Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Debit/Credit for Foundation Accounting technician - how to explain to a beginner

• 13-10-2008 4:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭

I have been asked to help out an absolute beginner doing a foundation level course for Accounting Technician - so I will need to explain Debit / Credit & all basic accounting - just wondering if there's any good book/guide to explain same.
    Any info appreciated
    Thanks in advance

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

This post has been deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

If you cannot break it into simple terms you don't know what you're doing. Perhaps someone else would be more suited to the task.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭A2fan

Thanks for the reply Baby4 - more or less as I anticipated myself and will be investigating it....
    SetantaL wrote: »
    If you cannot break it into simple terms you
    don't know what you're doing. Perhaps someone else would be more suited to the task.

Not sure if you were being smart or not with that comment SetantaL...:rolleyes:That would be more or less my own view too.....however I thought one of the purpose of the forum was to look for the advice of others.......out of curiosity - if you can remember back to your own introduction to accounting - whether at Leaving Cert level or more recent - would your current (presumed qualified) knowledge of accounting be easily related to an absolute beginner as you must have been at some point? :(

Anything more helpful to offer?