Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Operation Get Rid of Those Damn Fees.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

MORE FEES = LESS DEGREES

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭.DarDarBinks

Voltwad wrote: »
    MORE FEES = LESS DEGREES
    Too true

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

We are in the very fortunate position where we dont have to pay for any schooling up until the age of 18.
    We then are asked to be a measly sum, a registration fee, which ANY 3rd level Student can pay with a 5 minute visit to the local bank and leaving with a loan.
    At the end of the day, the money we will make from our degrees come the end of our college course and over the course of our lives will be far greater than any colleges fees brought in by the state.
    The revenue raised by the government from college fees would, ultimately, benefit us in the future with more governement spending geared towards infrastructural development etc.

This Demonstration will, i'm sorry to burst your enthusiasm, be ignored by the brains in government buildings, and rightly so.
    A bunch of students trying to be high and mighty, or skip a few lectures, isnt something that Ministers will fear.

Why would you waste your time trying to make an impression on a decision that has been made and won't be changed, whether or not it means College fees or no College fees.
    You might aswell be protesting with those shell-to-sea clowns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭davedrave

the means test for over 70s health cards was included in the same budget, and is being re-examined already. Did you get a loan out to pay your fees?

yes i did actually, plus another few grand for this year, took me 5.. maybe 6 minutes.

The issue of college fees has been around well before this budget.
    I'm not saying i want them in, obviously not, but if they come in, its definitely the better decision for my future in the long run.

From reading this thread, people cheerily suggesting different chants and how big a sesh its going to be, proves to me that everyone does rightly know that this is simply going to be a bit of a laugh. Not one good point has been on this thread about what the fees are going to mean for students, not one.

only1stevo wrote: »
    I'm not saying i want them in, obviously not, but if they come in, its definitely the better decision for my future in the long run.

And for your bank

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

We wouldn't be in this mess if our future hadn't been so bolloxed up by the idiocy of our government. Now we, students, who many of us had no say in the election of this government have to pay the penalty along with elderly people. What does it say about our government when the moment trouble comes about, they immediately go for students and the elderly, groups which most people, as you said yourself, couldn't give a damn about. There, you wanted a point.
    Second, yes, most students aren't taking the protests seriously and this is tragic.
    Finally, I personally am going to have real difficulty in getting the money together for next year. You say take out a loan, but I shockingly don't have a lot of confidence in the banking system right now. You honestly come off as so arrogant, oh I just strolled in and grabbed my cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

This Demonstration will, i'm sorry to burst your enthusiasm, be ignored by the brains in government buildings, and rightly so.
    A bunch of students trying to be high and mighty, or skip a few lectures, isnt something that Ministers will fear.
    Perhaps - hope one of them has the brains to realise though that the vast majority of these "high and mighty" students are ultimately the ones who'll vote them in (or out) of the government in the future...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭BC

Now we, students, who many of us had no say in the election of this government have to pay the penalty along with elderly people.

With the exception of some first years, the majority of students would have been eligible to vote in the election last year. Certainly 2nd, 3rd & 4th years would have been over 18.

While i think that 900 to 1500 is a big hike in captiation, its better than full fees!

We wouldn't be in this mess if our future hadn't been so bolloxed up by the idiocy of our government. Now we, students, who many of us had no say in the election of this government have to pay the penalty along with elderly people. What does it say about our government when the moment trouble comes about, they immediately go for students and the elderly, groups which most people, as you said yourself, couldn't give a damn about. There, you wanted a point.

What are you on about? how has our future been bolloxed? Its on a plate for us, get your degree and there will be jobs waitin, don't get your degree and there will be lesser paid jobs waitin.
    Em... the majority of 3rd level students did indeed have a say in the election, so your making no sense there.
    What does it say about our government? it says they know what they are doing, the country would go completely belly up if the governement "goes for" the working population,which would ultimately see the slowing down productivity as well as peoples will to work, increasing pressure on the social services and increasing the dependent population of the country. We Students have a great time of it, and although now we may only be able to go out on the session once or twice a week, it wont be the end of the world.
    This discussion has nothing to do with the 70s age card, so im not going to talk about it.
    Thats not a good point just because you say so.
    In fact, i did read a few very good points on the ucd flyer my friend had in relation to the protest, but your point is a load of sh ite to be fair.

