Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

U2 delaying new album until 2009

• 26-09-2008 7:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

Just wondering what everybody's thoughts are on the announcement from Bono that U2 are delaying their new album until early 2009?

As i understand it from reading their official site they've something like 50 or 60 tracks to choose from and they want to finish the album properly?

Looks like they don't want a rushed release, which happened previously with their 'Pop' album, which basically was unfinished.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Yeah yeah yeah yeah!

Spared more drivel for another year by that bunch of overrated fops.
    Bunch of tax dodging facially challenged weasels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Dave5

Yeah, i heard the same thing...apparently they've a rake of songs to choose from, they've already recorded a lot of stuff (50 or so songs as you say), and Bono's come up with a hell of a lot more stuff.

I heard a rumour that the album and/or a song will be called 'No Line on the Horizon'. I think Bono has already suggested that U2 fans will be surprised that their new sound, apparently it will be similar to the transition from 'The Joshua Tree' album to the 'Achtung Baby' album.

It's meant to be a radical change of sound. Well, if U2 are happy to work on the songs, get the album finished properly, and it turns out to be good/very good/or a classic, then i'm all for it!

Yeah yeah yeah yeah!

Something tells me you're not a fan, so you won't remember the days of U2 all crammed into Larry's dads car with the drum-kit stciking out of the window?...or the days that they played the ****-hole that was the Dandelion Market to five people and a dog?

Like it or not, U2 worked their collective arses off to get where they are today, one of the world's biggest bands. Believe it or not, they're not the only band to move the business angle/tax etc abroad...how dare they?:rolleyes:

If you don't like them fair enough, i respect your opinion, but you can lose the need to post like an idiot.

Who do you like musically? Perry Como?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 THFC1

Yeah yeah yeah yeah!

Seems like dr.bollocko has been let out of the mental hospital early.:D:D

FFS, it's right what they say...there's always one.

#spot, spot the looney....spot, spot, spot the lunatic#:D:D:D:D

You mean 'Richer and more wealthy than dr.bollocko bunch of tax dodging facially challenged weasels'

I suspect that dr.bollocko, may just be a tad jealous of U2.
    Prat.:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Dave5 wrote: »
    Believe it or not, they're not the only band to move the business angle/tax etc abroad...how dare they?:rolleyes:

Yes. In these economic times they decide to cut their tax contributions to our economy. Grand bunch of lads :rolleyes:

Yup certainly I am a maverick. A person that think that U2 just suck.
    Just absolutely suck and have done for 10 years.
    They are circling the drain. Making a cheap buck off of helping to kill the music I love.
    And you can rolleyes the hell out of me all night because I will rolleyes the rolleyes out of your rolleyes with a rolleyes rolleyes like a rolleyes addicted mamafappin rolleyes.

Yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

I never listen to an Irish person criticise U2. Its seen as cool to not like them.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,931 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Dave5.. keep it civil please.

One more outburst like that.. and the banhammer with hit you "by the power of Gray Skull!"

I've absolutely nothing against Bono or any of the other lads in U2. Bono can be irritatingly preachy in concerts.. but they're still plugging away making popular music. Fair fecks to them.. but there is plenty of people who had a distinct dislike for them. Everyone's entitled to their opinions but let's not get too hung up on it.

Every time a thread is made about U2, it descends into bashing. It's not clever and it's not original.. get over it people. This thread is not an excuse to bitch and moan.

Regards,

Jessica Fletcher.

PS - I mean basquille! ;)

I never listen to an Irish person criticise U2. Its seen as cool to not like them.
    Well this unfortunately is true.

And I really don't mind the tax dodging. It's just common sense really.
    But the music and the tood. And the stupid glasses. And the holier than thouness. And the reverance for Bono and U2. Jaysus I just don't get it anymore.
    What was their last worthy album? Hell, last worthy song? I dunno. I just reckon their recent stuff is, at best, forgettable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

Anybody with the mildest of interests in music would not give a **** about this album.

why

• Registered Users Posts: 42 kevinmcm

Well I have huge interest in music I certainly cant wait to hear the new U2 album.

im no fan of u2 but that is cause i dont like their style of music but i sure as hell respect them and would listen to their stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

spot the rereg lol, I too think all of the above about u2 - they suck the donkey and bono is an eejit

Hell, last worthy song? I dunno. I just reckon their recent stuff is, at best, forgettable.
    I'm by no means a U2 fan, but i've got to disagree with that opinion. 'Vertigo' is an excellent rock track and 'City of Blinding Lights' is a brilliant song.

