Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FLASH! Charlie Gibson Interviews Palin

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

No I don't. Yes I watched the debates and yes I do know that the Republican party has many members who are a hell of a lot better/worse then McCain.

McCain however is the one claiming to be the "maverick" and "reformer". Yet from what I have seen I don't believe he is.

It is McCains claim that he will shake up Washington and change the party policies, but the truth is he is just more of the same.

So from what I see he is just like Bush. That's great if you support Bush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Martyr

donegalfella, whats your opinion on abortion and sex education? Sarah Palin said she would oppose her daughter having an abortion, even if she had been raped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭The Raven.

Hobbes wrote: »
    btw, you have any evidence to the Percy Sutton claim? Because the Obama camp flatly deny it. Even Khalid al-Mansour says its a crock and he is one of the people cited in the story.

[edit] Actually Percy Sutton story is BS and even the Percy Sutton family have said so.
    http://mediamatters.org/items/200809080018

I can understand why Sutton's family would want to protect him. I can also understand why Mansour would deny it. Here is the article with the full clip. You will see in this clip that this is a man who admires Obama. Judge for yourself.

http://canadafreepress.com/index.php/article/4821

Well lets see.
    - Obama says its false.
    - Mansour said it was false as well when questioned on it. Says that he was most likely getting him mixed up with someone else.
    - Suttons family made a statement on his behalf because he is too old to take interviews. They said it was false.
    - No evidence of a letter exists (unless you know of it?)

So, despite all that you still believe the original story?
    You really think it's credible to reduce John McCain's war record to 20 hours of combat experience?

Being a POW is not combat experience. Being in Naval school is not combat experience.

And "What would Obama do?" is bull **** reasoning. Lets stick with the facts. McCain gave military secrets to the Viet Cong initially by requesting they take him to hospital. Information that could of gotten others in the US military killed.
    The reality is that you have no idea what John McCain will do when he becomes president.

I have a fair idea. I mean his policies are posted online to read (I have read them) and I have also seen his voting record in relation to Bush.

Here is more details on McCain voting 95% of the time as Bush.
    http://www.factcheck.org/askfactcheck/is_it_true_john_mccain_voted_with.html

Also this year he has voted 100% the same as Bush.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,265 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

omg.. why isn't this being reported? 20 hours combat? Medal + half per hour.
    more than 99% of all military aviators today never see live combat. And he only lost the first 2 planes: the 3rd was a mechanical failure and the 4th was completely out of his control. The 5th was in live combat to a SAM site - and again, its hard to hold that against someone. SAMs are engineered to take down planes. So he lost 2 planes.

20 Hours over Enemy Territory, across 23 operations, does not account for time spent at base, on patrol, in training, etc.

And I don't hear any of those hours being of him going AWOL either :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 83,265 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

And "What would Obama do?" is bull **** reasoning. Lets stick with the facts. McCain gave military secrets to the Viet Cong initially by requesting they take him to hospital. Information that could of gotten others in the US military killed.
    The only facts we have available in this thread are that McCain submitted his name, rank, Carrier name and Squadron number. Hardly National Secrets.
    McCain wrote:
    "Demands for military information were accompanied by threats to terminate my medical treatment if I did not cooperate. Eventually, I gave them my ship's name and squadron number, and confirmed that my target had been the power plant."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Yet again we see your double standard, its alright for you to claim Obama was only a senator for 142 days or whatever, when the reality is he was elected four years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭BenjAii

Donegal, my argument couldn't have been simpler and no one else here seems to have trouble following its train of thought.

The Republicans record of governing America is widely seen as disastrous. McCain/Palin do not counter this by lauding their own parties performance. Instead they acknowledge that so much is wrong with America, but blame it on a "washington elite", refusing to take responsibility for the fact it is their party who is in power.

If in fact I am wrong you will be able to counter with numerous examples of McCain/Palin saying, "re-elect us, look at our Republican successful track record in running America under the leadership of George Bush".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Exactly. and McCain spent 20 hours on missions and the rest as a POW. What's your point, other than a huge glaring double standard?

But McCain doesn't have any different ideas, that's why he votes with Bush 95% of the time, and 100% this year as pointed out. How can you actually claim that he is different based on this evidence?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I had an interesting discussion with a born again Republican, who would make the for profit prophet Carl Rove praise the Oval Office. I asked if we could focus upon and consider Palin's qualifications to be VP, and President, should 72 year old McCain kick the bucket. When I brought up Palin's obvious naivete regarding foreign relations (2002 Bush Doctrine, or any doctrine that pertains to international relations), I got "But Obama..."

I then tried to get them back on task, saying that we were discussing Palin's qualifications, not Obama's. When I asked if her isolation in the very small population Arctic state might be a factor to her being away from the crossroads of international politics, I once again got the response, "Obama does not..."

