Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to pick a Studio to Record in?

• 12-09-2008 9:22pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭

I've just been noticing the Google Ads on top of Boards here. If they're to believed then Ireland is full of 'Professional' studios.

So, how do YOU pick a studio?

Is it -

1. Google Ad or advertising in general.

2. Word of mouth recommendation

3. Seeing the studio's Webpage/Myspace

4. Being local

5. Being cheap

6. The Studio's association with success

7. Just like what you've heard from it i.e. Sound Quality

What other factors are important?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Seziertisch

Word of mouth. Musicians know musicians. Positive or negative experiences get recounted. I know just from talking with others that there are some studios in Dublin where I wouldn't record based on what I've heard.

Also good results are crucial. If someone gets a good sounding recording done which is then heard by others, it can be decisive. It opens doors.

This applies on all levels. Look what working on that last U2 album did for Jacknife Lee's career.

The same is true of studios I would imagine.

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭tweeky

Look what working on that last U2 album did for Jacknife Lee's career.

More importantly the Snow Patrol albums that got him the U2 gig.

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭teamdresch

As a freelancer?
    1. Size/number of rooms (and suitability for a couple of lads to play live if necessary).
    2. Mics/Pres/Desk/Converters.
    3. Price.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

teamdresch wrote: »
    As a freelancer?
    1. Size/number of rooms (and suitability for a couple of lads to play live if necessary).
    2. Mics/Pres/Desk/Converters.
    3. Price.

Ah you've spoiled it now - that's the right answer.
    However your reply may have revealed your identity ....

Fear not, my lips are sealed;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    If they're to believed then Ireland is full of 'Professional' studios.
    grammar fail.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

............When picking studios to use my main concern is if they guy is a complete spanner...............

sei046 wrote: »
    ............When picking studios to use my main concern is if they guy is a complete spanner...............

I suppose, that should have been number 1! But it's sorta a given don't you think?

I dont think you understand.

Oh?

ah nevermind. There are lots of good studios around. Very cheap too!

I see there's an 'Award Nominated Music Studio' too? What award? Who won? Perhaps it's the winner I should book?

ah nevermind.

Nah, I smell wha you're steppin in ok!

I see there's an 'Award Nominated Music Studio' too? What award? Who won? Perhaps it's the winner I should book?

haha. 'award nominated'.

most vague boast ever.

That award nominated studio looks incredibly underwhelming!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

God I have just joined this discussion and its like when two girls start whispering in front of each-other:p:p I ask myself what are they talking about??
    1. Sound of recent recordings from bands (big names matter)
    2. Price
    3. Comfort
    4. Location
    5. Vibe

link? i can't see it

dav nagle wrote: »
    God I have just joined this discussion and its like when two girls start whispering in front of each-other:p:p I ask myself what are they talking about??
    1. Sound of recent recordings from bands (big names matter)
    2. Price
    3. Comfort
    4. Location
    5. Vibe

1. Who are these girls?
    2. Why are they whispering?
    3 Are they nominated for ANY awards?

1. Who are these girls?
    2. Why are they whispering?
    3 Are they nominated for ANY awards?

LMAO!

well at least nobody can accuse this forum of being cliquey.

Can you have cliques on a forum?

yeah i think so. except over here it's called a clique track!

I'll get my coat.

Right I am cracking open a heineken, Paul the Blizzards are up for an award with their outrageously annoying hit ' I need a doctor' that is in the iTunes top ten albums!!!

Well done in all fairness :)

Now can I clean your boots? Would you like a shoe shine or perhaps strawberries and cream? No let me rub your back!

No let me rub your back!

Dav.....why......

Right I am cracking open a heineken, Paul the Blizzards are up for an award with their outrageously annoying hit ' I need a doctor' that is in the iTunes top ten albums!!!

Well done in all fairness :)

Now can I clean your boots? Would you like a shoe shine or perhaps strawberries and cream? No let me rub your back!

expecting drunken posts from dav the chancer pikey. "Insurance? wha? dohn need dah bahss shur I'll tie dem up ouh front for de day. ya don't need a new driveway do ya?"

No let me rub your back!

You're not touching me .... that's how court cases happen, remember?

jtsuited wrote: »
    expecting drunken posts from dav the chancer pikey. "Insurance? wha? dohn need dah bahss shur I'll tie dem up ouh front for de day. ya don't need a new driveway do ya?"

You know me too well I am half kilkenny half Iraqi nomad scum! = nomad pikey traveller scum!:p

You're not touching me .... that's how court cases happen, remember?

A knacker never forgets wha!

that was possibly a little harsh on the oul you know whos.

the lesser loved community?

or the knackers?

Congrats to 'The Blizzards' fantastic band and fantastic achievement...
    All is fair in love and war! I hold nothing against no band, fair play I say! Rock n roll take it all and give them folk a god damn soul!!!