Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you believe asexuality exists?

Options
  • 17-09-2008 1:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I'm a woman in my mid-30s and have never been in a proper relationship. I have had what I would call romantic crushes on guys, but things never progressed beyond a few dates. I have never felt sexual desire for anyone. I've had some sexual experiences but been utterly bored during them and tbh find the guy repellent the morning after - I just find it somehow demeaning. I do like hugs and cuddles, but am extremely uncomfortable when things move on from that.

I only recently came across the concept of asexuality and it just seems to tick so many boxes for me. I so much identify with one person's comment on it - sex is like algebra - I get the concept but its nothing I can get excited about.

But - I'm wondering if deciding I'm asexual is a cop-out on my part. Does anyone else out there think asexuality is real, or do you think its a problem that needs to be fixed?

I did go to counselling for a little while, but found it useless really. Just a lot of talking about my relationship with my father but I still felt exactly the same about everything at the end of it.

Is there anyone else there who is asexual?

Should I "come out" to my friends & family? (I'm so sick of having to pretend to be interested in finding a boyfriend/husband!)

Am I destined to be lonely? Do you think there is any chance of finding a partner that might want to have an asexual relationship with me?