Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Stephen Ireland Open Door or Slam it Shut! [mod warning post #645 / #713]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

The ZX Spectrum was a games console advailable from the mid 80's t early 90's it was many peoples (including myself's) first games console there was a jams bond game released for the sytem and togeter with the system as a game pack that was to my knowledge the first home console to come with a gun peripheral (It was however about as accurate as a drunk skanger at funderland shooting at ducks)

The reason it was included in the poll is to do with the "Atari Jaguar" a commercially unsuccessful console from the early 90's which is used in polls constantly as an additional option for some unknown reason the Sprectrum was just a substitution for this

Oh, okay. I still say "open door" though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Oscail and doras le do thoil :D

Australia was just too embarassing :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

We need him for sure. He was quality again yesterday...and the way he took that goal....can anyone imagine Whelan, Andrews or Gibson 1st of all being that far forward & secondly having the brains & talent to do what he did???

Trap needs to make that call, tell him how much he is needed & get him back now before its too late.
    We need Steven Ireland he is turning into one of the best mf players in Europe...but still it seems that Liam Miller is a better option to our old boss :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Stargate wrote: »
    still the same opinion i wonder ? :pac:

Kinda.

It's not a treasonable offense to not want to play for your country. If he wants to, he will. If he doesn't want to. leave him be.

It's hard to tell how much of the dithering is media-concocted. Most of it I would say.

Only thing I'd be vehement about is that, if it came about, he shouldn't play in the tournament now. And that's whether or not he comes back for the last few games or none.

If he's into it, he can rejoin the squad for the next round of qualifiers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Stevecw wrote: »
    We need him for sure. He was quality again yesterday...and the way he took that goal....can anyone imagine Whelan, Andrews or Gibson 1st of all being that far forward & secondly having the brains & talent to do what he did???

There are few other players in the prem, let alone the Irish team, who could remain as calm and composed and have time to decide how to hit it like he did. It is sickening to see it when we dont have him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

If we did slam it shut, what player do we have that is equally as good (or better) I can't think of a single player. We are a small country and we don't have that much choice unfortunately. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Stevecw wrote: »

Trap needs to make that call, tell him how much he is needed & get him back now before its too late.
    We need Steven Ireland he is turning into one of the best mf players in Europe...but still it seems that Liam Miller is a better option to our old boss :confused:

Trap doesn't have to do anything, Ireland left and Ireland should let us know when he wants to be reconsidered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭bigstar

stovelid wrote: »
    Kinda.

It's not a treasonable offense to not want to play for your country. If he wants to, he will. If he doesn't want to. leave him be.

It's hard to tell how much of the dithering is media-concocted. Most of it I would say.

Only thing I'd be vehement about is that, if it came about, he shouldn't play in the tournament now. And that's whether or not he comes back for the last few games or none.

If he's into it, he can rejoin the squad for the next round of qualifiers.

and if he plays a pivotal role in getting us to the WC, eg: if he scores the winning goals against cyprus and italy does he still not get on the plane. wont happen anyway i cant see him coming back before the WC.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

He'll have to come back for Cyprus if he wants to make the WC (provided we get there ;) ). Personally I think he's not going to. Maybe for the next campaign. It's a shame because every older player will tell you how much going to the WC meant to them when they look back at their career.

bigstar wrote: »
    and if he plays a pivotal role in getting us to the WC, eg: if he scores the winning goals against cyprus and italy does he still not get on the plane. .

Couldn't care less, even though I've been going to Ireland games since 1986.

Some things mean more than success at all costs.

Players shouldn't go to tournaments if they don't help the team get there.

Especially when players of modest ability bust a gut to do so, often when getting abuse from all and sundry.

That said, I'm not saying that Stephen would intend to come back if we qualified. I totally respect his right to refuse to play for his country.

I only wish that the speculation would stop. If we do qualify, the speculation and pressure on him will be murder.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

What about Stephen Reid? He has been injured for most of this campaign and its debatable whether he will play any before the end of it either...

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    What about Stephen Reid? He has been injured for most of this campaign and its debatable whether he will play any before the end of it either...

He would have played if he was physically able to, I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

They may have the same first name but that's where the similarities end. Reid is out because of an injury, Ireland is out because he chooses to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Why will this not just go away?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Look I can see both sides of the argument but we do not have a large pool of players to choose from .(especially of Irelands caliber)
    Surely if we got him back whilst still in the qualifiers then that should be satisfactory for both sides of the argument ,others may disagree and say it still is not fair on the players who have gotten us this far ,BUT, we have not achieved anything yet , only when we are on the flight to South Africa can we say YES WE DID IT .

Stephen Ireland is becoming a phenomenal player (not fully there yet) of world class potential , if he wasnt doing so well then this thread would have stopped long ago , a player like Ireland (been Irish) comes along very seldomly , to let this talent miss out on achieving the heights at International level would be a disgrace .SLAMING THE DOOR WOULD BE A SHAME !..i know its still his decision but Trap needs to keep trying.

