Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Misogynistic lines/attitudes from porn does it bother you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Many Thousends of women all over the world in the porn industry and they aint all there at the point of a gun ,no they are there to earn a living and sell the dvds and the web sites so people can get their rocks off .I would imagine many of them dont give to hoots as to what dialogue or sexual cliche is used .It's not real life but there seems to be a culture of exceptance out there by mainly younger guys of women liking to be verbally abused in a sexual manner .

In my own expierence You get any bunch of older guys in a male envoirment and they may will use the terms such as ' get down there you bitch ' and so on but they will be creased up laughing while saying it and wouldnt dream of using the term or saying it in front of a another female employee . However , if overheard some females with a broader sense of humor will see it for what it is ,just some guys taking the piss outta porn dialouge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

stovelid wrote: »
    People whose actions have a actual corporeal impact on the lives of women.

I'm not completely disagreeing with your point here, you know. I agree that such posts add just that little bit more misogynist sh*te to the world, and I'm sure some women on boards feel uncomfortable when they read them. That said,

I can also think of a handful of other groups who must feel the same way when they read AH.
    I associate misogynist in popular usage as a gender based feminist term taken to bemale chauvinist pig and is the equivalent of being called a racist.So it is a perjorative term.

The female equivalent in proper english is misandrist (someone - a woman -who is anti-man) which is not in common usage of course the popular term is feminazi as when misandrist is used no-one understands it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

CDfm wrote: »
    Ehem - real 11 year olds dont act that way- its a fallacy.

When was the last time you went to by clothes for an 11 year old and saw that the ranges are like ?
    Its weird to think that they would be exposed to porn.

It's a trickle down effect from porn into popular culture.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    When was the last time you went to by clothes for an 11 year old and saw that the ranges are like ?

It's a trickle down effect from porn into popular culture.
    I have 2 teenage kids and nephews and nieces - so last time i bought for 11 year olds was around 2 years ago.

Yep I agree some stuff is OTT -mothers dont buy your 11 yos thongs.

I dont talk that way anything they would pick up like that they would pick up from their Mum.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

stovelid wrote: »

I can also think of a handful of other groups who must feel the same way when they read AH.

This is a great point. All kinds of people could be offended by all kinds of things on boards. I don't read AH for the reason that I've gone in there a few times and have been actually sickened by the kind of attitudes I've seen towards fat people... actually, make that fat women because everyone knows that it's ok to be fat if you're a bloke. Being a fat person myself, and one who's not crippled with shame about my appearance at that, I have a serious problem with the kind of blasé way that such language is accepted in the forum, and I've even seen it in here once or twice. My solution is not to read it. I don't have the time or the mental energy to go around picking fights with ignorant people, so I just stay out of there. If I were to mention anything I would be branded "sensitive" and most likely have abuse hurled at me... so, I avoid it.

I think that's why I'm taking issue with the issue here. I expect to be offended by those sorts of attitudes everywhere I go, online and in real life - so perhaps I'm inured to the idea of sexism as well? Desensitised? I certainly don't think that any kind of misogynist or 'fattist' behaviour is ok, but I have come to expect it in an environment such as boards. I realise that doing nothing is no solution to the problem, but when the problem arises from ignorant, insensitive people spouting ignorant, insensitive views, what can we do to change it?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

may be i am not easily upset but who cares about the script in porn movies, lets face it, are you really listening - i know i am not.

And the girls make a fortune .............fair fu.cks to them i say

Hee hee

OH: Swallow bitch

PFB: Okay, but could you just giver the sitting room a quick hoover first first

**actual conversation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

shellyboo wrote: »
    I don't read AH for the reason that I've gone in there a few times and have been actually sickened by the kind of attitudes I've seen towards fat people... actually, make that fat women because everyone knows that it's ok to be fat if you're a bloke. Being a fat person myself, and one who's not crippled with shame about my appearance at that, I have a serious problem with the kind of blasé way that such language is accepted in the forum, and I've even seen it in here once or twice. My solution is not to read it. I don't have the time or the mental energy to go around picking fights with ignorant people, so I just stay out of there. If I were to mention anything I would be branded "sensitive" and most likely have abuse hurled at me
    You'd be right - I used to moderate After Hours :eek:
    Really, there's only a handful of muppets, but I just had to discontinue because of them.

I realise that doing nothing is no solution to the problem, but when the problem arises from ignorant, insensitive people spouting ignorant, insensitive views, what can we do to change it?

Challenge it and start a discussion on it, get a dialogue going that will hopefully get a few people to think, re think and re consider.