Do yourself a favour, have a listen to 'Miracle Drug' from the 'How To Dismantle an Atomic Bomb' album. It's probably one of the greatest songs of U2's career.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Any chance it can be delayed indefinitely?

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Any chance it can be delayed indefinitely?
    What an insightful post.:rolleyes:
    There's always one.

What do you want me to say?

Bono's a cock, they haven't realised anything decent since 1991, they're tax dodgin bastards.......?

We don't all have to have a **** at the prospect of a new realise from 'Ireland's favourite sons'.

Anybody with the mildest of interests in music would not give a **** about this album.
    As i've already said, i'm not a U2 fan. Some people love them, some people hate them.

Some people love Oasis, some people hate them.
    Some people love REM, some people hate them.
    Some people love 50 Cent, some people hate him.
    Some people love Damien Rice, some people hate him...blah, blah...the list is endless.

If somebody taste in music differs from mine, i'm not going to come on to a forum and suggest that anybody with the mildest interest shouldn't buy U2's album, because he doesn't happen to like U2?..different strokes for different folks.

Just seems pointless to me to start slagging off a band you happen to dislike, just because you're of the view that you don't like their music.:confused:

Bono's a cock, they haven't realised anything decent since 1991, they're tax dodgin bastards.......?

We don't all have to have a **** at the prospect of a new realise from 'Ireland's favourite sons'.
    That's your opinion mate.
    Doesn't mean that it's a universally held belief.

The problem with U2 is I wouldnt have any beef with them if every Oirish person didnt try to make them out to be the second coming of Jebus. They're an ok band (all average musicians with a pretentious singer) with some good songs (mostly ones written while I was in nappies) who have a bigger hype about them than any band I've seen. It's hard to listen to that rubbish all the time.

I got bought their last album as a present (showing just how well my aunt knows me :rolleyes:) and I thought there were maybe 2 songs that werent sub standard. If it was a band releasing their debut album it would have gotten a 5 or a 6 out of ten but because it's U2 it gets a 9/10. :(

Oh of course, U2 are the only band in the history of music to move their tax affairs out of their home country. No other band's ever done that before.:rolleyes:

The problem with U2 is I wouldnt have any beef with them if every Oirish person didnt try to make them out to be the second coming of Jebus. They're an ok band (all average musicians with a pretentious singer) with some good songs (mostly ones written while I was in nappies) who have a bigger hype about them than any band I've seen. It's hard to listen to that rubbish all the time.

I got bought their last album as a present (showing just how well my aunt knows me :rolleyes:) and I thought there were maybe 2 songs that werent sub standard. If it was a band releasing their debut album it would have gotten a 5 or a 6 out of ten but because it's U2 it gets a 9/10. :(
    Are you seriously trying to tell me that Bono is the only 'pretentious' lead singer in a band...that there's ever been in the history of music? C'mon.:rolleyes:

U2 have hype attached to them? Blimey, if it's 'hype' you're after take a look at the likes of Oasis and the Arctic Monkeys.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,931 ✭✭✭✭Basq

For f*cks sake, next person who makes a comment not related to U2's music gets a banning!

Yes, it's harsh but as I've already mentioned, these threads about U2 always descend into a discussion on everything bar their music, and I (and many others) are getting increasingly peeved at it.

Fair enough.

I expect another musically shite album that will be filled with commercialised drival but will be critically acclaimed and will spawn a sell out world tour.

It'll probably sound like pretty much everything they ever did bar 2 albums.

Their best album was the Joshua Tree. Since then I dont think they;ve put out anything with more than 3 or 4 decent songs.....and I'm not expecting them to. I don't think that as musicians they have it in them to develop their sound and still sound good. the edge must have a patent on the particular guitar lick by now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Not a huge fan of U2 but I do quite like a lot of their stuff.
    Their last 2 albums both had some great tracks ("Kite", "All Because Of You", "Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own") but also had too much filler. ("New York", "Grace", "A Man And A Woman")

Hopefully this one will be more consistent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Poor Man's Radiohead.

I'm actually looking forward to the new U2 release, Eno & Lanois have been salivating over it.

Anyway it's been 5 years since HTDAAB so it's about time, leave it any longer & they'll give Axl Rose a run for his money.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭jazoo

You dont have to buy the new album if you dont like them.The choice is yours but their worldwide album and ticket sales speaks for itself.Irish bergrudgers,you never here the brits slag off the beatles or the stones or the who.The personality of the band members should not get in the way of the music which at the end of the day is what its all about.Im not a big Bono fan but i like the music, and if i had their money i would be a tax dodger as well