Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

English travellers

• 15-10-2008 12:57am
    Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭

I've been traveling for just 3 weeks now in New Zealand and I've noticed some appalling behaviour by English travelers - the young partying variety.

They are loud, ignorant and not in any way humorous.

Firstly, I was having a cigarette outside a Base hostel, and an Israeli (idiot) girl was apologising to an English girl about some argument that had taken place over someone insulting her as a Jew. The English girl hadn't been involved but all she could say was that she didn't know anything about religion and tried to ease the situation by laughing it off. She reminded me of that woman Jade who was on big brother a few years ago, and she did a pretty awful job of sympathising with the Israeli girl.

Another time, an English girl came into my dorm at 7 am on a Saturday morning after a night out, turned on the light and began speaking at normal voice level to her boyfriend while packing her stuff for the next 20 minutes or so. She had a pretty loud Southern English accent and hadn't a care in the world. I'm very sorry I didn't have a go at her then but after just been awoken I wasn't at my sharpest.

Then last night I popped into a Thai restaurant for some food after a long wildlife tour. There were about 15 English students, boys and girls, at a long table, screeching and shouting profanities, obviously drunk and quite hysterical. If I was with someone I'd couldn't have had a normal conversation. They didn't cause any trouble but if someone broke a glass or some thing I'm sure they would all have burst into hysterics.

I'm not predjudiced against the English over history or anything like that. My opinion is completely separate from any lager lout, Gran Canaria, football hooligan reputations of the English. I've got different opinions about different nations. For example, large groups of Spanish people are loud and quite hysterical also (with their group photos) but they have a warmth and are not intimidating. I've thought that England is one of the most politically correct countries in the world, but I think that mass media and education that is not valued and taken for granted by the youth, has turned the middle classes into a characterless and ignorant society.

Maybe this post is not suitable but I'd like to hear other people's views.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Brits out tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Yeah I find big hostels like base tend to attract big group of younger backpackers. In New Zealand the Kiwi Bus offers deals for these hostels. These bus tours tend be mainly young groups of backpackers, who bascially drink and party their way through the country.

My advice would be to avoid these big hostels if possible!

As for the fact that they're English? Well I noticed that a lot of the louder groups we English also! A lot of English kids seems to take a year out between school and college, and a large percentage of them tend to head travelling for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

replace the word english with irish and you can also have a perfectly viable story.

I have many English friends here, to be honest the only real difference between them and my irish friends is that they tend to complain more (this can be a good and bad thing)

hussey wrote: »
    replace the word english with irish and you can also have a perfectly viable story.

I have many English friends here, to be honest the only real difference between them and my irish friends is that they tend to complain more (this can be a good and bad thing)

Complain about what??

Probably the weather. Or the fact that the price of fags just went up.

I just find Irish people complain and take no action
    and English people complain and take action, as I said not necessarily an insult.

Stop the irish bashing please~!!!:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Why? We are a bunch of moaners and generally do feck all about it. No better or worse than the POMs for me.

As for the OP's complaint, could happen with anyone tbh. I've personally found Kiwis to be an awful shower of aggressive bastards once they've had a few scoops, particularly Maoris.

it wasn't meant to be an attack on irish people.
    I just find we are not as forthcoming in complaining as the english ... hence why it is 5Euro + a pint at home ;)

Pom's are often nicknamed "Whining POMS" in sydney

YEah thats fair enough i suppose!

0w3azsg2mcg6m7u2kvj3fz2mdntz3ruezu1s.jpg

jees relax

Sorry lads, so tired today!! Can barely see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭mrDuke

Definately Irish are worse in my opinion but big groups of any people from any country except asians are very loud in each others company.

mrDuke wrote: »
    big groups of any people from any country except asians are very loud in each others company.
    except in a casino ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

All you have to do is look at Spanish students in Dublin every summer to see that it's not just confined to one nation :mad:

except in a casino ;)

Lol! Was in the casino last weekend...jesus they throw away a serious amount of money!

