Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TVR -

• 14-10-2008 4:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 499 ✭✭

I really want a TVR Tuscan -
    I think they are unbelievbable looking....

But I've read so many horror stories with reliability etc...

Does anyone have any experience???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Go to octane.ie - there's a few TVR Tuscan's there. the owners will fill you in. Cracking car!

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭MRJ

The cerbera is a nice looking car dont know if they still make them, they would wipe the floor with any Ferrari or Porsche.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭vengeance52

i love the tuscans. fantastic cars, and fun to get out of (hint, to open the door is a button on the dash)

Check http://www.pistonheads.co.uk/gassing/forum.asp?h=0&f=5

Great threads from owners of the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Funxy

It' just like every single car in the world. You are just as likely to get a lemon nissan micra as you are a tvr. If it was well cared for and a good example then it will be reliable. Any car has a chance to break down and mostly the ones with bad reputations is simply because they made less of them so it seems like they are more unreliable then something them make hundreds of thousands of. Yet in reality the % is probably the same.

If you love the car then get it. Remember bad things spread much faster then good. It's an amazing car. The only downside is the Irish roads and how badly maintained they are. You might have a sore ass after a long journey but i'm sure it will be worth it for the smile on your face :D
    MRJ wrote: »
    The cerbera is a nice looking car dont know if they still make them, they would wipe the floor with any Ferrari or Porsche.

You can't make a sweeping statment like that! What about the enzo, the gt, the gt3rs? Yes Tvr's are incrdibly fast and would wipe the floor with some very special performance cars but not everything :p

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭MRJ

Funxy wrote: »
    It' just like every single car in the world. You are just as likely to get a lemon nissan micra as you are a tvr. If it was well cared for and a good example then it will be reliable. Any car has a chance to break down and mostly the ones with bad reputations is simply because they made less of them so it seems like they are more unreliable then something them make hundreds of thousands of. Yet in reality the % is probably the same.

If you love the car then get it. Remember bad things spread much faster then good. It's an amazing car. The only downside is the Irish roads and how badly maintained they are. You might have a sore ass after a long journey but i'm sure it will be worth it for the smile on your face :D

You can't make a sweeping statment like that! What about the enzo, the gt, the gt3rs? Yes Tvr's are incrdibly fast and would wipe the floor with some very special performance cars but not everything :p
    The enzo's, gt's and the gt3rs are all in excess of £100,000 hardcore hypercars and are in a different league to the cerbera, but up against a 911 turbo,360 ferrari and a few other main stream super cars it would beat them hand down and was a bit cheaper to buy brand new

If you're serious about buying one talk to Mark4Tuscan on octane - he's got a beauty of a Tuscan S!

@MJR - The Cerb is nice but a Tuscan is so much better looking in my opinion, they're a different league of car!

MRJ wrote: »
    The enzo's, gt's and the gt3rs are all in excess of £100,000 hardcore hypercars and are in a different league to the cerbera, but up against a 911 turbo,360 ferrari and a few other main stream super cars it would beat them hand down and was a bit cheaper to buy brand new

I can't argue with you there! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

i love the tuscans. fantastic cars, and fun to get out of (hint, to open the door is a button on the dash)

Make sure to read this golden nugget of advice.

I was giving the inside a quick freshen up and when it was time to get out, couldn't find how to get out of the thing. I was seconds away from having to call the owner and ask how to get out. That would have been embarrassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭Mr.David

I say go for it. It would be advisable to have some experience getting the hands dirty on cars though, as they are not the most reliable motors (but are quite basic and so DIY gets you a long way).

Not a TVR expert myself, but one thing that you should check out is how difficult it is to get parts seeing as they arent in production anymore.

Other than that, I suppose just factor in large servicing/running/tyre bills and you'll be sorted :)

Mr.David wrote: »

Not a TVR expert myself, but one thing that you should check out is how difficult it is to get parts seeing as they arent in production anymore.

Very easy indeed. So many independents have sprung up in the past few years, once you know a few good people in the uk you'll be sorted :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

steve06 wrote: »
    Cracking car!

They are made of fibre glass right? They probably would crack with the right impact :D

As for parts, I'm nearly sure a lot of the stuff not related to the body are actually raids of Vauxhall & Ford items.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

They have some of the best sounding engine and exhaust notes of any car on the planet.......

S.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭xt40

TVR is short for trevor, the founders first name. i wonder why they shortened it:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭10-10-20

I've been camping in Le Mans for the last few years and where you get tonnes of TVR & Ferrari owners over from the UK, so it's a good chance to chat and have a shifty.
    The TVR's are just raw passion, items of beauty. For looks and engine note, they win hands-down.

But, they are not infallible and are known to have more than their fair share of problems.
    Just before TVR shut up shop, I was in a dealership in Stansted village (no guesses on which airline abandoned me there...) and there were 7 cars in the forecourt. 3 of these were display models and the other 4 had missing engines or were on blocks.

