Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Poker books do you recommend?

Options
  • 30-09-2008 2:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭

I am relatively new to poker and have been playing on and off for about two years. I have always saying that im going to get more serious bout the game and I want to start by reading as much as I can. I have two questions:

1. What poker books do you recommend?

2. Do certain books clash with each other theory-wise and should avoid reading both or should I try to absorb a bit of everything?

I have read a few books previously, I just need a few more.
    Tagged:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭Hosef

defenitely get The Theory of Poker by Sklansky first if you don't have it already. It can be tough going but there is some really fundamental stuff in there that every serious poker player should understand

After that it depends to a degree on what games you are concentrating on....i.e. hold'em/omaha, cash/tournament, 6 max/full ring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭adzer86

READ THROUGH THE POKER GUIDE STICKY, IT WILL HELP ALOT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

If your interested in tournaments Harrington on holdem Vol II is definitly worth getting. Vol I isnt really, as it will tell you the basics but since you have been playing two years or so you probaly are good at.

I only read Vol I recently and I thought some of the stuff with a bit wrong.