Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brainstorming Thread

• 07-10-2008 7:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭

Right, so, I don't intend this as a thread for people to come along and say they want a tatt but don't know what, so what do we think, ie. the people who deserve STOOPID inked across their foreheads. It is however a thread for those of us, who know what we want, just need help with the imagery, eg. you want a dragon, but you're not sure if you prefer tribal design or japanese design, so ye come here and ye go, "oi lads, what dye think of such'n'such?!"

Just thought it might be handy for us, rather than starting a load of threads on it...

So here go's, me first, I have cherries with a star on the front of my thigh, I'm getting lucky dice, with sort of shooting stars attached at an angle up my thigh/hip region, I'm now debating working this into a sorta half "sleeve" round my thigh, with a vegas/casino theme, however since I have, cherries, and will have shooting stars and lucky dice, I'm actually running out of imagery that I think will work, all extra I've got is cards, like an Ace or summit...anyone got anymore idea's? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Molberts

A vegas themed pin up perhaps? I <3 pin ups ;)

51UUo1UvmaL._AA280_.jpg

Gambling%20Los%20Vegas%20Vintage%20Sign_THUMBNAIL.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

Vegas theme could be cool. Throw a One armed bandit in there and that neon cowboy sign, aces / cherries and all are cool but there's alot of them out there, unless you're specifically going for a traditional style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

hmm...yeah...not really sure, I do want a more old school look about it as opposed to all newey stuff...

By "old school" I take it you mean you're looking to incorporate traditional imagery such as the cherries and aces as you mentioned as oppossed to "old school" meaning Sailor Jerry 3 colour style of tattooing? TBH there are plenty of these type of tattoos, nothing wrong with that, its just the imagery and style are already represented as you could see on bmezine etc, so there plenty to reference off there. Traditional is traditional really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

this is true, just lookin if anyone has an imagery suggestions, I like to try design my own tattoos so colour and styling will be my own...

Maybe if you start thinking more Rockabilly style as opposed to Vegas style. the reason I suggest this is that with Rockabilly you have more options on the imagery front plus you can incorporate Vegas style images and it would all flow nicely.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

http://www.abc.net.au/science/news/img/health/fruitmachine.jpg

Cherries could make up part of a fruit machine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭rstans

Any ideas here appreciated.
    Got the ogham tat done months ago and it loks like e rugby ball. Posted here a while ago and had a few ideas but didn't get anything done because of a leg infection.
    Anyway I've done one drawing that is definitely the favourite so far. As I said, any opinions/suggestions much appreciated.
    The original tat is 8 inches high by 3 wide and is on my calf.
    Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

You had another one in your other thread with a kind of Celtic style frame around it. That looked pretty good.

If you tilted the celtic frame at an angle though and went with a kind of diamond shape around it though it might look better.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,921 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Le Rack wrote: »
    this is true, just lookin if anyone has an imagery suggestions, I like to try design my own tattoos so colour and styling will be my own...

You could maybe do some poker chips and a few dollar bills or something? I think Diceicle is right though, you'd probably have a wider choice of images with the Rockabilly style, and you'd probably be able to merge them quite well. Molbert's idea of a pinup is great too! You could get a Vegas showgirl, you know with the little costumes and feathers etc :)

Edit: also maybe some of the other fruits/things that come up on a fruit machine? And some quarters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

pin-up
    So I'm thinking about getting this pip up done with a mermaid body, any suggestions?? I originally wanted to get one in black an grey but maybe color would look better??

Kya1976 wrote: »
    pin-up
    So I'm thinking about getting this pip up done with a mermaid body, any suggestions?? I originally wanted to get one in black an grey but maybe color would look better??

Colour for sure. Black n Grey would make it look like a nice B/W photo but at the end of the day with a sea themed, mermaid pinup piece you've got scope to use loads of nice blues, greens etc. It'll make a great tattoo as long as you dont skimp on size and pick only the best artist, which may mean travelling abroad but it would be well worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Diceicle wrote: »
    Colour for sure. Black n Grey would make it look like a nice B/W photo but at the end of the day with a sea themed, mermaid pinup piece you've got scope to use loads of nice blues, greens etc. It'll make a great tattoo as long as you dont skimp on size and pick only the best artist, which may mean travelling abroad but it would be well worth it.

wow love the pic!!:D yeah it's gonna be all over my lower leg so it'll be fairly big. Yeah color is prolly the best choice it really wouldn't stand out in black and grey as much.
    Thanks!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

I had my nipple pierced during the summer, and there was a slight arse-up made of it, it was done freehand and too deep. It's still healing nicely though.
    I was considering having a cross type thing done on it, but that wouldn't be possible because of the deepness, so and idea popped into my head to have a ring put in under the bar, as in, towards the bottom of my nipple.

I've never seen an off-centre nipple piercing, and think this would look realy cool. Are aff-centre nipple piercings feasible?

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭pixiestix

CianRyan wrote: »

it'd look cool if you got the heart as the body of the guitar and the whole thing is hooked up to the speaker, and the writing/branding on the speaker reads 'follow your heart' or something. have the wires coming out of the arteries/veins on the heart/body of guitar and attaching to the speaker.

just a idea :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Actually that does sound really cool!