Second, yes, most students aren't taking the protests seriously and this is tragic.

I don't really think its tragic, a few cans for all and a bit of a laugh stopping the traffic on o'connell street.

Finally, I personally am going to have real difficulty in getting the money together for next year. You say take out a loan, but I shockingly don't have a lot of confidence in the banking system right now. You honestly come off as so arrogant, oh I just strolled in and grabbed my cash.

If you really want your degree, and can prove to the bank manager that you will get your degree with attendance records,exam results and a reference, you will 100% get your loan.
    Students arent in anyway seriously effected by the financial crisis or the banking syste, so stop talking out of your arse and grow a pair.
    i certainly am not arrogant, whats arrogant is the majority of students expecting everyone to be adamantly against fees as well as the Student Unions of various colleges.
    Whats arrogant is you calling your point a point.

This discussion has nothing to do with the 70s age card, so im not going to talk about it.
    Thats not a good point just because you say so.

you said we cant change things, the medical card thing is being changed already. end of story. Its a good point because it weakens your bank-happy argument

• Registered Users Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Too true

Get rid of that sig mate...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭randomcountdown

I didn't think a thread about stopping fees could POSSIBLY have any sort of disagreement.

But yet, boards.ie has **** itself all over my screen yet again. Good job boards.ie.

That said he's right though, not a single person is going to give a **** about this protest, you want a reaction go break something and cause some disturbance.

Can we talk about how we're in a RECESSION too? That's always a great one. RECESSION LADS. RECESSION JESUS.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭experiMental

I protested. I had a fabulous time. It wasn't about politics. It was all about screaming your head off and blockading Dublin City Centre just to entertain the Dail. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭elementalwater

Em.

Student Loans : Require a quareentor from a family member, my family can't afford for me to do this.

Registration Fee : Has gone up to €1500...tragic...all my summer earnings will go on this...rather silly to take out loans to pay this fee..

Free Fee's : One year in DIT can cost €6000. Plus your registration fee brings it to a grand total of €7500. This doesn't take into account the fact that a majority of students have to pay for accomadation, food, entertainments, social expenses, further educational expenses such as field trips, uniforms, equipment etc.

Don't forget aswell that nearly every student works. We now have to pay a 1% levy on our wages.

Don't forget aswell that the budget has not increased the amount of money available in the grant system. With this increase in the reg fee, the number of grants available for the next academic year will decrease.

The number of people entering thrid level education next year is already down due to this.

One more point:
    Fee's = less students coming to DIT = Staff lay-offs = bigger classes = smaller campus requirement.

I have more to say but i'm all protested out...was so much fun. We filled O'Connell Street plus some more!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

Good job chaps and lassies :P

• Registered Users Posts: 26,575 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

I went for the signs. Some very homourous ones I took photos but my battery pack died before the end and I didn't have my spare one :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

That said he's right though, not a single person is going to give a **** about this protest, you want a reaction go break something and cause some disturbance.

Great reaction from the public today all over the city centre, so you were wrong...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

If you students had any clues you'd be begging for fees.

First of all not having fees will mean you will be paying for students when you graduate. Fees will not effect you if they come as they will take at least 3 years to be implemented.
    Secondly fees are a great idea to counter your devalued degree. Degrees in Ireland are worth very little as every cowboy goes to college as they've noting better to be doing. Fees will only mean those interested go to college.
    They will also mean better colleges.
    And with a loan system like the UK and Aus it will be fair to every section of society.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

I have no problem paying for others when I graduate. Education should be protected in thid country. End of..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭joeybloggs

If you students had any clues you'd be begging for fees.

First of all not having fees will mean you will be paying for students when you graduate. Fees will not effect you if they come as they will take at least 3 years to be implemented.
    Secondly fees are a great idea to counter your devalued degree. Degrees in Ireland are worth very little as every cowboy goes to college as they've noting better to be doing. Fees will only mean those interested go to college.
    They will also mean better colleges.
    And with a loan system like the UK and Aus it will be fair to every section of society.

