Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A player all fans love and respect?

• 13-09-2008 11:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭

Ok so I was thinking is there any player that all fans can admire for being an excellent footballer and genuine good bloke all round.

When I think of this question, I think Matt Le Tissier, or maybe Bobby Robson.

Ok Bobby may have not been the top class footballer seems a genuine bloke though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Gianfranco Zola!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Jimmy Bullard

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Bergkamp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Pele

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Save for one bad incident, Zinedine Zidane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Excellent nommos there lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,677 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Giggs - for his all-round professionalism.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Roy Keane

CiaranC wrote: »
    Roy Keane
    Very Contentious with Roy Keane, not many like him as a person.

I will also say I am not so sure about pele.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Paolo Maldini.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,593 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

eddiehead wrote: »
    Bergkamp

bergkamp!??! you must be joking, skillful but sneakily dirty and
    cowardly player with a poor attitude.

could see Pele or Zidane, maybe someone like lineker or hoddle as a player.

Solksjaer? does anyone love and respect him? He is more of the kind of
    player that all fans couldn't care less about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Shay Given, Les Ferdinand, Raul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Paolo Maldini.

agreed. no football fan on the planet can credibly say anything bad about him. legend.

CiaranC wrote: »
    Roy Keane

Troll tbh
    Dave147 wrote: »
    Shay Given, Les Ferdinand, Raul.

There's a LOT of people in Spain who don't like him.

Cafu?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Henry?

Can't remember him being involved in much controversy, seems like a decent bloke too.

tribulus wrote: »
    Henry?

Can't remember him being involved in much controversy, seems like a decent bloke too.

Ah yes but he's French, and no one likes the French.

Agree with Cafu, what about Roberto Carlos?

Yup Paulo Maldini is an utter legend, great player , and one of the most loyal footballers to play the game. At Milan for 24 years, be great if he took up coaching and went on to coach the rossoneri.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Paulo Maldini, Le Tiss, Zidane, Ronaldinho, Ole, Scholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Daemonic

Paolo Maldini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

CHD wrote: »
    Gianfranco Zola!!

PHB wrote: »

Lol I'm sure there are a few people who have been on the receiving end of his 'tackles' that don't like him.

Jari Litmanen

PHB wrote: »

scholes? feckin hell. he is a dirty player, would be surprised if anyone outside of utd loves or respects him.

didn't suggest a liverpool player above, but if we are wearing our blinkers.

Hansen,Daglish or Torres?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Lol I'm sure there are a few people who have been on the receiving end of his 'tackles' that don't like him.

You'd figure that wouldn't you, but whenever anyone in the game talks about him, they all seem to forgive him, its weird :) When commentators talk about Scholes, when any footballer talks about Scholes, if they are talking about his tackling, its pretty much a joke that after 20 years he still hasn't learn to tackle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Giggs, I never heard a bad word spoke about him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

+1 on Ryan Giggs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Mr. X wrote: »
    Very Contentious with Roy Keane, not many like him as a person.

I will also say I am not so sure about pele.

Keano can be hit and miss. But his latest comments about Jack Warner are spot on.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭35notout

Van Basten

Clayton Blackmore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Barton.

Barton.

I take it you mean Warren? His dress sense alone was worthy of admiration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Barton.

I don't think love and respect really covers it.

I've never heard much ill will towards Steve Coppell. Anyone care to prove me wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭irishpartyboy

Dinny Irwin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Mr. X wrote: »
    Ok so I was thinking is there any player that all fans can admire for being an excellent footballer and genuine good bloke all round.

Kilbane* and Beckham

* = moreso the latter of the two qualities I guess.

I hate Steve Coppell so much I cry to sleep sometimes.. :D

Yeah Irwin was my favourite player growing up, even had a Man Utd jersey just so I could have his name on the back, and a few Irish jerseys. He used stop into my pub for a pint every now and again, hence the hero worship lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

+1 on Dinny Irwin, even Pool fans dont mind him

Batistuta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭vestanpance

Redondo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Barton.

Yes, he's a player all fans would love to see his face punched in and then respect the man who did it.

Just a slight variation on the thread title;)

Stoichkov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭kensutz

Dion Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Kevin Hunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

bohsman wrote: »
    Kevin Hunt.

Ryan Giggs +1

Paulo Maldini +1

Jimmy Bullard +1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

bohsman wrote: »
    Kevin Hunt.

Definitely don't love him.

I do have lots of respect for him though.

Tom65 wrote: »
    I've never heard much ill will towards Steve Coppell. Anyone care to prove me wrong?
    Us City fans HATE him. Walked out on us a month into the job and was (allegedly) embroiled in a scandal involving someone young at the club. A very unsavoury incident.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Us City fans HATE him. Walked out on us a month into the job and was (allegedly) embroiled in a scandal involving someone young at the club. A very unsavoury incident.

agree, shocking rumours about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

can't believe no one mentioned

paul scholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,521 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

paul scholes

Did you even read the thread?

Gary Mccalister would be a nomination of mine.

paul scholes

he was mentioned, it was also noted that outside of utd fans, no-one loves or respects him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

sorry lads never saw the post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,521 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

copacetic wrote: »
    he was mentioned, it was also noted that outside of utd fans, no-one loves or respects him

Prob gonna be vilified for this, but even as a Leeds fan, I have quite a lot of respect for him. Keeps to himself, hard worker, down to Earthplayer...no wonder Ferguson loves him, he's not in the media every other day. Thats why I respect him.