I personally would be trying to pull out all stops to get him back wearing the green jersey again , for the players who would be effected by his return...if they got upset then that would be a selfish attitiude and not a Team decision , its up to the team to get to South Africa and all the ways to achieve this need to be explored , STEPHEN IRELAND INCLUDED .

My 2 pence worth.
    M.

(p.s) Would you really give a FLYING F.U.CK on match day 1 in South Africa when Ireland are lined up for the National Anthem how or who got us there , I for one would be so proud and i can feel the magic now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

He also contributed in a signifcant way to what I think were our two best performances in this group so far.

Gerogia and Montenagro away.

I do see what you are saying though but If Andy Reid was called up for the last few games then that would be fine by me if he were to go on to the WC.

Couldn't care less, even though I've been going to Ireland games since 1986.

Some things mean more than success at all costs.

Especially when players of modest ability bust a gut to do so, often when getting abuse from all and sundry.

That said, I'm not saying that Stephen would intend to come back if we qualified. I totally respect his right to refuse to play for his country.

I only wish that the speculation would stop. If we do qualify, the speculation and pressure on him will be murder.

yeah and i agree thats why i said if he scores the winners against italy and cyprus or say he scores or plays a huge part in any play off we get to. he will have helped us get there, and you cannot then say sorry steve you cant come to SA.

the point is, if he comes back before the qualifiers are over he will play some part in us getting there and should go the SA. if you dont think he should be part of the team until after the WC thats different, he doesnt play now and doesnt get to go to SA.

my own point of view is that if he makes himself available, it depends on trap and the squads reaction, and if they can live with it id be happy to see him back. tbh if he comes back to train even, at some point hes gonna play and chances are make a big impact and then hes undroppable. whenever he comes back there will be some reaction in the squad, good or bad. if we put that off until after the WC, it still has to be dealt with then, if he comes back at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Should Sweden have said no to Larsson?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

bigstar wrote: »
    yeah and i agree thats why i said if he scores the winners against italy and cyprus or say he scores or plays a huge part in any play off we get to. he will have helped us get there, and you cannot then say sorry steve you cant come to SA.

the point is, if he comes back before the qualifiers are over he will play some part in us getting there and should go the SA. if you dont think he should be part of the team until after the WC thats different, he doesnt play now and doesnt get to go to SA.

my own point of view is that if he makes himself available, it depends on trap and the squads reaction, and if they can live with it id be happy to see him back. tbh if he comes back to train even, at some point hes gonna play and chances are make a big impact and then hes undroppable. whenever he comes back there will be some reaction in the squad, good or bad. if we put that off until after the WC, it still has to be dealt with then, if he comes back at all.

Why is the question been asked if we get to SA then its Stephen Reid or Stephen Ireland ?

Both of then in midfield would give our current setup a huge boost , Reid holding, Ireland attacking , that to me is the best possible midfield setup we can ever wish for at present.

mixednuts wrote: »
    Why is the question been asked if we get to SA then its Stephen Reid or Stephen Ireland ?

Both of then in midfield would give our current setup a huge boost , Reid holding, Ireland attacking , that to me is the best possible midfield setup we can ever wish for at present.

:confused: thats not the question being asked. im not even if that is a question at all.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Should Sweden have said no to Larsson?

I don't recall the Larsson situation off-hand. Didn't he come out of retirement to play?

If so, Stephen is a different case, no? He's been fit, young and available and has simply not wanted to play. He's not coming back (after a glittering and loyal career) to give a dig-out.

Basically any player that will not play shouldn't go. Not aging, retired players who are asked to come back. Or injured players. Or players who are not picked.

I think I should be clear on this: I support his right not to play for his country. I was only saying:

a) let's stop bugging him and put it to bed. No more third-party involvement and media. He can come back if he wants.

b) if he did come back for a tournament without participating in the qualifiers, he shouldn't go. Personally I feel that even playing in the last game or two is too late. Andy and Stephen Reid have shown every desire to play so it's not a valid comparison.

That said: it's not fair on Stephen in a way because there is little evidence that he would come back for a tournament. It's likely he just doesn't want to play for us again and is being hounded by public opinion and the media.

I honestly also wonder what your stance would be if he wasn't a City player.
    orourkeda wrote: »
    Why will this not just go away?

You think it's bad now. Wait and see what it'll be like if we qualify. I predict drama of Roy Keane proportions. You have to feel sorry for Stephen.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭DBraithwaite

ntlbell wrote: »
    I was a backer of Ireland but I don't have much time for him anymore

Assuming we qualify for the world cup should he be let back into the squad or should the door be closed since the first kick of the qualifiers?
    I also was on Ireland side but if the national team make it to the finals the door should be slammed shut. Only those who give 100% should get to represent their country in the finals, after all it's the pinnacle of any soccer players career. But time is running out for Ireland (Steven, not the national team) if he wants to go to South Africa he would want to join up with the rest of the squad. Ireland is a good player but if he keeps carrying on as he is is it worth bringing him? It could have a detrimental affect on squad morale.

