Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIP OFF PINTS!!! Name And Shame The Pubs Where You Were Ripped Off

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭uncle-mofo

9.50 for a Vodka and rebull in Ruby's Lounge in Waterford. Needless to say I didn't pay it.

• Site Banned Posts: 165 ✭✭narddog

And lads, 11pm price increases shouldn't start at 10.55pm either

Then don't paid the increase if you order at 10:55. Irish people should grow a set of nuts and not be cowed in public when being ripped off.

• Subscribers Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Draco

Has anyone seen any price drops since the budget? I did a quck run around of 10 Dublin city centre pubs on Wednesday and Thursday nights and only one of the (The Gin Palace) had dropped their prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Quint wrote: »
    The O2 deserves a mention, €6 for a 400ml "pint".
    They have 500ml bottles for €7, but they're only 3.2% alcohol
    Are they really only 400ml? is this all the plastic glasses? if you ask for a pint do they specifically state you are not going to get one or what? is there a measure on the plastic cup? I never got one in there, I smuggle rum in! but they looked normal size to me.
    Draco wrote: »
    I did a quck run around of 10 Dublin city centre pubs on Wednesday and Thursday nights and only one of the (The Gin Palace) had dropped their prices.
    You must have some memory for prices!

• Subscribers Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Draco

rubadub wrote: »
    You must have some memory for prices!
    Camera and notepad remembered them for me. I run Pint of Plain so I do regular runs taking down prices for the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Was in the Long Hall last night they were advertising the fact they had ' dropped their prices '

Pint of lager was 4.85 still so god knows how much it was before the change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I was in Kehoe's of S. Anne St. on Wednesday. They dropped the price of a pint of Guinness from €4.70 to €4.55 when I was there and everybody got a free pint on the house!

Good news for once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭mcaul

Draco wrote: »
    Has anyone seen any price drops since the budget? I did a quck run around of 10 Dublin city centre pubs on Wednesday and Thursday nights and only one of the (The Gin Palace) had dropped their prices.

The duty reductions come into effect on deliveries made to the pubs from thursday onwards. Stock already in the pub has the higher dury already paid, so it would take 1 - 2 weeks for price reductions to come into effect.

As for petrol stations (I know someone will moan that petrol went up immediately). most busy stations would have up to 3 deliveries per week, so tanks would have run dry within a day in most instances as motorists filled up at the lower prices.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭madonna123

Biggins wrote: »
    3.80 for a vodka in Corrigans, Drogheda, Co Louth!

thats not dear!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

6.95 for pint bottle of bulmers in hairy lemon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

€5 for a pint of Smithwicks in Mantra nightclub in Maynooth. Think the pints of Heineken, Miller etc were over €5.50 :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭scanner

:mad::mad: These guys are really starting to get on my wick, it is bad enough they are selling Northern Irish bottles of beer and minerals at rip off prices, they are now selling "Burn" (which costs 40 cent a can in the local shop)and trying to pass it off as "Redbull". I don't mind anybody trying to make a buck but to charge the full price UNBELIEVEABLE.
    I am not surprised they are losing customers and have had to close the lounge during the week as people are really starting to get pi**ed off with their shenanigans.
    To make matters worse there is still no sign of a reduction in drink prices since the budget, and deliveries of bottles can't be a factor as they are from out of state anyway.
    I know you will say walk with your feet , but this really is a one horse town where they have a virtual monopoly with the exception of Smyths(which isn't great), the sooner new competition comes to this town the better......:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

:eek::eek::eek:
    €7 for a bottle of Heineken in Morgan, Temple Bar. €9.50 for a Vodka and Coke!
    :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

€7 for a bottle of Heineken in Morgan, Temple Bar

I'm actually in shock at this!

After the Budget as well :rolleyes:

€7 for a bottle of Heineken in Morgan,
    Works out just over €12 a pint! you can get own brand vodka cheaper per ml.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

Morgan has shockin' prices. They are trying to make themselves exclusive and fancy.

