Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Help, complete newbie here, CDJ help needed!

• 10-09-2008 3:07am
    Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭

I got two of these today:

16863686443_big.jpg

and one of these:

200066_JAYTEC_PP.jpg

I have good headphones, good speakers and a good musical ability (degree in music, high standard on a few different instruments) but no idea at all how to DJ!

The type of music I like, or the type of DJ I'd aspire to be like is like the ones in say Sin É on Ormand Key, who play a good mix of soul, funk, rock, jazz, aswell as electro/indie kind of things like in Doyles/Antics. I can "mix" semi-successfully, but really it seems I'm just fading in between songs. As far as beat matching e.t.c. goes I find it all very confusing. If anybody has any tips or could somehow instruct me how to use them, that'd be great. Here are some songs I thought would be good to try and mix together first as they all have strong beats. Not sure at all if this will help, but at least it'll give an idea to my broad musical tastes.

Kraftwerk - Autobahn
    Justice - D.A.N.C.E.
    M.I.A. - Boyz

Another mix??!

Belle and Sebestian - Step into my Office
    Toots and the Maytals - Funky Kingston
    Ray Charles - Mess around