For some reason, this Palin advocate could not address their candidate's extraordinary lack of foreign relations experience without attacking Obama's lack of this or that. Why is that? Could it be that political campaigning demands that people, who may have otherwise active minds, suspend their judgment to where they cannot criticize their holier-than-thou candidate? That they have to raise them up above us all to super human heights to justify their filling of the two most powerful offices in the most powerful country in the world? Psychology has a concept for this kind of behaviour that deals with inconsistencies between the make believe qualified candidate and the real unqualified candidate (be they Obama or Palin, which are both unqualifed). It is called cognitive dissonance. It occurs after making a foolish choice, no matter the choice, which results in the person grasping at straws, per se, that will support their foolish decision, rather than to face the facts that they made a poor choice.

I see cognitive dissonance in both party platforms, that's way I think this 2008 US presidential election is a complete farce that focuses more on smearing the opposing candidate with lipstick or whatever. Winning the election for their newly made gods, be they Republican or Democrat, is more important than addressing the important issues of recession, rising unemployment, bank failures, a million or more housing foreclosures, 20% of the population without health care insurance, and two wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, where many innocent women and children are being killed on a daily basis.

Good post there, the campaign seems to have turned into a reactionary rather than pro active election. EG. Biden being picked to address Obamas perceived foreign policy inexperience and Palin to seize on disaffected Hilary voters.

The Republicans have brought questions on foreign policy and Palin on themselves. They made it a massive campaign issue so they should have seen this one coming.

Palin seemed an inspired choice at first but the more we hear about her the more I wonder, this thread being a perfect example. Obama gets accused of having little experience, then Palin gets selected! :confused:
    I have seen no defending or advocating of Palin here, just whataboutery, which says alot!
    The Iraq and Ireland lies remind me of Hilarys gaff over Iraq.

Good thread bye the way, I've learned McCain isn't as experienced as I had thought as 27 years was in the military. Obviously as there's a 25 year gap he will be more experienced than Obama.

The weakness of the McCain/Palin ticket seems to be economics. He has admitted it's not his forte and she seems to have done a decent job taking money from Washington and the Oil Companies.

Anyway after 8 years of Bush, a little socialism may not be a bad idea to counter balance that!

PS. Should we not be comparing her to Biden?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭BenjAii

Its interesting that I have challenged you a few times now to point to successes after 8 years of government under Republican policies, but you can't produce any.

Instead you are falling back on the arguement that "someone else" did it, in this case some seperate section of the Republican party that has different policies.

But the problem is for all their disagreements in 2000, McCain seems to have supported the majority of Bush's policies and seems to be offering little different in this election.

So it would appear he is representing the same failed agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Martyr

Will G.W be a judge?

So it is OK to disclosure military secrets as long as US Military are not put in harms way?

McCain obviously votes with Bush when he believes that Bush is correct.

95% of the time.
    But he has also stood up and voted against Bush many times.

5% of the time.
    Your position seems to be the Left party line that Bush is always wrong,

Hmm, you mean Bush has done a good job?! News to me. Do you have any good examples?

Of course voting for McCain because he is like Bush is certainly a valid reason to vote for him. Because he isn't like bush isn't.
    And, by the way, your own favoured candidate has voted the Democratic party line 97% of the time during his political career.

Well what I found was 100%, but then his party hasn't turned the USA into a clusterfuk.

BenjAii wrote: »
    refusing to take responsibility for the fact it is their party who is in power.

Actually I saw one who did. Newt Gringrinch of all people. On the daily show he said his party was the best party to clean up the mess his party created.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Good post there, the campaign seems to have turned into a reactionary rather than pro active election. EG. Biden being picked to address Obamas perceived foreign policy inexperience and Palin to seize on disaffected Hilary voters.

The Republicans have brought questions on foreign policy and Palin on themselves. They made it a massive campaign issue so they should have seen this one coming.

Palin seemed an inspired choice at first but the more we hear about her the more I wonder, this thread being a perfect example. Obama gets accused of having little experience, then Palin gets selected! :confused:
    I have seen no defending or advocating of Palin here, just whataboutery, which says alot!
    The Iraq and Ireland lies remind me of Hilarys gaff over Iraq.

Good thread bye the way, I've learned McCain isn't as experienced as I had thought as 27 years was in the military. Obviously as there's a 25 year gap he will be more experienced than Obama.

The weakness of the McCain/Palin ticket seems to be economics. He has admitted it's not his forte and she seems to have done a decent job taking money from Washington and the Oil Companies.

Anyway after 8 years of Bush, a little socialism may not be a bad idea to counter balance that!

PS. Should we not be comparing her to Biden?

