teacher too.
    Deal? :)

Also, did you both buy a keyboard, or did you have one already?
    Any advice on a cheapish one that is good value for its price would be great.
    Thanks a million! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,568 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Also, did you both buy a keyboard, or did you have one already?
    Any advice on a cheapish one that is good value for its price would be great.
    Thanks a million! :)

+1 to this question.
    I'm thinking of taking piano back up as well and basically just wondering do you find that you should be getting lessons? Or is possible to teach yourself?
    Really couldn't afford lessons right now... :p

I pay 50 a lesson, once a week and bought a (somewhat crappy but sufficent) keyboard (yamaha).

I really DONT think you can teach yourself until someone teaches you. The third-finger-over thing and the way you learn scales are really important. However, I would say you could dump the lessons after a few months. Most of the time is spent playing scales and learning to read sheet music (which is fncked up in the head, seriously someone should go back in time and SLAP those monks).

I have found I improve in fits and starts, quite obviously correlating to how much I practise (well d'uh DeV). I also find that my progress is slowing after the first initial rush of improvement, thats to be expected realistically but muppet-head here wants to learn more and more and play much harder things so I am trying to not get all dissappointed and disillusioned with myself!

SpiderBaby, I didnt get any books though I might pick up a DVD or something soon, now that I have the very basics.
    I found having my own keyboard was great and helped a lot, in fact I dont think you could do without one frankly. Daily practise, even just tootling about on it, is a must. Must must must. Run scales, play a piece you like, run scales and you are done. 10-15 minutes, its not a chore. I actually *miss* it when I'm away now :)
    As a result I find that I immediately feel uncomfortable if I fall into some slipshod fingering, which is good... I want to learn the correct way from the start.

Good luck and lets use this thread to encourage all of us and exchange tips!

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

DeVore wrote: »
    I actually *miss* it when I'm away now :)

That's when you know you're hooked! Wait til you start experiencing G.A.S.! :eek:

Dord wrote: »
    That's when you know you're hooked! Wait til you start experiencing G.A.S.! :eek:

...what's G.A.S...? :)

I've only done one lesson so far, but really enjoyed it!
    I'm going to group lessons. Seems good so far.

I'll post any tips etc I get :)

It's great to hear how well you are getting on DeVore.
    I'm picking up a keyboard this week, cant wait to get practising!!! :)

...what's G.A.S...? :)

Gear Aquisition Syndrome :D

aaaaaah haha :)

I don't think my credit card could handle a bout of GAS just yet!!!
    Is there an anti-GAS jab I can take??? haha :)

I should be getting my first keyboard tomorrow, yippee.
    Fingers crossed I'm as quick a learner as DeVore!

Is there an anti-GAS jab I can take??? haha :)

The only cure is to lose your job. lol :(:P

hahaha...so maybe there is a plus-side to this recession afterall :D

I have a q.......
    Just wondering "how" and "what" I should be practising..?
    Silly question?? :o
    I've had 2 lessons so far. We haven't learnt an actual song yet, but we've been working on a few different bars of notes & we've been playing these to different beats and at different speeds, and with each hand (seperately).
    This may be a silly q...but should I just go over these a few times each evening...building up to using both hands together?
    Anything else that is good for a newbie to practise?

THanks a million!

p.s. loving the keyboard so far!!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

any chance of a link to the lil red music theory book?

my gf is givin me a keyboard and i cant afford lessons so i assume this is a good place to start. i already play guitar btw so i know a bit about music altho not necessarily much theory :o

I ruthlessly practised scales, first the right hand, up and down, then left hand up and down then both hands starting with both thumbs on middle C and right hand going up while left hand goes down. After that I moved the left hand down an octave and ran both hands up and/or down!

Never accept bad fingering, go back and run it again and again until you are sick of it and you can do it in your sleep. Never allow yourself to proceed on after making a mistake, its perfect or you start again.

All of this presumes you know the proper fingering for scales, if not then ask your teacher (its hard to explain here).