Yeah but from evidence ive gathered since ive been working with Asian people is that they dont drink much cause they cant handle it.....................................................................................................................................But at least THEY know it!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Is there any forum on boards.ie where we won't have anti-British sentiment?

/me goes to check whether the gardening forum has posts about the English not being able to grow potatoes...

800 years of toment leave a bad taste. :mad:

Only jokin, im not one of those!:D

/me goes to check whether the gardening forum has posts about the English not being able to grow potatoes...

Of course they can't.
    They just rob other peoples!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

800 years of toment leave a bad taste. :mad:

Only jokin, im not one of those!:D

Feels like 2,000 years tbh with all the whinging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

anyone ever noticed that , say, in Ireland, you'd have a farmer, a lawyer, and a sparky hanging around with each other, but not necessarily in England...??

off topic....

anyways, you probably came across a group of young stuck up toffs e.g. "out of my way paddy...."

you'd get that most places. christ a bunch of italians together is hard to beat for noise..

I travelled on my own in Oz, the short time I was there, and never had a problem with English or anyone else really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

II've thought that England is one of the most politically correct countries in the world

You can't be serious pal.

Apart from that, like others said, you get that with a lot of nationalities, not just the english. If you are going to stay in hostels then you are going to be surrounded by drunk groups of people in their early twenties partying, thats just the way it goes, most people have just a year to travel, and that will be the one year they have to go a bit nuts before going home to persue a career and settle down, you can't really complain about them letting their hair down. If someone comes into your room in the early morning and is extremely inconsiderate and wakes you up, tell them to fukk off, don't write about it on the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

hussey you must be the only australian ,still left over there the rest of your country men are in london getting drunk and s.......g our girls

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Thats exactly what I see here in Ireland as an aussie. People are actually shocked when I follow up a complaint.

Im not saying the Irish cant complain, they just dont complain to those that can actually change anything.

Jumpy wrote: »
    Thats exactly what I see here in Ireland as an aussie. People are actually shocked when I follow up a complaint.

Im not saying the Irish cant complain, they just dont complain to those that can actually change anything.

QFT! I've learnt to complain since I came over, not moan, but if something is wrong with my food I'd send it back.

last week we went for food and my friends chips were stone cold, he wouldn't send them back "ah I'd be embarrassed making a scene" and "sure they'll probably spit in it"

the waitress walked by "sorry, these chips seem to be cold" "Oh sorry about that" ... when she came back she gave us free garlic bread too ... score

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

QFT! I've learnt to complain since I came over, not moan, but if something is wrong with my food I'd send it back.

last week we went for food and my friends chips were stone cold, he wouldn't send them back "ah I'd be embarrassed making a scene" and "sure they'll probably spit in it"

the waitress walked by "sorry, these chips seem to be cold" "Oh sorry about that" ... when she came back she gave us free garlic bread too ... score

Complained about your food and got a "special" free garlic bread, good job man, and hey, as an added bonus you just cut your risk of getting breast cancer I bet
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055398604

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

i can understand just what philiousphogg means,a few years ago i was in brussels ,and walking down the road in front of me was about six englishmen with bowler hats and brollys shouting in a over the top english accent .i remember at the time thinking just what will the belgiums think of us----even last feb when i was in killkenny[ireland]i was standing with my dog outside a shop in the mall talking and having a laugh with one of the cleaners -and a irish man in a posh suit came over and told her to pick up the cigarette packet of the floor--then walked away with his head held high--i said that was a bit over the top.wasent it, she said i am used to it in ireland we have more snobs than the uk-i have go to say that came as a shock to me--no not ireland

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

So it's really just a bunch of drunk people being loud that your complaing about, the fact that they were English rather than Spanish/ Italian/ French/ whatever just means that you could actually understand what they were shouting about over the general din so you therefore noticed them more. A buch of noisy people speaking in a foreign language that you don't understand are just a bunch of noisy people and your brain will just block out the noise.