Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moped/Scooter Dealerships ??

• 01-10-2008 8:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭

Right lads, I know this is going to sound a bit rediculous ( Infact I keep laughing to myself everytime I think about it ), but I am sick of walking an hour to get to college, so I am looking for a cheap scooter. Is there anywhere in Waterford that sells them second hand ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Typhoon.

Check up in Marcus Dohertys (opposite Jonny walkers chipper)in the mayors walk. he sells new ones but I've often seen Adverts stuck up in the shop of people selling ones

best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

HB motors or Hilten Hinks (the owners actual name:D) on the cork road may have some or check their notice board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

HB motors or Hilten Hinks (the owners actual name:D) on the cork road may have some or check their notice board.

His name is Hilton Hincks, he's my cousin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

trishw78 wrote: »
    Did he not put the same name just with Incorrect spelling

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

why not get a bike and cycle?
    cheap as chips, costs feck all to run and makes you fit all at the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

If you're willing to venture out of the city, Southside Scooters in Dungarvan is the place to go for your scootering needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

southside are expensive though. a mate of mine got a vespa off ebay from this chap http://www.goodtech.biz/vespas/index.htm
    its unreal. cost him half of what it would cost to buy here, even though it was shipped from vietnam. fully reconditioned and restored. i'm thinking of getting meself one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 vespa

longshanks wrote: »
    southside are expensive though. a mate of mine got a vespa off ebay from this chap http://www.goodtech.biz/vespas/index.htm
    its unreal. cost him half of what it would cost to buy here, even though it was shipped from vietnam. fully reconditioned and restored. i'm thinking of getting meself one

When you say expensive you have to remember that the person you are buying from in Vietnam you cant bring the scooter back if anything goes wrong and belive me it can be even more expensive if the scooter snaps in half. I have seen scooters from Vietnam that have been welded using coke cans so just beware when buying from these dealers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Thanks for the responces lads, I'm really just looking the cheapest Scooter I can find that is road worthy, preferrably ones that are less then 10 years old, so the specialist vespa places are probably a bot too expensive for me.

I'm going to check out HB motors and try and find out a bit more about Marcus Dohertys. If anyone has any other places that you think would be similar please do post here to let me know about it.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,040 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Just beware, that these things can be very dangerous. A mate of mine, came off his one when he skidded on a bit of oil coming up to the roundabout at the tramore road.He was not travelling at speed and was preparing to stop upon entering the roundabout. He came down bad on his left arm and shoulder. This happened at the end of July 2007, and he is still out of work with it and still requires atleast one more operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

vespa wrote: »
    When you say expensive you have to remember that the person you are buying from in Vietnam you cant bring the scooter back if anything goes wrong and belive me it can be even more expensive if the scooter snaps in half. I have seen scooters from Vietnam that have been welded using coke cans so just beware when buying from these dealers

scooters snapping in half from being welded with coke cans?? thats believable
    anyhoo, if you check the link i gave there is plenty of feedback singing the praises of the chap selling them. good follow up services as well apparently

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Just beware, that these things can be very dangerous. A mate of mine, came off his one when he skidded on a bit of oil coming up to the roundabout at the tramore road.He was not travelling at speed and was preparing to stop upon entering the roundabout. He came down bad on his left arm and shoulder. This happened at the end of July 2007, and he is still out of work with it and still requires atleast one more operation.

Iv seen a chap fall of it on my estate also - the road was slippy at the time.

Saying that, the amount of idiots who drive very carelessly is scary. All very young lads also. Thankfully, once spotted the Guards are quick to pull them over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 vespa

longshanks wrote: »
    scooters snapping in half from being welded with coke cans?? thats believable
    anyhoo, if you check the link i gave there is plenty of feedback singing the praises of the chap selling them. good follow up services as well apparently

Check out here and you will see what has come from this part of the world. I am not saying all dealers are like that and selling poor grades of scooters but belive me I have got one that was a complete dead trap. anyway check it out for yourself at the Lambretta Club of Great Britain or http://www.scoot-central.com/4.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

trishw78 wrote: »
    Well what the hell am i plugging his business for then?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

Thanks for the responces lads, I'm really just looking the cheapest Scooter I can find that is road worthy, preferrably ones that are less then 10 years old, so the specialist vespa places are probably a bot too expensive for me.

Don't write them off as too expensice until you get a few prices. You might be pleasantly surprised.