Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Slate?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

hah! that was a trick question

moved to dublin forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

hah! that was a trick question

moved to dublin forum.

culchie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

jackeen

*posts cartman "syg's I'mGH"*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

I worked on the last issue (not on the creative side of things, more pagination and layout... the boring part) It was sort of a best of.... hilarious stuff.
    Remember "the Fun Loving Criminals" were constantly touring in Ireland? The Slates Review:

"These fat bald cvnts are back again...."

Of course the "Blacks in the jacks" article made it in to the tabloids.

so, this was a Dublin magazine then?

Actually I don't really know,
    I remember I was sharing a house with a couple of people from Carlow at the time, my flatmate was a big fan of it.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I know (knew) the two guys who run the slate. They are still around and still writing. Actually they now produce a newsletter that goes out by emiail called "My Little Piebald" - its quite funny.

Email "Subscribe" to mylittlepiebald@gmail.com to get put on the mailing list.

If enough people want it I'll throw all the mails I have into a word doc and upload it...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

so, this was a Dublin magazine then?

Everyone was allowed read it, people from rural Ireland, Dublin people, black people....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 sack lunch

Zascar wrote: »
    I know (knew) the two guys who run the slate. They are still around and still writing. Actually they now produce a newsletter that goes out by emiail called "My Little Piebald" - its quite funny.

Email "Subscribe" to mylittlepiebald@gmail.com to get put on the mailing list.

If enough people want it I'll throw all the mails I have into a word doc and upload it...

I get mylittlepiebald every week. It's deadly, recommended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Mods: you might want to get rid of the whole editor is a <SNIP> thing, as it's blatantly untrue.

The team behind Slate were the same team being Mongrel. As far as I'm aware most of the team were/are still working in journalism/meedja around Dublin i.e have sold out. Once Mongrel folded they pimped their "talents" to the main stream press - I think the editor had a colum for either Sunday Trib or Sat Irish Times at one stage (post Mongrel)

There is absolutely no chance of it "coming back" - there was rumour of
    "a best of" cash-in at one stage but I'd say the possibility of this is pretty much dead at this stage.

Ironically twas probably blogs/ d'internet which killed the beast.

That is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

My Little Piebald is only alright. Bit of a laugh but not as good as The Slate.

One of the writers in particular is making it pretty obvious that he writes it. Could land himself in a bit of trouble considering where he works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

They used to rip apart all these big-name International dance DJs who were playing Dublin. Complete opposite of what you'd read in the mainstream press. Always got the impression The Slate actually knew more about the clubbing scene than other Irish publications did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭BigWilly

Used to love this mag. Still have a few of the good ones like The Top Ten Drugs in Ireland Ever and the Blacks in the Jacks one. Pity it folded but I'm sure it was alot of work for zero money.

Fair play to them for doing it as long as they did though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

Was it anything to do with this american mag? www.slate.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Pen1987 wrote: »
    Was it anything to do with this american mag? www.slate.com

Nope - absolutely nothing to do with that site

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

I miss it so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭JoeSchmoe

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Here is today's issue of My Little Piebald

=========================
    M Y L I T T L E P I E B A L D
    =========================
    Issue No 18
    Thursday 2 October 2008

Email subscribe to
    mylittlepiebald@gmail.com
    to have this sent to your
    inbox every Thursday

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    ++++++++++++++ M I S T E R M A J E S T E R I U M +++++++++++

::: IRISH ASSOCIATION OF BANKERS
    INTERNAL MEMO – STRICTLY PRIVATE :::

Dear members,

That was a close shave, what! For a few days it looked like
    some of our great financial institutions might hit the wall.
    But thankfully Joe Taxpayer has finally done something useful
    with himself and bailed us out of this unfortunate mess,
    which was created entirely by international forces that are
    beyond our control. Now it's time to repay the state, by
    getting filthy rich and having the run of the country again!

Here is our Association's step-by-step plan to getting
    banking back on its feet.

1. Get the chairman off the golf course and onto the
    airwaves where he'll have to keep a straight face and say that
    this deal is not the exchequer bailing out a load of greedy,
    reckless assholes-in-suits, but rather something that benefits
    every citizen of Ireland.

2. Phone the repo man and tell him you want the Jag back
    pronto.

3. Offer 120 per cent mortgages to anyone who is intelligent
    enough to negotiate those annoying time-locked doors we have
    installed in branches around the country.

4. Ring Michael Lynn and tell him all is forgiven

5. Advise the Government that curbs on executive pay, and
    all these other communist-era ideas that are going around at the
    moment, will result in another crisis – this time one where an
    unencrypted laptop with the Cabinet's private account details
    will be lost in the vicinity of the Irish Independent newsroom.

6. Affix signs with 'Liquidity is back!' alongside a
    picture of some Dom Perignon in all branches nationwide

Happy days are here again!

::: CHARITY RIP-OFF OF THE WEEK :::

Now that Wildchild Originals on Georges St and Habitat have been
    chased out of town, you might think that the era of expensive, ****
    furniture is nearing an end. Think again: now even Oxfam are at it,
    with this 'antique' (i.e. rickety and broken) chest of drawers for sale
    in their Oxfam Home shop on Francis St for €400.