Boards is by and large a collective of self regulating communities the likes of AH won't change unless the status quo is challenged and posts are reported enough to that the mods there have to take note and take action.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Dragan wrote: »
    Well in one episode he did tell a girl he wanted her to be his "love pig".

Why my piggy!?!?!
    I lovv-edd you piggy... I lovvvv-eeeddd you!!?!?!:D
    Dudess wrote: »
    You'd be right - I used to moderate After Hours :eek:
    Really, there's only a handful of muppets, but I just had to discontinue because of them.
    Quite understandable, it's one of the main reasons I prefer to discuss with you lot here, well that and there's not enough time in the day for all the garbage threads you have to browse in AH just to find one you don't regret spending time reading... :(
    I am curious as to the thread that started this and whether or not folks are pushing things a bit too far there though, maybe later when I've more time...
    taconnol wrote: »
    Do you feel the same way about racism, discrimination against people with disabilities, ageism, etc.

During a discussion of racism, I have heard people say "black people can be racist too", which is true - but I've never heard use it as an attempt to negate the usefulness of studying racism. So it works both ways - fine. Doesn't mean it doesn't work at all.

Right in post-modern cultures grand -isms and sweeping generalisations are losing their value but if trends exist, they exist. No point ignoring them.
    I agree but you can't complain about one group doing something when there's a growing trend of the group that are complaining about it doing it too. Hypocrisy. Either complain about BOTH groups engaging in it or the arguement is pointless.
    E.g. black people using the word n1gger, by simple virtue of them complaining if a white person uses it they are in fact themselves engaging in racism. Any rules must be absolute.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Well in one episode he did tell a girl he wanted her to be his "love pig".

Uggghhhh - did it work!?
    Gonna check it out on line - :)

taconnol and farohar have the same avatar (albeit at different angles) so this is confusing the hell out of me! :(

I dont really want to knowan answer to that one:rolleyes:

It's very simplistic to assume all the women working in hardcore pornography are in control and not being degraded - simply based on the notion that they choose this career. If only it were so simple. There are some very naive, uneducated, impoverished women who enter this industry with their eyes not fully open. There are women who have experienced sexual abuse and consider themselves nothing more than three holes, women who have a drug habit to support, women who would otherwise be prostitutes, women who want to get into mainstream movies and believe this is a back door into that industry, women who have crippling self esteem issues.
    There are women who don't realise the full extent of what they could be expected to do - some hardcore porn is downright debauched and it worries me how relaxed people are about it and how it's considered somewhat prudish to object to the downright violent nature of it.

Sure they may choose to go into it... but it might not be so easy to get out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

pseudonym1 wrote: »
    Uggghhhh - did it work!?
    Gonna check it out on line - :)

I'll leave you to find out, look for an epsiode called "Tak the new girl", i think thats it.
    Boards is by and large a collective of self regulating communities the likes of AH won't change unless the status quo is challenged and posts are reported enough to that the mods there have to take note and take action.

Out of interest, why should they change? It's really just another form of censorship. I personally don't believe i have the right to tell people what they can and cannot say. Yes, i am a Moderator on certain Fora and yes boards.ie has Charters and Rules that i enforce within those Fora.

Outside of that i really don't see the need to try and bend every forum, every conversation and all the various types of media in the world to the way that i would rather see them?

Why? Because i accept that i have a way i want to act, talk and live my life and i don't see the need to enforce that on other people. If i don't like an entire Forum's content then i simply don't go into it.

As i said, this has stopped being about porn dialogue and basically turned into a "whats wrong with AH" thread as far as i can see.

Also, what is the difference between this type of thing and thread titles like "would you move to peru and eat pussy?"

They were both designed to get people to read the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

If such comments are directed at me chances are I will just brush them off but this was different, there has been a growing amount of misogyny in AH and on the site tbh and this is a clear crass example of it.

At least two female posters have said they had a problem with the thread title-did ye report it?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

It's very simplistic to assume all the women working in hardcore pornography are in control and not being degraded - simply based on the notion that they choose this career. If only it were so simple. There are some very naive, uneducated, impoverished women who enter this industry with their eyes not fully open. There are women who have experienced sexual abuse and consider themselves nothing more than three holes, women who have a drug habit to support, women who would otherwise be prostitutes, women who want to get into mainstream movies and believe this is a back door into that industry, women who have crippling self esteem issues.
    There are women who don't realise the full extent of what they could be expected to do - some hardcore porn is downright debauched and it worries me how relaxed people are about it and how it's considered somewhat prudish to object to the downright violent nature of it.

