Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mugged by guys posing as garda

• 11-10-2008 9:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25

Nephew (16) had phone stolen and his mates phone and money stole aswell ny 2 guys posing as garda wit a blue light and siren. reg is 00D95*** if anybody has any info or simalr circumstances let me know.
    Happened on griffith avenue about 45 mins ago

reg edited

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Did you try ringing the real ones ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 itchyend

Yes

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Was it a red Mondeo?

Hi I checked the reg on cartel, it says red mondeo.
    But they say it was a fiat, hatchback, possibly punto

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

edited the reg in the original post.

Leave it to the REAL gardai to catch the criminals, if they are indeed criminals

itchyend wrote: »
    Hi I checked the reg on cartel, it says red mondeo.
    But they say it was a fiat, hatchback, possibly punto

That's why I asked...fake plates....difficult to trace.

No offence, but Punto...unmarked Garda car:confused::confused:

ninty9er wrote: »
    That's why I asked...fake plates....difficult to trace.

No offence, but Punto...unmarked Garda car:confused::confused:

TO an adult that might seem suspicious
    but to a 16 year old and 15 yearold

TO an adult that might seem suspicious
    but to a 16 year old and 15 yearold

Most 16 year olds I know can spot an unmarked car a mile off....probably because I point them out so often though:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,322 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Most 16 year olds I know can spot an unmarked car a mile off....probably because I point them out so often though:D:D
    Ummm, ...... OK. Any particular reason you frequently point out unmarked Garda cars to this age group? :eek:

Not your ornery onager

listen, phone the samaritans if your lookin for a chat ya sad act

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

Agreed
    Last year i was well able to spot one same now,
    They have easy tell tail signs
    Were they wearing uniform etc?

listen, phone the samaritans if your lookin for a chat ya sad act

You came here looking for help. I posed a reasonable question. now retract the sad act comment or eff off:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

did the punto even have an extra antenna on the roof?

itchyend warned, no need for that.

99-er ...deep breaths :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

peasant wrote: »
    edited the reg in the original post.

Leave it to the REAL gardai to catch the criminals, if they are indeed criminals

Right, lads pull up in a car posing as garda on a couple of teenagers and nick their phones, no.... they are not real criminals !! they're only pretending!!!

Impersonating a guard, what kind of sentence does that give?? Ive no advice but good luck with tracking them down.

Guys. This fella is looking for practical advice on what happened,,,dont need your opinions on what a teenager might spot or not spot. Give a bit of support FFS

Redpunto wrote: »
    Right, lads pull up in a car posing as garda on a couple of teenagers and nick their phones, no.... they are not real criminals !! they're only pretending!!!
    If the storie were true, they would indeed be criminals.

Still, no need for an internet manhunt
    a) it's the gardai's job to catch them (not ours)
    b) this is t'internet after all ...the story may not be true

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Redpunto wrote: »
    This fella is looking for practical advice on what happened
    No he/she is looking for 'information'. I'd prefer to give any information to the Gardai.

EDIT: beaten to it by peasant!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,238 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Anychance of this going to AH?! :pac::pac:

Bad luck OP but it is kinda funny. Reminds me of lads who posed as Gardaí and confiscated drink off me years ago while kn****r drinking. Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

peasant wrote: »
    If the storie were true, they would indeed be criminals.

Still, no need for an internet manhunt
    a) it's the gardai's job to catch them (not ours)
    b) this is t'internet after all ...the story may not be true

this sort of **** goes down quite often but probably more with private security guards. it reminds people not to be all that complacent (don't give em your phone!) there are very few legit reasons why a guard would pull someone over to take their phone

but private security guards will be impersonated more often because the uniform is easier to obtain and less risk involved. don't take any **** from these guys at all. the worst they can do is kick you out of a place

You came here looking for help. I posed a reasonable question. now retract the sad act comment or eff off:mad:

Stick it up your arse billly no mates, hows that for a retraction,
    and stay away from the sixteen yearolds

• Registered Users Posts: 65,450 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Stick it up your arse billly no mates, hows that for a retraction,
    and stay away from the sixteen yearolds

Lovely. Stay away from the motors forum, itchyend.

I think we're done with this thread anyway...