::: TV THIS WEEK :::

RTE 1's latest afternoon disaster, Seoige begins on Monday at
    4.25pm. Not if Grainne and Sile fellate a Jack Russell live on
    air with the scissor sisters juggling a penis in the background
    will this be worth tuning into. Come back Joe, all is forgiven!...
    Gerry Ryan brazenly continues with his awful Ryan Confidential
    series, which must be in its sixty eighth year at this point.
    Angie, George Best's ex-wife is the victim this week, although
    it is hard to have sympathy for her seeing as she has yet to
    disown her son Calum, easily the most obnoxious thing to emerge
    from a woman since the final scene of Alien 3…Elsewhere, the dire
    Anna Nolan 'investigates teenage life' (My Generation, Tuesday,
    Network 2), and TV3's terrible-sounding documentary series How
    The Irish Have Sex
    broadcasts its first episode, also on Tuesday.

::: CHEAPO PEACHES TO NUMB THE DRUM :::

London 'DJ' Peaches Geldof will prove her credibility today by
    performing alongside Ryan Tubridy's house band at the €1.3m
    relaunch of House of Fraser Dundrum. A HoF spokeswoman said they
    chose Peaches because she doesn't cost "a huge amount compared to
    Sophie [Ellis Bextor]," who they normally use.

::: RANDOM UPCOMING EVENTS THIS WEEK :::

Today is the first ever All Ireland Poetry Day. Fortunately it will
    be largely restricted to pretentiousness hotspots like Grogan's pub
    and that lame bookshop on the corner of Dame St and Grafton St...
    Island records founder Chris Blackwell is being interviewed in
    Trinity College tomorrow night. Credited with discovering U2, Bob
    Marley and bringing reggae to the world, Blackwell has a massive
    list of enemies within the music business, including Peter Tosh (now dead)
    and Lee Perry…For any blatant southsiders, there is a Festival of
    World
    Food going on in Marlay Park all weekend…On Saturday, there
    is an 'anti-foie gras protest' outside the Pearl Brasserie on Merrion
    Street at 6pm. The following day, these food-hating dipsticks will
    hold an animal rights rally the whole way through Dublin...

::: SNITCH'S HOTLINE GOES NATIONWIDE :::

The government has just launched a 24 hour nationwide hotline which
    people can ring when they come across, at first hand, the shocking
    and deadly spectacle of on-street drug-dealing. If you see somebody
    hanging around on a street corner with a baseball cap, or somebody
    handing something to somebody else in Temple bar – both sure-fire
    signs of drug dealing – ring 1800 220 220 now. You'll be doing the
    city a favour, as well as increasing the overtime bill at the Garda
    Statistics Massage unit.

::: MORE UPCOMING BULL**** :::

Monday sees the courts back in action after their obscenely long
    holidays ...Also on Monday, the Wispa bar goes back
    on permanent sale, thanks apparently to some sad assholes who
    ran a campaign on Facebook to bring it back, although it is very
    likely that they were just a front for the marketing dept of
    Cadburys...Even less uplifting is the fact that Oasis have a new
    album out, also on Monday...

::: HOW TO FIND A HUSBAND IN DUBLIN, PART 3
    AVOCA CAFE, SUFFOLK ST :::

THE SCENE
    The café in Avoca Handweavers may seem like an unlikely place to bag a
    man, filled as it is with ruthless rich women in their 30s and 40s who
    are desperate for either a husband or an affair. Follow our guide, though,
    and you could be the lucky lady who emerges from this shark pit with a
    man between her teeth.

THE COMPETITION
    This will be intense. Most of the other women in Avoca will have husbands
    who cannot maintain an erection without a jar of Viagra and a picture of
    Thelma Mansfield to hand. Hence, any man who strays into the café area –
    even Marty Morrissey or George Hook – will probably be jumped on. Have
    some dirty tricks ready. For instance, place an expensive teapot in the
    handbag of the prettiest woman in the room and then call security. This
    will take the cow out of the game, as well as creating a talking point for
    you and any potential suitors.

STALKING YOUR PREY
    The café downstairs is your best place to lie in wait. By the time your
    target makes it there, he will be confused and dizzy from all the cashmere
    baby blankets, lettuce-coloured cardigans and boxes of granola the size of
    a coffin. Offer to help him with the menu and sympathise as he tells you he
    only came in looking for his incontinent mother's birthday present.
    If possible, find out where he's parked. The Royal College of Surgeons car
    park or the RIAC on Dawson St indicate a prime catch. The Ilac Centre means
    he probably drives a Skoda or Nissan, both strict no-nos. Once you have his
    confidence, playfully suggest he drives you out to the Forty Foot for a
    post-lunch swim and a glass or five of Chablis. Alternatively you could
    decamp to somewhere a little quieter, such as a suite at the Dylan Hotel,
    and remember girls, love is a verb, not a noun!