Sure they may choose to go into it... but it might not be so easy to get out of it.

Indeed, in some of the more "unorthodox" porn I wouldn't be surprised if some of the cast were in fact prisoners (whether through people trafficing or other reasons) being forced into it.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

taconnol wrote: »
    Uh, can you point out where she said this?

Edit: I have to say, magazines like Cosmopolitan are nowhere near as derogatory to men as some men's magaines are to women (eg Nuts, etc) but they definitely seem to be moving in that direction.

You aren't comparing like with like there though, one of the girls has a U magazine on the table that has such fantastic articles as men use their dicks and cars as status symbols and why men secretly want high maintenance women (and how to be one). Cosmo is probably on a par with Esquire imo, nuts is...well probably U.

farohar wrote: »
    Indeed, in some of the more "unorthodox" porn I wouldn't be surprised if some of the cast were in fact prisoners (whether through people trafficing or other reasons) being forced into it.:(
    Yeah, there's a difference between a nasty porno made by a bunch of posh, privileged, French philosophy PhDs... and a nasty porno involving a girl who grew up in a trailer in Tennessee, left school at 13 and got regular unwanted attention from her momma's boyfriend "Uncle" Bob...

This is a great point. All kinds of people could be offended by all kinds of things on boards...... insensitive people spouting ignorant, insensitive views, what can we do to change it?

There are times I post and be damned if its something that offends me.....I can do dumb.

You will accumulate a few people you can PM.

Boardsies are an ok bunch and by and large lighten up if someone is offended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

latchyco wrote: »
    Nothing worse than bad porn .......except perhaps waiting for a taxi in the rain

There is something worse then bad porn.......no porn at all!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

As for the topic at hand, I like sex. I quite like hard sex. Shame on me. Quite a few of the girls that I have been with have also enjoyed hard sex. Some have enjoyed dirty talk.

I think it would be very foolish, and very arrogant to assume that my view of sex has been "coloured" by anything, or that the view of some of the girls I have been with has been "coloured" by anything either.

Some people like soft and slow sex. Good for them, I find that boring and it's not my cup of tea. This does not mean I should go around trying to find some reason as to why they like it and then cast it in a negative light simply because it does not appeal to me, maybe they just like it?

To be honest, this is something I see quite a bit, especially about hard sex, or the people who like hard sex. How they have some kind of woman issue, or perhaps are a control freak etc. Once again I think the human condition is far too dynamic to make such statements. And normally the same person will then say something about the girl in question having no respect for herself. lol

I think the assumption and mistake people make is that women have no control or cannot be dominant during hard sex.

I assure you that they can.

And it is awesome.

If I get banned for off topic, it will be worth it just to say... ... I just saw D's photos as well. OMG! :eek: I gotta find me a goth.

latchyco wrote: »
    Nothing worse than bad porn .......except perhaps waiting for a taxi in the rain
    ..................during takes

Anyone that gets involved in a lifestyle/occupation especially one that offers high rewards in return for little or no training have chosen it.

They may not have the qualifications to do anything else and may not want to put in the effort to get an ordinary job and go to night classes or do a course etc that is the option most people have.

Thats not exploitation - its their choice. They are not victims. They are willing.

I am not condoning it but its the way it is and Im a bloke and not a hard core movie fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

Come from porn which focuses on degradation of women and this is the issue which has been brought up in this thread.
    These phrases may be used by dominatrixes but this is still fantasy and in real life I don't think man or woman likes to talked down to unless they want to be.
    The issue here is between fantasy and real life and its boundaries between partners

If a woman is of the inclination to want to be called that as part of some fantasy fine. But generally calling a woman a whore a slut or a bitch is very offensive. Just because a guy is shagging them doenst give him an excuse to verbally abuse her. Of course there's sod all editiing in porn
    No, it doesn't bother me so much personally because it's all in the realm of fantasy, etc BUT when it starts to cross over into people's realities - that's when I get worried. Girls thinking it's "empowering" to dress up like porn stars and men thinking it's "normal" to talk to women like that.

There is a *little* bit of give an take. While a woman has the right to dress as she pleases if she dresses like a porn star she will be treated as such. We see it in rape cases where the defendant is aquitted because the alleged vicitim was not wearing any underwear before the alleged incident took place. I'm not saying that its rightI'm just saying that the image you project is the one people will define you by.
    Nope again it's an issue of consent and respect.

yeh but in a lot of pr0n there is *NO* respect for women. they are objects to hit, abuse or insert ones member into before ejaculating on thier face. which is TOTALLY sick. Is there a script ? Have they gone throught it step by step and said 'well im not agreeing to have some **** jizz on me face!' ? I somehow doubt it.