For giggles and to break the monotony I would run scales in chords to learn the chords and to get myself used to playing chords. After 3 weeks I started playing simple tunes but I found i could do those easily and they seemed childish (tinkle tinkle little star isnt going to woo the ladies at a party really).

I hit Youtube and found some great tutorial videos (like this guy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=12O_YLdVFQw) but I really really recommend have your finger movements and scales nailed tight before proceeding, I've found it was a HUGE help as I dont get tied up with the feeling of needing to grow more fingers :)

I have now got the opening 24 bars of The Entertainer, Clocks, How to save a life and Beethovens Moonlight Sonata Part 1 down and I'm working on part 2.
    Every time I approach one of these I go "ok, so I'll never be able to play that, I've found my limit" and somehow a day or two later I'm playing it without looking. Don't get discouraged, keep at it and it will click.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

your going to record your self and put it up within a few months right dev :)

I have a recording somewhere of me playing. Think its on the other laptop. I'll upload something later. I'm by no means perfect hahaha, but I'll show you guys where I'm at...

I'm really enjoying it though, after the dissappointment of trying the guitar (which just wasnt me, even though I would love to be able to play it), the piano seems like my instrument, I think its because I type so much that using all 10 fingers doing different things using muscle memory seems not-so-weird to me.

i'm seriously thinking about starting an Irish piano website just to explore this new facet of interest :)

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

I've been thinking about how much I'd like to play piano recently. Your posts on your progress are pretty encouraging, DeV. I'd love to see that video of your playing!

I play(ed) bass a few years back, but I never had people around consistently enough to get good playing with others. Picking it up lately, I've forgotten so much. The piano would teach me the theory and get my finger strength back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Deadeyes

DeVore wrote: »
    ...Never allow yourself to proceed on after making a mistake, its perfect or you start again...
    I'm not sure I'd agree with that. I would say if you make a mistake continue on, but then repeat it until you can do it three times without a mistake. When you progress to playing with or for others then you can't just stop and start again if you make a mistake.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 kerryberry

Where are all you guys doing your lessons?? I want to get my husband a voucher for lessons for Christmas and just wondering if anyone has any recommendations... he plays himself but has no proper training as in he can't read music and deffo wouldn't have done scales. I did lessons a few years ago myself in Waltons in Dublin but found them very slow. Then I got preggers, had a sore back and couldn't do them anymore!!! :o

I'd be interested in getting some recommendations in where to do lessons too.
    Like Kerryberry mentioned, I'm finding mine very slow also, so I'm thinking of getting individual lessons somewhere once this set of classes comes to an end.
    Thanks!

My teacher is in Arbour Hill and is quite good. If you need her number, PM me.

My progression is in fits and starts. I had to go away for a while and get very little practise in during that time, then I had to move house and got NO practise during that week. However I started on the Moonlight Sonata on Sunday and by Monday evening had the first part down pretty well, so while I'm rusty it seems to be like riding a bike, you never forget.

I now have two videos of me playing. I seem nervous in both but it was more because of the video camera then nerves at playing the piano! I will upload them when I'm not on a mobile connection (should be a week or two at the latest).

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Hey folks,

I'm thinking of taking up piano now :) I've been playing guitar for 7 years now, and used to have a sh*tty childish keyboard which I was able to transfer my guitar knowledge to. So I know the keys, chords, etc., on the piano. I just find it hard to actually learn to play songs :) I also know in theory how to read sheet music, but in reality I would have to spend ages looking at the sheets to determine what key it's in, what chords are being used, etc. Tricky!

Anywho, the old keyboard is kaput (thankfully!), and so I'm thinking I'm gonna take the plunge and buy something decent with the aim of using it for the next year at least (until I go to Australia :)), and then coming back to it after! Gonna do it the right way and get a teacher at some point too.

Any recommendations for a keyboard/digital piano with lots (70+?) of weighted keys? My max price would be €500, but €400 is preferable...

