Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help with writing up my own notes.

Options
  • 10-10-2008 10:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

So, as a repeat student, I want to do the best I can. Many people here have said it's more more beneficial to make my own notes than get them off other people. I agree, I'm the kind of person who learns thing when I write them down etc.

However, I'm having trouble condensing notes, how do I know what to take down from the textbook and what not to? What if I condense too much or have too much imformation and nothing important/relevant?

This would apply to Biology and Business. If anyone can help me out, thanks a million.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭gaybitch

Well, for any subject, try to cut all the obvious fluff from the textbook away. Write notes that eliminate the need to look back over the text book when answering exam questions - neat, legible, with plenty of arrows and underlines and anything that makes something stick in your head. I did both Business and Bio, and by some freak accident or lovely examiner, I got A1s in them both. Test yourself often, get someone to get your notes and ask you questions from them. No point writing out a load of stuff if you're not learning it properly or even reading it properly!

Notes are defo handy for Biology because by writing stuff down you understand it better - eg the photosynthesis cycles, plant sexual reproduction.

Buy a revision book, and make notes from there if you are really that worried about knowing pointless info.