But don't get me wrong i hope he boards that plane in 10 months time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

mixednuts wrote: »
    Look I can see both sides of the argument but we do not have a large pool of players to choose from .(especially of Irelands caliber) Surely if we got him back whilst still in the qualifiers then that should be satisfactory for both sides of the argument

That sounds fair to me when you think about it

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭DBraithwaite

Stargate wrote: »
    That sounds fair to me when you think about it
    But that brings back to the question! Does he even want to play for us?
    Will he be fully commited when/if he comes back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Tbh it's such an ongoing saga at this stage it'd be an unwelcome circus if he did rejoin the squad at this moment in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

To be fair to Larrsson, he contributed lots to the national team in the past. Ireland hasn't yet done that.

If he came back down, for the key games, and the (hopefully) playoffs and makes a contribution, I'm happy for him to go.
    But if he plays no part in the qualification campaign, I don't think he should get to go, even if it means us getting slaugthered in the group stages.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

The door is still open for him at the moment as far as I'm concerned.
    I'm giving him until the Italy game. I know it's arbitrary but what ya gonna do :o
    If he hasn't made himself available for the Italy game then I wouldn't want him going to the world cup or even the play off (if we get that far). If he makes the call before that then I'll be happy to have him back.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I would love to have him back, but the boy turned his back on his country! If we qualified without him I would love to see him in his armchair while the men who want to play for their country would play in the championships, that would be a big **** you and he would deserve it. I would not take him back after we had qualified as it would be a big **** you to an existing player. On bended knees or not at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Is it true trap is going to talk to him after the game today?
    my dad said so, he heard it ont he news apparently, but I can't find teh story anywhere,

would it be the first ever premiership game Trap has attended.

Happy Birthday Superman!

23 today ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I would love to have him back, but the boy turned his back on his country! If we qualified without him I would love to see him in his armchair while the men who want to play for their country would play in the championships, that would be a big **** you and he would deserve it. I would not take him back after we had qualified as it would be a big **** you to an existing player. On bended knees or not at all.

Yes stripped naked and poked with a pitch fork covered in the spit of destain from people like you.

Thats the only way I would have him back too.

Bravo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

If we qualify and he's played no part in it I'd still take him tbh, BUT he'd have to be satisfied being on the bench because that would be disrespectful to Andrews and Whelan (although the £££££££'s they earn every week would soothe their bruised egos and the latter is quite frankly a liability).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

If we qualify and he then decides to play there would be uproar.

This thread bugs me. He doesn't want to play which is a pity. End of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

We can't afford to be picky. Ireland should field it's strongest available 11 in all serious competitions, I'd have him back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭shayser

Apparantly, he's to say in the papers tomorrow that he wants to come back, but that he wont beg. Says it wont be for the Italy game either. When then, the finals if we get there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

shayser wrote: »
    Apparantly, he's to say in the papers tomorrow that he wants to come back, but that he wont beg. Says it wont be for the Italy game either. When then, the finals if we get there?

Did you see that on rte? Because that headline refers to Reid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

"Retiring still feels like the best decision I ever made."

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/aug/29/stephen-ireland-manchester-city-interview

Maybe a summer trip to South Africa may change his mind but maybe not.

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Thats grand thats the issue closed for me.

I'm pretty sure thats the first time I've heard him specifically refer to being "retired". It can be put to bed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/aug/29/stephen-ireland-manchester-city-interview

Maybe a summer trip to South Africa may change his mind but maybe not.

wanted him back with Ireland so much but he can now rightly **** off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I don't think he should be demonised. The guy is still a class act on and off the pitch regardless of whether or not he comes back.

If there are significant reasons stopping him from coming back then we shouldn't look down on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

I don't think he should be demonised. The guy is still a class act on and off the pitch regardless of whether or not he comes back.

If there are significant reasons stopping him from coming back then we shouldn't look down on him.

Nope the guy is barking off the pitch. Oddball chap. Would give my eye teeth to play for my country. I will never understand nor forgive him. Class acts play at World Cup's if the chance is there.

population wrote: »
    Nope the guy is barking off the pitch. Oddball chap. Would give my eye teeth to play for my country. I will never understand nor forgive him. Class acts play at World Cup's if the chance is there.

Really? Do elaborate.....

Shane Supple showed that not everybody has the same love as us for the game.

If Stephen doesn't want to play, it's not oddball. Cut the guy some slack.

His views should be respected. It's like a witch-hunt. If we qualify, I really feel sorry for the guy.

Ha ha well that wasn't a predictable response. Been a while since someone posted that pic of his girlfriend's old car :rolleyes:

The fact that you posted a link to Bluemoon as 'evidence' tells me all I need to know about your opinions.

They are as valid as yours my good man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Bah, really would've liked to see him back in the squad. :(

As would I but I am glad this is an end to it at least. The "will he wont he" thing has been overshadowing everything.

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Bah, really would've liked to see him back in the squad. :(

Exactly.

Just look at the thing with a clear head after South Africa, if we get there.

To be honest, it's probably what he would like too.

They are as valid as yours my good man

They aren't valid. You're forming an opinion on a person's off the pitch persona based on a photograph and a thread from a notoriously unreliable and juvenile forum.

If you actually knew the guy personally then yes you would be perfectly entitled to criticise, but you don't.

Maybe even try balance things out a bit -

www.stephenireland.com