Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick question about Moderators...

• 13-10-2008 11:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭

Does one have to be a registered user?
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I'd imagine so. It would not be secure/practical to have guest mods.

Do you mean "Subscriber" rather than "Registered User"? If you do, the answer is no. Subscriptions are purely voluntary donations. It is probably true that many mods show their further commitment to the site by subscribing but there is no compulsion whatsoever to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Hagar wrote: »
    I'd imagine so. It would not be secure/practical to have guest mods.

Do you mean "Subscriber" rather than "Registered User"? If you do, the answer is no. Subscriptions are purely voluntary donations. It is probably true that many mods show their further commitment to the site by subscribing but there is no compulsion whatsoever to do so.
    Yes, and a subscriber is merely a "paying registered user" as opposed to "registered user"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

As was said, you don't need to subscribe to be a mod (assuming that's what you were asking) but if you subscribe then you get access to the super sekrit first class lounge and can chat openly with such celebrities as Gordon, Vexorg, the mighty cushion (or whatever he's called), smashey and me*...

*may not be worth it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

\Begin Conspiracy
    ****This Post Does Not Exist****
    /End Conspiracy.

Yes, Steve, you are crazy.

EDIT: Ah feck, he quoted me. Intelligent rich boy. go tell mammy. :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

nevf wrote: »
    erm, well, erm, it's not really worth it at all then well so. :p
    Really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Do they get paid now that boards has revenue? If not, they should be.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

We've been over this a dozen times. Extensive coke&hookers expense budget. But God be with whatever mod who tries to get himself a free lunch at Dev's expense...

so you have to PAY for the pleasure of being a moderator.? you'd have to be a bit of a busybody really wouldn't ya. i expect all the moderators are in the garda reserve also:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

so you have to PAY for the pleasure of being a moderator.? you'd have to be a bit of a busybody really wouldn't ya. i expect all the moderators are in the garda reserve also:D

And all the Reserve Gardaí are in yore ma! Booya! *passes out on keyboard, slurrying slightly about essay deadlines*

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I like the way you think.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

No you don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Xavi6 wrote: »
    No you don't.

hahahahaha. Wait, what?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭kleefarr

I would imagine it would be difficult to moderate a forum if one was not a registered user.

Ah, should have said a subscribing user. :o

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

kleefarr wrote: »
    Ah, should have said a subscribing user. :o

FAIL! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

You don't need to be a subscriber to be a moderator. But being a subscriber does not make your chances greater.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

+1 million million million million

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

what i wanna know is

has mod ever been fired???

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Being fired implies you're being paid.

Have moderators been removed for questionable antics? Yes.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

lawl - getting paid to be a mod, that'd be great! Back Dated of course...

* calculates 6+ years of back pay + compound interest + disturbance money for dealing with tards + relocation money when we moved from Blacknight to Hosting365 and then Hosting365 to DigiWeb

I reckon I'm owed *AT LEAST* 3 pints! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Subtract the obvious pleasure you got from tazing particularly obnoxious 'tards ,and circlejerking acolytes ready to defend at your touch of a keyboard.

make that one pint!!

• Registered Users Posts: 83,235 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

All due Pints can be redeemed in Tom Dunne's virtual pub in the BGRH forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Overheal wrote: »
    All due Pints can be redeemed in John Dunne's virtual pub in the BGRH forum.
    We have a new owner? :confused::p

whoops. fixed.
    CuLT wrote: »
    Being fired implies you're being paid.

Have moderators been removed for questionable antics? Yes.

Has moderator ever been shot though?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Does paintball count?

If so, then yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

All due Pints can be redeemed in Tom Dunne's virtual pub in the BGRH forum.

That's right. Vexorg's credit card is behind the bar, so get 'em while they are, em, hot.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

That's never been proven...

<_<

>_>

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

what i wanna know is

has mod ever been fired???
    Haven't seen Mordeth in a while.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Has anyone emerged as the "next 6th" yet?
    As in, a campaigner to be the next up-and-coming-mod?

An Fhile wrote: »
    Has anyone emerged as the "next 6th" yet?
    As in, a campaigner to be the next up-and-coming-mod?
    No, I just bitch and moan when they don't consider Overheal. There was that one time though when I had a thread made in my honor...but the fúckers locked it :( I HAVE RIGHTS