Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike Cost - Ripoff?

Options
  • 24-09-2008 12:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Hey,
    I'm just getting into cycling for Triathlon and went to my local bike shop to see what I might buy and get measured up for fit etc. The guy there was pretty sound and gave me loads of time and advice. Afterwards, I went online to look for the bike he reccommended (€1200) and found it was €500 cheaper including delivery from the UK.
    I really want to support my local bike shop and have the guy available for advice and repairs as I know almost nothing about bikes but €500 seems like quite a premium to pay for this kind of service.

Anyone any thoughts on this, i'd really appreciate it.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Tackleberry

Tri-Newbie wrote: »
    Hey,
    I'm just getting into cycling for Triathlon and went to my local bike shop to see what I might buy and get measured up for fit etc. The guy there was pretty sound and gave me loads of time and advice. Afterwards, I went online to look for the bike he reccommended (€1200) and found it was €500 cheaper including delivery from the UK.
    I really want to support my local bike shop and have the guy available for advice and repairs as I know almost nothing about bikes but €500 seems like quite a premium to pay for this kind of service.

Anyone any thoughts on this, i'd really appreciate it.