Its €6.60 for a pint of heineken in there.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Rugger7

€19 odd for a triple captain'n'coke in Bojangles, he said it'd be 40 for a quadruple!! don't know how he worked that one out!:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭mattman

i think all u dublin city drinkers are gob ****es..

why? paying that much for a pint/short!

come down the country u get a short for 3.35 with a FREE dash...

and a pint around here is now anyting from 3 euro to 3.70.

gob****es! paying that...

your own fault!
    just ask the price..and its its to much..just leave! not rocket science!

m.

mattman wrote: »

your own fault!

m.

There is logic in what you say but you've neglected to mention the one major downside of your idea,

why would we want to live in the country?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

your own fault!

m.

You know the problem is not really the people in Dublin paying these prices . It's the tourists being fleeced.

come down the country u get a short for 3.35 with a FREE dash
    So how do us "gobsh!tes" get out of dublin to save a few euro?
    uncle-mofo wrote: »
    I was getting the train from Heuston to Cork on Friday, I almost had a heart attack when I saw the price was €66 for a single way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Damian Duffy

your own fault!

m.

Firstly, I'm not going down the country for a drink. Secondly, I'm not going down the country full stop. Thirdly, the prices are higher because it's the city, in general the places are better (if you know where your going) and as such you'll have to pay a bit more. And fourthly, and the most obvious if your actually from Dublin is that these are the prices being paid by idiots who end up in Temple Bar and don't know any better. No right minded Dubliner is going to spend over 6 euro on a pint and most people (usually of a certain age bracket obviously) a) drink before they go out, b) know where the cheapest and best places are and c) sneak drink in (naggin in the bag or whatever.

However, if people go into a place knowing it's expensive etc and buy the drink and then proceed to moan about it, then I hope their wallets get robbed, because you are right, they are gob****es.

Firstly, I'm not going down the country for a drink. Secondly, I'm not going down the country full stop. Thirdly, the prices are higher because it's the city, in general the places are better (if you know where your going) and as such you'll have to pay a bit more. And fourthly, and the most obvious if your actually from Dublin is that these are the prices being paid by idiots who end up in Temple Bar and don't know any better. No right minded Dubliner is going to spend over 6 euro on a pint and most people (usually of a certain age bracket obviously) a) drink before they go out, b) know where the cheapest and best places are and c) sneak drink in (naggin in the bag or whatever.

However, if people go into a place knowing it's expensive etc and buy the drink and then proceed to moan about it, then I hope their wallets get robbed, because you are right, they are gob****es.

haha..some good replys! chill people..its only a chat forum.
    im sure there are some great pubs in dublin, course there are , i was in a few. but i still think "some" of them charge crazy prices.
    Matter of where u were born i suppose. I would not live in a city if i got a free house. on saying that i was in new york for a while and loved it. but thats an exception. all u need is large amounts of cash!
    i can go out right now (its 5:30 am) and look up to the stars, no noise, leave the door open or just go for a walk in peace. i love that freedom. I allways feel like a rat in a cage in a city. but thats just me.

yeah, temple bar! omg, the prices. a friend of mine a student paid over 7 euro for a large cider! BUT it was the only one he bought. crazy...

while we on subject..giz a few pubs and good prices, im sure there are many. I heard of some hotel (murphys i think, could be wrong) just off o'connell street only charge 3.70 a pint of guinnes ? true? sounds like great value.

"in general the places are better (if you know where your going)" ..what does that mean? whats better? your hinting there..that country pubs are dirty and stinky or something. please explain.. god , there some fantastic local rural pubs. where EVERYone knows everyone, i love that. Was a 30'th party about a month ago, in which the whole village went. was about 40 of us! everyone knows every one ! fantastic. accountants, builders, teachers, guards, publicians great night..woops im going off subject...!

m.

rubadub wrote: »
    So how do us "gobsh!tes" get out of dublin to save a few euro?

well yeah! double the size of your house for the same price! great local prices ! so yes! get out and sell !

m.

There is logic in what you say but you've neglected to mention the one major downside of your idea,

why would we want to live in the country?!?

why would u want to live in a city? so matter of what u like..so we agree to disagree!

m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,594 ✭✭✭veryangryman

why would u want to live in a city? so matter of what u like..so we agree to disagree!

m.

