Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Fees! Etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tayto2000

Rise, comrade! Shake off the shackles of our elitist capitalist oppressors!

Tbh, you make it sound like they were the typical rent a mob lefty jackasses that protest at anything.

They were out alright, but so were others. Trouble with these things is, there's separate groups, but everyone gets lumped together... I don't have much time for the SU normally but they tried to inject a bit of dignity so fair play. Hard to talk to someone who is shouting into your face with a megaphone though.

Good numbers towards the middle, but when the cold started to tell, all the hangers on hoping for drama drifted off along with the SU heads.

The old timers who came back seemed to be orchestrating the shananigans such as they were. As Gubbie mentioned, they looked like they were there to fight the powah. Do a bit of scuffling, get arrested, doesn't matter what the issue of the day is, it's all about sticking it to the gardai...

"And then there's people on this board, who are pure lazy right wing "only care about them selves" wnkers"

Personal abuse for your fellow boardsies? Harsh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭mad lad

Forgive me if im wrong but are the proposed fees only for students whos parents earn more than €100,000 a year?
    That was the level mooted by Noel Dempsey in 2002. He quickly dropped the issue like hot snot when he realised that with tax and admin costs, it would only generate €15 million.

O'Keefe has stated that his preferred level would be €120,000. Allowing for increases in the numbers going to college, inflation and increases in lecturers pay plus tax you can claim back - the amount actually raised would be roughly €20 million...in a third-level education budget of €1.9 billion.

Thats assuming you don't consider the €1,500 you'll be paying next year to go to college a ''fee".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

no

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Is it just me or is the ginger guy trying to drop the hand?:D

Gub-gub: Bold. Don't call everyone ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Is it just me or is the ginger guy trying to drop the hand?:D

Gub-gub: Bold. Don't call everyone ****.

Everyone? Hey, it's just the right wing ****. That's okay, right? :pac:

What groups were actually there? Was it SU, Labour, various Socialists? And "FEE"?

Also, did anyone notice when they reported it on rté, they did the usual "2 people have been arrested at a demonstration in UCD etc. etc.". Then at the end they added: "Minister Lenihan entered through a side door". Which makes me wonder if there were people at home listening to the report asking the TV: but did how did Brian Lenihan get in!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Belligerance will be met by more belligerance. The OAPs have organised a protest, which willl run tantamount to USI's. They ahve behaved rationally and reasonably, and are likely to have a large say in the potential obliteration of Fianna Fail and the Green's (less so the PDs, given their impending death) at next year's local elections.

On the other hand a few belligerants have a bit of a protest, which has achieved nothing, and was more then likely attended by a bunch of university outsiders, who are in the workforce, and are simply trying to rekindle the CFE.

Panda, trust me, it was a waste of time, and has done nothing but shown the the anti fees movement up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭simonrooneyzaga

0001cde710dr.jpg
    0001cde910dr.jpg

In fairness, look at the state of these idiots - every single one of them should be turfed out of UCD, they're an embarassment.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

nothing from those pictures would lead me to that conclusion. elaborate please

• Registered Users Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

In fairness, look at the state of these idiots - every single one of them should be turfed out of UCD, they're an embarassment.

Not really sure what you mean there? Im not against fees but the people do have a right to protest. The people in your pictures seem pretty orderly.

the whole thing was a shambles. Firstly a 'blockade' is a stupid way of attempting to make a point to government officials. Perhaps they should have brainstormed some other more legitimate ways of raising their issues.

DeltaBravo, of course people have the right to peacefully protest, but the fact that 3 people were arrested and the video coverage shown here, http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1020/ucd_av.html (pushing and shoving of security barriers), suggests that it wasn't all too peaceful.

100 People causing a ruckus with a load of cans on them to no end...

I repeat, every single one of them should be turfed out of UCD, they're an embarassment.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭1968

I repeat, every single one of them should be turfed out of UCD

totally agree.

let's expel the 150-250 UCD students who held a sit-down protest last night including the following UCDSU officers Paul Lynam (Education), Dan O'Neill (Campaigns), Aodhan O'Dea (President) and Conor Fingleton (Welfare), as well as over 30 class reps, who all took part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Tommy T

What route is the march taking from the Spire..?

1968 wrote: »
    totally agree.

let's expel the 150-250 UCD students who held a sit-down protest last night including the following UCDSU officers Paul Lynam (Education), Dan O'Neill (Campaigns), Aodhan O'Dea (President) and Conor Fingleton (Welfare), as well as over 30 class reps, who all took part.

glad were singing off the same hymn sheet then.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

the whole thing was a shambles. Firstly a 'blockade' is a stupid way of attempting to make a point to government officials. Perhaps they should have brainstormed some other more legitimate ways of raising their issues.

DeltaBravo, of course people have the right to peacefully protest, but the fact that 3 people were arrested and the video coverage shown here, http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1020/ucd_av.html (pushing and shoving of security barriers), suggests that it wasn't all too peaceful.