+++++++++++++++ GOING OUT THIS WEEK +++++++++++++++++

TODAY
    Seun Kuti, The Village. The son of 70s Nigerian pioneer Fela Kuti
    carries on the family tradition of politically charged native music.
    Expect a chin-stroking whites-only crowd as the African community
    dances away to chart rnb on the northside.
    Step On, RiRa. New clubnight dedicated to Madchester and baggy
    indie-rock nostalgia - perfect for RiRa which has barely had a lick
    of paint since it opened in the early 90s
    David O'Doherty, Vicar St.
    The Redwalls, Crawdaddy. Britpop and Beatles-fixated losers from
    Chicago.
    JK Ensemble Sessions, The Button Factory. Lyric FM's John Kelly
    curates an evening of jazz, classical and avant-garde from Bill
    Carrothers, Carly Sings, Chequerboard and more.

TOMORROW
    The Charlatans, The Academy. Have largely ditched their early
    psychedelic pop for plodding sub-Dylan workouts. Singer Tim
    Burgess DJs afterwards.
    Steve Winwood, Tripod. Like Rod Stewart, Winwood squandered his
    outstanding white soul voice in favour of dollar-chasing commercial
    cack in the 80s. To make matters worse, he's ended up with less
    birds, less money and somehow even less cred than Rod.
    Art Garfunkel, Vicar St (and Saturday). Testical-free falsetto over
    creepy solo hits like Bright Eyes.
    Crookers, Spy. Current dance music flavour of the month from Italy.
    Will remind you why Pat Kenny provides your Friday night
    entertainment these days.

SATURDAY
    Hot Press presents The Music Show, RDS (and Sunday). Ireland's
    infamous ad-bloated ****rag throws a self-congratulatory bash that's
    of no interest to anyone outside the industry. Performances from the
    usual Irish suspects (The Blizzards, Ham Sandwich, Damien Dempsey)
    and a few talks from washed up managers and musicians.
    Telepathe, Whelans. Electro folk lesbians.

SUNDAY
    Stay in and watch Glenroe on youtube.

MONDAY
    Bodies Of Water, Whelans. Progressive folk rock with hints of The
    Arcade Fire and Kate Bush. Spiky, unsettling and well worth a listen.

TUESDAY
    Nothing at all.

WEDNESDAY
    South Rakkas Crew, The Button Factory. Spacey electronic dancehall
    reggae made - fairly bizarrely - by a bunch of Canadian lads in
    Florida.
    Plastic Little, Whelans. Mutant hip-hop that's rowdily inventive.

+++++++++++ D E A T H T O T H E D O N K E Y ++++++++++++

My Little Piebald is out every Thursday
    Get it by emailing subscribe to Mylittlepiebald@gmail.com.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Follow our guide, though,
    and you could be the lucky lady who emerges from this shark pit with a
    man between her teeth.

Oh crap, I can't stop trying to suppress my laughter at that bit. I'm subscribing....:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Branoic

Ah yes, I remember the "Great Blacks in the Jacks Controversy" - that was epic! All these indignant politicians and right-minded citizens offended by the article while COMPLETELY MISSING THE POINT! Brilliant.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,032 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

Never heard of it. WTF is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

This is great, how long has mylittlepiebald been going? Its as if they never went away.

Branoic wrote: »
    Ah yes, I remember the "Great Blacks in the Jacks Controversy" - that was epic! All these indignant politicians and right-minded citizens offended by the article while COMPLETELY MISSING THE POINT! Brilliant.

Found this old thread here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-46785.html

I think I still have that particular magazine. Was it really shut down because of it?

WindSock wrote: »
    Found this old thread here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-46785.html

I think I still have that particular magazine. Was it really shut down because of it?

No. They stopped publishing because they weren't making any real money off it and they all went on to bigger and more profitable things.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    No. They stopped publishing because they weren't making any real money off it and they all went on to bigger and more profitable things.
    Not really. They were never in it for the money. They fade fcuk all money out of it, they did not even pay some of the writers. It was for the fun and the perks that came with it. Personally I always though that if they had of changed a few things they could have 'commercialised' on it and made some decent cash, but this was not in the spirit of why they did it.

They went on to more serious jobs but they were not exactly selling out...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Great stuff.
    Probably the best irish magazine since is stopped doing fanzines years ago.
    Remember the famous cover "Micky Joe Harte's mobile number is:............."then they published the number and said "Give him a call before he knows we have it"!
    I rang it too late and the number was taken off,there was a message from his management company on voicemail instead.
    Regular features included "Summer Pill watch...rolexes have been giving people stomach cramps and bad diarheaha..one user described it as "like having a cattle prod wedged up yer hole".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

I have about ten issues here in my house. I've always thought about scanning and uploading them. Maybe get together a complete collection.

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Ahh, so the more money you make, the less cynical you become? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

M Y L I T T L E P I E B A L D

Seun Kuti, The Village. The son of 70s Nigerian pioneer Fela Kuti
    carries on the family tradition of politically charged native music.
    Expect a chin-stroking whites-only crowd as the African community
    dances away to chart rnb on the northside.

:D:D

WindSock wrote: »
    Ahh, so the more money you make, the less cynical you become? :pac:

Not saying that at all. ;)

I know full well that they didn't do it for the money - but there's only so long you can put your energy into something like that before you need to move on to other things.