Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some French woman has a problem with The Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I thought the French loved The Irish.

She is just one person, shes` hardly speaking on behalf of the entire nation of France.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Dudess wrote: »
    Wtf? The length of this thread... because of what one French woman thinks of the Irish?

And of course the inevitable "**** her for generalising - well the French are xyz so nyeh nyeh..."

Give me strength.
    Guess the Celtic tiger didn't quite see off our inferiority complex. :(

• Hmmm, you've just listed off the story of my life -except in my case they were mostly IRISH that I had trouble with plus I've lived in over 7 rented houses over 10 years with French, Australian, Polish, Belgian etc etc so have a good idea of what it's like living/working/socialising with various cultures..

I find it interesting that you've known so many French people in your life that you have been able to form such a strong opinion of them as a whole.. And you're not French?? I had only met maybe 1 French person in Ireland before I met my OH.

Are you Belgian by any chance?

No, I'm not Belgian but I have lived in Belgium, Spain and France. I worked in multilingual jobs in Ireland as well and met a lot of French people there. I've lived with French people in 3 or 4 house shares and I'm now doing an interpreting course with French and there are lots of French students doing it. So yeah, because of my circumstances I've met more French people than most.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,072 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

She is just one person, shes` hardly speaking on behalf of the entire nation of France.

It was a mischievous generalisation, I'll grant you that.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭A_SN

To be fair with you guys, if anyone pulled the opposite stunt in France, you'd get the same reactions. Except replace 'cheese' with 'potato', 'wine' with 'whiskey' and 'surrender' with 'owned by the English' :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

People in Brittany hate the Irish? Only thing I found while I was there for 6 weeks staying in French households last year was warmt, affection and interest in the Irish culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Why was this thread resurrected? O.o

• Registered Users Posts: 24,072 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Why was this thread resurrected? O.o

Some of them are dead but they won't lie down - must be time for the Boards vet to give it a big prick.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Latchy wrote: »
    The allies may have liberated europe from german tyranny ,but it was De Gaulle who stole the limelight after the liberation of paris ,which probably sums up the french mentality more than anything

typical. the man did swet feck all and took all the credit

Here, allow me to hit you with a clue stick http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_de_Gaulle#Free_French_leader_during_World_War_II

Here's for the money shot :

"Under de Gaulle's leadership, a joint force of his Free French together with French colonial troops from North Africa enabled France to field an entire army on the western front after Operation Dragoon, the invasion of southern France. This force, the French First Army, helped to liberate almost one third of the country and meant that France actively rejoined the Allies in the struggle against Germany. The French First Army captured a large section of German territory after the allied invasion thus enabling France to be an active participant in the signing of the German surrender."

The More You Know
    ==============*

A_SN wrote: »
    Here, allow me to hit you with a clue stick http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_de_Gaulle#Free_French_leader_during_World_War_II

Here's for the money shot :

"Under de Gaulle's leadership, a joint force of his Free French together with French colonial troops from North Africa enabled France to field an entire army on the western front after Operation Dragoon, the invasion of southern France. This force, the French First Army, helped to liberate almost one third of the country and meant that France actively rejoined the Allies in the struggle against Germany. The French First Army captured a large section of German territory after the allied invasion thus enabling France to be an active participant in the signing of the German surrender."

The More You Know
    ==============*

oh dear, you seem to have missed me and spacked yourself with the stick instead:rolleyes:

de Gaulle's role in the liberation of France was minor or nothing compared to Britain and America. the free French were part of the force that retook Paris and he spun it into a sort of "Paris routs the germans" that wasn't true, but the French wanted to believe. he was a great figurehead, little more.
    "I am France: The Myth of Charles de gaulle"

de Gaulle's role in the liberation of France was minor or nothing compared to Britain and America. the free French were part of the force that retook Paris and he spun it into a sort of "Paris routs the germans" that wasn't true, but the French wanted to believe. he was a great figurehead, little more.
    Oh sorry, I didn't realise that putting together and leading the armed forces of a defeated country, creating a counter-government legitimated and backed by the allies, kick-starting the national resistance movement, not letting France become the USA's bitch, freeing Paris (Eisenhower wasn't gonna do it, de Gaulle told Leclerc to go ahead with his tanks so all the Americans could do was follow), taking back a significant part of France and even part of Germany wasn't enough for you. I mean seriously, what more did you want him to do? Just because he didn't have all the men and equipment as Eisenhower?
    "I am France: The Myth of Charles de gaulle"
    Yeah I see, so you saw one documentary (from an Indiana Jones DVD made by George Lucas? WTF?! You can't be serious..) so now you think you know what you're entitled to your own opinion? More like regurgitating the stuff you saw and calling it your own opinion. ****, arguing with someone about something they learnt the most about from watching some Indiana Jones ****...
    oh dear, you seem to have missed me and spacked yourself with the stick instead:rolleyes:
    I pity the arrogant opinionated fool.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,460 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I am so glad when she was talking about races we hate,she chose Germany and France(Sorry madame,I think you are confusing us with the Americans) and did not mention the english!:D

No, she read the history books, no mention of them.