I think what you really have overall are four pretty ordinary candidates pretending to be a lot better than they are. Added to this mix is the self-righteousness and monopoly of truth of both sides, as in some of the arguments here and the shadow of one man, GW Bush.

Without the dismal 8 years of Bush who knows who if any of these candidates would currently be campaigning for the Presidency.

Where you stand on this as far as I can see comes down to how the candidate suits your politics or is not Bush, not necessarily whether they'd be any good or not. Many arguments can be made to justify why either one is better than the other.
    I think it can be built any way you want , Obama's "fantastic" policies and visions. McCain's "military" experience, Palin's madness and/or lies and Biden's , em invisibility. Ultimately people side with the one they like.

The Dems are trying to present themselves as "not" the GOP and offering all manner of things which would improve people's lives whereas the GOP seem to be hell-bent on winning an election that will then allow them to implement policies. At the moment they appear to be a lot better at it.

Considering the worsening finacical problems in the US and the now even-more extended US debt how many of these policies will see the light of day. For now all they are are promises.

McCain offers to bring the country together. That's part of his pitch. Easier to achieve and in my view more necessary than some of the lofty ideals that Obama has. Even the debate here on the election demonstrates how poorly people view the "other" side.

As McMillan commented "It's events dear boy, events" that affect things and judging by the continuing financial problems there are likely to be more of those events. Whoever wins is likely to have to deal with that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,258 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

He did not pick Palin based upon her qualifications to be VP or succeed him as president, but rather to simply cause a splash and win the election. This truly reflects on the rationale' of McCain's decision making (now, and in the future).
    Anyone running for the first office in the US is putting himself first! Does anyone out there (not yet blinded by the need to win at any cost) see the irony in this statement that is repeated over and over again? What a craic!

The only thing that four years of torture will qualify McCain for is post traumatic syndrome disorder.
    Personally, I think Clinton-Obama would have worked best for the Dems
    I agree. Palin could not win by gender if Hilliary was in play. Whether the US realises better leadership if the Dems win is another question.:rolleyes:

Whomever wins, we in Ireland lose, because neither of the platforms exhibit the competence needed.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

The possessive plural of party is parties'; parties are also groupings of politicians; and it's uncool to attack someone's grammar and spelling instead of their arguments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭eamonnm79

I agree with that 100%.

I openly admit to being a poor speller.

Unless you cannot understand what someone is trying to say then its just petty to question their spelling and shows a lack of belief in your own arguement.
    "Play the ball, not the man (person)"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Thats funny, you have quite the selective memory. That was then, this is now. Yes back in 2000, McCain did have opposing views to Bush but the smear campaign in South Carolina by Karl Rove put an end to his bid. Funny now that Rove is appalled at McCain's tactics these days.

You could say back then that McCain was different to Bush more like the Anti-Bush. But since then, McCain has put his quest to be president over his beliefs back then and has become McBush. Now as I said in another thread, I have no problem in politicians changing their views, just as long as he admit them e.g. he originally wanted to repeal the Bush tax cuts but now wants them kept. So whats that? The Bush policies. I don't see how hard it is for people to understand this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Pocono Joe

If there is to be an October surprise, I think it will be an all-out onslaught by the Republicans regarding the media's complete and utter lack of objectivity in this election process.

We will hear that Democrat operatives send a small army to dig up any dirt they possibly can on Governor Palin, which the media willingly reports with gleeful orgasmic expressiveness. Yet this same media refuses to examine and report anything possibly negavite about Obama, like troublesome holes in Obama's life, that involve a disturbing aspect that should be examined and relayed to the American People of the man who would be our President.
    http://www.americanthinker.com/2008/09/obamas_missing_years.html

Also, the American people will have drilled into their physique that the media now feels that our American government has become an elite occupation. One that the American people's capacity for self-government has become extinct. And the Republicans will stress that if "uncertified" citizens are unfit for the highest offices, then why do we trust those same citizens to select our highest officers through free elections?

And when we go to the polls on November 4th, we will know McCain and Palin. And realize there is just too much unknown about Obama to put our trust in for President, brought about by a biased media which has been viewed as elitist and non-objective for many years now. Funny how the self-proclaimed high thinkers in the media just don't get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Pocono Joe wrote: »

You harp on about objectivity and then you put forward that link? Because they can't (or haven't bothered) to find any of Obama's classmates, they call into question what he might have done during that time (with no real sources)? Nice.
    Pocono Joe wrote: »
    And when we go to the polls on November 4th, we will know ...Palin.

Except the results and findings of Troopergate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Pocono Joe

Otacon wrote: »
    Except the results and findings of Troopergate?

Or anything meaningful that Obama has done to earn him the Presidency... except for some good electioneering.