Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

racist or no?

124»

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

WindSock wrote: »
    There are however not very many asian boxers.

Yes there are. A hefty proportion of the olympic boxing medals went to Asian competitors.

Varkov wrote: »
    The Kenyans and Etheopians are great athletes because alot of these countries are actually large elevated plateaux's (spelling?) So they're are used to training on very little air, and when they come down to compete their bloodstream is getting a lot more oxygen.

So why do Bolivians and Peruvians never win athletics medals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yes there are. A hefty proportion of the olympic boxing medals went to Asian competitors.

Oh yeah, we lost to one, didn't we? :confused: I was going to say oriental asian, not south-east asian too, but we lost to the oriental kind. Ah well. I take that back so.

Not many Middle or Heavy Weight though?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

So why do Bolivians and Peruvians never win athletics medals?

They fail the drug tests :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Its a board that flips...sheesh :rolleyes:

How is that seen as racialist? I can't even find it in urban dictionary :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Heroditas wrote: »
    I used to work for an American company and a guy (from Cork) got in serious trouble when he was sent on assignment to the USA. He was working with a group of americans and used to say "morning boy", "howiya boy" etc etc .... probelm was that one of the guys was Black/African american (etc) and took offence.
    He got hauled up in front of HR not having a clue what he had done wrong. He got off in the end naturally but did his best to control use of the word "boy" ... or "biy" as he would obviously pronounce it.
    Aw brilliant!
    Stupid Cork bollix
    ROFFLE!! :D
    Zangetsu wrote: »
    @Dinter: Even if it is meant as one... Is someone calls you casper in an angry tone or white ghost or even cracker ( :eek: my feelings day iz soo hurted ) would you be offended? Nah... Not in the least... Its a load of sillyness really.
    I don't think you're comparing like with like though because white people don't really experience discrimination based on their colour, whereas the insults hurled at black people kinda go hand in hand with the discrimination they have experienced for centuries.
    I would have a black bassist in my band though :pac:
    :D The musician thing tends to be true all right - although the lead singer of the group Black Kids (five or six members, only two of them black) sounds white and English even though he's black and American.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Fair point Dudess but many of the people i know from 'different' backgrounds are like myself, couldn't give a ****, you call em a smelly yelow asian, they'll laugh and call you a spud picker... See? Joke! Yay! Everyone has a laugh! I only wish people weren't so uptight about this crap... In this day and age we should realise that racism is fookin hilarious :pac:

Oh I agree, when it's in a humorous context it's harmless... but there can be times when there's hostility and malice behind it.

Do you ask for an African American coffee then? :confused:

LOL :D:D:D

I prefer Caucasian coffee actually

Ok, lets put this thing into perspective, if you were in africa,(you're white) say, nigeria, which predominantaly has a black population, you wouldn't go, I was talking to this black guy, would ya? nope, you'd say I was talking to some guy, cos the black bit doesn't really helpo much now, however, if you happened upon a white person, you'd be telling your mate later, ah I met some white dude earlier. Am I right or am I right? you use different variables to differentiate between people, it all depends on the situation you are in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

The Bollox wrote: »
    would you think any less of a person who, when describing a person they met / saw / had a fight with/ etc... and one of the describing features was "he/she was black"

for example "I had a run in with a guy in the beer garden last night. tall guy, black, very broad, and had a serious temper..."

or

"I got talking to this really nice black girl at the bus stop yesterday. she had long hair, a beautiful face..."

for me it may come as a momentary shock, but in the end it's just a description and I wouldn't think any less of the person telling the story

a black guy, an Asian guy a philipino ( yes they Are everywhere ) and a white American climb to the top of mount everast.

they become stuck on top due to a blizzard and supplys are running short...

after 3 days of cold miserable mindlessness the Asian guy begins running to the edge, jumps off and says " this is for my great country and its people !! "

thenext day the phili jumps off and says " this is for my country and people "

the last and final day, the blizzard isnt stopping so the black guy, grabs the american and throws him off saying " this is for My people"

Moral of the story: Racism can be fun. :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

would you think any less of a person who, when describing a person they met / saw / had a fight with/ etc... and one of the describing features was "he/she was black"

No there is a woman who works here and she is black, very intelligent, punctual and she smells of soap.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,251 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

"I got talking to this really nice black girl at the bus stop yesterday. she had long hair, a beautiful face..."
    Would the same person also say about another girl...