Gotta get my sketch on! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

pixiestix wrote: »
    it'd look cool if you got the heart as the body of the guitar and the whole thing is hooked up to the speaker, and the writing/branding on the speaker reads 'follow your heart' or something. have the wires coming out of the arteries/veins on the heart/body of guitar and attaching to the speaker.

Yeah sounds cool!!!!

no bother, been designing tattoos for a while, so ideas just kinda come to me:o

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

pixiestix wrote: »

That's exactly what I was thinking when I was reading Cian's post and looking at the images :D

we thinked the same thing cos we rock...yupyup

Gonna start a sleeve early next year maybe march..... I want the it to be centered around a post apocalypse, mixing both the human side(nuclear fallout, zomies???? etc) and a dark fantasy side (demons etc)

I have sourced feck all material so far, only kinda bits and pieces out of magazines and so.

Anyone know of artists that have maybe done similar kinda work to this???

Ta

Okay if anyone can help me out on this one i'd be really appreciative. Its a theme i've been researching with almost a year now but i'm kind of running into a brick wall.

I'm trying to run together a design of the war paint that the celts used to wear going into battle but obviously being that long ago there are very few artist interpretations of how it might have looked.

The only thing known is that it was based on spiral patterns and was woad blue in colour. I've been researching celtic spirals and everything seems to come back to the Triskele or the triple spiral.

I'm trying to incorporate this into a war paint design for the upper arm/shoulder/chest area but i'm having a couple of problems.

Firstly lets have a look at the below design -
    untitled.jpg
    Its basically multiple Triskele sitting together but it doesn't "flow" at all. (Apologies for the blockiness but i'm useless at image editing, you get the idea).

I have a few books with weaving patterns too but they seem to look more like standard tribal when drawn out properly.

Can anyone recommend some ideas for me to go with based on this I want it to look similar to what the original may have looked like - not to be mistaken for standard tribal or maouri style stuff.

My other concern is that it will just look like a pile of blue squiggles when its done. I spoke to one tattooist about it who suggested having it look like it was embossed on an armor plate but while it sounds cool, not quite what I'm after either.

Any suggestions etc would be great.

vangoz wrote: »
    Gonna start a sleeve early next year maybe march..... I want the it to be centered around a post apocalypse, mixing both the human side(nuclear fallout, zomies???? etc) and a dark fantasy side (demons etc)

I have sourced feck all material so far, only kinda bits and pieces out of magazines and so.

Ta

Have you ever read the walking dead comics ? There's some really good zombie artwork in those IIRC. No idea about artists though, sorry. Maybe if its going to be very detailed someone specializing in portrait style work like Joe Myler in JMD's waterford maybe ?

vangoz wrote: »

Ta

For something like what you're looking for my artist for suggestion would be Marius up in Snakebite. Take a look at his portfolio, he has a nice selection of Black n Grey / horror stuff that should suffice. Just try and bring in as much reference as possible to give him a good idea what you're thinkin.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Mariusz is not there at the minute though:
    Mariusz has returned to Poland, watch this space for news of his return.

Thanks guys

• Registered Users Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

Hey guys. My bf wants a tatt of some kinda devil or demon but with angel wings. I've been googling and found a few. I havent had a chance to show him yet. Just wondering if ye have any ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭enimakat

phi3 wrote: »
    Hey guys. My bf wants a tatt of some kinda devil or demon but with angel wings. I've been googling and found a few. I havent had a chance to show him yet. Just wondering if ye have any ideas.

love the wings of the second (without the curly bit at the front) put with the stance of the third but maybe with a hood to cast a shadow but still being able to see the eyes. some nice ideas there tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Cherryvega

c - 13 wrote: »
    Okay if anyone can help me out on this one i'd be really appreciative. Its a theme i've been researching with almost a year now but i'm kind of running into a brick wall.

I'm trying to run together a design of the war paint that the celts used to wear going into battle but obviously being that long ago there are very few artist interpretations of how it might have looked.

The only thing known is that it was based on spiral patterns and was woad blue in colour. I've been researching celtic spirals and everything seems to come back to the Triskele or the triple spiral.

I'm trying to incorporate this into a war paint design for the upper arm/shoulder/chest area but i'm having a couple of problems.

Firstly lets have a look at the below design -
    untitled.jpg
    Its basically multiple Triskele sitting together but it doesn't "flow" at all. (Apologies for the blockiness but i'm useless at image editing, you get the idea).

I have a few books with weaving patterns too but they seem to look more like standard tribal when drawn out properly.

Can anyone recommend some ideas for me to go with based on this I want it to look similar to what the original may have looked like - not to be mistaken for standard tribal or maouri style stuff.

My other concern is that it will just look like a pile of blue squiggles when its done. I spoke to one tattooist about it who suggested having it look like it was embossed on an armor plate but while it sounds cool, not quite what I'm after either.

Any suggestions etc would be great.

Are you considering going totally tribal and blocky or would you consider a more fluid, organic celtic?
    I think you'd get more movement if it was done in dot work, Skull in Celtic Resurrection in Sligo would def be the guy to do it. He's done some amazing freehand and celtic is one of his specialities :)