Jaysus !!, Didn't know Batt O' Keffe used the old Boards.Well fair play to ya.
    Hows China by the way? Probably staying in a nice hotel I bet......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭randomcountdown

Gazza22 wrote: »
    Great reaction from the public today all over the city centre, so you were wrong...

spoilers: the public aren't raising the fees.

Oh, I was also there. I was genuinely impressed.

I tell you what though, those ****ing twats from TCD/UCD/Maynooth Anarchists are going to make us all look like **** with the amount of littering they did with their bull**** pamphlets. **** off you *****.

And I hope every twat with some bull**** extremist political sign like BRING IN COMMUNISM dies. This had nothing to do with your "people in greenhouses" extremist ideologies it had to do with student ****ing fees.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Oh, I was also there. I was genuinely impressed.

I tell you what though, those ****ing twats from TCD/UCD/Maynooth Anarchists are going to make us all look like **** with the amount of littering they did with their bull**** pamphlets. **** off you *****.

And I hope every twat with some bull**** extremist political sign like BRING IN COMMUNISM dies. This had nothing to do with your "people in greenhouses" extremist ideologies it had to do with student ****ing fees.

Calm down mate. The sheer amount of expletives doesn't aid your arguments at all because all we can see is a pile of *****'s.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,575 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

some photos here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

Voltwad wrote: »
    I have no problem paying for others when I graduate. Education should be protected in thid country. End of..

Colleges are a joke in this country and I've paid the price for this free education for all. Its not even free being €1500 a year now. At least if you had a loan structure you wouldn't have to pay that till after you graduate and got a decent job.

joeybloggs wrote: »
    Jaysus !!, Didn't know Batt O' Keffe used the old Boards.Well fair play to ya.
    Hows China by the way? Probably staying in a nice hotel I bet......

Can you not give a proper response? are you too uneducated? you seem like someone who wouldnt have the mental propensity to gain a degree?
    Why should the state pay for your thickness and give you a degree?

For ****s sake, this is a pathetic thread full of sheep, youse dont have a ****ing clue.
    ALL today was was an oppurtunity for various SU's to get one over on there various other su's. The chants of "dit,dit,dit..." were absoulutey embarassing.
    The student unionism is a socialist party attempting to rid peoples minds of an opinion, it offered no educated reason for the protest, just colourful posters, bound to catch the eyes of 100s of naive students, and fair play to them for doing so, but this country is ****ed up, it lacks open minds, real minds, people will always go with the crowd and im ****ing sick of it.

The politicians of fianna fail were voted in by the majority of this population over the latest 20 years and they have done an absolutley wonderful job. how dare people sing "no to fianna fail t.d.s". such plebs, retarded in opinion, with no knowledge of current affairs or indeed the history of this country.

A very good point, another group of mentally retarded plebs. as were those absolute scumbags with their 32 county soveirgnty movement. i would have love to get closer to them and quizzed them about the history of the country, ****in idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

^ Finally someone speaks some sense around here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

You simply stated "not a single person...", you didn't mention the government in any shape or form so maybe you should be a little more elaborate in your future posts, i'm quite aware the public aren't raising the fees! :p:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Can you not give a proper response? are you too uneducated? you seem like someone who wouldnt have the mental propensity to gain a degree?
    Why should the state pay for your thickness and give you a degree?

For ****s sake, this is a pathetic thread full of sheep, youse dont have a ****ing clue.
    ALL today was was an oppurtunity for various SU's to get one over on there various other su's. The chants of "dit,dit,dit..." were absoulutey embarassing.
    The student unionism is a socialist party attempting to rid peoples minds of an opinion, it offered no educated reason for the protest, just colourful posters, bound to catch the eyes of 100s of naive students, and fair play to them for doing so, but this country is ****ed up, it lacks open minds, real minds, people will always go with the crowd and im ****ing sick of it.

The politicians of fianna fail were voted in by the majority of this population over the latest 20 years and they have done an absolutley wonderful job. how dare people sing "no to fianna fail t.d.s". such plebs, retarded in opinion, with no knowledge of current affairs or indeed the history of this country.
    While I agree with the majority of what you're saying and some of the absolutely mortifying slogans and posters they had today, I really have to ask you how exactly you think Fianna Fail have done a "wonderful job" over the last 20 years?