100 People causing a ruckus with a load of cans on them to no end...

I repeat, every single one of them should be turfed out of UCD, they're an embarassment.

I wasnt there myself and was just going by the images you posted. But that chap with the megaphone is out of line there messing with the barriers there. Was he one of the 2 arrested?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Is that Gary Redmond there in the first picture?

I believe that altogether there were three arrests.

Two for Public Order Offences and one for obstructing arrest.

All were released without charge.

Don't quote me on any of that, this is just what i've put together from talking to a few different people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

to be honest lads that was some of the worst protesting i'd ever seen....the lads with the microphones barely spoke english and the ones who could string a few sentences together were hesitant at best....

who's idea was it to just block vehicular access?? i arrived there for a look at about 6 and it was organised chaos.....why didnt they split in2 smaller groups and cover every entrance....wait.....i think i know......the press were there....any opportunity for a photo lads....

also i hav it on good authority that the garda public order unit are being mobilised for wednesdays little shindig....u might not see them but they'll be there.....hopefully we'll have a baton charge or 2....dirty lefties

Is that Gary Redmond there in the first picture?

Now thats Entertainment. Does Gary even know what Fees are ?

if only michael mcdowell was still in government.....he could hav arrested that shower of communists and thrown them in the PD "work camp".....i say work but lefties dont believe in it.....they want everything for free......and if they dont get it they protest.....badly.....ein reich, ein volk, ein rotweiller!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Het-Field wrote: »
    Panda, trust me, it was a waste of time, and has done nothing but shown the the anti fees movement up.

The protest yesterday didnt show up the anti fee's movement as Hetfield suggests. I guess its just a lot easier to come out with the usual cliches to try and diminish protesters, whether its calling active feminists' feminazi's or ridiculing ordinary students for taking action.

panda100 wrote: »
    The protest yesterday didnt show up the anti fee's movement as Hetfield suggests. I guess its just a lot easier to come out with the usual cliches to try and diminish protesters, whether its calling active feminists' feminazi's or ridiculing ordinary students for taking action.

In fairness the Irish Independent didnt do much for the anti fees movement (which I would consider myself part of). I am not ridiculing active students, however, the too many people see arrest at such events as a medal of honour. Protests should be calm and collect. See the coverage the OAP 's are getting for their pilloring of Moloney and O Malley today ? Students can get active in other ways. Direct action, such as tomorrrows USI protest will carry more weight than yesterday's farce

panda100 wrote: »

i love the way you'll always find a way to bring the feminism into it panda... :rolleyes:

ordinary is right.....lets hope they dont try "organise" any more protests....

Het-Field wrote: »
    many people see arrest at such events as a medal of honour. Protests should be calm and collect.

However, unfortunately the sad reality is that three arrests will make the front page of the Irish Independent and articles and pictures in the Examiner, Star, Metro and Irish Times. Plus, RTE and TV3 news coverage.

Would a walk around town of 5,000 students get the same kind of publicity?

1968 wrote: »
    However, unfortunately the sad reality is that three arrests will make the front page of the Irish Independent and articles and pictures in the Examiner, Star, Metro and Irish Times. Plus, RTE and TV3 news coverage.

Would a walk around town of 5,000 students get the same kind of publicity?

Tomorrow the protest will get something similar. Today's article will be construed as belligerance by the public. If you feel arrests and semi violent behaviour will get Fees off the agenda, then you are mistaken

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

flyton5 wrote: »
    if only michael mcdowell was still in government.....he could hav arrested that shower of communists and thrown them in the PD "work camp".....i say work but lefties dont believe in it.....they want everything for free......and if they dont get it they protest.....badly.....ein reich, ein volk, ein bulldog!!
    Post reported for high level of retard content. What are you shíting on about?

ha....fair enough.....i just think its a waste of time protesting about fees....we're getting f***ed either way....and that sham of a protest yesterday didnt do much for the cause.....a load of publicity hunting wasters who didnt think to protest at more than one entrance....go and protest for age action or sumthin.....

ah Het-Field, you were famously on the wrong side of the whole cfe thing. The last time a group carried out this type of action, 76% of students supported the group (UCD Tribune). If you don't believe polls, 4 people who engaged in this type of activity at cfe protests subsequently got student backing and were elected as sabbat officers plus 90% of cfe candidates who stood for SU council got elected.

If they block students access to education, students will block their access to campus. Get used to it

Those who say the tactic didn't work - when was the last time 150 students got in the national print, radio and tv media? How much coverage did the protest by the lake get again??

mad lad wrote: »
    Those who say the tactic didn't work - when was the last time 150 students got in the national print, radio and tv media? How much coverage did the protest by the lake get again??

there was no way there was 150ppl there.....closer to half that

flyton5 wrote: »
    there was no way there was 150ppl there.....closer to half that

150 is the figure given by rte, the times, metro, tv3 and every other media outlet...and they're not known for inflating the number of attendees at protests.