Oh sorry, I didn't realise that putting together and leading the armed forces of a defeated country, creating a counter-government legitimated and backed by the allies, kick-starting the national resistance movement, not letting France become the USA's bitch, freeing Paris (Eisenhower wasn't gonna do it, de Gaulle told Leclerc to go ahead with his tanks so all the Americans could do was follow), taking back a significant part of France and even part of Germany wasn't enough for you. I mean seriously, what more did you want him to do? Just because he didn't have all the men and equipment as Eisenhower?

Yeah I see, so you saw one documentary (from an Indiana Jones DVD made by George Lucas? WTF?! You can't be serious..) so now you think you know what you're entitled to your own opinion? More like regurgitating the stuff you saw and calling it your own opinion. ****, arguing with someone about something they learnt the most about from watching some Indiana Jones ****...

I pity the arrogant opinionated fool.

WTF man, get over yourself. this coming from a guy who uses wikipedia as a referece?
    and this stuff you say about "regurgitating the stuff you saw and calling it your own opinion" were you there? did you see this happen with your own eyes? where did you get your opinion(:rolleyes:) from?
    oh, and I saw that doc on the history channel, thank you very much. it's ironic that you're calling me arrogant.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

she is right about one thing, us irish do have an over-inflated notion of our own popularity

"everyone loves the irish" what a load of b@lloxs :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

makker wrote: »
    brendan gerry ryan o'connor

I am not sure if this is one person or a group of people :P

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Maybe that's how you see things in the lands of nobody-can-agree-to-speak-with-the-same-damn-accent, but to us the glorious and brave people of France, not having an accent means something very real. Because there's only one "correct" and standard French accent, not having an accent is having that accent. So transposed to the British Isles, that would be speaking like the Queen.

That's balls. Even with the relatively slight variations in accents, nobody misses a trick in scoffing at the thick-tongued mumble of La France Profonde, the garrulous tang of the south-coast poissonière, the mother-loving lilt of the pied noir or the ha-ha-they-talk-slow drawl of the Swiss.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I have to say I agree with some of what she's saying, although she's clearly an incredibly bitter woman.

There is little 'craic' in Ireland any more aside from getting drunk (boooring). And we *are* a nation of begrudgers.

But then the French are perfect, aren't they? ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭NedTermo

I'm sure any posters here who have travelled the world will agree that an Irish passport / accent has a lot more advantages than disadvantages.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

I am not sure if this is one person or a group of people :P
    Sounds like one person looks like ten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

fryup wrote: »
    she is right about one thing, us irish do have an over-inflated notion of our own popularity

the number of times I have heard "....That's what everyone loves about the Irish, we're not conceited" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭Reflector

My God,
    I feel horrible, it is such a racist article, is she serious. Being called Mr Paddy and then completely insulting an entire race of people whom have many different accents and not just an "oirish" accent.

Maybe she visits Ireland once a year on March 17 and gets the 123 to Temple bar at 23:30 and has a 10 minute stroll before she buses it to the airport.

I love the French, I love the country and the language and the culture but my word this woman by just associating herself with france has unfoortunately tainted the place for me as anytime I think of a french person I'll be reminded of her absolutle hate filled spiteful article

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭teddy_303

Go braid your arm pit minge, you sweat and garlic reeking hard faced tart!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

teddy_303 wrote: »
    Go braid your arm pit minge, you sweat and garlic reeking hard faced tart!

Banned.

Reflector wrote: »
    My God,
    I feel horrible, it is such a racist article, is she serious. Being called Mr Paddy and then completely insulting an entire race of people whom have many different accents and not just an "oirish" accent.

Maybe she visits Ireland once a year on March 17 and gets the 123 to Temple bar at 23:30 and has a 10 minute stroll before she buses it to the airport.

I love the French, I love the country and the language and the culture but my word this woman by just associating herself with france has unfoortunately tainted the place for me as anytime I think of a french person I'll be reminded of her absolutle hate filled spiteful article

i agree compleatly, Reflector. well siad
    (except for the last bit anyway, no matter what this racist old biddy says, I know(hope:() that she doesn't speak for all of France)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Reflector wrote: »
    My God,
    I feel horrible
    You don't really... do you?
    it is such a racist article, is she serious. Being called Mr Paddy and then completely insulting an entire race of people whom have many different accents and not just an "oirish" accent.

Maybe... so less reason to give a sh1t.
    http://pix.motivatedphotos.com/2008/11/25/633632290549165732-irony.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

fryup wrote: »

Ok so, maybe not everybody but most, indeed the vast majority I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1224773/French-lose-accent-love--Irish-lilt-voted-worlds-sexiest.html
    French lose the accent of love... as the Irish lilt is voted world's sexiest

Take that original subject of this thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Jaysus begorrah I think I need therapy after that. I'll just down a few bottles of porter and go out and burp on some tourists while regailing them with stories of how Bill Cullen bet out the Tans from Mountjoy with his bare hands.

I do agree that some Irish people have an inflated opinion of themselves, indeed there's nothing worse than the Oirish pubs that have mushrooemd over the past while, but by and large, any time I have travelled I have been well received. There are parts of the current Irish culture that I don't like, and the binge drinking is certainly a turn off for a lot of people, but I've witnessed more excessive drinking in other countries.

She just seems to be a person that is using a very wide brush to paint us all with after some bad experiences, but in my experience, is not representative of French people in general.