Yeah I loathe raunch culture - Bratz dolls are sickening with their heavily made-up eyes and sultry "fuk you" expressions. Some Bratz merchandise I saw recently included bed clothes - all wine and purple brothel colours.
    11-year-old girls are regularly exposed to this sh1t.

11 ???? Padded bras for 7 year olds anyone ?

AH is not the place for anything serious to be honest. My impression of it is that it is supposed to be totally mad and 'your ma'-ville etc. Maybe the offending topic should have been moved to humanities and had the name changed ?

Disclaimer : The only person i call a bitch is my brother in a comical way, and the only people I call whores are fellas that are 'cute hoors'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Also, what is the difference between this type of thing and thread titles like "would you move to peru and eat pussy?"
    Exactly ,They are imo designed to use a play on words ,titillation and a laugh . :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Ehem - real 11 year olds dont act that way- its a fallacy.

Its weird to think that they would be exposed to porn.

In theory, many feminist groups claim it happens but its probably more anecdotal and small sample stats more than anything else.
    I remember being 10 years old and finding porn mags under my 11 year-old brother's bed. So yeah, it is happening.
    I agree but you can't complain about one group doing something when there's a growing trend of the group that are complaining about it doing it too. Hypocrisy. Either complain about BOTH groups engaging in it or the arguement is pointless.
    I think we both agree on that. I'm just saying it isn't grounds NOT to look at one side..er ok I think that point is dead..!
    E.g. black people using the word n1gger, by simple virtue of them complaining if a white person uses it they are in fact themselves engaging in racism. Any rules must be absolute.
    Name calling is a funny one. I think black people took ownership of it to take the negativity out of the word and to try and build a "brotherhood" around the word. If a black person calls another black person "n1gger", they know it isn't coming from a bad place, but if a non-black person uses it, that isn't so clear..But yes, I take your point. (Although personally I'd be offended if anyone I don't know closely calls me a bitch)
    You aren't maintenance like with like there though, one of the girls has a U magazine on the table that has such fantastic articles as men use their dicks and cars as status symbols and why men secretly want high maintenance women (and how to be one). Cosmo is probably on a par with Esquire imo, nuts is...well probably U.
    I claim ignorance on crappy magazines! I've never heard of this U magazine. I used Cosmo as the girly one because it was the last crappy one I used to read eons ago

Edit: I don't think people can argue the "non-censorship" card with AH because some things are censored there, eg a guy in Feedback was complaining about being banned for his racist views on Americans. So there is a level of censorship & morality in AH, it's just what level you want it to be and what you want to apply it to.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

pseudonym1 wrote: »
    Ya like making peadaphelia and insest de rigeur!!??

You like it like that ...puuurrrrrrrrr :D

Don't you dare make wild accusations about the noble bonobos!

vaguely on topic: are people actually concerned about what people say on AH? It's something of a joke of a forum. I wouldn't take anything i read there seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Challenge it and start a discussion on it, get a dialogue going that will hopefully get a few people to think, re think and re consider.

As offensive as some things might be, there is a right to free speech, and as much as there is a right to free speech there is a right not to listen. I find many things offensive all over these boards, I have a right to be offended, I have a right to express that offense, but I don't have a right to shut someone else up, which is why I never report posts. Actually I would find a lot of the moderation on some boards as offensive if not more so than the crasser threads on after hours.

They were both designed to get people to read the post.

One is bawdy banter and a double entendre and the other is demeaning and disrespectful.

If anyone has issue with the title of the thread I started then they should report it.
    As offensive as some things might be, there is a right to free speech, and as much as there is a right to free speech there is a right not to listen.

There is no free speech on boards there is speech with in the limits that the admins lay down.

I find many things offensive all over these boards, I have a right to be offended, I have a right to express that offense, but I don't have a right to shut someone else up, which is why I never report posts.

If you choose not to use the system in place then that is your choice.
    Actually I would find a lot of the moderation on some boards as offensive if not more so than the crasser threads on after hours.

If you choose not to use the system in place then that is your choice.

Right one of the AH mods has started a thread in feedback about the thread title in AH.
    Yes he entitled it to provoke but if anyone has said here that they found that thread title offensive or cross a line please take the time to vote in the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

It bothers me in that I wouldn't personally listen to it and wouldn't like someone to say it to me - if they tried I'd just tell them to cut it out
    luckily hasn't come up yet

that said I wasn't too bothered with the "swallow bitch" thread