"I got talking to this really nice white girl at the bus stop...?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

Would the same person also say about another girl...

"I got talking to this really nice white girl at the bus stop...?"

no, because when someone says "I was talking to some guy" or " I saw some girl" we generally assume the person is white because we are in Ireland. well I say 'we' but I may be just talking for myself

• Registered Users Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

How is that seen as racialist? I can't even find it in urban dictionary :(

phlip.. is apparently slang for philipinos...tho no one i work with as ever heard of that one:rolleyes:

no, because when someone says "I was talking to some guy" or " I saw some girl" we generally assume the person is white because we are in Ireland. well I say 'we' but I may be just talking for myself
    No, you're spot on.
    phlip.. is apparently slang for philipinos...tho no one i work with as ever heard of that one:rolleyes:
    And that's why you guys can't mention "flip chart"? Ah Christ, that's grim... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Yeah, seriously what's wrong with saying Flip-chart?? :confused:

EDIT: I see it's because Phlip can refer to a Philipino person??

I've never even heard that saying before... ohh what a sheltered life I lead.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Apparently sambo is a racial slur...which I didnt know until I said fairly loudly to a friend in a Londis "God I could murder a f*cking sambo." in reference to a sandwich. But some black American guy took great offence. Oh we laughed*

*then he mugged me and stole my shoes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

"here where do ye keep your crackers in this place ?" or "Have ye any of them golly bars in the freezer back there" can all be taken up the wrong way by Americans.

Anyway, calling someone black or white due to the general colour of their skin I wouldn't see as being racist.

What about the way all people who are half-black, half-white are called black?

And what about albino black babys (wait was that PC?)...

I don't know... cuz they're still a lot darker than white?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Zangetsu wrote: »
    Fair point Dudess but many of the people i know from 'different' backgrounds are like myself, couldn't give a ****, you call em a smelly yelow asian, they'll laugh and call you a spud picker... See? Joke! Yay! Everyone has a laugh! I only wish people weren't so uptight about this crap... In this day and age we should realise that racism is fookin hilarious :pac:

That's usually only the case if you're good friends with the person though, and you know the person in question sees it as a joke. Racism isn't fookin' hilarious when somebody is being called a 'Paki' or whatever on the street by complete strangers. These people could use the 'sure, I was only having a laugh' line to defend themselves, when they were clearly being jack-asses. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 9,499 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Some people have far too much time on their hands. :rolleyes:

"HAHA your from Pakistan! HAHAHA

"Yes and your from Ireland! HAHAHA

I see your point, I'll just never understand it lol...

"Go home you filthy pakie" shouted at you by a hostile stranger would never be pleasant, I'd imagine...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Dudess wrote: »
    "Go home you filthy pakie" shouted at you by a hostile stranger would never be pleasant, I'd imagine...

Definitely not, but sometimes people can be a-holes but cover it up with ''We were only joking''. For example, my friend witnessed an incident on a bus where two Irish lads were making fun of a foreign chap, telling him to ''go home'' and all the rest. My friend told them to stop acting like eejits, and they apologized ( to her) and said ''Ah, we were just having a laugh''. Though, the foreign guy in question was clearly annoyed. It's just you have to be careful when making such remarks, even if you do intend them as a joke.:)

However, I do find people can be over-sensitive sometimes, like not being able to order black or white coffee. :confused: Would you get away outta that! :pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭DaveyGem

I lived in a black area recently in Brooklyn. Great laugh. Although they either thought we were police or insane for living there. when they discovered we were neither they reffered to us as "little white boys" or individually either Frankie Munez (Sp) or Vanilla Ice, Personally found it very funny.

Wouldn't have ben offended if I'd overheard one of our neighbours describing us as white. FFS people would no immediatly who he was talking about if he said white, rather then if he said

"You know those guys, those young new guys with the funny hair."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

How is calling a black man emmm black racist? Unbelieveable..Shall we call him dark skinned or African American. FFS sake their black.