Someone in another thread recommended this
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/thomann_dp50.htm

Looks the biz to me! Are Thomann an alright brand? Any problems ordering of the website before? How long does delivery take?
    Any other recommendations?

*Sorry for hijacking your thread DeV :o* Fair play on getting into the peeeyanah

ps. i've spent the last half hour listening to Mozart's sonata facile over and over again... It makes me weep :o This chap plays it well:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJyyagBryzM
    It shall be my project piece.........

Hi everyone!

DeV, I can't wait to see those videos. It will be interesting to see how you are getting along.
    A little update on me...I've done 5 lessons now. I am doing group classes with 5 other people...so progress is a little slow. I'm also not getting as much practise in as I'd like.
    However, I'm loving it!
    I started learning guitar a few years back and it really really wasn't for me at all. I lost interest in it very quickly when I wasn't noticing any progress or improvement.
    The keyboard seems different though. Even hitting a few basic notes can produce a nice basic tune, like Jingle Bells!

Just wondering, what outside resources are you all using, apart from a teacher / class?
    I'm finding my group class a little slow (thinking of getting individual lessons when these classes finish), and I'm also a little impatient, so I'd love to go ahead and learn some "proper" songs.
    Can anyone recommend any songs that are quite simple to play?
    I'm talking normal songs here...there's only so much Jingle Bells a girl can play! haha :)
    And also, where are you finding the sheet music for these? Free sites online? Or are you learning off youtube?

Keep up the good work guys :D

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

Hi everyone!

Just wondering, what outside resources are you all using, apart from a teacher / class? And also, where are you finding the sheet music for these? Free sites online? Or are you learning off youtube?

Keep up the good work guys :D

I have been playing for just over 2 years and have yet to take any lessons; YouTube was a godsend. I have a fairly good catalogue of songs from just watching tutorials - you'll find most popular piano songs (pop/rock/indie etc) on there, and they're all pretty easy to play, based around a few simple chords.

Only downside is you can get a bit lazy when it comes to theory etc, because essentially you're just being told which keys to play. I have only now started to learn to read sheet music because I'm finding hard to make any major progression without knowing the staff.

There are also a few piano tablature websites out there which can help. I started by making a list of a few of my favourite piano songs, and learned how to play them inside/out. You can do this while still concentrating on the work you're getting in class; I'd recommend it even, because its good practice for correct fingering etc. Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Spider Baby, a good resource for sheets is www.pianofiles.com

Ok, the much awaited, long over due and totally overhyped videos are up. Perpare to be shocked and amazed at my awesome mastery of this instrument.

Ok, actually these make me cringe because I can play better now and I was more nervous of the video camera then the piano :)
    I took each of these in one shot and left the mistakes in so I wasnt presenting an untrue picture of my progress so far, plus the timing is off on a lot of them, something I am working on now.

These were taken at the 6-9 week stage. right now I'm working on Fur Elise which is a nice piece but a touch tricky in terms of coordination.

Moonlight Sonata intro:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3fdHXuU1Vk

Clocks by coldplay (please dont expect much, I have refined this a lot since :) )
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQrJWLsk-Uo

Amazing Grace:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOJjEqGzQx8
    (this one is terrific for practising left hand chords and taught me that dinging a note before playing its corresponding chord sounds nice!)

DeV.

Wait, Thead, I just reread your post. You think I/we could be playing that by NEW YEAR??? I thought you wrote "within a year" and even then I was fairly shocked. Are you taking the mick?! If I *ever* play like that I'll be happy. You are kidding... arent you?

as for Gear Aqcuisition Syndrome... I think its kicked in. I am already thinking about buying a new piano with full action keys and 88 rather then 61. Combine this with my other new hobby, photography and the costs rack up pretty fast. But I gotta have that new keyboard :)

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Jesus, I was always intimidated at the prospect of learning piano but Devore's progress is really inspiring. Maybe I'll look into it more closely...