Not a way to sell cars.

Anyhow, I'm all for owning a TVR, just set your expectations of reliability low enough and you won't have a problem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

I was at the same dealership, they had some noice motors. Stansted village itself was ridiculously pretty.

• Registered Users Posts: 499 ✭✭Roonbox

Thanks for the response lads... Definitely getting one, altough Im going to make a meal out of picking one, seeing it, buying it etc so the whole process will prob take months...

I think ill hold onto my piece of **** 4 door saloon just in case however....

I saw one for the first time a few weeks ago and that was me sold, the noise,........ beautiful.

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

I'd go get myself some trining if I were you, TVR dont suffer fools lightly... wouldn't want to see you dead in a ditch

Dont worry about that, Ill be able for it

you going to go for a Tuscan S?

If I can get one, have about 30k to spend, and want one that has had the engine reconditioned, Ill prob have to travel to the UK by the looks of it....

There's a ****e load on autotrader

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭Mr.David

Go the whole hog and get this one:

http://www.pistonheads.co.uk/sales/669300.htm

Twice the power/weight of a Veyron. Well flip me pink bet ya she moves :)

Tragedy wrote: »
    I was at the same dealership, they had some noice motors. Stansted village itself was ridiculously pretty.

That would be Castle Lotus/Tvr. I was just there last week. Excellent place and really good to deal with! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I drove a Tuscan S a few years back - I have to say I have driven alot of motors but the Tuscan S was the first time I was ever in a car that I was afraid while I was driving

It didn't start well as the salesman pumped himself up before he started it and then said right I am going to admit to being a bit nervous about this :eek:

I found out why a few minutes later - they are unreal quick but given the fact it will light up the rears while you doing about 60, the lack of any sort of driver "aids" and the skittishness of the car on our poorly surfaced roads left me thinking the car wasn't for me.

I imagine a trip across the country would leave you wrecked - I couldn't imagine driving it in the wet and you'd have to have a serious think before ever giving it any sort of welly leaving a roundabout as a damp patch would mean a change of trousers.

Richard Hammond once described driving the Tuscan as being like sitting there in the pub having a great time with your mate and him suddenly without warning he rips your head off.

having said that you would get used to it - without the aids there is loads of feel through the wheel ( and seat ) and brake pedal and they purposely have a very long travel on the accelerator as an enormously crude type of Traction control. They are beautiful to look at - sound like the world is about to end when you give it sox and the interior is simply a masterpiece.

A great toy I imagine but you'll need to keep your day car.

best of luck with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Mr.David wrote: »
    Go the whole hog and get this one:

http://www.pistonheads.co.uk/sales/669300.htm

Twice the power/weight of a Veyron. Well flip me pink bet ya she moves :)

I never knew you could actually buy these! I always thought they were a concept car only owned by the extremly rich, along with the bmw z8's of the world!

If you're getting a tvr thought, get the Tuscan, the most beautiful car i've ever seen, makes ya feel good everytime you see one! But as for reliability, when richard hammond had one of the newer tvr's (brand new) it broke down 3 times in a couple of days!

But if you can afford it and can handle the heartache of it breaking down then get it! Imagine telling your friends you've to head off to fix your TVR! Oh i love it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

An olde mate of mate has a TVR Tuscan.......very, very troublesome tho. Terribly uncomfortable yoke and he admitted himself to a load of us down the pub one night that he feels like a middle aged tosser driving around it in and doesn't think he looks good climbing out of it after arriving somewhere. (mind you, he is a tosser):P
    He told me that Everything that could go wrong, does and did. Its left him stranded loads of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,238 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Lets all just take a moment to enjoy this. Possibly NSFW, your pornography filter might knock it out ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭Ferris

The Cerbera is meant to be one of the best of them but only with the AJP8 V8 engine. The 6 cylinder engines give a bit of trouble however, they blow heads and oil pumps apparently.

RobAMerc wrote: »

I imagine a trip across the country would leave you wrecked - I couldn't imagine driving it in the wet and you'd have to have a serious think before ever giving it any sort of welly leaving a roundabout as a damp patch would mean a change of trousers.

That's very true. Tvr's in ireland are not fun for doing long trips in because of how hard they are set up. Even at the softest. You need to be 100% focused at all times and you will be wrecked driving anywhere over 3 hours ;)

What car are you coming from Roon, if you don't mind me asking? I would deifnitly advice a bit of driver training in the uk once you pick it up! :D

I think even at prices like this http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/740324.htm you'll be hard pushed to get a Tuscan S landed in Ireland for 30k

• Registered Users Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Barr

Im so jealous Ive always wanted a Tuscan since I saw Swordfish ...they look an absolute cracker