Outside of "for a job", there is no one advantage of living in a city - why do you think so many leave them at weekends?

haha..some good replys! chill people..its only a chat forum.
    im sure there are some great pubs in dublin, course there are , i was in a few. but i still think "some" of them charge crazy prices.
    Matter of where u were born i suppose. I would not live in a city if i got a free house. on saying that i was in new york for a while and loved it. but thats an exception. all u need is large amounts of cash!
    i can go out right now (its 5:30 am) and look up to the stars, no noise, leave the door open or just go for a walk in peace. i love that freedom. I allways feel like a rat in a cage in a city. but thats just me.

yeah, temple bar! omg, the prices. a friend of mine a student paid over 7 euro for a large cider! BUT it was the only one he bought. crazy...

while we on subject..giz a few pubs and good prices, im sure there are many. I heard of some hotel (murphys i think, could be wrong) just off o'connell street only charge 3.70 a pint of guinnes ? true? sounds like great value.

"in general the places are better (if you know where your going)" ..what does that mean? whats better? your hinting there..that country pubs are dirty and stinky or something. please explain.. god , there some fantastic local rural pubs. where EVERYone knows everyone, i love that. Was a 30'th party about a month ago, in which the whole village went. was about 40 of us! everyone knows every one ! fantastic. accountants, builders, teachers, guards, publicians great night..woops im going off subject...!

m.

See, I agree with what your saying here. I would love to be able to do that BUT not at the expense of not living in the city. I love the city, we have everything. Way more places to go, things to do etc. Films, plays, gigs that you would never ever get to go to down the country. More places to go out, don't like that nightclub, I'll go to this one. That's full, I'll go to this one. Where as down the country, it's, we're going there, we have **** all choice. I know this is not the case in every county outside Dublin, I'm not a snob or anything like that. My girlfriend is from Louth and alot of my family live down the country.

It's just, for the most part, I think that every country pub is the same. You said everyone knows everyone. I ****ing hate that, why on earth would I want to go out to a place where everybody knows me and I know them. That is ridiculous and is actually one of the main reasons why Dublin people (at least that I know) hate country nights out. There's such and such, she's friends with x who went out with y....oh **** that. I want to go into town, go to a few different places, meet new people, that's the point of socialising. Last week, I was out with friends and ended up in an Aussie bar with 5 or 6 Aussies and a couple of New Zealanders just because we all got chatting and wanted to go out. You don't get that down the country. Would you not want to go to a bar and listen to music you might not have heard before whilst chatting to a girl you would ordinarily never get to meet or an american travelling through and swap travelling stories etc? You really think it's a plus to know everybody on your night's out? Maybe where just very different people which is fine but that really is my nightmare.My gf even recognises this as a very annoying country habit, that everybody knows everybody. What's even more annoying is that if I go into a bar where she lives I actually get looked at as if I'm an trespasser, there to ruin their night.

It's not a coincidence that when country people come up to Dublin to go to college (UCD, DCU wherever) that they start going out 3 or 4 times a week because they realise it's very good fun and they meet loads of new people (and go to coppers and score 20 strangers) but each to their own.

I've had good nights out down the country, don't get me wrong, I don't think they are stinky, smelly places at all. I just would never swap what I have in the city for maybe 50 cent off a pint down the country. I actually don't think any Dubliner would. Somebody prove me wrong. It's different worlds we have and I respect that but I love mine.

Outside of "for a job", there is no one advantage of living in a city - why do you think so many leave them at weekends?

What a stupid statement. So many leave them at the weekends because they are from the country and are going home for the weekend. What is strange about that? Outside of " getting a career", there is not one advantage of living in a city. Well, I'd regard that as a pretty big advantage wouldn't you? And if there is no other advantage can you explain to me why the buses up from the country are packed in recent weekends for people doing christmas shopping? Or people travelling miles for gigs, sport, shows in Dublin? Would that not be an advantage? Cause I don't really know too many people who go from Dublin to wherever to avail of the plethora of options down there.

damien!

some great points there...cant argue with that.

i suppose it just down to what u like or used to. Meeting different people, yeah when i think of it, anytime i go on holidays shur you allways meet some ! and have the crack. you do that every week!

but now and again does me!

m.